Toyota Yaris 1.5G and 1.5S in Malaysia

TSmy_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar
post May 19 2006, 02:58 AM, updated 20y ago

231 posts

Toyota has released specification and prices for the Toyota Yaris on their website. The Toyota Yaris comes in two trim levels, the Toyota Yaris 1.5G and the Toyota Yaris 1.5S. Let's have a look at the specifications and most importantly price of the latest hatchback on our shores.

Both the Toyota Yaris 1.5S and the Toyota Yaris 1.5G come with the 1Nz-FE engine, the same 1.5 liter VVTi engine found in the Toyota Vios. This engine makes 109hp at 6000rpm and 142Nm of torque at 4200rpm. Both engines are mated to a 4-speed Super ECT automatic gearbox, with gate shifters. I was kind of hoping we'd get a CVT, but Toyota's Super ECT is not too bad either. 142Nm of torque isn't going to be very zippy, but it'll suffice.

The interior of the Toyota Yaris 1.5S is black trimmed, while the Toyota Yaris 1.5G is silver trimmed. The Yaris 1.5S has amber Optitron meters while the Yaris 1.5G has white Optitron meters. The entertainment system also has it's display colour coded according to trim. This is because the 1.5S is the sportier version, so amber with dark trim gives that sportier feel. Other differences in interior trim include medium gray seats for the 1.5G, and black seats for the 1.5S. The 1.5S also has a leather-wrapped steering, and a leather-wrappde shift level and knob. The audio system which plays audio CDs, MP3 and WMA is equipped with 6 speakers. The AM/FM tuner antenna is of the pole type. For extra storage space, the rear seats can be folded down; a common feature with all hatchbacks these days.

The Toyota Yaris 1.5S also comes with a full bodykit with front, side and rear skirts, while the 1.5G model does not. Other differences between the 1.5S and the 1.5G are the brakes. The 1.5S has larger 15″ ventilated discs at the front and 15″ solid discs at the rear. The 1.5G only has 14″ disc brakes at the front, while the rear wheels use drum brakes. Both cars come with 15″ sports rims wrapped with 185/60/R15 tyres

Safety features include LED brake lamps for faster activation, electronic brake-force distribution, brake assist, dual air-bags for the driver and passanger, and side impact protection beams. And of course, you also get a GOA-certified body. The Yaris fuel tank is 42 liters so it'll cost you RM80.64 to give her a full tank of petrol at the current prices of RM1.92 per liter for RON97 petrol. I don't know if the Toyota Yaris takes RON92 petrol.

How much will it cost you? Peninsular Malaysia prices are RM92,800.00 for the Toyota Yaris 1.5G for private registration. The Toyota Yaris 1.5S will cost you RM98,800.00 for private registration. That's RM6000 extra for a full bodykit, better brakes, and a sportier interior trim. I'd say it's pretty worth it, since the bodykit is original from Toyota. These prices are on the road prices including insurance. It's closest competitors are the Honda Jazz and the Suzuki Swift, both CBU hatchbacks. The Honda Jazz 1.5 i-DSI costs RM94,800, while the Honda Jazz 1.5 VTEC costs RM102,800. The Suzuki Swift CBU costs RM87,279 for the base model and RM91,779 for the premier model.

There are 7 colours available - Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, Black Mica, Super Red V, Pale Orange Mica Metallic, Dark Blue Mica, and Light Blue Mica Metallic.

This post has been edited by my_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar: May 19 2006, 02:59 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
chastise
post May 19 2006, 03:05 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

sounds like Vios to me.. haha Yaris1.5S = Vios1.5G Yaris1.5G= Vios 1.5E
s@ni
post May 19 2006, 03:09 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

its good.
but size..
ive oredi seen this car on the road since i arrived here.
wut can i say,its small like aveo.
chastise
post May 19 2006, 03:10 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

it's interior is alot better than aveo.....don't really like aveo's interior..
raist86
post May 19 2006, 03:15 AM

1,577 posts

hmm.. looks good.. then again. i'm a toyota fan...
hoping that the price could drop to below 90k.. maybe 80k.... >.<

Empathy
post May 19 2006, 03:20 AM

1,184 posts

Got manual version ??
chastise
post May 19 2006, 03:22 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ May 19 2006, 03:15 AM)
hmm.. looks good.. then again. i'm a toyota fan...
hoping that the price could drop to below 90k.. maybe 80k.... >.<
haha! dream on...imported leh... 80k = vios price liao..
TSmy_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar
post May 19 2006, 03:42 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(Empathy @ May 19 2006, 03:20 AM)
Got manual version ??
it manual version...
TSmy_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar
post May 19 2006, 03:44 AM

231 posts

for me, i like this car very very much.. the point is quite expensive abit. look sporty.. it look much same as honda jazz... it look very cool the power window locked there... look class..
travis_ckf
post May 19 2006, 06:48 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

threadstarter, u copy this directly from paultan.rg rite? Pls at least quote where u got this source, not good copying someone's work directly without qouting the original source.

Anyway i love the new yaris, just too bad the price is alittle too steep. If toyota mysia locally assembles this it could be cheaper by 10-15k!
zeustronic
post May 19 2006, 08:03 AM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

I hope malaysia will launch the Yaris sedan version.... RM99k quite expensive...
Ken
post May 19 2006, 08:58 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 19 2006, 03:05 AM)
sounds like Vios to me.. haha Yaris1.5S = Vios1.5G Yaris1.5G= Vios 1.5E
hmm....but in vios, E doesn't have ABS but for both yaris model also have(because may be toyota dun wan people complain kaw kaw - 95k car dun have ABS tongue.gif )

kcng
post May 19 2006, 09:04 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

Yaris is the aeroback version of vios la...
u can think like that...

hahaha..
soon u will see toyota improve vios abit so that it can be the sedan version...

lol..
nice nice...

let me see... yaris without protection will be
50k ?
travis_ckf
post May 19 2006, 09:05 AM

6,413 posts

FYI, i read an article on yaris review by a singaporean reviewer at autocar asean months ago, and in sgpore they have the E n G version, both in CVT autobox. Surprisingly, the E spec doesnt have folded rear seats, like the one in G or even the myvi. A supermini without folded seats is a big NO for me. That explains why UMW toyota refuses to bring the E spec.
CooShyRee
post May 19 2006, 10:01 AM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

honestly speakin, if i were 2 have a budget bout a 100k, n i wanna buy a jap supermini.. this 3 would be my choice.. but which one?? not easy 4 me 2 choose.. coz in terms of looks, i prefer the swift.. in terms of price, the swift's the cheapest.. in terms of space, the jazz's the best.. in terms in interior, i like the yaris's interior the most.. in terms of safety, the yaris's the safest.. in terms of power, the jazz vtec n yaris r more powerful.. in terms of equipment, the yaris's most equipped..

i really like the yaris.. i think its a very good supermini, a good compromise between performance, size n safety.. only thing thats pulling me down is the prize, very expensive 4 such a small car.. but then again, the jazz vtec is more expensive, but sales of it have been very good in our country.. so, id say the yaris is a good buy..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: May 19 2006, 10:05 AM
BuFung
post May 19 2006, 10:34 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ May 19 2006, 08:03 AM)
I hope malaysia will launch the Yaris sedan version.... RM99k quite expensive...
Yaris Sedan?? Do u think UMWT will do so? so how Vios going to sell??

model overlapping liao

BuFung
post May 19 2006, 10:36 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 19 2006, 10:01 AM)
honestly speakin, if i were 2 have a budget bout a 100k, n i wanna buy a jap supermini.. this 3 would be my choice.. but which one?? not easy 4 me 2 choose.. coz in terms of looks, i prefer the swift.. in terms of price, the swift's the cheapest.. in terms of space, the jazz's the best.. in terms in interior, i like the yaris's interior the most.. in terms of safety, the yaris's the safest.. in terms of power, the jazz vtec n yaris r more powerful.. in terms of equipment, the yaris's most equipped..

i really like the yaris.. i think its a very good supermini, a good compromise between performance, size n safety.. only thing thats pulling me down is the prize, very expensive 4 such a small car.. but then again, the jazz vtec is more expensive, but sales of it have been very good in our country.. so, id say the yaris is a good buy..
my friend.. ur post made people rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

hahahaha.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

beside, I guess with T logo, resell value of this car should be higher than Swift..
Jacqueline
post May 19 2006, 11:36 AM

20 posts

Nice looking car. Should be quite popular among lady buyers. I also read somewhere that the Yaris have a total of 17 storage compartments in its cabin! Which is quite amazing for such a small car... This means that us girls will be able to bring along more than 3 pairs of heels with us in this car. laugh.gif
travis_ckf
post May 19 2006, 11:59 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(Jacqueline @ May 19 2006, 11:36 AM)
Nice looking car. Should be quite popular among lady buyers. I also read somewhere that the Yaris have a total of 17 storage compartments in its cabin! Which is quite amazing for such a small car... This means that us girls will be able to bring along more than 3 pairs of heels with us in this car. laugh.gif
That was in autocar ASEAn on april issue FYI, coz i read that
check a small article on it when they joked on the name behind yaris! laugh.gif

I write it down provided i got the time laugh.gif
Ken
post May 19 2006, 12:02 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ May 19 2006, 09:04 AM)

let me see... yaris without protection will be
50k ?
good wat..else ah ju ah kaw also can buy and low down toyota name...

goverment want us work hard to earn more money...so can buy better car...
igor_is300
post May 19 2006, 12:08 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ May 19 2006, 12:02 PM)
good wat..else ah ju ah kaw also can buy and low down toyota name...

goverment want us work hard to earn more money...so can buy better car...
NO !

Gahmen want us to work hard and have a shitty life..so we can give them monay..

This post has been edited by igor_is300: May 19 2006, 12:25 PM
sonic_cd
post May 19 2006, 12:43 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 19 2006, 11:59 AM)
That was in autocar ASEAn on april issue FYI, coz i read that
check a small article on it when they joked on the name behind yaris! laugh.gif

I write it down provided i got the time laugh.gif
the name was toyota p something if i`m correct tongue.gif
Jacqueline
post May 19 2006, 01:13 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ May 19 2006, 12:43 PM)
the name was toyota p something if i`m correct tongue.gif
You mean the Toyota Prius?
travis_ckf
post May 19 2006, 01:14 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(Jacqueline @ May 19 2006, 01:13 PM)
You mean the Toyota Prius?
No, they joked it could be call as Toyota Penus laugh.gif

CooShyRee
post May 19 2006, 02:00 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 19 2006, 10:36 AM)
my friend.. ur post made people  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif 

hahahaha..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
wats so confusing?? unsure.gif

im juz telling the pros n cons of these cars through my pov..
zeustronic
post May 19 2006, 10:40 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 19 2006, 11:34 AM)
Yaris Sedan??  Do u think UMWT will do so?  so how Vios going to sell?? 

model overlapping liao
No way buddy... but prefer the sedan version, coz it got extra space...
boringpig
post May 21 2006, 01:48 AM

1,344 posts

my bro has a jazz (the earlier batch) which my dad bought for 90+k.. maybe i'm used to driving a 1.6 so whenever i drove my bro's jazz, i feel like it's dragging.. made me had to stepped on more on the accelerator.. and then really like suzuki swift but my dad said not worthed for a compact car at 80+k.. when i heard about the news that yaris gonna be launched here with a 80-90k tag.. my dad said too expensive for a car with jazz size.. really lovesssssss yaris now..

have been wondering why wasn't he think the same thing when he;s buying my bro's car and my 2 bladdy uncles' wald wish'es.. blink.gif

well, buy it myself then.. tongue.gif laugh.gif

anyone booked it? need to wait how long to get the car after booking?

This post has been edited by boringpig: May 21 2006, 01:49 AM
ntlc87
post May 21 2006, 02:00 AM

♥ Grammatically Impaired ♥
1,286 posts

vios vs city

jazz vs swift vs yaris
travis_ckf
post May 21 2006, 09:16 AM

6,413 posts

I did visit the toyota showroom ysday, well on te yaris, i impress by the exterior look, the driver's seating, the gear change with the super ECT, and the impressive 17 glove box for storing items!

But what i NOT impressed is the rear seats (the myvi and the city has more spacious rear seats), the disssapointing rear boot (similiar likea kelisa if u asked me sweat.gif ) and , the price. From the reviews i read frm the mags, performance wise it should be similiar like the vios where the engine is powerful for such class but the handling is more safe than fun.

Provided i have 100k and looking for a supermini, i might consider the yaris due to that its a toyota and it looked nice! But for if i looking for a supermini that fun to drive, better off with the swift.

Still i feel the best supermini in the market (consider u looking as a main transportation in the city, as what superminis are designed for), is still the Myvi. RM50K for dual airbags, ABS and toyota reliablity is simply a drop from heaven if u asked me. sweat.gif
BuFung
post May 21 2006, 01:34 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ May 21 2006, 01:48 AM)
my bro has a jazz (the earlier batch) which my dad bought for 90+k.. maybe i'm used to driving a 1.6 so whenever i drove my bro's jazz, i feel like it's dragging.. made me had to stepped on more on the accelerator.. and then really like suzuki swift but my dad said not worthed for a compact car at 80+k.. when i heard about the news that yaris gonna be launched here with a 80-90k tag.. my dad said too expensive for a car with jazz size.. really lovesssssss yaris now..

have been wondering why wasn't he think the same thing when he;s buying my bro's car and my 2 bladdy uncles' wald wish'es.. blink.gif

well, buy it myself then.. tongue.gif  laugh.gif

anyone booked it? need to wait how long to get the car after booking?
the earlier batch of Jazz is 1.4 if I am not mistaken leh.. the power of the car are lower than a City with iDSI engine ler.. m I right?
boringpig
post May 21 2006, 03:50 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 21 2006, 01:34 PM)
the earlier batch of Jazz is 1.4 if I am not mistaken leh.. the power of the car are lower than a City with iDSI engine ler..  m I right?
yeah, 1.4
and even since he had changed to a 16" rim.. i've given up in driving his car especially after a full dinner.. it make me wanna vomit..

yaris' a 1.5, right? i think it wouldn't have any obvious difference between a 1.6..
my bro did went to their showroom last nite.. well, the rear are smaller than jazz in term of space.. but the dashboard is damn nice..
SpikeTwo
post May 21 2006, 06:00 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

freakin expensive. lol...
specman
post May 21 2006, 06:58 PM

43 posts

Just came back from Toyota showroom. The Yaris rear boot is extremely small ! Dashboard is very nice though.
CooShyRee
post May 21 2006, 07:06 PM

3,806 posts

if u want a bigger boot, get a jazz then thumbup.gif

anyway specman, how small is the small?? compare it 2 sumthin..
specman
post May 21 2006, 10:38 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 21 2006, 07:06 PM)
if u want a bigger boot, get a jazz then thumbup.gif

anyway specman, how small is the small?? compare it 2 sumthin..
haha, actually I just got my Jazz 2 days ago. Went to Toyota to check out just to make sure I made the right choice laugh.gif

How to describe the small-ness ah?......... really small leah......maybe only 1/2 of even less than that of Jazz.......

