Toyota Yaris 1.5G and 1.5S in Malaysia

Gouki
post May 23 2006, 12:00 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 22 2006, 09:59 AM)
i wonder, y u guys choosed the idsi instead of the vtec jazz?? is it coz of the price?? coz i think the vtec is a good compromise betwwen power n FC..
Well, coz simply the 1.5 idsi jazz has very good FC. Some of the JFFC members manage to hit 600km for a full tank of petrol at stock condition. But things went ugly when you start to modify the idsi jazz with heavier 17 inch rims and etc which when the VTEC jazz shines with better FC. However, the VTEC jazz FC aint too bad at stock condition with being able to hit 500km for a full tank of petrol with normal driving. And dont ever look down on the VTEC jazz. In terms of performance, it can outrun a lot of cars even larger capacity cars. smile.gif
Gouki
post May 23 2006, 12:18 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 23 2006, 12:10 AM)
Jazz with 45 litter tank?  40 litter?
42 litres. smile.gif
Gouki
post May 23 2006, 04:59 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(eye @ May 23 2006, 08:59 AM)
yaris  .. like the jazz, is way way way over-priced .... there are better alternatives available
Of coz, with that money i can buy Sentra/Altis 1.6 and Civic 1.7 but they are just not my taste. Well, Jazz VTEC can outrun all the mentioned above even the 1.8 version. I just fall in love with the CVT gearbox very much. tongue.gif
Gouki
post May 24 2006, 02:35 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 23 2006, 06:45 PM)
huh? u mean jazz vtec can even outrun altis 1.8? i don't think so....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Yeah, wanna try? tongue.gif
Gouki
post May 24 2006, 02:47 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

Well, went to Toyota showroom and take a look at the Yaris. It's a dissapointment to me. Overall the exterior of the car i have to admit look modern and funky compare to the Jazz. Interior space on the front and back are not bad but the back seats are bit tad tight if to compare to Jazz. But the boot space is a big let down to me. It's even smaller than the MyVi's boot space. As for the interior trims, it seems that it's not up to par of a Toyota marque coz Toyota is famous for built quality of the interior trim. Glove box, cup holder and other dashboard finishing feels cheap and flimsy. I do not know if its only the defect of the showcar i saw but the glovebox doesnt close well as there's a obvious gap. The MyVi dashboard finishing is even better although the design is not as good as the Yaris interior trim. And the unit that i viewed is the S version. One thing i like bout Yaris though is the solid feel of closing the door. Much more solid feel than the Jazz. Toyota could do better on the interior as they are what used to be famous for. More comments once i manage to get to test drive the Yaris if it's more fun to drive. smile.gif
Gouki
post Oct 25 2006, 04:49 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 25 2006, 03:16 PM)
Altis 1.8 : 1.8-liter VVTi DOHC 16-valve in-line4 (145 hp @ 6,000 rpm; 188 Nm @ 4,200 rpm) 0-100km/h = 8.5 seconds

Jazz 1.5 Vtec : Inline 4 cylinder 16Valves SOHC VTEC and PGM-Fi Displacement 1497cc
Max power 81kW (110hp) at 5800rpm
Max torque 143Nm (14.6kgm) at 4800rpm 0-100km/h = 11.9 seconds

Jazz Vtec how to outrun Altis 1.8 leh? sweat.gif
can only compare altis with civic...
You trust a lot on paper figures, dont you? tongue.gif
http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/JazzVtec/index.html

This post has been edited by Gouki: Oct 25 2006, 04:53 AM
Gouki
post Oct 25 2006, 01:05 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2006, 12:54 PM)
There's no way the Jazz will out accelerate Altis 1.8 at any speed, my father has an Altis 1.8 and i am driving City Vtec 1.5. Altis is just too powerful for City/Jazz to catch up, if u dun believe welcome to arrange a drag race  doh.gif
How do you use the CVT gearbox during the drag? smile.gif
Gouki
post Oct 26 2006, 04:52 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2006, 01:20 PM)
S-mode with manual shifting
Hmmm, ever try D to S and from D to S again? smile.gif
Gouki
post Oct 26 2006, 04:53 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ntlc87 @ Oct 25 2006, 02:19 PM)
hehe..gouki heard bout u in jjfc forum from a friend..i still beleive jazz vtec can outrun altis 1.8...but u should give better explanation to other forumers here..
Me? I'm just a small potato. Wat to hear bout me? blush.gif
Gouki
post Nov 21 2006, 01:37 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Nov 21 2006, 01:09 PM)
hi to all, really new to this board...
happened to read this board as myself is actually looking for a new car...  smile.gif

my current criteria:

1) fuel consumption.
2) comfort for driver & passenger
3) NO proton/perodua
4) price < 100K

glance through all the more popular cars in M'sia, that leaves me:

1) Honda City i-DSi (~RM80K)
2) Honda Jazz i-DSi (~RM94K)
3) Toyota Yaris (~RM92K to RM99K)

Currently the RM4k reduction actually brings the Yaris (1.5G) to <RM90K price range... given all it's strong points... wouldn't it be quite ok?

IHMO, we should not compare how low price a particular vehicle  should be somewhere else...

i actually test drived Yaris 1.5S and i have to say... i'm totaly satisfied with the experiece... agreed that the boot area is small... real small but luckily it can be slightly compensated with the movable rear seats... i might end up choosing it... hehe...

seriously, any good suggestions whether the 1.5S can justified the extra few thousand RM?

the most obvious additional is the 15" front Ventilated disc brake & 15" solid disk brake vs 14" front ventilated+rear drum brake, 6 speakers vs 4 speakers, aerobody kit...
The Jazz VTEC having discounts as well if you find the right salesperson. smile.gif
Try test drive the Jazz since you have test drive the Yaris. smile.gif
Gouki
post Dec 4 2006, 05:29 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 4 2006, 05:00 PM)
ya lor... that's why i choose 1.5G... i saved at least RM6K leh...

