Monk Discussion V6, TR Vroom with V6 Engine~

cowithgun
post Apr 10 2014, 10:30 AM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 10 2014, 03:54 AM)
From what I see, CW certainly not a good dmg dealer. Did you try before by switching your exploding palm to SW - inner storm? So that you will have more spirit to dish out more LK. To me, the main dmg dealer for fire build monk is their LK.

Barberjun and me are trying to find the way to measure the effectiveness of his fire build monk compare to my holy build. As of now, I am pretty sure that my dmg is on par with him. Any suggestion?
CW... I though it's pretty good already due to the fire damage? And the AOE is pretty impressive. That is why I can do away without SW.

In T2, I basically don't need to use LK with white mob; pull them over, palm and CW. They start dying.

With Elite, I really need to finish them before Epiphany run out. Even with 300 spirit and 15% resource reduction, there are cases where Elite still alive, and that is when I think additional spirit may help. Good idea about Inner storm.

Barberjun fire monk is a lot better than me! Your holy monk is definitely awesome too. Wondering how much your Bell crit damage is?! Mobs seems to just got crushed to particles...
dreaming
post Apr 10 2014, 10:37 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(kwwk87 @ Apr 10 2014, 10:26 AM)
So now the haters cannot complain D3 no build! icon_idea.gif
ya.. laugh.gif

btw, i'm also crafted my first Reaper's Wraps for crusader.
was hoping to get holy %dmg but end up gotten the lighting %dmg + vit pulak. doh.gif
will try to turn the vit to dex and pass to my lighting monk.
SpikeTwo
post Apr 10 2014, 10:38 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

where to get reaper's fear or something?
kwwk87
post Apr 10 2014, 10:39 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 10 2014, 10:38 AM)
where to get reaper's fear or something?
Also from Malthael

This post has been edited by kwwk87: Apr 10 2014, 10:40 AM
SpikeTwo
post Apr 10 2014, 10:47 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

the bugged drop rate havent fixed right?
irangan
post Apr 10 2014, 11:09 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Apr 10 2014, 10:30 AM)
CW... I though it's pretty good already due to the fire damage? And the AOE is pretty impressive. That is why I can do away without SW.

In T2, I basically don't need to use LK with white mob; pull them over, palm and CW. They start dying.

With Elite, I really need to finish them before Epiphany run out. Even with 300 spirit and 15% resource reduction, there are cases where Elite still alive, and that is when I think additional spirit may help. Good idea about Inner storm.

Barberjun fire monk is a lot better than me! Your holy monk is definitely awesome too. Wondering how much your Bell crit damage is?! Mobs seems to just got crushed to particles...
Yup. Your CW is very useful against trash mob but not that effective against elites or bosses due to CW AoE. Therefore, I was wondering whether improving on spirit regen and able to cast more LK will increase the effectiveness of dmg output of a Fire build monk. Will definitely test it when I am able to complete my fire dmg related gears. Currently, only have lightning and holy sets.

Barberjun still tweaking his build as he felt that his dmg not optimized yet. Haha. The main dmg dealer for my holy build monk is from WotHF:Fist of Fury. Consistently, seeing 3mil+ crit on trash mobs and 4mil+ crit on elites (due to my SoJ). As for my bells dmg, around 9mil crit till 13mil crit (averagely 10mil dmg on trash mobs) and can go up to 21mil crit on elites. Still looking for a holy skill dmg amulet to replace very good yellow amulet.

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 10 2014, 10:47 AM)
the bugged drop rate havent fixed right?
ITEMS

The treasure from Resplendent Chests has been improved to feel more resplendent
Bug Fix: Legendary Follower relics will no longer roll incorrect Primary stats
Malthael is now much more afraid, and will more consistently drop the Reaper's Fear Legendary crafting material
Bug Fix: Gloves of Worship no longer grant 60 minute buffs for Empowered or Fleeting Shrines

They fixed it in the latest patch and I seeing my clan mate crafting numbers of it.
SpikeTwo
post Apr 10 2014, 11:16 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

ah...missed that line. lol...
but the resplendant chest still feels crap. opened a couple last night.
irangan
post Apr 10 2014, 11:26 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Already improved a lot comparing to 1 - 2 yellow items drop previously. I am totally fine with it as I dont want to play Diablo 3 - the chest hunting and opening game smile.gif
SpikeTwo
post Apr 10 2014, 11:33 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

not fine as finding the chest is rare for me! i dont always find resplendent chests, if I do, I hope it gives more than 2-3 rares. i only found 2 while doing rifts yesterday. so yeah, even more rare as elite packs could be. it is one of the game element as I also do not load/reload game just to infinite farm manglemaw or chests. but when i meet one randomly, i want it to be special.