BuFung
post May 21 2006, 10:50 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(specman @ May 21 2006, 10:38 PM)
haha, actually I just got my Jazz 2 days ago. Went to Toyota to check out just to make sure I made the right choice  laugh.gif

How to describe the small-ness ah?......... really small leah......maybe only 1/2 of even less than that of Jazz.......
yao ng yao gam kua ah... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
CooShyRee
post May 21 2006, 11:34 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(specman @ May 21 2006, 10:38 PM)
haha, actually I just got my Jazz 2 days ago. Went to Toyota to check out just to make sure I made the right choice  laugh.gif

that really small!! blink.gif i have 2 see this 4 myself, wheres the nearest toyota showroom?? tongue.gif
DreamChaser
post May 21 2006, 11:40 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

Went to see Yaris at the showroom near Federal Highway. Overall quite nice. But for the price, not really that nice ler... doh.gif
TSmy_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar
post May 22 2006, 06:40 AM

231 posts

hmmm... space got so small meh... i dun think so...
ulet
post May 22 2006, 07:18 AM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ May 19 2006, 08:03 AM)
aedi got what. toyota vios share the same platform with b4 this toyota yaris.
same like honda city using the same platform with jazz.
CooShyRee
post May 22 2006, 09:13 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ May 22 2006, 07:18 AM)
hmmm.. looks like the yaris n the jazz is very very similar 2 one another..
travis_ckf
post May 22 2006, 09:15 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 21 2006, 11:34 PM)
that really small!! blink.gif i have 2 see this 4 myself, wheres the nearest toyota showroom?? tongue.gif
The yaris's boot reminds me of the kelisa if u asked me, maybe slighty larger than the kelisa's boot but still WAY SMALL! doh.gif
CooShyRee
post May 22 2006, 09:21 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 22 2006, 09:15 AM)
The yaris's boot reminds me of the kelisa if u asked me, maybe slighty larger than the kelisa's boot but still WAY SMALL! doh.gif
u've seen the car, travis??
travis_ckf
post May 22 2006, 09:29 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 22 2006, 09:21 AM)
u've seen the car, travis??
here my mini 1st impression frm the earlier post:

I did visit the toyota showroom ysday, well on te yaris, i impress by the exterior look, the driver's seating, the gear change with the super ECT, and the impressive 17 glove box for storing items!

But what i NOT impressed is the rear seats (the myvi and the city has more spacious rear seats), the disssapointing rear boot (similiar likea kelisa if u asked me  ) and , the price. From the reviews i read frm the mags, performance wise it should be similiar like the vios where the engine is powerful for such class but the handling is more safe than fun.

Provided i have 100k and looking for a supermini, i might consider the yaris due to that its a toyota and it looked nice! But for if i looking for a supermini that fun to drive, better off with the swift.

Still i feel the best supermini in the market (consider u looking as a main transportation in the city, as what superminis are designed for), is still the Myvi. RM50K for dual airbags, ABS and toyota reliablity is simply a drop from heaven if u asked me
CooShyRee
post May 22 2006, 09:35 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 22 2006, 09:29 AM)
here my mini 1st impression frm the earlier post:
ooppsss.... sorry.. i didnt realise it.. notworthy.gif

but then travis, if u have 2 choose between the swift, the jazz n the yaris, which one would u go 4?? n y??
ulet
post May 22 2006, 09:41 AM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 22 2006, 09:35 AM)

but then travis, if u have  2 choose between the swift, the jazz n the yaris, which one would u go 4?? n y??
the jazz with it idsi engine.
travis_ckf
post May 22 2006, 09:51 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 22 2006, 09:35 AM)

but then travis, if u have  2 choose between the swift, the jazz n the yaris, which one would u go 4?? n y??
Being a toyota supporter, the yaris get my highest vote, but if i demand sporty ride, i would go for the swift.

For overall, i may go for the yaris.
thebeeman
post May 22 2006, 09:52 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ May 22 2006, 09:41 AM)
I second that.
CooShyRee
post May 22 2006, 09:59 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 22 2006, 09:51 AM)
Being a toyota supporter, the yaris get my highest vote, but if i demand sporty ride, i would go for the swift.

For overall, i may go for the yaris.
4 me, if i were 2 base my choice on looks alone, id go 4 the swift.. no doubt bout that!! thumbup.gif

but i do i think the yaris is more equipped.. n its a balance between looks, safety, performance, size n price.. so, overall yaris is my choice..

QUOTE(ulet @ May 22 2006, 09:41 AM)
QUOTE(thebeeman @ May 22 2006, 09:52 AM)
I second that.
i wonder, y u guys choosed the idsi instead of the vtec jazz?? is it coz of the price?? coz i think the vtec is a good compromise betwwen power n FC..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: May 22 2006, 10:01 AM
specman
post May 22 2006, 10:50 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 21 2006, 10:50 PM)
yao ng yao gam kua ah... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
haha, seriously that's my first impression. Told my wife imposible to fit in the family luggage if go holiday. You can push the back seat further front to create more depth, but then you will leave a gap between the rear boot compartment and the rear seat.

I like Toyota cos' I'm driving an Altis. Waited for so long for the Yaris . The size factor made me went for the Jazz instead.
ts1
post May 22 2006, 01:58 PM

3,784 posts

2000 designed still wan to sell so high...too who buy really sore high..
c0c0nut
post May 22 2006, 04:48 PM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

fren don call ppl sore high la...not so good to use that word la...i must get back to msia to test drive both the yaris and jazz before i make me decision...

both have it cons and pros...hope that the test drive will help me make up my mind...both cars looks cool...
sonic_cd
post May 22 2006, 05:00 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(ts1 @ May 22 2006, 01:58 PM)
2000 designed still wan to sell so high...too who buy really sore high..
toyota brand mah ... plus the gahmen tax ...

dsiew
post May 22 2006, 07:01 PM

715 posts

under the body of the yaris.. it's basically a vios...
BoltonMan
post May 22 2006, 07:59 PM

Ass man
1,769 posts

lol ... this car sold at 10k++USD in usa...means <40k in malaysia...

toyota usa

malaysia boleh! malaysia boleh....naikan tax.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by BoltonMan: May 22 2006, 08:00 PM
ntlc87
post May 22 2006, 08:01 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ May 22 2006, 07:18 AM)
there have been a quarrel over this hoda city and jazz...but in the end, jazz wins because it has better chassis..
rusty_1989
post May 22 2006, 10:51 PM

Insert comment here.
642 posts

the yaris sedan looks bad in comparison wif its hatch..

ive seen the car here in perth..

id say better 2 get a vios than a yaris sedan..
due to the fact that the front end of the yaris sedan looks like its jutting out or sumthing..

however..that is my impression of the car..i would definately go 4 the hatch instead of the sedan

Gouki
post May 23 2006, 12:00 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 22 2006, 09:59 AM)
i wonder, y u guys choosed the idsi instead of the vtec jazz?? is it coz of the price?? coz i think the vtec is a good compromise betwwen power n FC..
Well, coz simply the 1.5 idsi jazz has very good FC. Some of the JFFC members manage to hit 600km for a full tank of petrol at stock condition. But things went ugly when you start to modify the idsi jazz with heavier 17 inch rims and etc which when the VTEC jazz shines with better FC. However, the VTEC jazz FC aint too bad at stock condition with being able to hit 500km for a full tank of petrol with normal driving. And dont ever look down on the VTEC jazz. In terms of performance, it can outrun a lot of cars even larger capacity cars. smile.gif
BuFung
post May 23 2006, 12:10 AM

8,407 posts

Jazz with 45 litter tank? 40 litter?
BuFung
post May 23 2006, 12:17 AM

8,407 posts

Sedan.. hmm.. not that bad IMHO..

Gouki
post May 23 2006, 12:18 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 23 2006, 12:10 AM)
Jazz with 45 litter tank?  40 litter?
42 litres. smile.gif
BuFung
post May 23 2006, 12:19 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ May 23 2006, 12:18 AM)
42 litres. smile.gif
same as yaris... pretty sure yaris can do about the same figure u show just now..

coz I m driving a VIOS and can achieve the figure u show smile.gif
BuFung
post May 23 2006, 12:45 AM

8,407 posts

how US people rate the Yaris..

http://www.familycar.com/RoadTests/ToyotaYaris/index.htm
CooShyRee
post May 23 2006, 08:50 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ May 23 2006, 12:00 AM)
Well, coz simply the 1.5 idsi jazz has very good FC. Some of the JFFC members manage to hit 600km for a full tank of petrol at stock condition. But things went ugly when you start to modify the idsi jazz with heavier 17 inch rims and etc which when the VTEC jazz shines with better FC. However, the VTEC jazz FC aint too bad at stock condition with being able to hit 500km for a full tank of petrol with normal driving. And dont ever look down on the VTEC jazz. In terms of performance, it can outrun a lot of cars even larger capacity cars. smile.gif
ic ic.. so the idsi jazz has fantastic FC if u leve it juz like that.. while if u wanna do some makeup wit it, ure better off wit the vtec jazz, rite guoki??

i never underestimate the power of the vtec jazz, coz ive driven (even 4 a very short while) the idsi jazz.. even wit the idsi, i feel that the performance is anytime better than any of its korean rivals..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: May 23 2006, 08:50 AM
eye
post May 23 2006, 08:59 AM

1,166 posts

yaris .. like the jazz, is way way way over-priced .... there are better alternatives available
CooShyRee
post May 23 2006, 09:09 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(eye @ May 23 2006, 08:59 AM)
yaris  .. like the jazz, is way way way over-priced .... there are better alternatives available
may i ask u wat that better alternative is??
ts1
post May 23 2006, 09:58 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 23 2006, 09:09 AM)
may i ask u wat that better alternative is??
pERODUA jAZZ aka Myvi tongue.gif
xyoshix
post May 23 2006, 03:14 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(ts1 @ May 23 2006, 09:58 AM)
pERODUA jAZZ aka Myvi  tongue.gif
lol rclxms.gif
Gouki
post May 23 2006, 04:59 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(eye @ May 23 2006, 08:59 AM)
yaris  .. like the jazz, is way way way over-priced .... there are better alternatives available
Of coz, with that money i can buy Sentra/Altis 1.6 and Civic 1.7 but they are just not my taste. Well, Jazz VTEC can outrun all the mentioned above even the 1.8 version. I just fall in love with the CVT gearbox very much. tongue.gif
c0c0nut
post May 23 2006, 05:29 PM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

i think alot of people who wants to buy jazz would have to look at yaris too...hard choice between this 2...i myself cant decide which...
chastise
post May 23 2006, 06:45 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ May 23 2006, 04:59 PM)
Of coz, with that money i can buy Sentra/Altis 1.6 and Civic 1.7 but they are just not my taste. Well, Jazz VTEC can outrun all the mentioned above even the 1.8 version. I just fall in love with the CVT gearbox very much. tongue.gif
huh? u mean jazz vtec can even outrun altis 1.8? i don't think so.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
ntlc87
post May 23 2006, 11:57 PM

1,286 posts

jazz vtec can outrun vios dohc la..but altis 1.8? i dont think so..
chastise
post May 24 2006, 12:00 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ntlc87 @ May 23 2006, 11:57 PM)
jazz vtec can outrun vios dohc la..but altis 1.8? i dont think so..
i dunno....drove me fren's jazz and vios before....
i actually find for better normal acceleration i think jazz vtec is better....you can feel that it's more powerful.....but when reaching higher kmh Vios can actually outrun jazz....
for altis 1.8....impossible jazz can beat...

This post has been edited by chastise: May 24 2006, 12:15 AM
BuFung
post May 24 2006, 12:04 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 24 2006, 12:00 AM)
i dunno....drove jazz and vios before....i actually find vios better normal acceleration i think jazz vtec is better....but dunno why..i still think vios's 1.5 vvti is better.... for altis 1.8....impossible jazz can beat...
brother.. ur statement made me rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
chastise
post May 24 2006, 12:11 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 24 2006, 12:04 AM)
brother.. ur statement made me  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
hahahah!! sorry some typoss.....edited redi..hope you can understand now lah...hahahah! tongue.gif
ntlc87
post May 24 2006, 12:13 AM

1,286 posts

if racing circuit, jazz wins because of handling. but if straight, vios win..tested already by a jazz forumer somewhere..
BuFung
post May 24 2006, 12:16 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 24 2006, 12:00 AM)
i dunno....drove jazz and vios before....
i actually find for better normal acceleration i think jazz vtec is better....you can feel that it's more powerful.....but when reaching higher kmh Vios can actually outrun jazz....
for altis 1.8....impossible jazz can beat...
I drive City frequently and I own Vios.. I felt almost the same way like u..

no doubt transmittion of City is smoother.. but when cruise till speed like 130-140.. u step ur pedal.. vios still going very well.. but City go till 110... eerr. like.. .. .. hardly going...

the City I drive is Idsi.. not vtec..
chastise
post May 24 2006, 12:19 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 24 2006, 12:16 AM)
I drive City frequently and I own Vios..    I felt almost the same way like u.. 

no doubt transmittion of City is smoother..  but when cruise till speed like 130-140.. u step ur pedal.. vios still going very well..  but City go till 110... eerr.  like..  ..  ..  hardly going... 

the City I drive is Idsi.. not vtec..
but i heard city vtec has higher hp than vios and idsi is lower....but usually i can only see Vios zooming at the highway but not city...so dunno bout that...never drive city before....

wahhh...city idsi FC super good.. drool.gif drool.gif
BuFung
post May 24 2006, 12:22 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 24 2006, 12:19 AM)
but i heard city vtec has higher hp than vios and idsi is lower....but usually i can only see Vios zooming at the highway but not city...so dunno bout that...never drive city before....

wahhh...city idsi FC super good.. drool.gif  drool.gif
idsi hp come to 90... Vtec 110... vios 109...

