132 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

Gold Investment Corner V7, all about gold

full
post Jan 29 2014, 01:55 AM

262 posts

Purchasing gold (I means physical gold) isn't it a long term investment? If you do not sell it off and hold it as long as you wish, and only considered making profit or loss at the point of time you sell it off, right?

I see the physical gold as a long-term investment and a true investment tool to preserve your purchasing power in the future. Futures tend to burn my hand if not alert enough. Still learning... notworthy.gif

I did not go thru all the pages yet, but hopefully manage to absorb sth here.. thumbup.gif

Thank you.

Regards,
full
cybermaster98
post Jan 29 2014, 02:33 PM

4,440 posts

Looks like gold is gonna drop further once the Feds ease up on QE3 somemore in their last day of meeting today. If ure gonna sell, i suggest you do it now.
Curious Guy
post Jan 29 2014, 07:28 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 29 2014, 02:33 PM)
Looks like gold is gonna drop further once the Feds ease up on QE3 somemore in their last day of meeting today. If ure gonna sell, i suggest you do it now.
If price drop,China will buy. It seems China demand has outpaced taper effects.

The only thing can drive price further down is selling of ETF.

This post has been edited by Curious Guy: Jan 29 2014, 09:33 PM
wil-i-am
post Jan 29 2014, 10:07 PM

10,001 posts

Gold futures contracts on Bursa Malaysia Derivatives remained lower at midday today as investors were cautious ahead of the United State's Federal Reserve meeting on quantitative easing.

At lunch break, January 2014 was 12 ticks lower at RM133.95 a gramme, February 2014 was down eight ticks to RM134.25 a gramme, March 2014 dwindled nine ticks to 134.4 a gramme while April 2014 was untraded.

Turnover stood at 318 lots while open interest totalled 1,692 contracts.-- Bernama

cybermaster98
post Jan 30 2014, 01:41 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Curious Guy @ Jan 29 2014, 07:28 PM)
If price drop,China will buy. It seems China demand has outpaced taper effects.

The only thing can drive price further down is selling of ETF.
Buying of physical gold doesnt have a big impact on gold prices compared to a sell off in the ETF's.
GoldChan
post Jan 30 2014, 04:46 PM

451 posts

investment: What I put in should generally grow in value or price beating inflation rate. otherwise what point investing.

Insurance: I don't care paying something for it. Cause I may lose everything if I don't buy it (insurance.)

This are two different thing.
What kind of insurance am I referring to?
SUdden devaluation of currency, massive inflation, capital control. These kind of event normally the public will only knew it once it's announced in news.
These kind of thing can be insured with gold as it has maintained it value for the past few thousand year.
From all the news you heard today, make your own judgement whether these events will happen or not and how soon or how long before it will happen. (aka. how much time left?)..

If you think it's unlikely, then next question is to assess whether gold is a good investment or not at this point of time and price.

if you think it's likely to happen, then you should have at least some ounces tucked away somewhere.

many get carried away by current situation, when it goes up everybody chase after it, when it goes down everybody dump it. In the moment of silence when nobody talk about it, it's time to buy if you haven;t got enough.
In the moment of glory, it's time to sell.

hope i get it correct.

QUOTE(bfoot @ Jan 28 2014, 11:10 PM)
Not every "advises" you hear will meet your specific needs.  15-20% of my portfolio sitting in gold gaining nothing in between while the price continue sliding down ..... no thanks.  5% in gold or any other precious metal is the max I'm willing to go.  I don't have any precious metals in my portfolio. 

If I want insurance, I might as well stick the 15-20% of my cash under in a bank safety deposit.  That may be a better bet than venturing it in gold.  Having said that though, every one is different.
wil-i-am
post Jan 30 2014, 09:08 PM

10,001 posts

Gold futures contract ended half-day trading on Bursa Malaysia on a higher note as investors' risk appetite remained intact.

The US Federal Reserve slashed its bond purchase by another US$10 billion to US$65 billion a month signalling a further recovery in the United States.

The market will be closed for the Lunar festival and the Federal Territory Day holidays, beginning tommorrow, and will resume trading on Tuesday, February 4, dealers said.

January 2014 was untraded, February 2014 was up 21 ticks to RM136.05 a gramme and March 2014 rose 24 ticks to 136.4 a gramme.

Physical gold was quoted at RM131.59 per gramme, up RM1.68 sen, at 9.30am.

Half-day turnover stood at 102 lots while open interest totalled 1,514 contracts.-- Bernama

lamode
post Jan 31 2014, 11:58 AM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

ROAR!!!!!!
the BULL is back, i hope you got ur ticket to ride it ya? rclxms.gif

Price now 1242.

