6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V5, 4.3 incoming and wait for kit kat, 4.4

Cavino
post Aug 5 2013, 10:15 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(PeaceOfMind @ Aug 4 2013, 10:22 PM)
Hi all s4 sifu, before i buy s4, mind me to ask some questions?
1. is there any problem ? like GPS lock issue, connectivity, lag/hang, easily heat up, etc...
2. the s4 LTE version, the quad core version, enough for a heavy user? because i prefer to have 4G ready and i am a heavy user.
3. should i buy it now, or wait until note 3 out? because i assume s4 price will drop abit hahaha, just want to save money happy.gif"

Thanks in advance for any idea/good advice.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
1. Did not own the phone yet, so cannot answer.
2. If this S4 LTE still not enuf for heavy user...I don't know what phone still can cater for heavy user for now.
3. If you really want to save money, wait till Note 3 launch prob in September, price should drop. Then when Note 3 arrive at October or November, S4 price will drop even more......oh wait....when S5 come out next year, it will drop even even more, hahaha..

Honestly tho, I'm also waiting to buy but looking at price dropping fast and Note 3 gonna be launch next month (probably), I will wait to see how Note 3 design and specs looks like first. Then again, Note 3 is definitely going to be way more expensive, so not going to save money. So I suggest go for S4 if want to save money, no point waiting, coz price is not gonna stop dropping, never ending wait and postponement...unless you're considering Note 3 for its size (Just compared my S2 with S4 side by side, enhance size, yes but somehow.....only IMO, only slight increase in readability for me, getting old, so maybe have to wait for Note 3 to see if its gonna be too big due to prob size increase.)

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 5 2013, 10:16 AM
Cavino
post Aug 5 2013, 11:50 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 5 2013, 11:45 AM)
Getting the Spigen Nano glass later. Will do some reviews on that after that. =)
The 0.15mm version?

Where are you going to buy that from?
Cavino
post Aug 5 2013, 01:27 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 5 2013, 01:24 PM)
Yup bought slim armor and neo from him as well. After tat found out got places selling ori below rm100,heartache.
You mean there are neo selling below RM100. There are lots of fake out there claiming to be original and all the trusted sellers sold original above RM100. Where's the place for the lower price original?
Cavino
post Aug 5 2013, 02:05 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 5 2013, 01:46 PM)
hi all sifus, want to ask about s4 zoom, how is it? got lte or not? is it a good phone? my dad wants one. sleep.gif
Don't know abt your father's taste but S4 zoom is supposedly based on lower end 4.3" S4 mini, not S4 itself. Its like a camera pasted onto a handphone, quite thick/fat/chubby, cumbersome to carry and may make the user looks a bit like an idiot sticking a camera lookalike on his/her ear.

Definitely not a good choice for an everyday phone but then again, its up to ones taste if he wants to carry a zoom camera all day round despite its weight and awkward bulkiness for a phone.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 5 2013, 02:07 PM
Cavino
post Aug 5 2013, 02:12 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 5 2013, 01:29 PM)
Yes confirmed ori distributed by macstudio. They cannot sell it in their apple stores so selling in some famous hyper stores. Go hunt.
Itu ifon punya version lar....not S4.
Cavino
post Aug 6 2013, 08:56 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 5 2013, 09:49 PM)
Thank you! It supposed to be compatible with all casings. Unfortunately, one of my Capdase Soft jacket will affect the SP once I put on it. I haven't try out the neo yet. Shouldn't be a problem bro!

The main differences would be the thickness and edges. As for Glas.T slim, it's slightly thicker than the Nano. As a result, you might feel the sharp edges and that's why Spigen came up with the Tr. series.

Smart stay and other features so far so good.
The price? I've been looking for those but no one seems to carry it in Malaysia until now. Now considering Note 3 but might be buying S4 for my wife instead coz if buy Note 3, maybe early next year when it stabilize a bit. So will still be using my existing S2.