FC.. slighty better than vios.. smile.gif for City driving.. CITY rock la.. Vios not bad too.. tongue.gif

way off topic liao.. tongue.gif
ToyotaKaki
post May 24 2006, 12:33 AM

454 posts

drool.gif support yaris all the way
BuFung
post May 24 2006, 12:37 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(ToyotaKaki @ May 24 2006, 12:33 AM)
drool.gif support yaris all the way
OMG.. this is ganas man... flex.gif flex.gif

come n join us in Toyota thread friend..
ToyotaKaki
post May 24 2006, 12:56 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 24 2006, 12:37 AM)
OMG.. this is ganas man...  flex.gif  flex.gif 

come n join us in Toyota thread friend..
Sorrylah bro, joined too many car's forum already. I skip yr 1 lah.
Gouki
post May 24 2006, 02:35 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 23 2006, 06:45 PM)
huh? u mean jazz vtec can even outrun altis 1.8? i don't think so....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Yeah, wanna try? tongue.gif
c0c0nut
post May 24 2006, 02:45 PM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

See this at KLIMS.... thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_idea.gif rclxms.gif

not too bad mod for the yaris,....
Gouki
post May 24 2006, 02:47 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

Well, went to Toyota showroom and take a look at the Yaris. It's a dissapointment to me. Overall the exterior of the car i have to admit look modern and funky compare to the Jazz. Interior space on the front and back are not bad but the back seats are bit tad tight if to compare to Jazz. But the boot space is a big let down to me. It's even smaller than the MyVi's boot space. As for the interior trims, it seems that it's not up to par of a Toyota marque coz Toyota is famous for built quality of the interior trim. Glove box, cup holder and other dashboard finishing feels cheap and flimsy. I do not know if its only the defect of the showcar i saw but the glovebox doesnt close well as there's a obvious gap. The MyVi dashboard finishing is even better although the design is not as good as the Yaris interior trim. And the unit that i viewed is the S version. One thing i like bout Yaris though is the solid feel of closing the door. Much more solid feel than the Jazz. Toyota could do better on the interior as they are what used to be famous for. More comments once i manage to get to test drive the Yaris if it's more fun to drive. smile.gif
CooShyRee
post May 24 2006, 02:51 PM

3,806 posts

i kinda dont like the front of that.. too many holes.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Gouki @ May 24 2006, 02:47 PM)
Well, went to Toyota showroom and take a look at the Yaris. It's a dissapointment to me. Overall the exterior of the car i have to admit look modern and funky compare to the Jazz. Interior space on the front and back are not bad but the back seats are bit tad tight if to compare to Jazz. But the boot space is a big let down to me. It's even smaller than the MyVi's boot space. As for the interior trims, it seems that it's not up to par of a Toyota marque coz Toyota is famous for built quality of the interior trim. Glove box, cup holder and other dashboard finishing feels cheap and flimsy. I do not know if its only the defect of the showcar i saw but the glovebox doesnt close well as there's a obvious gap. The MyVi dashboard finishing is even better although the design is not as good as the Yaris interior trim. And the unit that i viewed is the S version. One thing i like bout Yaris though is the solid feel of closing the door. Much more solid feel than the Jazz. Toyota could do better on the interior as they are what used to be famous for. More comments once i manage to get to test drive the Yaris if it's more fun to drive. smile.gif
maybe as a city run around, they yaris is good.. but in the terms of practicality, its a big let down due 2 the lack of rear passenger space n boot..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: May 24 2006, 02:54 PM
chastise
post May 24 2006, 03:33 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ May 24 2006, 02:35 PM)
haha!! nonid to try....i know....hahaha!
ToyotaKaki
post May 25 2006, 12:49 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ May 24 2006, 02:35 PM)
Toyota Altis 1.8 with the TRC set to off and the power set to on, the VTEC Jazz smell smoke only.
EpsilonStar
post May 25 2006, 01:25 AM

1,245 posts

eh the red yaris is it using ings bodykit?

the c-one bodykit makes yaris looks so fierce...

aiyah deng the gahmen la, yaris such a small car has to be sold tat expensive. add several K can get altis...

really boh song the gahmen now...
WhizzWork2005
post May 25 2006, 09:26 AM

1,433 posts

It's kinda expensive for this size and this class of cars....

travis_ckf
post May 25 2006, 09:26 AM

6,413 posts

Well the good news is UMW toyota plans to locally manufacture a toyota model in Mysia by 18 months time. That model is most likely either the avanza or vios.

What i would like to see is that the yaris to be at least locally assembled coz, if it priced at 70-80K, there will be a good demand on it.
CooShyRee
post May 25 2006, 09:32 AM

3,806 posts

i always have doubts when malaysians wanna set up a factory here 2 put 2gether a foreigner's car.. somehow, i always think that quality's gonna go down.. same thing wit plan of making the swift here, as well as the plan 2 make the chevy here too..
Kyoshiro
post May 25 2006, 01:11 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(c0c0nut @ May 24 2006, 02:45 PM)
See this at KLIMS.... thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif  notworthy.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxms.gif

not too bad mod for the yaris,....
HaHa! For sale? I guess my dad oledi made his mind to get a yaris... coz he's more concerned about the 2nd hand value sad.gif and i was asking him to buy a jazz but he dont wan... he's more into yaris cry.gif
Anyway check these sites out... Lots of cool yarises or Vitz it is tongue.gif
http://www.k4.dion.ne.jp/~vitz/RS1.htm
http://michiru73.hp.infoseek.co.jp/gyallery/gyallery.html

This post has been edited by Kyoshiro: May 25 2006, 01:13 PM
CooShyRee
post May 25 2006, 01:21 PM

3,806 posts

its ok laa, kyoshiro.. the yaris is a very very good supermini.. im sure u wont regret gettin it..

y do u want the jazz so bad though??
Kyoshiro
post May 25 2006, 01:25 PM

372 posts

Lolx jazz used to be my dream car mar smile.gif n i like it's CVT n Vtec biggrin.gif
But Yaris' vvt-i also not bad lar... since i'm not that kind of racing freak... Just don like some lalajai bully me laugh.gif
CooShyRee
post May 25 2006, 01:28 PM

3,806 posts

hahahahaha laugh.gif

btw, thnx 4 the links, kyoshiro.. a lot of cun yaris's in there.. drool.gif

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: May 25 2006, 01:33 PM
porkchop
post May 25 2006, 01:35 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

that is a nice modded yaris
chastise
post May 25 2006, 03:16 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

Altis 1.8 : 1.8-liter VVTi DOHC 16-valve in-line4 (145 hp @ 6,000 rpm; 188 Nm @ 4,200 rpm) 0-100km/h = 8.5 seconds

Jazz 1.5 Vtec : Inline 4 cylinder 16Valves SOHC VTEC and PGM-Fi Displacement 1497cc
Max power 81kW (110hp) at 5800rpm
Max torque 143Nm (14.6kgm) at 4800rpm 0-100km/h = 11.9 seconds

Jazz Vtec how to outrun Altis 1.8 leh? sweat.gif
can only compare altis with civic...

Kyoshiro
post May 25 2006, 04:26 PM

372 posts

no prob... Hoho! tomorrow's motorshow's 1st day... hope i can get to see some cun modded cars there biggrin.gif
DrJackal
post May 26 2006, 05:36 PM

-
3,107 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 25 2006, 03:16 PM)
Altis 1.8 : 1.8-liter VVTi DOHC 16-valve in-line4 (145 hp @ 6,000 rpm; 188 Nm @ 4,200 rpm) 0-100km/h = 8.5 seconds

Jazz 1.5 Vtec : Inline 4 cylinder 16Valves SOHC VTEC and PGM-Fi Displacement 1497cc

wah u sure Altis 1.8 can do 0-100km/h in 8.5 secs ???
my old 2.0 civic can outrun 1.8 Altis by a very far distance but im sure my car CANNOT do better than 8.5sec in 0-100km/h ....

This post has been edited by DrJackal: May 26 2006, 05:37 PM
DrJackal
post May 26 2006, 05:39 PM

-
3,107 posts

i was waiting to see this car since early this year but I saw them in Singapore last few months, all i can say is disappointment...

This car can look nice and fugly at different angle, summore it's quite small.
Plus the price in Malaysia, WAH... speechless
@meno
post May 26 2006, 08:21 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

Damn expensive...
Btw, does have look slightly similiar to a Peugeot 206.
Better get a 206 Bestari, add skirting and use the extra money for mod.
More satisfaction.
CooShyRee
post May 26 2006, 10:01 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 26 2006, 08:21 PM)
Damn expensive...
Btw, does have look slightly similiar to a Peugeot 206.
Better get a 206 Bestari, add skirting and use the extra money for mod.
More satisfaction.
r u kidding me?? i would rather have a proton than the stupid 206 bestari!!
chastise
post May 26 2006, 11:08 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(DrJackal @ May 26 2006, 05:36 PM)
wah u sure Altis 1.8 can do 0-100km/h in 8.5 secs ???
my old 2.0 civic can outrun 1.8 Altis by a very far distance but im sure my car CANNOT do better than 8.5sec in 0-100km/h ....
hahaha!! you try to floor your civic with a passenger lah..how old is your civic?
opss...not relevant here hahaha!
even a vios can do 10-11sec....floor80%
u tried racing with an Altis before?
i also outrun a civic 2.0 before wor.....
Kyoshiro
post May 27 2006, 02:05 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 26 2006, 10:01 PM)
r u kidding me?? i would rather have a proton than the stupid 206 bestari!!
Get NAZA Sutera rclxms.gif Hahahah!
Cheap n affordable biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Kyoshiro: May 27 2006, 02:06 AM
Kyoshiro
post May 27 2006, 02:09 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 26 2006, 11:08 PM)
hahaha!! you try to floor your civic with a passenger lah..how old is your civic?
Hehe! SOrry guys... kinda off topic... laugh.gif
peace biggrin.gif
Kyoshiro
post May 27 2006, 02:13 AM

372 posts

Anyway, i saw the Yaris in KLIMS... It's really amazing... I hope it's for sale tongue.gif
Thatz the original TRD bodykit? Well the back bumper looks like the Vitz RS bumper... In front not sure blink.gif

This post has been edited by Kyoshiro: May 27 2006, 02:16 AM
bahamut shaman
post May 27 2006, 03:59 AM

67 posts

went to see this yaris also ... agree dissappointment....the 98888 price is offering much more like advanced tech accessories like the alarm system the led meter and the finishing of the middle part....erm one this is that offering much more space for that kind of mini dimension...i can say the back is much more comfortable than vios when the driver site is at a comfortable driving position...

but not worth buying... at a 1.5 cc mini... true rather get a bestari is like 30 k differ the bestari can mod till fly

umw it self had not much confident in this car so they are not stocking it in all the outlet. just a few units....

This post has been edited by bahamut shaman: May 27 2006, 04:00 AM
DrJackal
post May 28 2006, 02:11 AM

-
3,107 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 26 2006, 11:08 PM)
around 1 year old loh

maybe we both shall try....
TSmy_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar
post May 28 2006, 06:32 AM

231 posts

seen like no ppl wanna book this car. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by my_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar: May 28 2006, 06:33 AM
dansan118
post May 28 2006, 10:41 AM

150 posts

hey any 1, what is EBD?

some kind of braking system?
strayato.hirzaki
post May 28 2006, 01:57 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(dansan118 @ May 28 2006, 10:41 AM)
hey any 1, what is EBD?

some kind of braking system?
EBD stands for "Electronic Brakeforce Distribution"

read more about it here
dog
post May 28 2006, 09:38 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(bahamut shaman @ May 27 2006, 03:59 AM)
umw it self had not much confident in this car so they are not stocking it in all the outlet. just a few units....
The reason there are only 200+ units of Yaris is because of the limited number of APs given to UMW by MoT.

Let's say you have X number of APs for 2006. Would you use them all up on Yaris, or would you rather retain them for Wish, RAV4 and Camry?

Also, if UMW takes up a lot of orders, can Toyota Thailand produce enough for its own local market, plus Malaysia's as well?

As for choosing a Yaris, it gives the buyer another choice if buyer is already eyeing for a car like Jazz and Swift.

If you want to purchase a car for practicality or value for money, then the above 3 cars may not be suitable for your needs.

If you're into driving sporty compact cars or want to be unique, then look no further (unless you can afford a Mini Cooper). For this niche market, buyers are expected to pay more.

dog
post Jun 7 2006, 08:36 PM

199 posts

Posted some pics here.
quintessential
post Oct 24 2006, 07:42 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

wow. yaris in australia is so cheap, even fresh graduate with aud1500 can buy it.

http://yaris.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/...442_662,00.html

dont count on ringgit to dollar conversion.
EpsilonStar
post Oct 24 2006, 09:02 PM

1,245 posts

is it no ppl wanna buy this car? So far i've only seen 2 yaris running on the road....
travis_ckf
post Oct 24 2006, 10:28 PM

6,413 posts

True, i actually see more jazz than yaris in the road.

personally it not a worth buy even its cheaper than jazz, thanks to cheaper alternatives like myvi and getz.
BoltonMan
post Oct 25 2006, 12:48 AM

Ass man
1,769 posts

yaris is cbu ... the toyota salesman told me only 500 AP ...

but the most important factor is this car is over price kaw kaw!!!! all thanks to government !!! rclxms.gif
ntlc87
post Oct 25 2006, 04:13 AM

1,286 posts

u sure r? ur facts based on paper or have u ever experience it? have u ever consider if he has both of the cars? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ntlc87: Oct 25 2006, 04:14 AM
Gouki
post Oct 25 2006, 04:49 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

You trust a lot on paper figures, dont you? tongue.gif
http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/JazzVtec/index.html

This post has been edited by Gouki: Oct 25 2006, 04:53 AM
sledgehammer
post Oct 25 2006, 12:45 PM

664 posts

power to weight ratio is important..... that is one of the winning factor smile.gif
Bliz
post Oct 25 2006, 12:54 PM

2,734 posts

There's no way the Jazz will out accelerate Altis 1.8 at any speed, my father has an Altis 1.8 and i am driving City Vtec 1.5. Altis is just too powerful for City/Jazz to catch up, if u dun believe welcome to arrange a drag race doh.gif
Gouki
post Oct 25 2006, 01:05 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2006, 12:54 PM)
There's no way the Jazz will out accelerate Altis 1.8 at any speed, my father has an Altis 1.8 and i am driving City Vtec 1.5. Altis is just too powerful for City/Jazz to catch up, if u dun believe welcome to arrange a drag race  doh.gif
How do you use the CVT gearbox during the drag? smile.gif
Bliz
post Oct 25 2006, 01:20 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Oct 25 2006, 01:05 PM)
How do you use the CVT gearbox during the drag? smile.gif
S-mode with manual shifting
ntlc87
post Oct 25 2006, 02:19 PM

1,286 posts

hehe..gouki heard bout u in jjfc forum from a friend..i still beleive jazz vtec can outrun altis 1.8...but u should give better explanation to other forumers here..
Bliz
post Oct 25 2006, 02:37 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ntlc87 @ Oct 25 2006, 02:19 PM)
hehe..gouki heard bout u in jjfc forum from a friend..i still beleive jazz vtec can outrun altis 1.8...but u should give better explanation to other forumers here..
If u have driven both cars before then u will know whether it's possible or not whistling.gif , not to say Jazz is slow but i am just stating my experience here smile.gif
thebeeman
post Oct 25 2006, 03:32 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(dog @ May 28 2006, 09:38 PM)
The reason there are only 200+ units of Yaris is because of the limited number of APs given to UMW by MoT.

Let's say you have X number of APs for 2006. Would you use them all up on Yaris, or would you rather retain them for Wish, RAV4 and Camry?

Also, if UMW takes up a lot of orders, can Toyota Thailand produce enough for its own local market, plus Malaysia's as well?