SUSSarah Jessica
post Jan 31 2014, 01:19 PM

622 posts

Gold set to snap 5-Week rally on US data, weak China demand
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...ak-china-demand
Curious Guy
post Jan 31 2014, 04:05 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 30 2014, 01:41 PM)
Buying of physical gold doesnt have a big impact on gold prices compared to a sell off in the ETF's.
Hi sifu,
Then wat drive prices upward? Or make gold bull?
What else can fight against this selling ETF?
saigetsu
post Feb 2 2014, 07:21 AM

707 posts

After wait for so long... Ony 1.33 meh... Its indeed longbterm investment
TSdavinz18
post Feb 3 2014, 06:11 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

Is Gold Getting Ready To Give Back Its Gains?
http://www.investing.com/analysis/is-gold-...ts-gains-200994

This post has been edited by davinz18: Feb 3 2014, 06:12 PM
cybermaster98
post Feb 3 2014, 10:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Curious Guy @ Jan 31 2014, 04:05 PM)
Hi sifu,
Then wat drive prices upward? Or make gold bull?
What else can fight against this selling ETF?
Fall in currency and equities which is what happened the in Jan 2014 which is why gold prices went up to US$1,280. But didnt last long and now gold is hovering around US$1,248 per ounce. Either way 2014 will not be a good year for gold. So my advice would be to look at other forms of investments.
danmooncake
post Feb 4 2014, 06:44 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,124 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Feb 3 2014, 06:11 PM)
Is Gold Getting Ready To Give Back Its Gains?
http://www.investing.com/analysis/is-gold-...ts-gains-200994
Take the opportunity to sell the rally in Gold if you get the chance. laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Feb 4 2014, 09:25 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 3 2014, 10:43 PM)
Fall in currency and equities which is what happened the in Jan 2014 which is why gold prices went up to US$1,280. But didnt last long and now gold is hovering around US$1,248 per ounce. Either way 2014 will not be a good year for gold. So my advice would be to look at other forms of investments.
SO SURE? biggrin.gif
GoldChan
post Feb 4 2014, 05:21 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 4 2014, 09:25 AM)
SO SURE?    biggrin.gif
well, for those who had invested just don;t over invest.
B4 the price hike in gold, they will take down something with them 1st.
maybe it's related to CHina. or interest rate or property bubble in asia etc. Thus cash may be the king during transition. Just gut feeling only.

TSdavinz18
post Feb 4 2014, 06:14 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

The physical price of gold as at 5PM Stood at RM130.14 per gramme, down 78 sen from RM130.92 at 5pm last Thursday - Bernama
SUSsylar111
post Feb 4 2014, 11:09 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(bfoot @ Jan 28 2014, 11:10 PM)
Not every "advises" you hear will meet your specific needs.  15-20% of my portfolio sitting in gold gaining nothing in between while the price continue sliding down ..... no thanks.  5% in gold or any other precious metal is the max I'm willing to go.  I don't have any precious metals in my portfolio. 

If I want insurance, I might as well stick the 15-20% of my cash under in a bank safety deposit.  That may be a better bet than venturing it in gold.  Having said that though, every one is different.
Well, have you ever wondered why gold price is going down despite countries inflating their currencies every where. If you stick 15-20% of your cash under bank safety deposit, you still lose because of inflation.

Of course, if you expect Gold to generate income or dividends for you, then you are putting your money in the wrong place. Gold is not an income generating tool. It is a speculative tool based on macroeconomics or a hedge against inflation. You have to actually be prepared to pay money to keep your gold(invest in safe or pay a monthly fee for storage)

If the economy is good and we have responsible governments, no one would be buying gold right now. The reason why people are buying gold is because of irresponsible government, potential bad economy and the fact that gold price is relatively low right now.

SUSsylar111
post Feb 4 2014, 11:11 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Feb 4 2014, 05:21 PM)
well, for those who had invested just don;t over invest.
B4 the price hike in gold, they will take down something with them 1st.
maybe it's related to CHina. or interest rate or property bubble in asia etc. Thus cash may be the king during transition. Just gut feeling only.
What do you mean by take down something? Actually, what you are saying is that if there is a crash, gold price may drop. I do not think so because the people who are vested in Gold by then would probably be prepared for the crash.

If you do not buy your gold or silver soon, maybe it will be difficult to obtain your metals in the future because I think purchasing rate right now is pretty high.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Feb 4 2014, 11:12 PM
icemanfx
post Feb 5 2014, 09:57 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 4 2014, 11:09 PM)
Well, have you ever wondered why gold price is going down despite countries inflating their currencies every where. If you stick 15-20% of your cash under bank safety deposit, you still lose because of inflation.

Of course, if you expect Gold to generate income or dividends for you, then you are putting your money in the wrong place. Gold is not an income generating tool. It is a speculative tool based on macroeconomics or a hedge against inflation. You have to actually be prepared to pay money to keep your gold(invest in safe or pay a monthly fee for storage)

If the economy is good and we have responsible governments, no one would be buying gold right now. The reason why people are buying gold is because of irresponsible government, potential bad economy and the fact that gold price is relatively low right now.
How much is the current inflation rate? What is the expected inflation rate for next 2 to 3 years?

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 4 2014, 11:11 PM)
What do you mean by take down something? Actually, what you are saying is that if there is a crash, gold price may drop. I do not think so because the people who are vested in Gold by then would probably be prepared for the crash.

If you do not buy your gold or silver soon, maybe it will be difficult to obtain your metals in the future because I think purchasing rate right now is pretty high.
Gold and silver supply are running out? If purchasing rate right now is pretty high, why price is still lower than last year?

132 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:14 AM