jaychow
post Apr 10 2014, 01:01 PM

111 posts

Hi all, general noobie monk here and generally experimenting fire and lightning monk builds. Appreciate all the sifus opinion on my build and what to improve further
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/majorch...9/hero/41362359

Some observations on forums and general best dps play recommendation:
1. Try to get 70-80% armor and all resists
2. Push for 400-500k hitpoints
3. Socket emeralds on DW weapons
4. Crit chance target 40-50% along with crit dmg 400-500% (1:10 ratio)
5. Trifecta (or even quadfecta!) items ftw
6. Movement speed @25% via item or paragon
7. IAS push weapon attacks to 2 per second (?)
8. focus on single element % build for max potential dmg

Any misconceptions appreciate on the corrections and any more to advice much appreciated.
tarvalslain87
post Apr 10 2014, 01:24 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Apr 10 2014, 01:01 PM)
Hi all, general noobie monk here and generally experimenting fire and lightning monk builds. Appreciate all the sifus opinion on my build and what to improve further

Any misconceptions appreciate on the corrections and any more to advice much appreciated.
Yeap the list is for ideal build. Crit chance best would be 50% with 500% crit dam. If toughness you can push through 10 million with dps of 800k buff, i think you can do t3 and even t4 comfortably.

You can opt for increase element damage eqs which doesnt show the damage on paper. Like lightning, fire or holy.

SpikeTwo
post Apr 10 2014, 01:54 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Apr 10 2014, 01:01 PM)

why u need combination strike passive while you only have one spirit generator?
jaychow
post Apr 10 2014, 02:06 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 10 2014, 01:54 PM)
why u need combination strike passive while you only have one spirit generator?
Well straight up 10% dps solo play is not too bad, usually I start spamming DR/CW/FoT before I let loose SW:C and LTKs. If got a full party play I would switch to unity gives 20%.

This post has been edited by jaychow: Apr 10 2014, 02:10 PM
SpikeTwo
post Apr 10 2014, 02:10 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

because from ur profile i only see one spirit generator, the DR. maybe the D3 page is not updated. hmm.
jaychow
post Apr 10 2014, 02:14 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 10 2014, 02:10 PM)
because from ur profile i only see one spirit generator, the DR. maybe the D3 page is not updated. hmm.
No, actually u are seeing right, I only use one spirit generator (I rotate depend on elemental attacks I gear'ed for) to get a consistent 10%. Yeah perhaps am not using it right by 'combo' using various generators.
jaychow
post Apr 10 2014, 02:23 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 10 2014, 01:24 PM)
Yeap the list is for ideal build. Crit chance best would be 50% with 500% crit dam. If toughness you can push through 10 million with dps of 800k buff, i think you can do t3 and even t4 comfortably.

You can opt for increase element damage eqs which doesnt show the damage on paper. Like lightning, fire or holy.
Thanks, will look into those % dmg element. Currently my crit 30% crit dmg 430%, toughness 4.3 mil and 430k dps unbuffed... will take awhile to double all that up sweat.gif can do T2 now while abit of struggle on solo, tried group T3 dying like flies along with massive repair bill.
gladfly
post Apr 10 2014, 02:34 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Apr 10 2014, 02:14 PM)
No, actually u are seeing right, I only use one spirit generator (I rotate depend on elemental attacks I gear'ed for) to get a consistent 10%. Yeah perhaps am not using it right by 'combo' using various generators.
combo strikes works by having different generators in game..

like if you FoT , DR and WothF ..all must be in your task bar... so you have to click them in sequence..eg mouse click (Generator 1), press 1 (generator 2) and 2 (generator 3) and mouse click after that. Only then you will get 24% extra damage (8+8+8) The good thing is that once you get it up it stays until your stop attacking.

jaychow
post Apr 10 2014, 02:51 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Apr 10 2014, 02:34 PM)
combo strikes works by having different generators in game..

like if you FoT , DR and WothF ..all must be in your task bar... so you have to click them in sequence..eg mouse click (Generator 1), press 1 (generator 2) and 2 (generator 3) and mouse click after that. Only then you will get 24% extra damage (8+8+8) The good thing is that once you get it up it stays until your stop attacking.
Ahh I see, mmm thats alot of click rotations to achieve extra 24%. hmm.gif
waklu
post Apr 10 2014, 03:18 PM

70 posts

seems like i lack damage even in t1 rift..

elites took 1min to kill. Any idea guys?

CDR build, with maximus
dreaming
post Apr 10 2014, 03:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Apr 10 2014, 02:51 PM)
Ahh I see, mmm thats alot of click rotations to achieve extra 24%. hmm.gif
combi strike is already buffed to 10% in RoS.
so, if you rotate spirit generators, you can get up to 30% paper buff.

125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:00 PM