As for choosing a Yaris, it gives the buyer another choice if buyer is already eyeing for a car like Jazz and Swift.

If you want to purchase a car for practicality or value for money, then the above 3 cars may not be suitable for your needs.

If you're into driving sporty compact cars or want to be unique, then look no further (unless you can afford a Mini Cooper). For this niche market, buyers are expected to pay more.
This is not a problem!!!

AP can be reused as like some of our Datuk's sons are doing. whistling.gif whistling.gif

quintessential
post Oct 25 2006, 04:51 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(thebeeman @ Oct 25 2006, 04:32 PM)
This is not a problem!!!

AP can be reused as like some of our Datuk's sons are doing. whistling.gif  whistling.gif
i wonder when the ap is first issued? during tdm's administration or before that?
travis_ckf
post Oct 25 2006, 06:37 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Oct 25 2006, 04:51 PM)
i wonder when the ap is first issued? during tdm's administration or before that?
Not really, accotding to the new National Automitive Policy, AP will be given according to the local assembly as well, as the gov agrees to give out AP if the criteria of having local assembly to assemble car for local market or for export is met.

For instance, toyota Mysia assembles locally vios, avanza and so on, and for a certain ammount of AP has been allocated by the gov for them to import Yaris, Wish and now the Camry from Thailand.

This is actually to encourage car manufacturers to have local assembly factories here, furthermore since Mysia still the biggest car market in SEA. This policy somehow benefits toyota and honda for the time being.
BridgestoneRE711
post Oct 25 2006, 06:39 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

1.5 and 1.8 ...
as usual ... a more powerful CC car will certainly be faster .

mTk
post Oct 25 2006, 09:06 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Oct 25 2006, 06:39 PM)
1.5 and 1.8 ...
as usual ... a more powerful CC car will certainly be faster .
So you're saying that the Altis/Civic 1.8 will definitely smoke the old EG hatchback with the 1.6 B16A?

It all depends on many factors, dude. Power-to-weight ratio, that's one thing. Another factor is engine tuning and technology. If you compare, City VTEC (1.5) with old Waja (1.6 4G18), obviously the City will beat it la.

Actually in this case I'm quite surprised. Didn't expect the Altis to be so powerful... but then again the engine is used in the MR-S also smile.gif
Gouki
post Oct 26 2006, 04:52 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2006, 01:20 PM)
S-mode with manual shifting
Hmmm, ever try D to S and from D to S again? smile.gif
Gouki
post Oct 26 2006, 04:53 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ntlc87 @ Oct 25 2006, 02:19 PM)
Me? I'm just a small potato. Wat to hear bout me? blush.gif
alkt
post Oct 26 2006, 07:09 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Oct 26 2006, 04:53 AM)
Me? I'm just a small potato. Wat to hear bout me? blush.gif
crazysilverjazz compare to other jazzes whistling.gif
leowhy
post Nov 21 2006, 01:09 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

hi to all, really new to this board...
happened to read this board as myself is actually looking for a new car... smile.gif

my current criteria:

1) fuel consumption.
2) comfort for driver & passenger
3) NO proton/perodua
4) price < 100K

glance through all the more popular cars in M'sia, that leaves me:

1) Honda City i-DSi (~RM80K)
2) Honda Jazz i-DSi (~RM94K)
3) Toyota Yaris (~RM92K to RM99K)

Currently the RM4k reduction actually brings the Yaris (1.5G) to <RM90K price range... given all it's strong points... wouldn't it be quite ok?

IHMO, we should not compare how low price a particular vehicle should be somewhere else...

i actually test drived Yaris 1.5S and i have to say... i'm totaly satisfied with the experiece... agreed that the boot area is small... real small but luckily it can be slightly compensated with the movable rear seats... i might end up choosing it... hehe...

seriously, any good suggestions whether the 1.5S can justified the extra few thousand RM?

the most obvious additional is the 15" front Ventilated disc brake & 15" solid disk brake vs 14" front ventilated+rear drum brake, 6 speakers vs 4 speakers, aerobody kit...

Gouki
post Nov 21 2006, 01:37 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 21 2006, 01:09 PM)
hi to all, really new to this board...
happened to read this board as myself is actually looking for a new car...  smile.gif

my current criteria:

1) fuel consumption.
2) comfort for driver & passenger
3) NO proton/perodua
4) price < 100K

glance through all the more popular cars in M'sia, that leaves me:

1) Honda City i-DSi (~RM80K)
2) Honda Jazz i-DSi (~RM94K)
3) Toyota Yaris (~RM92K to RM99K)

Currently the RM4k reduction actually brings the Yaris (1.5G) to <RM90K price range... given all it's strong points... wouldn't it be quite ok?

IHMO, we should not compare how low price a particular vehicle  should be somewhere else...

i actually test drived Yaris 1.5S and i have to say... i'm totaly satisfied with the experiece... agreed that the boot area is small... real small but luckily it can be slightly compensated with the movable rear seats... i might end up choosing it... hehe...

seriously, any good suggestions whether the 1.5S can justified the extra few thousand RM?

the most obvious additional is the 15" front Ventilated disc brake & 15" solid disk brake vs 14" front ventilated+rear drum brake, 6 speakers vs 4 speakers, aerobody kit...
The Jazz VTEC having discounts as well if you find the right salesperson. smile.gif
Try test drive the Jazz since you have test drive the Yaris. smile.gif
electron
post Nov 21 2006, 01:45 PM

1,329 posts

do you really need the car so urgently?
if not, why not wait till end december or next year. by then you can squeeze more discount or get a 07 make.
if you want comfort, why not check out the sentra or altis 1.6 too.
fits your budget.
leowhy
post Nov 21 2006, 04:14 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Nov 21 2006, 01:37 PM)
The Jazz VTEC having discounts as well if you find the right salesperson. smile.gif
Try test drive the Jazz since you have test drive the Yaris. smile.gif
yup... i'll definitely do that... smile.gif

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 21 2006, 01:45 PM)
do you really need the car so urgently?
if not, why not wait till end december or next year. by then you can squeeze more discount or get a 07 make.
if you want comfort, why not check out the sentra or altis 1.6 too.
fits your budget.
not to say that urgent... just beginning to seek...
personally i dislike sentra coz it relatively
1)looks conservative by now days...
2)the cabin space feel not that spacious somehow...
3)fuel consumption not as good...
and for altis 1.6... is it local assembly unit? i forgot to check the price for this unit... how much does it cost? smile.gif

And to all that having good knowledge in Automobiles, regarding my questions above... is the additional few thousand RM justified the additional stuff for the Yaris1.5S? (i mean those better brakes, more speakers, aero body kit, etc...)

thanks again... notworthy.gif

electron
post Nov 22 2006, 09:45 AM

1,329 posts

the last i checked, the 1.6 altis is selling at around 100k, and yes, it's CKD
go check it out while you are checking the yaris.
and remember to test drive.
leowhy
post Nov 23 2006, 12:54 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 22 2006, 09:45 AM)
the last i checked, the 1.6 altis is selling at around 100k, and yes, it's CKD
go check it out while you are checking the yaris.
and remember to test drive.
thanks fr the advice...
i actually sat in the altis & it really feel comfortable...
but overall, it's look & design looks relatively old/conservative...
perhaps due to i prefer those later looks & designs (the more sporty/elegant type)...
just my opinion... smile.gif
electron
post Nov 23 2006, 01:16 PM

1,329 posts

hi leowhy, read somewhere that someone managed to get the 1.8 altis at around 100k for a new car. if you can find that deal, it is a seriouly good deal. it's a very well specced car (front sensors, electric seats, optitron meter, VSC, etc)
i agree on you on the design, it looks more conservative, but it is elegant and in some way luxury.

happy shopping!

leowhy
post Nov 24 2006, 10:29 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 23 2006, 01:16 PM)
hi leowhy, read somewhere that someone managed to get the 1.8 altis at around 100k for a new car. if you can find that deal, it is a seriouly good deal. it's a very well specced car (front sensors, electric seats, optitron meter, VSC, etc)
i agree on you on the design, it looks more conservative, but it is elegant and in some way luxury.

happy shopping!
ha... u left me mouth watering drool.gif without more clues... only "somewhere that someone..." rclxub.gif
ha... just joking... biggrin.gif
i'll definitely give it a try & search... smile.gif

as of my latest status, i'm actually sort of leaning towards Toyota Yaris 1.5G or 1.5S than Honda Jazz i-DSI or Honda City i-DSI

as u may notice, i put in both i-DSI version as FC is my main focus... i include City as well as it's more affordable + better trunk space...

what i feel unhappy with Honda Jazz or City is that the better interesting features are coming with the V-TEC versions only... i really dislike the biege cole interior of the City... sad.gif

one thing that bug me most is about Yaris is the really small Trunk... sad.gif

mr_fazz
post Nov 24 2006, 11:28 PM

265 posts

yesterday I drove my friend's Toyota Yaris 1.5S
it's really a cool car and the interior looks nice
since all is in black color
just notice the car is abit underpower, maybe coz it's 1500cc only
but it's really fun to drive and suitable for city drive

just share my experience! biggrin.gif blush.gif
leowhy
post Nov 25 2006, 09:14 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Nov 24 2006, 11:28 PM)
yesterday I drove my friend's Toyota Yaris 1.5S
it's really a cool car and the interior looks nice
since all is in black color
just notice the car is abit underpower, maybe coz it's 1500cc only
but it's really fun to drive and suitable for city drive
just share my experience!  biggrin.gif  blush.gif
blink.gif shocking.gif underpower!!??
u must be a "pick up" die hard... hahaha... anyway... thanks thumbup.gif
mr_fazz
post Nov 25 2006, 04:23 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 25 2006, 09:14 AM)
blink.gif  shocking.gif underpower!!??
u must be a "pick up" die hard... hahaha... anyway... thanks thumbup.gif
hahaa, not really lar, drove in highway, so wanna speed a bit lor
and maybe coz my car is 1.8, so can feel the different in terms of power ler
but yaris is CUTE car!

leowhy
post Nov 26 2006, 03:42 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Nov 25 2006, 04:23 PM)
hahaa, not really lar, drove in highway, so wanna speed a bit lor
and maybe coz my car is 1.8, so can feel the different in terms of power ler
but yaris is CUTE car!
ah... no wonder... since u r accustom to the power of 1.8... smile.gif

BTW, i kinda uncertain whether the extra RM6000 is justified for the Yaris 1.5S... sad.gif
any opinion? thanks
jimmy1977
post Nov 26 2006, 06:04 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

Car Is Nice , But The Price quite expensive... ! If I Got RM 99K , I Buy Honda Jazz Better Good !
electron
post Nov 26 2006, 10:23 PM

1,329 posts

list down the differences between the 1.5G and S model
go through each item and ask if you need it, and if alternative after market replacement is available and at what price (but if the item involves major work on the car, then better go the factory-fitted way)
leowhy
post Nov 26 2006, 10:44 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(jimmy1977 @ Nov 26 2006, 06:04 PM)
Car Is Nice , But The Price quite expensive... ! If I Got RM 99K , I Buy Honda Jazz Better Good !
frankly, i've tested drive both Yaris & Jazz, & i would choose yaris due to newer interior layout & quite importantly, the rear seats for Jazz is just too uncomfrotable... sad.gif

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 26 2006, 10:23 PM)
list down the differences between the 1.5G and S model
go through each item and ask if you need it, and if alternative after market replacement is available and at what price (but if the item involves major work on the car, then better go the factory-fitted way)
very good suggestion... thanks... notworthy.gif
the main 2 features that are bugging me are the brakes (15" vs 14" for front & solid disc vs drum for rear) & additional speakers unit (6 vs 4). sad.gif
the rest like interior coloring, meter & player display color, bodykit are not important to me... laugh.gif

electron
post Nov 27 2006, 10:24 AM

1,329 posts

speakers can always add on, btw did you check the sound quality of the original speakers? you might end up replacing the speakers, even on the S spec.
as for the brakes, the S spec brakes will definitely be better, but depending on how you use the car, the G spec brakes might be sufficient, and when the ori pads wears out, you can always drop in better brake pads.
i think the standard audio player of the yaris is difficult to change, so do check the difference between the unit in both spec.
iRonTech
post Nov 27 2006, 11:03 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 27 2006, 10:24 AM)
speakers can always add on, btw did you check the sound quality of the original speakers? you might end up replacing the speakers, even on the S spec.
as for the brakes, the S spec brakes will definitely be better, but depending on how you use the car, the G spec brakes might be sufficient, and when the ori pads wears out, you can always drop in better brake pads.
i think the standard audio player of the yaris is difficult to change, so do check the difference between the unit in both spec.
phew witt!! today Yaris & Wish AD on newspaper, both provide 5 years free service & maintenance, worth Rm7,200 !! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
leowhy
post Nov 27 2006, 12:41 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 27 2006, 10:24 AM)
yup... totally agree on your opinion.. smile.gif
the audio player wise, i check & found they fidder only by the display color, function wise are identical...