BTW, the car will not come qith tinted glass/windows, any good brand that can recommend?
As i'll be keeping this car for a long-long time, please recommend a better quality ones...  notworthy.gif

if someone from penang happens to see this & oso know where to get in penang, do recommend oso!!!!  notworthy.gif
In terms of best heat rejection tint will be V-kool Elite. The rest of it will depends a lot on the workmanship to avoid problems like bubbles, scratches and etc. It's best if you go to V-kool's authorised tint shop for their v-kool elite and make sure they give assurance on their workmanship quality as well. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Dec 4 2006, 05:30 PM
Gouki
post Dec 5 2006, 01:40 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

air-cool is so so only. rolleyes.gif
Gouki
post Dec 8 2006, 12:42 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

It's true v-kool's tint film consist of many layers and one of the layer are made of some metal particles which is why it is still the highest heat rejection tint film to date. Forget about the percentage of heat rejection those shops claim their tint to have coz the real heat rejection is always lower than what they claimed. Heck, even V-kool elite with 93% claimed heat rejection is tested to be around 80+% in reality. So imagine if those other tint brand that claim their heat rejection are lower than that. About v-kool will rust in the long run is true if the person who tint it didnt apply some kind of "oil" to the tint where they cut from the whole roll of v-kool tint. Try to enquire from those authorized v-kool tint shop or the HQ themself. smile.gif
Gouki
post Dec 8 2006, 01:42 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 8 2006, 12:51 PM)
I think 3M has a better heat projection product than VKool. And it's 100% metal free or rust-free.
I dont think so, tested on machine, v-kool elite heat rejection is highest to date but i dont deny that 3M is not bad too. smile.gif
Gouki
post Dec 18 2006, 06:12 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 18 2006, 01:16 PM)
dear all,

let's no start the "whether this [overpriced] car worth 92k or not" type of debate...

for my case, i agree it is overprice (mainly due to taxing)... but i do feel it is worth it...

i do not want to start another "Jazz vs Yaris" topic but i test drived both unit & i finally chose Yaris over Jazz...

just share with u all how i come to this choice...
1) no Proton/Perodua (thus no myvi... too bad...)
2) good fuel consumption.. (so far honda/toyota's engine the best as far as i know of), here on, i rule out the VTEC version... but the features of iDSI is not so interesting... that lead me to Toyota... (here i rule out all Korean cars)
3) After driving 7++ years of my Wira aeroback with all kinds of funny loosen parts sound, i decided to put faith in CBU over CKD...
4) Finally, my budget is <100k... so that lead me to Toyota Yaris... hehe
5) i know there is Suzuki Swift but i worried the later service/spareparts field would be more troublesome compare to the more available Toyota... (this i also rule out majority European Cars, most are much more expensive anyway...)

no offence to anyone here... peace...
No harm done, pal. It's like how ppl saying my jazz is overpriced at 100k+ but as long i find it worth it then the rest i dont bother much. It's your money, you own it, you drive it and you modify it. Lol. Someone's medicine could be someone's poison. So i hope you do enjoy your yaris when get your hands on it and do come back and share your experience with us. If everyone has the same taste then this world will be so boring with the same stuff all around the world. laugh.gif
Gouki
post Dec 18 2006, 06:15 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 18 2006, 02:06 PM)
Yes, there shouldn't be a debate as to whether this car is better than any other car or not. But I don't see why people who are already driving this car can't share their views as to why this car is worth 92K of their hard earned money. Maybe they simply like its design or the amount of mods that can be added on it... all in all. Personally, you people shouldn't be so narrow minded... when someone brings up words like 'overpriced' or some other words, all you guys do is jump to conclusions that someone is banging your favourite car... geezz... grow up. If you want a proper thread, always give honest opinions, the good and the bad about a car, that way, flamers wont have a chance to bait you.

Back to topic, has UMW (in Glenmarie right?) issued any statements about spare parts regarding the Yaris? Or does it share similar parts as other Toyota models? I read somewhere that Suzuki Swift parts are still in the process of being brought in and added into Suzuki Malaysia's inventory... ya, so I do think that Suzuki parts are still quite scarce.
Well, as far as i know. The only thing that Yaris sharing is the engine and gearbox from Vios. Well, at least we know the mechanical parts is the common stuff that you can source. Just like City and Jazz sharing the same engine, gearbox, chassis/platform, suspension setup and etc. biggrin.gif
Gouki
post Dec 18 2006, 08:51 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Dec 18 2006, 08:41 PM)
yup... i totally agree... overprice/worth or not, its all up to us...
we must keep a positive attitude... work hard to earn money then spend on what we really like!!! thumbup.gif
haha... IMHO, sharing engine & gearbox with the much common Vios is already a good start... smile.gif
more will definitely come... bodykit etc... but i'm not hardcore fan of car modding.. that's why i didn't choose the S-Spec...
Well, as i said, everyone's taste and need is different. I can see why Toyota having 2 kind of spec for you to choose. Hope to hear bout your new ride soon. Cheers. biggrin.gif
Gouki
post Jan 30 2007, 12:20 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 30 2007, 12:17 PM)
really? OH NO!!!!! seems like easy to be recognized & spotted yah... hahaha... sweat.gif
hope this is not that bad... sweat.gif
I guess Penang aint that big too be annoymous eh? sweat.gif

0.0256sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:45 PM