The SONY (FF & APS-C) E-Mount Thread ver. 5, Full-Frame A7 & A7R Released Malaysia!
6so
Dec 7 2013, 07:27 PM

I do street photography a lot with zone focussing either on 35mm or 24mm equivalent on nex6.The quick trick to zone focussing is your ability to estimate subject distance to your camera and muscle memory to shift focus accordingly.In short b4 you lift up your camera,your fingers should approximately dials in the focus distance on your lens.On evf check peaking to finetune and takes couple of frames in burst mode for critical focus.On f8 usually we don't bother to check focus at all as long as subject correspond to pre-determined focus distance.Any wider apertures is to pre-focus for subject to come into framing position or just take a leap of faith with peaking.Sucess rates very much dependent on muscle memory with your lens focus dial and pre-visualizing your camera framing.
6so
Dec 12 2013, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Dec 12 2013, 07:48 PM) Am i the only one who confuse in ur comment?  my question are A7 with 28-70 at 50mm vs nex 6 35mm, at the same 50mm equivalent, which one perform better in low light? Coming from my humble 5d2 experience before and now on nex6. It's pretty obvious f1.8 will perform better in lowlight. The iso performance gain specifically correlates to shutterspeed advantage/file processing and will not improve the physical light passing through your actual lens. In real world practice the iso gain is negligible unless you pixel peep and imo same goes with bokeh being better on full frame as your photographing subject,condition and lens characteristic plays a far more important role in full frame experience.Just my 2 cents,la.
6so
Dec 13 2013, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 13 2013, 09:17 PM) which 1 better, nex with a-mount adapter + 50mm 1.8 or nex with sel50f18? If you don't mind the bulk you can use the cheaper 50mm a-mount but not sure the latest sony adapter has snappy focus or not because the first 2 iteration hunts a fair bit.
6so
Dec 17 2013, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(razkal @ Dec 17 2013, 01:51 PM) Just want to mention voigtlander lenses as well the 35mm f1.4 and 40mm f1.4. Both around RM1400-RM1900. But need to purchase adapter for M-mount. I will go with the voigtlander for manual focus if ever bought an A7. Voigtlander is a very well made brand that built like a tank.Optic rendering is more old school with soft glow when full open but at sweet spot the sharpness is very good.If you are used to modern lens you may want to take note that CA and flare is a bit more pronounced due to their classic coatings.Currently i'm using 35mm f1.4 and their 21mm f4.Very often regard as a poor man‘s leica lens but it's made by Cosina no less. This post has been edited by 6so: Dec 17 2013, 04:01 PM
6so
Dec 19 2013, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(razkal @ Dec 19 2013, 06:05 PM)  Thanks for sharing your experiences regarding voigtlander lenses. Samples from the internet tell the same story - hazy glow at wide apertures. Samyang lens is quite big IMHO might not be suitable for A7. However there is another route for adapted lenses using OM zuiko lens. Their lens line up is quite small and personally think it is suitable with the camera body. I do have this lens paired with my 6D but probably the combination look likes a frankenstein. lol. Here's a few sample of the 50mm and the 135mm zuiko. Pretty much boils down to what photography style you preach.If you ask a fashion photographer they use these classic lens as some sort of effect lens to build character or mood to their shots.If you are looking for pixel perfection the modern lens coatings pretty much gives you clean clinical look.For myself I like b&w and street photography so most of the time my aperture is stuck at f56-f11 range so the hazy thingy didn't matter much to me.I would rather have the compact factor than lugging a heavy dslr designed lens.At the end voigtlander price factor and compact form is a winner in my book.Just my unworthy 2 cents.lol. If you are adventurous those russian Jupiter/Helios can be addictive and affordable to experiment with.
6so
Dec 23 2013, 07:06 PM

More curious will they marry some Olympus tech or vice versa on their next announcement. Wonder will there be any 3rd party support beside Samyang/SLR Magic on FE bandwagon.
6so
Dec 24 2013, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Dec 24 2013, 05:57 PM) 6so I like the first building photo. Thanks. QUOTE(awiekupo @ Dec 24 2013, 06:06 PM) with a lil bit of crop on the building, i think can turn it into a nice vanishing point image.. Keep that in mind.
6so
Dec 26 2013, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Dec 26 2013, 11:28 AM) can u guys rekomen alternative to 35mm f1.8 sony... so expensive...0 since u guys said manual oso ok... maybe i should give a try Just get sigma 30mm if you are not bokeh conscious. There r plenty of manual 50mm f1.8 around 300-500 but wide open is harder to nail focus. Wide angle lens is slightly easier to manage and cost a bit more for a good copy. If you are impatient about your shots it's better to stick with autofocus as manual lens will slow you down.
6so
Dec 26 2013, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Dec 26 2013, 12:52 PM) kinda agree, i bought manual legacy lens a few days back. to be honest it's quite fun using manual but need a little bit of patience since i never shot manually before. still learning. the main reason i go to legacy lens route because i cannot afford new carl zeiss lens to use with my A7.  If push comes to shove aps-c e-mount still can be used on A7. Certain focal range from 1018 f4 looks ok and Sigma 30mm becomes 35mm after vignette crop. Can also try out 6x6 crop to squeeze beyond aps-c crop factor. Just hope Sigma or Tamron will introduce an affordable macro solution in the future.
6so
Dec 28 2013, 10:24 AM

Some masturbatory shots.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
6so
Dec 30 2013, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(smokey @ Dec 30 2013, 11:45 AM) sony a7 or a7r users, when u shoot strangers, does the shutter sound alert them? Below 35mm yes and anything above 50mm should be ok based on my a7.Shutter click sound a tad louder than 5d2.If you are committed enough don't think the sound matter that much.
6so
Jan 2 2014, 10:37 AM

As a new year begins,any one makes photography resolution? I hope I can stick with just one focal range for the rest of the year so to train myself to see better. Minimize snapshots.
6so
Jan 2 2014, 07:30 PM

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 2 2014, 07:57 PM) what focal length did you intend to stick with for the whole year? I'll start with cliche 35mm and see down the road with 24mm.As right now wide angle rangefinder style lens has smearing issue and not too sure it can be rectify with firmware.Furthermore FE lens too few to select and my blood not rich enough for Zeiss or G series. This post has been edited by 6so: Jan 2 2014, 07:33 PM
6so
Jan 2 2014, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jan 2 2014, 09:11 PM) Pass me all other lenses u have. I'll safeguard them for you for a year. You'll have a much better success rate of meeting your new year resolution this way. Finance minister addy on high alert.
6so
Jan 3 2014, 06:42 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtwj @ Jan 3 2014, 07:12 PM) Just sharing something you might like. For A7 users to be proud of.. Hee hee http://www.stevehuffphoto.com/all-reviews/sony-a7-corner/Steve Huff's review always felt too sugar coated even with not so good stuff. I dig those daily inspiration articles more than his review and G.A.S showcase. Just my opinion la!