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Nov 27 2006, 11:03 AM)
phew witt!! today Yaris & Wish AD on newspaper, both provide 5 years free service & maintenance, worth Rm7,200 !!  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Really? which newspaper, i would like to get 1 copy so i can use it to bargain with the sales agent again... coz last Saturday when i talked to him he didn't mention this 5 years free service & maintenance at all!!!
iRonTech
post Nov 27 2006, 03:44 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 27 2006, 12:41 PM)
yup... totally agree on your opinion.. smile.gif
the audio player wise, i check & found they fidder only by the display color, function wise are identical...
Really? which newspaper, i would like to get 1 copy so i can use it to bargain with the sales agent again... coz last Saturday when i talked to him he didn't mention this 5 years free service & maintenance at all!!!
today's SinChew newspaper ad smile.gif
mr_fazz
post Nov 27 2006, 05:47 PM

265 posts

you can check their website as well about the promotion for Yaris and Wish

you know wat, I seldom see Yaris on the road, do u feel it too?
so far Jazz are more on the road
that's y that day when i drove that day, all ppl like never see the car before only
hehehe.. tongue.gif
leowhy
post Nov 27 2006, 05:52 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Nov 27 2006, 05:47 PM)
you can check their website as well about the promotion for Yaris and Wish

you know wat, I seldom see Yaris on the road, do u feel it too?
so far Jazz are more on the road
that's y that day when i drove that day, all ppl like never see the car before only
hehehe..  tongue.gif
well, mainly b'coz yaris is newly officially introduced into M'sia...
Jazz had been in M'sia for more than... er... few years i believe... smile.gif
KenL
post Nov 27 2006, 08:24 PM

416 posts

I think there's not even one Yaris on the road.
electron
post Nov 27 2006, 08:58 PM

1,329 posts

wow, if 4k discount + 5 years free service & maintenance, it is a pretty no brainer already. 5 years just fill petrol and change tire, then drive.
do check the service offer properly, see if it covers all the fluids, filters, plugs, belting, etc
btw, i've seen a few yaris on the road in penang.
leowhy
post Nov 28 2006, 08:25 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 27 2006, 08:58 PM)
wow, if 4k discount + 5 years free service & maintenance, it is a pretty no brainer already. 5 years just fill petrol and change tire, then drive.
do check the service offer properly, see if it covers all the fluids, filters, plugs, belting, etc
ya... me too... they just look unique on the road... at least for now tongue.gif
will update here should i finally make the deal... ha... thanks!!! thumbup.gif
iRonTech
post Nov 28 2006, 10:04 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 27 2006, 08:58 PM)
QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 28 2006, 08:25 AM)
ya... me too...  they just look unique on the road... at least for now tongue.gif
will update here should i finally make the deal... ha... thanks!!!  thumbup.gif
ya, as the AD say 5 yrs free service & maintenance worth Rm 7.2k redy... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
mr_fazz
post Nov 28 2006, 01:16 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Nov 28 2006, 10:04 AM)
ya, as the AD say 5 yrs free service & maintenance worth Rm 7.2k redy...  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
yeap, but u have to make sure la, sure got T&C behind the promotion
normal marketing strategy rolleyes.gif

selinix
post Nov 28 2006, 01:19 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(KenL @ Nov 27 2006, 08:24 PM)
I think there's not even one Yaris on the road.
i have seen 5-6 yaris so far ... one of it with a cf bonnet and nice bodykit ...
leowhy
post Nov 28 2006, 05:02 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Nov 28 2006, 01:16 PM)
yeap, but u have to make sure la, sure got T&C behind the promotion
normal marketing strategy  rolleyes.gif
Just reconfrimed with the sale agent... it is EITHER type option:

1) RM4000 direct discount
2) 5 Years Free Maintenance (no sure what included yet...)
3) 1.88% Interest Rate for loan (current they offer 2.9%)

You can only choose EITHER one of it ONLY... sad.gif
electron
post Nov 28 2006, 10:10 PM

1,329 posts

aiyoh! just like i thought, sure got some T&C
well, you can try to wait for CNY, that time maybe more discount
iRonTech
post Nov 29 2006, 10:49 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 28 2006, 05:02 PM)

still better than nothing. smile.gif

Choose 1 or 2 if u pay cash. see which one save more, but normally choose 2, i suppose.

Choose 3 if u loan 90%.
mr_fazz
post Nov 29 2006, 02:16 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 28 2006, 05:02 PM)

oic, well not bad la the option
for me the option no 2 and 3 is the best
so it's up to u which one u wanna choose.

hk_loo
post Nov 29 2006, 02:19 PM

1,750 posts

only choose this 1 if u plan to drive the car for a long time...
leowhy
post Nov 30 2006, 10:42 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Nov 29 2006, 10:49 AM)
still better than nothing. smile.gif
Choose 1 or 2 if u pay cash. see which one save more, but normally choose 2, i suppose.
Choose 3 if u loan 90%.
yup, i agree...

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Nov 29 2006, 02:16 PM)
oic, well not bad la the option
for me the option no 2 and 3 is the best so it's up to u which one u wanna choose.
QUOTE(hk_loo @ Nov 29 2006, 02:19 PM)
only choose this 1 if u plan to drive the car for a long time...
i feel option 2 is kinda of risky... as there is no black & white stating what kind of service or what kind of spare parts are covered...
iRonTech
post Dec 1 2006, 08:34 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 30 2006, 10:42 PM)
yup, i agree...
i feel option 2 is kinda of risky... as there is no black & white stating what kind of service or what kind of spare parts are covered...
Toyota wont cheat u lar.. tongue.gif laugh.gif
hk_loo
post Dec 1 2006, 08:45 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 30 2006, 10:42 PM)
yup, i agree...
just ask clearly from ur salesperson what kind of free service...lubricant? labour? alignment ect?

toyota labour fees is world class 1...so if they say include inside free service then can consider....
electron
post Dec 1 2006, 08:58 AM

1,329 posts

you can get a list of items covered under the free service campaign.
make sure the labour charges are covered.
assuming the service interval is every 10000km (yup, heard that even the vios has been changed to that, wonder why honda still sticks to every 5000km), so it should be twice a year, making a total of 11 services (including the first 1000km service).
If the values is 7200, it works out to be around 650 per service.
Seems like it should cover everything.
If you plan to keep the car for about 5 years, this seems like a good deal as you'll have full UMW service record which is good when you plan to sell the car later on.

unitron
post Dec 1 2006, 09:19 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

dunno about you guys, but for me free service (include labour, lubricant and parts) is a very good deal.

For honda, free service doesn't mean you have to stick to the schedule, you can sent in your car as many time as you want to rectify other minor things at no cost at all.

Do check if this apply for Toyota also.
leowhy
post Dec 1 2006, 10:06 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

Hi everyone,

Really thanks for all the good suggestion!!!

very much appreciate them!!!!

notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
nx7010
post Dec 1 2006, 10:55 AM

148 posts

Actually as you all know that 2nd hand car market now is not that good, it's a good time to get a 2nd hand car unless it's totally out of the question.

While of course new car always bring the feel good feeling the most to the owner, it also brings together the biggest chunk of depreciation.

while with 2nd hand cars, usually the depreciation will not be that bad compared to the new car buyer.

If you look at the budget of around 100K you actually leave yourself with alot of choices, and not limited to those city, vios, jazz, swift, yaris, etc.

For example comfort wise wouldn't a year 2005 camry, accord be better?
For looks i'd go for the Mazda 6 anytime smile.gif

in terms of performance arguments on top.... hell a manual myvi 1.3 version can give all the jazzes, vioses, swifts a run for its money.

and i supposed the 79K 1.6 manual sentra can outdo the 1.8 altis and all the above.

so pick wisely..... personnaly i drive a swift most of the time, gf's car and while it is a good car, a very fun to drive car. because she insist to get a new car at that time. Now she is definitely going to be stuck with the car for some time. Loan so high, now 2nd hand market so slow. if wanna sell the car gotta pay money to cover loan some more.

Sell car and give money ??? WTF? hahahaha...

my 2 cents of rantings... lol.....
hk_loo
post Dec 1 2006, 11:37 AM

1,750 posts

yes, but bear in mind second hand's car has much higher interest, and u dunno how the previous owner take care the car...and worst if the previous owner are those love to rev kaw kaw the engine type driver...

my advise, buy a new car and stick to it for 5-6 years at least...

is too costly to buy new car in malaysia...

except u r rich lar... biggrin.gif

BuFung
post Dec 1 2006, 11:43 AM

8,407 posts

10,000km service interval is applicable if u use Fully Syn oil...

normal oil still 5000km interval...
iRonTech
post Dec 1 2006, 11:47 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 1 2006, 08:58 AM)
you can get a list of items covered under the free service campaign.
make sure the labour charges are covered.
assuming the service interval is every 10000km (yup, heard that even the vios has been changed to that, wonder why honda still sticks to every 5000km), so it should be twice a year, making a total of 11 services (including the first 1000km service).
If the values is 7200, it works out to be around 650 per service.
Seems like it should cover everything.
If you plan to keep the car for about 5 years, this seems like a good deal as you'll have full UMW service record which is good when you plan to sell the car later on.
QUOTE(unitron @ Dec 1 2006, 09:19 AM)
dunno about you guys, but for me free service (include labour, lubricant and parts) is a very good deal.

For honda, free service doesn't mean you have to stick to the schedule, you can sent in your car as many time as you want to rectify other minor things at no cost at all.

Do check if this apply for Toyota also.
as their AD stated, worth Rm 7,200. Not a small amount (at least to me tongue.gif) for 5 years or 100,000 km free service, include part & labour wink.gif
leowhy
post Dec 2 2006, 01:39 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

just reconfirmed with the agent, i am offered the RM4000 discount + RM5000 5 years free maintenance voucher... thumbup.gif

FYI, RM5000 for Yaris & RM7000 is for Wish...
this package include all type of regular services + workmanship charges...

BoltonMan
post Dec 2 2006, 01:59 PM

Ass man
1,769 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 2 2006, 01:39 PM)
just reconfirmed with the agent, i am offered the RM4000 discount + RM5000 5 years free maintenance voucher...  thumbup.gif

FYI, RM5000 for Yaris & RM7000 is for Wish...
this package include all type of regular services + workmanship charges...
ya..good deal...means rm96k otr for the s class
nabelon
post Dec 2 2006, 10:26 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

wow..why does the interest rate that toyota is offering differs so much from perodua..perodua quoted me 4% interest for 5 years,4.2% for 7 and 4.3% for 9 years..compare that to toyota's 2.9% and after offer 1.88%..
BoltonMan
post Dec 2 2006, 10:30 PM

Ass man
1,769 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Dec 2 2006, 10:26 PM)
wow..why does the interest rate that toyota is offering differs so much from perodua..perodua quoted me  4% interest for 5 years,4.2% for 7 and 4.3% for 9 years..compare that to toyota's 2.9% and after offer 1.88%..
fren, bear in mind loan amount for toyota will be much higher...

think like this , yaris at 100k, i pay 20k downpayment, means loan 80k, 80000 x 2.9 = 2320 a year, loan 7 years = rm16240

compare a myvi, 50k, loan 30k, 30000 x 4 = 1200, 7 years = rm8400

see the different? bank still earn much more interest for foreign car

nabelon
post Dec 3 2006, 12:22 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

so stupid of me ! doh.gif forgot bout the price difference..was thinking like comparing proton & perodua..but then what if perdana loan compared to that of yaris..would they give lower interest than all the other models ?
leowhy
post Dec 3 2006, 10:21 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Dec 3 2006, 12:22 AM)
so stupid of me ! doh.gif forgot bout the price difference..was thinking like comparing proton & perodua..but then what if perdana loan compared to that of yaris..would they give lower interest than all the other models ?
i believe the interest offered for perdana will be different... but with many other non-local brand cars being priced close to perdana, the choice for a potential buyer is quite a lot... smile.gif
electron
post Dec 4 2006, 09:00 AM

1,329 posts

if you can get the 4k discount on top of the free service, i think you should go for it
leowhy
post Dec 4 2006, 12:14 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 4 2006, 09:00 AM)
if you can get the 4k discount on top of the free service, i think you should go for it
yup, i think so too...

after serious comparison & considerations, i believe i'll choose Yaris 1.5G thumbup.gif
hk_loo
post Dec 4 2006, 01:43 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 4 2006, 12:14 PM)
yup, i think so too... 

after serious comparison & considerations, i believe i'll choose Yaris 1.5G  thumbup.gif
ya, after that can spend additional 1k++ for nice kit and skirting...
mr_fazz
post Dec 4 2006, 02:05 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Dec 4 2006, 01:43 PM)
ya, after that can spend additional 1k++ for nice kit and skirting...
if like that, better straight take the Yaris 1.5S

leowhy
post Dec 4 2006, 05:00 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Dec 4 2006, 02:05 PM)
if like that, better straight take the Yaris 1.5S
ya lor... that's why i choose 1.5G... i saved at least RM6K leh...

BTW, the car will not come qith tinted glass/windows, any good brand that can recommend?
As i'll be keeping this car for a long-long time, please recommend a better quality ones... notworthy.gif

if someone from penang happens to see this & oso know where to get in penang, do recommend oso!!!! notworthy.gif
hk_loo
post Dec 4 2006, 05:18 PM

1,750 posts

then surely vkool elite!!!!

Gouki
post Dec 4 2006, 05:29 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 4 2006, 05:00 PM)
ya lor... that's why i choose 1.5G... i saved at least RM6K leh...

BTW, the car will not come qith tinted glass/windows, any good brand that can recommend?
As i'll be keeping this car for a long-long time, please recommend a better quality ones...  notworthy.gif

if someone from penang happens to see this & oso know where to get in penang, do recommend oso!!!!  notworthy.gif
In terms of best heat rejection tint will be V-kool Elite. The rest of it will depends a lot on the workmanship to avoid problems like bubbles, scratches and etc. It's best if you go to V-kool's authorised tint shop for their v-kool elite and make sure they give assurance on their workmanship quality as well. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Dec 4 2006, 05:30 PM
electron
post Dec 4 2006, 09:37 PM

1,329 posts

vkool is good.
in penang, you can try the tint shop opposite kah motor at jalan sungai pinang.
alternatively, ask your SA about it, they are normally connected to the tint shop, and ask for discount.

leowhy
post Dec 4 2006, 09:51 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 4 2006, 09:37 PM)
vkool is good.
in penang, you can try the tint shop opposite kah motor at jalan sungai pinang.
alternatively, ask your SA about it, they are normally connected to the tint shop, and ask for discount.
yup, definitely will do that... thanks alot! notworthy.gif
BTW, may i know roughly how much will that cost? budget-budget... tongue.gif
mr_fazz
post Dec 4 2006, 11:52 PM

265 posts

yeap, Vkool is the best i think
i did last time around RM1600 for whole window
not sure how much is the current price la

electron
post Dec 5 2006, 08:30 AM

1,329 posts

vkool ain't cheap, price range from 1400 to 1800 for normal cars, depending on you bargaining skills.
hk_loo
post Dec 5 2006, 08:40 AM

1,750 posts

i don't believe those cheap tint can filter the heat well as vkool elite....
leowhy
post Dec 5 2006, 09:05 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Dec 4 2006, 11:52 PM)
yeap, Vkool is the best i think
i did last time around RM1600 for whole window
not sure how much is the current price la
RM1600!!?? blink.gif shocking.gif
sorry for this noob questions:

1) is this Vkool part of the more common "AirCool" product that i commonly heard in the advertisements?

2) is it Sirim approved type of tinted material?

3) it will come along with Sirim Approved certificates right?

4) will plastic stickers like road tax for example damage it in long run? (i mean the front window where we usually stick all kinds of plastic stickers on it... ??

5) we usually have rear window heaters to clear away the mist right? will the heaters damage the tinted material or vice versa?

This post has been edited by leowhy: Dec 5 2006, 09:07 AM
electron
post Dec 5 2006, 01:37 PM

1,329 posts

vkool is the big daddy of tint lah, one of the best brand around
another brand that i found to be good is rike cool
vkool is an imported product, and the quality is good when installed by qualified installer.
the vkool elite's specification is compliant (does not mean that it is approved) with JPJ's requirement.
installation of the film should not harm the demisters, but removal of the film might damage it. by the way, you are not supposed to use the demister or wind the windows for at least 48 hours after installation.
since you are keeping the car for some time, i would recommend you getting quality tint films such as vkool or or rike cool.
don't be mistaken by vcool though!
Gouki
post Dec 5 2006, 01:40 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

air-cool is so so only. rolleyes.gif
BoltonMan
post Dec 5 2006, 01:42 PM

Ass man
1,769 posts

about the sirim, can forget the intergrity....off topic, my fren bring a eletrical product from oversea, intend selling here...go sirim, can settle by $ .... whistling.gif ...but must as long as the product wont causing harm to public...

leowhy, 1.6k is not cheap but think like this, u tint once and can use for 5-6 years at least...and not every year tint once...

make sure the tint are visible light transfer 70 for front and 50 for side...jpj rules...
leowhy
post Dec 5 2006, 02:52 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(BoltonMan @ Dec 5 2006, 01:42 PM)
make sure the tint are visible light transfer 70 for front and 50 for side...jpj rules...
i'm aware of this but... how to verify? do the people selling those tints have device to prove to us?
mr_fazz
post Dec 5 2006, 06:51 PM

265 posts

yeap, Vkool car tint is really good quality and u will satisfied when u install in your car unlike the normal tint

so far, 3 times already change the roadtax, the tinted never damage or tear off
my sister install the normal tinted for her car, first time take off the roadtax, the tinted also tear off together

so you can choose which one. branded one still the best, in term of quality and long term.

leowhy
post Dec 6 2006, 02:46 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

i just visited the www.v-kool.com website

there are so many types of V-Kool!!?? rclxub.gif

but i didn't notice the so call V-Kool Elite... can anyone help to clarify?