Main worry to get Glass SP is the installation process. If screw up........
Cavino
post Aug 6 2013, 01:17 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 6 2013, 10:22 AM)
if you're looking for the Nano glass, there's only 1 seller in lyn.
mstore1

If you're looking for Tr series. There're plenty.
Kirra
Sakura

About the devices, well it's all depends on yourself. If you like it big/latest then go for Note 3 or else just go for the S4  tongue.gif
Thanks. Just ordered Nano glass and Slim Armor View (black) from Mstore1. Slim Armor View stock just arrived.
Anyone awaiting this case, better get from mstore1 now. Picking up tonite if all goes well.

This idiot (me) is one of the few who buy case and accs before buying phone. I think I'm going to buy S4 for wife instead and keep my S2 with me until next year for Note 3 replacement. If Note 3 really too big.......cannot take back S4 from wife, have to wait for S5 lor....

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 6 2013, 01:58 PM
Cavino
post Aug 6 2013, 02:54 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 6 2013, 02:44 PM)
Don't worry. U r not the only one. Me too.
Hate those seller who don't post price. How much for nano and slim armor?
RM130 for nano slim and RM175 for slim armor view....postage not included since I going to COD.
Cavino
post Aug 6 2013, 02:59 PM

842 posts

I'm looking for a seller of S4 that can sell me at competitive pricing and also install the glass for me professionally.

My usual trusted dealer price at RM2150 and can install the glass SP for me, abt RM70 more expensive than DirectD seller. Wonder if these guys at DirectD can install this exp glass SP professionally or not and have the time to do it...

I notice that although we can take long time to install SP, these guys took only a couple of minutes or seconds and do it sometimes better than us.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 6 2013, 03:02 PM
Cavino
post Aug 6 2013, 03:18 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 6 2013, 03:11 PM)
DIY bro. It's easy.
Any video that you follow? Mostly its dust that screwed up all my previous SP installation, no matter how, 1 dust speck sure settle in...
Cavino
post Aug 6 2013, 09:12 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 6 2013, 08:53 PM)
Haha. Thanks for the recommendation bro. I got one for my Note 2. But I sold it. It's super nice! I love it but unfortunately I got to let it go. Anyway, I don't think it will be compatible with the Spigen nano glass as the sides are all protected. From what I've observed, casings with sides protected will actually affect the spigen nano as it will force a pressure on the glass and causes the glass to come off easily. I don't know how to put in it words tho.
So that means the only sure fire case to use is SGP high end cases like slim armor, view and neo since they're all confirmed compatibility with glas.t SP.
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 09:43 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 7 2013, 08:54 AM)
all at 1st page... please read properly.. biggrin.gif
current mart price: 1899[octa cores]/1949 [32Gb, 4G]
and regarding what model 1st
3G or 4G model?  laugh.gif
RM 1949 for S4 LTE? SME? Where? Am looking to buy one now since I got my Glas.T Nano and Slim Armor View liao.

The cheapest I found without time limited promotion is DirectD (Lelong) RM2078. That discount the extra 1 unit set by some ppl or special time limited promotion.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 7 2013, 09:45 AM
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 09:47 AM

842 posts

Can we cut out standard Sim card (galaxy S2) and straight fit to S4 like it was done on S3?

No LTE, I know but for standard 3G, is it ok? Coz I need to buy phone, test on spot with card from my S2 and then on other day only go Maxis to switch LTE microsim. To re-confirm, is all Maxis microsim LTE capable? Celcom mostly not compatible.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 7 2013, 09:48 AM
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 10:06 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 7 2013, 09:50 AM)
Maxis MicroSIM capable,
YES

normal sim cut, like u using U-Mobile, they will have the micro-SIM cutters to do it... and tested as functionally well tongue.gif

Bro, is Imported set [normally get Singapore set geh]... biggrin.gif

DirectD, i say NO... svc and hospitality sux till max.. doh.gif vmad.gif
Heard abt that but then it got a shop within my reach. Either that or go for my usual shop in Klang for RM2150. Service sure good wan but RM70 more. Subang is more accessible to me than my Klang wan located right in city center with difficult parking.

OneGadgetDotCOM (RM2078) or ABCPhoneDotCom (RM2075) thru online but shop either does not exist or too far for me. Any other recommendation?

