newbie99
post Nov 20 2013, 07:59 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(urb7 @ Nov 20 2013, 03:10 PM)
This just doesn't seem to grow - any idea? lol

This plant requires good sunlight to thrive.
Generally, waxy leave plants dont require as much water, because the wax is to prevent water evaporation from the leaves.
If only one leave turns yellow, it could be either the stem is injured, or it's simply old. If bottom leaves r yellow, it could be they r prevented from getting sufficient lights by other leaves on top. If all the leaves are turning yellow at the same time, most likely they are not getting sufficient lights. If they turn yellow, stem getting soft, most likely there's injury to the roots, likely cause overwatering, not adequate drainage or fertilizer injuring the roots.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Nov 20 2013, 08:07 PM
newbie99
post Apr 10 2014, 08:59 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Apr 7 2014, 09:51 PM)
It has been about 4 months since I planted my new Japanese grass garden, the grass today still has uneven color and height, can I know what else I need to do to end up with even color and height?

[attachmentid=3921007][attachmentid=3921022]
Yellowish patch could be due to lack of sunlight, lack of fertilizer, or burnt by fertilizer etc.
The light colour patch looks like it's in the middle of your lawn, so it's unlikely due to lack of sunlight. It looks like more of lack of nitrogen based fertilizer. Try go get high nitrogen based fertilizer like Urea, which has the highest concentration of nitrogen, and is basically used for leafy plants especially lawn. It's also one of of the cheapest fertilizer at around rm1.60 a kilo if buy in bulk. Dilute it in water before application otherwise u will cause burning.
newbie99
post May 28 2014, 10:52 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 27 2014, 06:01 PM)
Yesterday just trim those grass area where sunshine hit less, these areas really don't look good.
Any solution?
All zoysia are not very shade resistant. Pearl grass is better in term of plating in shaded area, but they will grow thin in heavy shade as well. My lawn (Japanese grass) that receives 8hrs of full sunlight is short and thick, areas with 4hrs are longer and sparse..
newbie99
post Jun 2 2014, 04:51 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(daydreamingz @ Jun 2 2014, 02:02 PM)
Hi all sifu
What type of grass shall I plant in my garden. 2000 sf . My house is facing north west. Would like a grass that is low Maintainence . Don't mind cutting the grass but I mind pulling the weeds. I have a young kid and hope that she can run around the garden and herself. Was quoted rm 2.8 per sf for mutiara or philipine grass.
Personally, i prefer Japanese grass (Zoysia Japonica) to others. It's dense, fine and look carpet like. It doesnt really need trimming and once a week weeding should be sufficient. Manila grass texture is too rough, blade too wide and grow too tall, and needs regular trimming, but can withstand heavy traffic. Pearl grass was once quite popular, they are slow grower and needs lots of water, and spreads very slowly once damage by drought.
newbie99
post Jun 23 2014, 04:15 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Jun 21 2014, 09:26 PM)
Recently I see a lot of weed-looking grass growing on my japanese grass, I'm not sure whether those are from japanese grass or from other type of grass that I should get rid? If need to remove those grass, what can I do to remove them?

Those are your Japanese grass flowering.

0.0267sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:03 PM