BTW, how can we actually verify which V-Kool the vendor is actually supplying us? is there official packaging r what?

notworthy.gif
travis_ckf
post Dec 6 2006, 03:36 PM

6,413 posts

In UK, the yaris will be toyota's answer to hot hatch by putting a 1.8 Vtvti engine inside. I wonder how the reviews soon.
electron
post Dec 6 2006, 04:13 PM

1,329 posts

vkool elite is a package,
IIRC front use v-kool 75 while the rest use v-kool 50

as for whether you are getting the real deal, make sure you get the original warranty card and go to a reputable place to install it.

This post has been edited by electron: Dec 6 2006, 04:14 PM
leowhy
post Dec 6 2006, 05:29 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Dec 6 2006, 03:36 PM)
In UK, the yaris will be toyota's answer to hot hatch by putting a 1.8 Vtvti engine inside. I wonder how the reviews soon.
one thing i'm sure... the owner will feel macho loh!!! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 6 2006, 04:13 PM)
vkool elite is a package,
IIRC front use v-kool 75 while the rest use v-kool 50
as for whether you are getting the real deal, make sure you get the original warranty card and go to a reputable place to install it.
O I C... thanks!!! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
leowhy
post Dec 8 2006, 08:26 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

dear all,

checked with people around me for these few days regarding v-kool & i got 1 quite surprising comment:

V-Kool tinted material will geat rusty in long run!!??
is this true?

the guy also mentioned RayTec (i'm not sure about the spelling coz talk through phone)... has anyone heard about it?

PS. might be able to get the new car by cristmas... thumbup.gif
electron
post Dec 8 2006, 08:46 AM

1,329 posts

the rusty that they mentioned is called oxidization.
true, vkool uses metal material for their coating, but i've yet to see it happening to cars with vkool.
however, i've seen it happening to the cheaper golddust or similar tints.
if you are worried, you can try rike cool instead, experienced it in a huge black SUV, even after parked for hours under the hot sun, it cooled down pretty well. price should be quite close to vkool or maybe slightly cheaper than vkool elite for the top end film (they got different range with different price)
i'm using riken, which is pretty good, but it's should be a grade down from vkool (cost 500 less than vkool). the heat rejection is lesser than vkool (tested personally) but the film's thicker for better proctection in case the glass shatters.
another brand that ive experienced is infra-something, performance is ok, but quite expensive as it is supposed to be lifetime warranty.
which part of penang are you in?
never heard of raytec though.
go test out the different films, there's one at kristal point, one at jalan sungai pinang, 2 opposite dato keramat police station (along pahang/perak/kedah road, can't remember which one)
which branch did you get your car from? delivery should be fast as there should be ready stock
leowhy
post Dec 8 2006, 12:07 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 8 2006, 08:46 AM)
the rusty that they mentioned is called oxidization.
true, vkool uses metal material for their coating, but i've yet to see it happening to cars with vkool.
however, i've seen it happening to the cheaper golddust or similar tints.
if you are worried, you can try rike cool instead, experienced it in a huge black SUV, even after parked for hours under the hot sun, it cooled down pretty well. price should be quite close to vkool or maybe slightly cheaper than vkool elite for the top end film (they got different range with different price)
i'm using riken, which is pretty good, but it's should be a grade down from vkool (cost 500 less than vkool). the heat rejection is lesser than vkool (tested personally) but the film's thicker for better proctection in case the glass shatters.
another brand that ive experienced is infra-something, performance is ok, but quite expensive as it is supposed to be lifetime warranty.
which part of penang are you in?
never heard of raytec though.
go test out the different films, there's one at kristal point, one at jalan sungai pinang, 2 opposite dato keramat police station (along pahang/perak/kedah road, can't remember which one)
which branch did you get your car from? delivery should be fast as there should be ready stock
thanks for such a long informative notes...
i stay some where near bayan lepas penang... i know exactly the one at crystal point, "Breyton" is the name of the shop... reputation consider not bad as i have quite a number of friends recommending it... the rest i need to seach... actually i plan to hunt & search this weekend... smile.gif
BTW, i get the car from the bayan lepas toyota branch, Prima Pearl...
today just take a quick break & meet with the agent... he actually showed me the tint material sample book... now i can name it correctly-- Raytex...
the one he showed/Recommend me is in blue color... any idea?
some tech info: 59% visible light transmission, 99% UV/IR (can't recall which coz just a quick glance) rejection... & it place is situated at Air Itam Penang...
so i just asked him let me check it out with the actual owner 1st in terms of pricing & warranty...

Ken
post Dec 8 2006, 12:10 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

raytech!!!

new tint from US...still very new in Malaysia...

leowhy, actually to tint, is depend how frequent u stick under the hot sun...

if u work 9-5, when u drive to work, the sun just come out...and when u go back, the sun already go down...so no use if tint those espensive ....

this what the raytech salesman told me last time...

Gouki
post Dec 8 2006, 12:42 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

It's true v-kool's tint film consist of many layers and one of the layer are made of some metal particles which is why it is still the highest heat rejection tint film to date. Forget about the percentage of heat rejection those shops claim their tint to have coz the real heat rejection is always lower than what they claimed. Heck, even V-kool elite with 93% claimed heat rejection is tested to be around 80+% in reality. So imagine if those other tint brand that claim their heat rejection are lower than that. About v-kool will rust in the long run is true if the person who tint it didnt apply some kind of "oil" to the tint where they cut from the whole roll of v-kool tint. Try to enquire from those authorized v-kool tint shop or the HQ themself. smile.gif
ALeUNe
post Dec 8 2006, 12:51 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Dec 8 2006, 12:42 PM)
It's true v-kool's tint film consist of many layers and one of the layer are made of some metal particles which is why it is still the highest heat rejection tint film to date. Forget about the percentage of heat rejection those shops claim their tint to have coz the real heat rejection is always lower than what they claimed. Heck, even V-kool elite with 93% claimed heat rejection is tested to be around 80+% in reality. So imagine if those other tint brand that claim their heat rejection are lower than that. About v-kool will rust in the long run is true if the person who tint it didnt apply some kind of "oil" to the tint where they cut from the whole roll of v-kool tint. Try to enquire from those authorized v-kool tint shop or the HQ themself. smile.gif
I think 3M has a better heat projection product than VKool. And it's 100% metal free or rust-free.
Gouki
post Dec 8 2006, 01:42 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 8 2006, 12:51 PM)
I think 3M has a better heat projection product than VKool. And it's 100% metal free or rust-free.
I dont think so, tested on machine, v-kool elite heat rejection is highest to date but i dont deny that 3M is not bad too. smile.gif
leowhy
post Dec 8 2006, 01:58 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Dec 8 2006, 12:10 PM)
raytech!!!
new tint from US...still very new in Malaysia...
leowhy, actually to tint, is depend how frequent u stick under the hot sun...
if u work 9-5, when u drive to work, the sun just come out...and when u go back, the sun already go down...so no use if tint those espensive ....
this what the raytech salesman told me last time...
i also assume it is Raytech until the guy show me the sample + data sheet & it spells "RAYTEX"... are they the same? i dun really think so but i'll check & confirm as i mentioned b4...

actually my work pattern is more like 8-7... ha... & the vehicle has no choice but to park under sunlight for the long hours... cry.gif

the tint for me is more like additinal to protect the car inner parts + occasionally when i travel in hot sun afternoons...

kinda drifting the topic from Yaris to tinted glass... sweat.gif but the tint will be done on Yaris anyway... haha...
electron
post Dec 8 2006, 11:14 PM

1,329 posts

it's wrong to say that if work from 9-5, no need to put good tint, unless you don't sayang your car. The interior of the car needs protection too. In addition to that, some of the low quality tints can actually make things worse buy absorbing and trapping the heat.
as for the raytech tint, 59% is suitable only for side and rear window, too dark for front windscreen. the law requires >70% for front.
the bayan lepas branch? saw a blue yaris on display in front of the showroom.
3M should be quite good and they just launched a new tint. However, i think it's kinda hard to find in penang.
A word of advice, get the car tinted as soon as possible after collecting the car, and find a workshop that has an enclosed work area.
what colour are you planning to get?
leowhy
post Dec 9 2006, 06:55 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 8 2006, 11:14 PM)
it's wrong to say that if work from 9-5, no need to put good tint, unless you don't sayang your car. The interior of the car needs protection too. In addition to that, some of the low quality tints can actually make things worse buy absorbing and trapping the heat.
as for the raytech tint, 59% is suitable only for side and rear window, too dark for front windscreen. the law requires >70% for front.
the bayan lepas branch? saw a blue yaris on display in front of the showroom.
3M should be quite good and they just launched a new tint. However, i think it's kinda hard to find in penang.
A word of advice, get the car tinted as soon as possible after collecting the car, and find a workshop that has an enclosed work area.
what colour are you planning to get?
exactly like the dark blue display unit... i found the color quite unique compare to the more common silver or gold/champene color.
i'll definitely check out the shop at crystal point 1st... near & good reputation as far as i found out...
if not, maybe i'll travel down to KL/PJ directly to the V-Kool HQ to have it done.. haha... as i'll be in KL during cristmas holiday for my friend's wedding anyway... will the whole tinting progress very long let say if i really do it in the PJ HQ? i woory their business too good...
electron
post Dec 9 2006, 09:49 PM

1,329 posts

doing it during christmas? i think instead of worrying about long queue, you better worry that they are not open!
they orange/peach and light blue is quite nice too, and unique.
anyway, if you are taking your car out to KL, try to pamper the car, recommended to keep below 90km/h and don't trash the engine.
and remember to make booking for your first service when you get your car if you plan to do it on saturday
the tint shop at jalan sungai pinang and neuton at jalan pahang/perak looks pretty professional too
leowhy
post Dec 9 2006, 10:02 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 9 2006, 09:49 PM)
doing it during christmas? i think instead of worrying about long queue, you better worry that they are not open!
they orange/peach and light blue is quite nice too, and unique.
anyway, if you are taking your car out to KL, try to pamper the car, recommended to keep below 90km/h and don't trash the engine.
and remember to make booking for your first service when you get your car if you plan to do it on saturday
the tint shop at jalan sungai pinang and neuton at jalan pahang/perak looks pretty professional too
ha.. i'll definitely SAYANG my new baby... afterall i'm not the accelerate maniac type of person...
yup, i'll closely monitor the meter so i can correctly do the 1st service by 1000km... my sales agent promised to help me do the arrangement & booking.
will it be big difference if we tint the windows sooner or later??
electron
post Dec 11 2006, 09:22 AM

1,329 posts

ok, but make sure you got the right booking day that's convenient to you.
High chances are that you'll need to bring the car to the workshop early. there are only 2 toyota workshops on the island and with so many vios and avanza, they are pretty stretched, especially when holidays are near.
do check with the SA on roughly how much advance do you need to make a service booking if you plan to service during saturdays.
for example, i make the service booking for my honda at least one month in advance to make sure i can get a saturday.
as for tinting earlier or later, it's recommended to be earlier as the interior will be cleaner. in addition, it'll be less inconvenient for you (no need to wait at the tint shop, wait for the tint to cure before using the windows and demister, etc.).
i believe you car if already ready. When i got my car, i get the SA to arrange for the tint (for convenience, and to disolve me of any possible warranty issue since the tint is not done by me). the car is ready when i place my booking, so i chose the tint and once the bank loan is settled and accepted, the SA sent the car for tint. In the meantime, i settle the remainder and the SA did all the registration stuff which took more that 2 days. When i got my car, the tint has had time to cure properly.
in addition, it's no fun driving on the highway in an untinted car nowadays
leowhy
post Dec 11 2006, 10:36 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 11 2006, 09:22 AM)
ok, but make sure you got the right booking day that's convenient to you.
High chances are that you'll need to bring the car to the workshop early. there are only 2 toyota workshops on the island and with so many vios and avanza, they are pretty stretched, especially when holidays are near.
do check with the SA on roughly how much advance do you need to make a service booking if you plan to service during saturdays.
for example, i make the service booking for my honda at least one month in advance to make sure i can get a saturday.
as for tinting earlier or later, it's recommended to be earlier as the interior will be cleaner. in addition, it'll be less inconvenient for you (no need to wait at the tint shop, wait for the tint to cure before using the windows and demister, etc.).
i believe you car if already ready. When i got my car, i get the SA to arrange for the tint (for convenience, and to disolve me of any possible warranty issue since the tint is not done by me). the car is ready when i place my booking, so i chose the tint and once the bank loan is settled and accepted, the SA sent the car for tint. In the meantime, i settle the remainder and the SA did all the registration stuff which took more that 2 days. When i got my car, the tint has had time to cure properly.
in addition, it's no fun driving on the highway in an untinted car nowadays
guest i'll double check with my vendor again...
BTW, i've been driving my wira for 7 years without any tinting... guest i've been driving with no fun for 7YEARS!!!??? haha... joking...
BTW, if i read the lines properly, u should be driving a Honda now? mind to share which model u are driving now? smile.gif

electron
post Dec 11 2006, 01:02 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 11 2006, 10:36 AM)
guest i'll double check with my vendor again...
BTW, i've been driving my wira for 7 years without any tinting... guest i've been driving with no fun for 7YEARS!!!??? haha... joking...
BTW, if i read the lines properly, u should be driving a Honda now? mind to share which model u are driving now? smile.gif
haha, well you haven't experienced the effect of proper tint, you'll know it when you get yours! our weather has been getting hotter and hotter nowadays.
yup, honda, city to be exact.
have you got all the paperwork done?
tendering for any number?
leowhy
post Dec 11 2006, 02:10 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 11 2006, 01:02 PM)
haha, well you haven't experienced the effect of proper tint, you'll know it when you get yours! our weather has been getting hotter and hotter nowadays.
yup, honda, city to be exact.
have you got all the paperwork done?
tendering for any number?
bank loan documents will be done by this week...
my SA help me out with the plate number... somewhere in the 6xxx region...
now the remaining thing is the tinting stuff...