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 7 2013, 10:07 AM
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 10:14 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 7 2013, 10:10 AM)
You want to save RM 70 ?? If I were you I will buy it in Klang to save all the invconvenience of going to Subang Jaya ( directd or item.com @ Summit) or KL Wisma PGRM ( SatuGadget). It will end up you wont be saving the RM70 after all going to other places
Actually its way more inconvenient for me to buy in Klang coz parking very hard (in the Store mall) and very heavy flow of traffic.

Subang DirectD is easy coz I go gym at Empire Gallery (after work on way back from KL), can drop by eat Ipoh Chicken Rice there and go to shop.

If I go Klang one, need at least half an hour, looking for parking, go into the mall, etc.

Mm...any other choice with good seller around? Since DirectD got such bad svc record....

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 7 2013, 10:18 AM
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 10:36 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 7 2013, 10:33 AM)
One gadget aka Satu Gadget? laugh.gif don't make sense la...
Aiyo....my brain register satu = one mah.....
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 10:45 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 7 2013, 10:24 AM)
I have bought from DirectD 10X and half of it through poslaju. All 10 purchases had been perfect and poslaju I always gets it the next day after payment is made
I can tell you this is a great seller but dont expect good service from them. If service is important to you, forget about buying from them. Their business is so good ( I'd say is the only shop I have seen so far that people line up and wait to buy phones ) that it gives you impression is free, They are understaff definitely and most of the staffs do not ahve much time to entertain your queries. I'd say Directd is the place to buy for those buyers who know their stuffs and just go in, pay money and take your phone. I once had a problem with an AP note set and they provide me very good repair service ( under warranty) and got phone back within 4 days. I send in phone by hand they return to me by poslaju and I had to pay RM10 for the courier - is fair I'd say
That means it is still feasible to go in, straight buy phone, "cut simcard", "test phone" and get out. If buy online, cannot do that thus my reluctance there.
Cavino
post Aug 7 2013, 01:46 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 7 2013, 01:05 PM)
I assume u seldom change phone. Y not just get from Maxis with monthly rm50 data plan and 2 yrs plan? 1899.hassle free and peace of mind. Request they change the whole sim card for u also.
Yes, keep my phone for some time, unable to port over those apps data and like to keep phone stock thus no rooting. So will stay with a phone for sometime. If my wife doesn't pester me abt not having a smartphone, I would not even bother upgrading until S5 appear.

I'm currently on supp line RM30 excluding data. Got low call charges due to my principal (sales-lots of calls) and free call between my wife and parent. So I got the freedom to call whenever I want and talked longer due to lower rate, free calls, never needing to worry abt charges since I rarely exceed them.

Subscribing to new plan will actually makes me loss more over 2 years period in the range of at least RM300-400 more vs if I buy phone outside, contract free some more and no need to control calls charges.

Only major issue.....have to bring my parent along to Maxis to do ANY changes to my sim-card, call blocks.... vmad.gif Very troublesome when wanting to change to S4 using new sim-card.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 7 2013, 03:09 PM
Cavino
post Aug 12 2013, 01:58 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Aug 12 2013, 11:46 AM)
then the review on amazon.com is not accurate then.. a lot of amazon buyer complained about the charging port issue  doh.gif  doh.gif
Not sure abt what you read but from what I read, neo hybrid is the one that has charging port access issue due to very fitting hole. Some non original charger got problem plugging it.

Slim armor, I heard got no issue with port access.

Those ultra fit is casing is mainly meant for rear anti-scratch and grip. You notice it mostly emphasize on enhancing grip to prevent accidental drop. Does not protect well when drop unlike their high-end counterpart, the neo hybrid and slim armor / view.
Cavino
post Aug 12 2013, 02:47 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 12 2013, 02:20 PM)
I can take photo and give a side by side comparison of the access hole for slim armor and neo. Someone just have to teach me how to manually attach pics here without linking to other storage sites..  rclxub.gif
You got both kah ? So slim armor port access got problem or not. I now got slim armor view at home but no buy phone yet.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:16 PM