electron
post Dec 11 2006, 05:55 PM

1,329 posts

that's good, it means you should be able to get your car latest by next week!
leowhy
post Dec 11 2006, 06:05 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 11 2006, 05:55 PM)
that's good, it means you should be able to get your car latest by next week!
thanks...
i'm getting more & more excited... ha...
senzor
post Dec 12 2006, 02:30 PM

14 posts

honda jazz n yaris.. which 1 bigger?
leowhy
post Dec 12 2006, 09:53 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(senzor @ Dec 12 2006, 02:30 PM)
honda jazz n yaris.. which 1 bigger?
Jazz is slightly longer if i'm not mistaken... thus giving a larger storage space...
electron
post Dec 15 2006, 10:48 AM

1,329 posts

jazz is bigger, especially the boot.
really impressive in how they manage to squeeze so much room into such small volume.
yaris on the other hand, looks more sporty.
hey, leowhy, how's your car coming.
number plate now already PHC, not taking 2 or 3 digit plate?

leowhy
post Dec 18 2006, 09:38 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 15 2006, 10:48 AM)
jazz is bigger, especially the boot.
really impressive in how they manage to squeeze so much room into such small volume.
yaris on the other hand, looks more sporty.
hey, leowhy, how's your car coming.
number plate now already PHC, not taking 2 or 3 digit plate?
nope... my mom specifically request me to get back my previous number... 6xxx... hehe... to prevent my dad buying so many 4digit numbers... sweat.gif

i should be recieving the car by this week... unless some delays at the JPJ side... CBU registration stuff if i'm not mistaken...

but i'm in no hurry actually... smile.gif
clsiluf
post Dec 18 2006, 10:02 AM

2,058 posts

leowhy, so u get the G class? what color? OTR is 89k++?
leowhy
post Dec 18 2006, 10:15 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Dec 18 2006, 10:02 AM)
leowhy, so u get the G class? what color? OTR is 89k++?
yup, G-Spec.
i Chose dark blue mica
OTR actually is RM92800, but since Nov til now there's a RM4k discount so yes... OTR is ~89k++
azxel
post Dec 18 2006, 10:41 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

wow... 92K? This has really gotta be one of the most overpriced cars around... is it really worth 92K?
eddychstu
post Dec 18 2006, 10:44 AM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 18 2006, 10:41 AM)
wow... 92K? This has really gotta be one of the most overpriced cars around... is it really worth 92K?
the same goes for jazz. but since its a CBU car, hence the tax is 9696.
clsiluf
post Dec 18 2006, 10:55 AM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 18 2006, 10:41 AM)
i wondering y u ask those kind of sarcastic question...

this car has been taxed 50k++ in order to protect local car...in USA, it was sold 10k USD++, in sg, it only SGD 50k++ ... pls dun convert and compare...people fresh earn sgd 1.8k++, here also 1.8k, but in rm

azxel
post Dec 18 2006, 11:12 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Dec 18 2006, 10:55 AM)
i wondering y u ask those kind of sarcastic question...

this car has been taxed 50k++ in order to protect local car...in USA, it was sold 10k USD++, in sg, it only SGD 50k++ ... pls dun convert and compare...people fresh earn sgd 1.8k++, here also 1.8k, but in rm
what the-?? Sarcastic? Did I sound sarcastic? blink.gif I've been lookin around for a car recently and I do think that it's overpriced and I do wonder for that price, is this car really worth it?

If the car has been taxed 50K+ then just say so... no everyone is as smart and knowledgeable as you. unsure.gif
julnoel
post Dec 18 2006, 11:38 AM

739 posts

nice. this car is cute biggrin.gif but a bit too small imo.

:/

leowhy
post Dec 18 2006, 01:16 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

dear all,

let's no start the "whether this [overpriced] car worth 92k or not" type of debate...

for my case, i agree it is overprice (mainly due to taxing)... but i do feel it is worth it...

i do not want to start another "Jazz vs Yaris" topic but i test drived both unit & i finally chose Yaris over Jazz...

just share with u all how i come to this choice...
1) no Proton/Perodua (thus no myvi... too bad...)
2) good fuel consumption.. (so far honda/toyota's engine the best as far as i know of), here on, i rule out the VTEC version... but the features of iDSI is not so interesting... that lead me to Toyota... (here i rule out all Korean cars)
3) After driving 7++ years of my Wira aeroback with all kinds of funny loosen parts sound, i decided to put faith in CBU over CKD...
4) Finally, my budget is <100k... so that lead me to Toyota Yaris... hehe
5) i know there is Suzuki Swift but i worried the later service/spareparts field would be more troublesome compare to the more available Toyota... (this i also rule out majority European Cars, most are much more expensive anyway...)

no offence to anyone here... peace...
azxel
post Dec 18 2006, 02:06 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Yes, there shouldn't be a debate as to whether this car is better than any other car or not. But I don't see why people who are already driving this car can't share their views as to why this car is worth 92K of their hard earned money. Maybe they simply like its design or the amount of mods that can be added on it... all in all. Personally, you people shouldn't be so narrow minded... when someone brings up words like 'overpriced' or some other words, all you guys do is jump to conclusions that someone is banging your favourite car... geezz... grow up. If you want a proper thread, always give honest opinions, the good and the bad about a car, that way, flamers wont have a chance to bait you.

Back to topic, has UMW (in Glenmarie right?) issued any statements about spare parts regarding the Yaris? Or does it share similar parts as other Toyota models? I read somewhere that Suzuki Swift parts are still in the process of being brought in and added into Suzuki Malaysia's inventory... ya, so I do think that Suzuki parts are still quite scarce.
Gouki
post Dec 18 2006, 06:12 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 18 2006, 01:16 PM)
dear all,

let's no start the "whether this [overpriced] car worth 92k or not" type of debate...

for my case, i agree it is overprice (mainly due to taxing)... but i do feel it is worth it...

i do not want to start another "Jazz vs Yaris" topic but i test drived both unit & i finally chose Yaris over Jazz...

just share with u all how i come to this choice...
1) no Proton/Perodua (thus no myvi... too bad...)
2) good fuel consumption.. (so far honda/toyota's engine the best as far as i know of), here on, i rule out the VTEC version... but the features of iDSI is not so interesting... that lead me to Toyota... (here i rule out all Korean cars)
3) After driving 7++ years of my Wira aeroback with all kinds of funny loosen parts sound, i decided to put faith in CBU over CKD...
4) Finally, my budget is <100k... so that lead me to Toyota Yaris... hehe
5) i know there is Suzuki Swift but i worried the later service/spareparts field would be more troublesome compare to the more available Toyota... (this i also rule out majority European Cars, most are much more expensive anyway...)

no offence to anyone here... peace...
No harm done, pal. It's like how ppl saying my jazz is overpriced at 100k+ but as long i find it worth it then the rest i dont bother much. It's your money, you own it, you drive it and you modify it. Lol. Someone's medicine could be someone's poison. So i hope you do enjoy your yaris when get your hands on it and do come back and share your experience with us. If everyone has the same taste then this world will be so boring with the same stuff all around the world. laugh.gif
Gouki
post Dec 18 2006, 06:15 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 18 2006, 02:06 PM)
Yes, there shouldn't be a debate as to whether this car is better than any other car or not. But I don't see why people who are already driving this car can't share their views as to why this car is worth 92K of their hard earned money. Maybe they simply like its design or the amount of mods that can be added on it... all in all. Personally, you people shouldn't be so narrow minded... when someone brings up words like 'overpriced' or some other words, all you guys do is jump to conclusions that someone is banging your favourite car... geezz... grow up. If you want a proper thread, always give honest opinions, the good and the bad about a car, that way, flamers wont have a chance to bait you.

Back to topic, has UMW (in Glenmarie right?) issued any statements about spare parts regarding the Yaris? Or does it share similar parts as other Toyota models? I read somewhere that Suzuki Swift parts are still in the process of being brought in and added into Suzuki Malaysia's inventory... ya, so I do think that Suzuki parts are still quite scarce.
Well, as far as i know. The only thing that Yaris sharing is the engine and gearbox from Vios. Well, at least we know the mechanical parts is the common stuff that you can source. Just like City and Jazz sharing the same engine, gearbox, chassis/platform, suspension setup and etc. biggrin.gif
leowhy
post Dec 18 2006, 08:41 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Dec 18 2006, 06:12 PM)
No harm done, pal. It's like how ppl saying my jazz is overpriced at 100k+ but as long i find it worth it then the rest i dont bother much. It's your money, you own it, you drive it and you modify it. Lol. Someone's medicine could be someone's poison. So i hope you do enjoy your yaris when get your hands on it and do come back and share your experience with us. If everyone has the same taste then this world will be so boring with the same stuff all around the world. laugh.gif
yup... i totally agree... overprice/worth or not, its all up to us...
we must keep a positive attitude... work hard to earn money then spend on what we really like!!! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Gouki @ Dec 18 2006, 06:15 PM)
Well, as far as i know. The only thing that Yaris sharing is the engine and gearbox from Vios. Well, at least we know the mechanical parts is the common stuff that you can source. Just like City and Jazz sharing the same engine, gearbox, chassis/platform, suspension setup and etc. biggrin.gif
haha... IMHO, sharing engine & gearbox with the much common Vios is already a good start... smile.gif
more will definitely come... bodykit etc... but i'm not hardcore fan of car modding.. that's why i didn't choose the S-Spec...
Gouki
post Dec 18 2006, 08:51 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 18 2006, 08:41 PM)
yup... i totally agree... overprice/worth or not, its all up to us...
we must keep a positive attitude... work hard to earn money then spend on what we really like!!! thumbup.gif
haha... IMHO, sharing engine & gearbox with the much common Vios is already a good start... smile.gif
more will definitely come... bodykit etc... but i'm not hardcore fan of car modding.. that's why i didn't choose the S-Spec...
Well, as i said, everyone's taste and need is different. I can see why Toyota having 2 kind of spec for you to choose. Hope to hear bout your new ride soon. Cheers. biggrin.gif
ALeUNe
post Dec 20 2006, 02:42 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Dec 8 2006, 01:42 PM)
I dont think so, tested on machine, v-kool elite heat rejection is highest to date but i dont deny that 3M is not bad too. smile.gif
No lar... the infra-red rejection of vkool is only 94%.
3M top premium film is known as Crystalline. The infra-red rejection is 97%.

http://www.v-kool.com.sg/Revolutionary_Tec...gy.asp?cat=auto

http://www.3m.com/intl/id/autofilm/crystalline.htm
http://www.3m.com/intl/id/autofilm/data/cr...ne_brochure.pdf

I've used both. My wife's car is on vkool. My car is on 3M Crystalline.
I would say 3M Crystalline is as good as vkool. I just can't tell the 3% difference. The best thing is, it's metal free.
What does the name 3M tell you? It's innovation. tongue.gif

P/S
Forget about 3M Scotchtint. It's cheapo film. No good.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Dec 20 2006, 03:37 PM
leowhy
post Dec 20 2006, 04:42 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

hehe, buzz in for some updates again... tongue.gif

speaking of tinting, i had chose:

Raytex Ice Blue (for front & Rear)
Trans: 60++%
Reflec: 18%
IRR: 40++%
UVR: 99%

CoolTintz Gold 80 (for sides)
Trans: 45++%
Reflec: 15%
IRR: 80++%
UVR: 99%

All for RM900++

yup, agreed not the best types & best pricing but i actually observed how they did it to other cars, i sat in the tinted car, i actually feel the good workmanship & effectiveness of the tints...

furthermore the shop owner give me a full warranty of 5 Years including should i get any undesired JPJ "documents"... smile.gif

electron
post Dec 20 2006, 06:14 PM

1,329 posts

err... looking at the spec, except the rear window, the rest all not compliant leh
front need >70% light transmission, side and rear need >50%
Ken
post Dec 20 2006, 06:39 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

i check raytech broucher, all also fail the jpj rules 1 except the most espensive 1 which is RM1.8k
electron
post Dec 20 2006, 09:39 PM

1,329 posts

in addition, what should be of concern is not JPJ document, the one that should be worried of is JPJ "helping you to see clearer" by removing your tint on the spot!
leowhy
post Dec 20 2006, 10:48 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 20 2006, 09:39 PM)
in addition, what should be of concern is not JPJ document, the one that should be worried of is JPJ "helping you to see clearer" by removing your tint on the spot!
yup... i realise the risk... just hope it won't go to that degree... after all, that will be the only "under spec" thing i'll ever add to the vehicle... as i'm not a mod fan... hmmm
electron
post Dec 21 2006, 10:25 AM

1,329 posts

ok, just make sure you keep the windows clean, will look more "legal"
leowhy
post Dec 21 2006, 12:24 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 21 2006, 10:25 AM)
ok, just make sure you keep the windows clean, will look more "legal"
really appreciate ur advices... smile.gif

BTW, i suddenly have an idea... suppose i have a passenger with me during night drive, he/she keep a book nearby, then we switch on the internal car lamp as if the passenger is reading, then the interior will be brighter than outside, so the "transparency" case is not valid anymore??? tongue.gif

BTW, i'll be getting my new vehicle by 26th... right after X'mas!!! thumbup.gif
Jackie Leong
post Dec 21 2006, 02:04 PM

Feel da Gs!
7,355 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 21 2006, 12:24 PM)
really appreciate ur advices... smile.gif

BTW, i suddenly have an idea... suppose i have a passenger with me during night drive, he/she keep a book nearby, then we switch on the internal car lamp as if the passenger is reading, then the interior will be brighter than outside, so the "transparency" case is not valid anymore???  tongue.gif

BTW, i'll be getting my new vehicle by 26th... right after X'mas!!!  thumbup.gif
you aren't suppose to turn on your reading lamps whilst driving.. besides, it was reported that jpj has got new equipments that can read the visibility whether day or night.. unsure.gif
Ken
post Dec 21 2006, 02:11 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(Jackie Leong @ Dec 21 2006, 02:04 PM)
you aren't suppose to turn on your reading lamps whilst driving.. besides, it was reported that jpj has got new equipments that can read the visibility whether day or night.. unsure.gif
lol...ya, 1 more offence... wish.gif
leowhy
post Dec 21 2006, 03:42 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

hahaha... noted... thanks... wild ideas just come & go...
azxel
post Dec 22 2006, 03:14 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

those buying car... be careful.

Got this from another forum...

I felt compelled to make post this topic here as i was left teribbly dissapointed by some really bad service from a SA in a certain Damansara branch. The story goes like this:

Yaris was launced and my wife was pretty interested in the car. So took her to ttdi branch to have a look. Impressed with SA so made 5k booking. SA called 2 days later and couldn't get the "allocated" car with the color we wanted. He duly made the arrangements to refund us the 5k and it's all done and dusted.
Went to this branch in damansara. Was told that because it's an award winning branch with good sales they can easily get the allocated unit with the color that we wanted. This SA did not give us the impression that the ttdi SA gave..however against our judgments, we decided to make the 5k booking.

We specifically told him (and repeated many many times) that we did not want the showroom unit which was also in red. However the character of the SA made us really suspicious and we decicded to do some investigation.

Went back to the showroom after a couple a week, fortunately the SA that we did the booking to was not there and there was another SA. To our surprice the showroom car was no longer there and was told that it is now in their service center. So he took us there to view the car. There he told us that the car was being "restored" as it is already been sold! Then he even told us how to check the chasis no. in toyota cars at the windscreen and we duly took down the chasis no.

2 weeks passed and the SA that we did the booking with called us and told us the "allocated car is in port klang" and ready for delivery. Made it very clear that we would want to know the chasis no. of the car 1st before registration (we certainly thought then that this was a clear move to show the sa that we know something is going on..and hopefully he is smart enough to catch the hint).

Then 2 days ago the SA called my wife and told us the chasis no...IT WAS THE SAME!!!

Many excuses was given..including a really stupid one..he acted blur when we told him the car was at his service center..acting as he didn't know there is a service center near kota dsara/sg buloh that belongs to the same company that employs him!!

So rite now, all i'm demanding is a 5k refund and will now buy a HONDA..to rub salt into wound for this "award winning" umw Toyota branch.

Make sure you don't get cheated! Then again, I'm guessing they should have stock by now...
silencio87
post Dec 22 2006, 03:30 PM

" Freedom is From Within"
1,546 posts

waa...now scared already ph34r.gif ph34r.gif
Was thinking of getting a new car...

Which is better Toyota Yaris or Smart forfour Car??
azxel
post Dec 22 2006, 03:42 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

hehe... dun worry about the car, worry about those crooked salesman.
igor_is300
post Dec 22 2006, 04:51 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 22 2006, 03:42 PM)
hehe... dun worry about the car, worry about those crooked salesman.
Yeah, thanx for the 'paste'.

In this case, Toyota is a good car but the name tarnished when it comes to crooked salesman. shakehead.gif
Ken
post Dec 22 2006, 05:13 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Dec 22 2006, 04:51 PM)
Yeah, thanx for the 'paste'.

In this case, Toyota is a good car but the name tarnished when it comes to crooked salesman.  shakehead.gif
after u buy any toyota model, they will send a survey for u to fill in the salesman quality, from manner to knowledge, if not satisfy, just write it all...

but still, dunno the management got warn their sales team or not in case the customers' reply really shoot them kaw kaw...
mr_fazz
post Dec 22 2006, 06:43 PM

265 posts

hmm, better becareful with the SA those who wanna buy a new car

electron
post Dec 22 2006, 10:14 PM

1,329 posts

heard that smart for4 is having a big discount now.
should be around 80k only.
Ken
post Dec 22 2006, 10:21 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 22 2006, 10:14 PM)
lol...means no people buy...

silencio87
post Dec 22 2006, 10:46 PM

" Freedom is From Within"
1,546 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 22 2006, 10:14 PM)
really??i heard we wont be seeing this sort of car in years to come anymore.

QUOTE(Ken @ Dec 22 2006, 10:21 PM)
lol...means no people buy...
hmm...sounds scary..no people buy ph34r.gif I wonder why hmm.gif

Speaking Of Yaris,the optitron meter is place in the middle...isn that uncomfortable? Usually its in front of us but now in the middle...kinda worry me alot.. unsure.gif How bout you people?Is it a matter?
electron
post Dec 23 2006, 03:46 AM

1,329 posts

for4 has stopped production, but DC has guaranteed parts supply for at least 12 years.
In addition, the for4 share many mechanical components with the mitsubishi colt, therefore parts aren't that rare.

electron
post Dec 23 2006, 03:48 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ Dec 22 2006, 10:46 PM)
Speaking Of Yaris,the optitron meter is place in the middle...isn that uncomfortable? Usually its in front of us but now in the middle...kinda worry me alot.. unsure.gif How bout you people?Is it a matter?
there was a study done by toyota.
they found that having the meter at the middle is actually safer as the driver needs less head movement to read the meter reading.
however, the concept didn't quite catch on over here.
leowhy
post Dec 25 2006, 09:01 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ Dec 22 2006, 10:46 PM)
Vios meter is also in the center of the dash board right? So does Matrix...
Owners of these cars should feed back yeah!!! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 23 2006, 03:48 AM)
they found that having the meter at the middle is actually safer as the driver needs less head movement to read the meter reading.
i actually worked at a company previously that produce glare free rear mirror for vehicle... they even integrade displays into the rear mirror... same safety concept was applied to elaborate the product...

Ken
post Dec 25 2006, 09:04 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

i like the meter in middle blush.gif
leowhy
post Dec 25 2006, 10:40 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Dec 25 2006, 09:04 PM)
i like the meter in middle blush.gif
actually it all depend on our own habit... we were so accustom to read meter directly in front of us behind the steering wheel for so long & most cars are with this config... so it'll be odd for many to readjust to turn to read the meter at the center position...
mr_fazz
post Dec 26 2006, 12:56 AM

265 posts

hey, u gonna get yr Yaris today rite?
enjoy yr ride ok and share wif us! biggrin.gif
leowhy
post Dec 26 2006, 07:45 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Dec 26 2006, 12:56 AM)
hey, u gonna get yr Yaris today rite?
enjoy yr ride ok and share wif us!  biggrin.gif
JPJ Penang system down!!! Couldn't get my Road Tax done by today... sad.gif
mr_fazz
post Dec 27 2006, 12:54 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 26 2006, 07:45 PM)
JPJ Penang system down!!! Couldn't get my Road Tax done by today... sad.gif
aww man!.. sorry bout that
just chill, im sure u gonna get yr car!
hehehe

leowhy
post Dec 28 2006, 06:11 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(mr_fazz @ Dec 27 2006, 12:54 AM)
aww man!.. sorry bout that
just chill, im sure u gonna get yr car!
hehehe
after settling the road tax thingy... i finally get my car!!! YES!!! thumbup.gif

as i'm taking the G-Spec, i have a white optitron meter... which is not bad... however, the LCD display for the ICE unit could have been better... smile.gif
the interior also lack abit of "class" feel...

door seal + sound proof is what amaze me in actual... i do have a very quite internal environment... smile.gif

i'm not "accelerate fan" thus i just benchmark agaist my previous wira 1.5 auto... & it feel much more powerful... still i do feel the "pick up" power could have been slighly better... (perhaps i'm not used to he fuel pedal stiffness yet)

ALL IN ALL, i'm very satisfied with the car... now only time will tell how durable it is... smile.gif

electron
post Dec 29 2006, 02:22 PM

1,329 posts

many car is has better power than the wira 1.5A.
your car is still new, let it run in first.
the 1.5 VVTi engine is pretty powerful, as seen in the vios.
leowhy
post Dec 29 2006, 04:30 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 29 2006, 02:22 PM)
many car is has better power than the wira 1.5A.
your car is still new, let it run in first.
the 1.5 VVTi engine is pretty powerful, as seen in the vios.
well, as mentioned above, i'm totally satisfied with the performance...
just that i feel that the engine seems to roar a lot while the rpm rise fast to 2-3krpm before i hear the gear shift... this make me slightly concern on heavier fuel consumption in long run? perhaps i'm not use to the new engine roaring sound... tongue.gif
perhaps my previous wira is too mnoisy for me to clearly notice the sound... haha
electron
post Jan 29 2007, 10:54 PM

1,329 posts

hi leowhy, saw you car just now, blue yaris, PHC ***1 at around 6.30, turning into kristal point area smile.gif
EpsilonStar
post Jan 30 2007, 12:34 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 23 2006, 03:48 AM)
then y isit not applied to toyota higher end models like corolla and camry?
electron
post Jan 30 2007, 10:06 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Jan 30 2007, 12:34 AM)
then y isit not applied to toyota higher end models like corolla and camry?
most likely due to the audience. those who go for the corolla and camry are generally ppl who wants a no frill, reliable, economical and comfortable car and they might not take the central meter console location very well.
on the other hand, vios, yaris and estima has a more sporting nature, the target audience are generally the hippy crowd who is more willing to accept changes and some would want to be different from the crowd. Hence the central meter console would be better accepted by them.
leowhy
post Jan 30 2007, 12:17 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 29 2007, 10:54 PM)
hi leowhy, saw you car just now, blue yaris, PHC ***1 at around 6.30, turning into kristal point area smile.gif
really? OH NO!!!!! seems like easy to be recognized & spotted yah... hahaha... sweat.gif
hope this is not that bad... sweat.gif

Gouki
post Jan 30 2007, 12:20 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 30 2007, 12:17 PM)
really? OH NO!!!!! seems like easy to be recognized & spotted yah... hahaha... sweat.gif
hope this is not that bad... sweat.gif
I guess Penang aint that big too be annoymous eh? sweat.gif
leowhy
post Jan 30 2007, 12:24 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 30 2007, 12:20 PM)
I guess Penang aint that big too be annoymous eh? sweat.gif
i guest so... as yaris still no very common on the road for this moment...
better be nice person... if not later kena mark up then dangerous loh... sweat.gif
electron
post Jan 30 2007, 02:00 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 30 2007, 12:24 PM)
i guest so... as yaris still no very common on the road for this moment...
better be nice person... if not later kena mark up then dangerous loh... sweat.gif
haha, yaris is a rare car in penang lah smile.gif
how's your ride so far?
leowhy
post Jan 30 2007, 10:23 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 30 2007, 02:00 PM)
haha, yaris is a rare car in penang lah smile.gif
how's your ride so far?
running ~900km++ oledi... going for 1st service this weekend...

so far the fuel consumption is quite high...
1st tracking
~RM57.60 (30.00Liter) Shell for 310km only!!! sweat.gif
second tracking...
~RM62.88 (32.75Liter) Shell for 345km only!!! sweat.gif
electron
post Jan 31 2007, 11:13 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 30 2007, 10:23 PM)
running ~900km++ oledi... going for 1st service this weekend...

so far the fuel consumption is quite high...
1st tracking
~RM57.60 (30.00Liter) Shell for 310km only!!! sweat.gif
second tracking...
~RM62.88 (32.75Liter) Shell for 345km only!!!  sweat.gif
the FC depends a lot on traffic condition.
just for comparison, my city idsi (which is supposed to have great fc) gives me around 330-350km for RM60 worth of petrol travelling to and from work.
in addition, your car is still new, it'll improve with time
leowhy
post Jan 31 2007, 12:55 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 31 2007, 11:13 AM)
the FC depends a lot on traffic condition.
just for comparison, my city idsi (which is supposed to have great fc) gives me around 330-350km for RM60 worth of petrol travelling to and from work.
in addition, your car is still new, it'll improve with time
really? at least i feel better hearing that... thanks...
from my calculation, it is about 18cents per kilometer...
but right now basing on 100% bayan lepas area city drive of course...

i am thinking whether its miss tuned or not... hmm...

does 200-220psi the correct tyre pressure? i've been using that for my old wira...
-gemini-
post Jan 31 2007, 01:56 PM

B& OF /B/LOCKAIDS
615 posts

hmm
anyone seen this red yaris at sunway? custom bodykit with a huge IC somewhere at the size of a evo IC i think...guess its BOT..wonder if it lags..lol
if the owner is here
kudos to u..ur car really notworthy.gif
Ken
post Jan 31 2007, 01:56 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

my vios from day 1 also give me same fc ... 13km/l tongue.gif
electron
post Jan 31 2007, 01:58 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 31 2007, 12:55 PM)
really? at least i feel better hearing that... thanks...
from my calculation, it is about 18cents per kilometer...
but right now basing on 100% bayan lepas area city drive of course...

i am thinking whether its miss tuned or not... hmm...

does 200-220psi the correct tyre pressure? i've been using that for my old wira...
follow the manufacturer's recommendation for the tyre pressure, you should see a sticker somewhere near the driver's side door, else check the manual.

leowhy
post Jan 31 2007, 02:18 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Jan 31 2007, 01:56 PM)
my vios from day 1 also give me same fc ... 13km/l  tongue.gif
how long have u been driving ur Vios?
is it version E or version G?
heard theres some slight difference in FC as the version G is slightly heavier due to additional stuff like air bags & etc... but i think they should not be the main contributors...
same goes to Yaris G & S here...

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 31 2007, 01:58 PM)
follow the manufacturer's recommendation for the tyre pressure, you should see a sticker somewhere near the driver's side door, else check the manual.
i'll check & see... haven't finish reading the manual yet actually... tongue.gif
but one the other hand, let say if we change to other type of tyres... let say i just maintain the dimensions... just the brand is different (use back original rim) , do we still follow the manufacturer recommended pressure?
electron
post Jan 31 2007, 03:27 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 31 2007, 02:18 PM)
heard theres some slight difference in FC as the version G is slightly heavier due to additional stuff like air bags & etc... but i think they should not be the main contributors...
same goes to Yaris G & S here...
i'll check & see... haven't finish reading the manual yet actually... tongue.gif
but one the other hand, let say if we change to other type of tyres... let say i just maintain the dimensions... just the brand is different (use back original rim) , do we still follow the manufacturer recommended pressure?
sure!, use back the recommended pressure
looking for new tyres? goodyear eagle F1 GSD3 or falken ST115?

Ken
post Jan 31 2007, 03:38 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 31 2007, 02:18 PM)
how long have u been driving ur Vios? since 2006 june
is it version E or version G?E, no mod so far, only add 2 UR strut bar front and rear
heard theres some slight difference in FC as the version G is slightly heavier due to additional stuff like air bags & etc... but i think they should not be the main contributors...that 1 wont be much different, may be RM30++ a month per tank
leowhy
post Jan 31 2007, 05:40 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 31 2007, 03:27 PM)
sure!, use back the recommended pressure
looking for new tyres? goodyear eagle F1 GSD3 or falken ST115?
i'll stick to the stock tyres for this round... until then... smile.gif
why? u've got "kang tao" ?
electron
post Feb 1 2007, 11:38 PM

1,329 posts

nope, no kang tao, but tyres in penang generally are pretty expensive compared to the klang valley, especially klang area.
my stock NCT5 are pretty noisy but i can still live with it
micwin1437
post Feb 2 2007, 07:22 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Feb 1 2007, 11:38 PM)
my stock NCT5 are pretty noisy but i can still live with it
Barum Bravuris is cheaper and quiet (good in the wet).......RM135/pc for 195/55/15
kb2005
post Feb 2 2007, 08:31 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Jan 31 2007, 01:56 PM)
my vios from day 1 also give me same fc ... 13km/l  tongue.gif
Is it in the town or highway or both ?
mr_fazz
post Dec 31 2007, 10:50 PM

265 posts

hello there...
anybody else drive Yaris here..
coz I'm planning to get a new car for new year.. thumbup.gif

but still dunno which one to choose. I want a compact car...

so my choice is now either, Jazz, Yaris or Swift

anybody can give some comments to to help me decide?

thanks laugh.gif

0.0806sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:00 PM