LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V27, all the older sifus went MIA liao :(

DaBestOne
post Sep 2 2013, 06:27 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 29 2013, 10:42 PM)
zzz some idiot kissed my car's rear, let him off since I can't spot damage on the scene, should've at least claimed rm50 just to teach him a lesson http://twitpic.com/daw8yx
The damage of your car's rear cannot be seen hmm.gif
DaBestOne
post Oct 4 2013, 05:22 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(LaiFany @ Oct 4 2013, 04:35 PM)
Thanks for the insight. I'm currently looking at one iswara 2006. 1 lady owner w/o modifications. Weirdly, the engine rocks quite a lot when it's in neutral. Is it a serious and costly problem to fix? I'm suspecting there might be some fault in its gearbox, though not serious. Wondering how much would it be to change the gearbox. Sifus pls help a poor chap here.  icon_rolleyes.gif
There are several common causes of engine vibration in a car, and they all result in shaking and noises that can be quite alarming and sometimes scary. However, if you know what some of the most frequent caused of engine vibration are, you can not only avoid too much stress and worry, you can know how to explain the problem and symptoms to a car mechanic when the time comes to correct the problem. So, here is a list of some of the most common reasons your car's engine might shake or vibrate.

Worn Out Spark Plugs

In many vehicles a common cause of engine vibration is worn out or faulty sparkplugs. Worn out or dirty sparkplugs will cause the car's engine to misfire or not properly fire on each and every cylinder. When this occurs, it is commonly referred to as the engine missing or not firing on all cylinders. This can usually be corrected by installing new sparkplugs or correcting other spark or compression-related issues.

Loose or Disconnected Hoses

Loose or disconnected hoses can also be a common cause of many types of engine vibration. A loose or disconnected air hose or vacuum hose can cause quite a bit of violent shaking and vibration in your car's engine. To correct the problem, simply look for any loose or disconnected hoses and reattach them and replace them as needed.

Engine Problems? Check Out These Engine Repair Tips
Broken Motor Mounts

If the vehicle shakes violently or the engine vibrates excessively when stopped at a red light or when parked with the engine on, this may be a good indicator that the motor mounts or transmission mounts on the vehicle are damaged or broken. A good way to tell if this is the problem is to simply put the car in neutral and see if the vibration or shaking decreases a bit. If it does, this is a good sign that there may be problems with your engines motor mounts and you should have the engine inspected by a qualified repair shop or professional mechanic.

Faulty or Poorly Adjusted Fuel Intake System

Another common problem that causes engine vibration and nasty shaking is a poorly adjusted fuel intake system. Sometimes, idling problems that cause engine vibration may be as simple as adjusting the idle on a carburetor or cleaning components in the fuel intake system so that fuel passes through the engine more easily creating cleaner and more efficient combustion your car's engine.

Faulty Timing Belt

Problems with your vehicle's timing belt, or other belt driven accessories, are another common cause of engine vibrations in vehicles. Timing belts and other belts that are loose or damaged will cause components controlled by belts such as fans and other parts to not rotate or turn a consistent speeds which will result in strange sounds and vibrations from your car's engine. To avoid these types of problems, you should frequently inspect all of the belts in your vehicle to make sure that they are free from crakcs and ribbing and also make sure that the belts are tight and operating as they should. smile.gif nod.gif
DaBestOne
post Oct 22 2013, 12:41 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Azure_01 @ Oct 22 2013, 07:19 AM)
Thanks, for the info smile.gif

Lastly, how did u guys clean ur engine, mine is full of dirt after taking road with heavy rain, can I just use water gun or need to clean by hand with piece of old cloth?
Normally I will send for car wash to wash the engine..They use the special liquid for removing the dirt on the engine smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Nov 4 2013, 12:35 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Nov 4 2013, 10:46 AM)
too bad for me

got no spare car to use ...

so cant overhaul for the moment...
How long's needed to overhaul the engine ?
DaBestOne
post Dec 17 2013, 02:29 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Azure_01 @ Dec 17 2013, 08:54 AM)
There is no damage to the car?? shocking.gif
Interior stuffs all habis sweat.gif
Hopefully it won't get rusty
DaBestOne
post Dec 20 2013, 12:17 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(gemini sharti @ Dec 20 2013, 10:07 AM)
[attachmentid=3777613]

Where can I get this wheel cover, I dowana change to sport rim rite now and I like this particular design actually. But it's difficult to find this exact design. Try to search for it at KL and JB, Tesco, few accessory shop and online but cannot find la  :-( Any idea guys?
wheel cover 13'' inch ? can try to use cover of wira or waja, i saw someone still selling it online smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Jan 10 2014, 04:53 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(gemini sharti @ Jan 10 2014, 02:32 PM)
What are the symptoms of a worn clutch?
The clutch is slipping if it is old and worn. Basically put in in 3 or 4 gear and floor the car. If the RPM rises but the car is not accelerating then it is slipping. Don't go so cheap with clutch. Most of the cost is the labor. smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Jan 21 2014, 06:51 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 21 2014, 06:30 PM)
Macam macam pun ada...wonder how to avoid buying these fake product in the market ? how do we know we buy the original lubricants ?
DaBestOne
post Jan 28 2014, 12:54 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 28 2014, 03:42 AM)

as the title says "The most humorous table-tennis match ever"
LOL thumbup.gif
DaBestOne
post Mar 4 2014, 11:46 AM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Azure_01 @ Mar 3 2014, 07:09 AM)
Outside, the mech tell me its the tangki bocor,  the one attach, I pay 190 for fan only and 220 for the tangki include the gas and oil and some servis, total lost is  RM420, I think denso shop price is like that, even the tangki is no denso XD
But now, its cool, so I guess that fine la tongue.gif
May I know where did you fix it ? My family car's fan got krok krok sound d..need to know where is cheaper to fix it smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Mar 12 2014, 06:01 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(capotato @ Mar 11 2014, 06:03 PM)
Hi guys....

Really need your help. I hv tried googling but failed to find the solution. My digital meter that shows the petrol n tempreture is not displayed. There is light but nothing.

At the early stage it comes n goes...now its been 2 days. Very hard to estimate the petrol....n of coz worry if overheat.

Please do help...Thanks man
Try to use odometer to estimate ur fuel level, since u hav been driving for many years smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Mar 17 2014, 01:40 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(sudosandwich @ Mar 17 2014, 11:50 AM)
Hello peeps,

I just got handed down my grandfather's Iswara few weeks ago. This is my first car. I've been really ignorant about maintaining a car, but now that I actually own one I figured its smart to start learning, to prolong the car life and save money hopefully. May all the sifu's here will be willing to help.

Currently the car has some issues

1. Not all the meters are working, rev and gas meters works occasionally while the odometer is completely dead. I assume it could be wiring problem or I might have to change everything. Any idea on the cost?

2. Fuel consumption. Since the odometer is not working, i'm using google maps to estimate the distance. I filled up RM 50 worth of fuel, and after driving around for 230 km the needle is back at E. Is that normal?

3. A/C, I guess I just have to go service it. Any idea on the price?

Other than that the car is actually working fine, been driving to work for the past week. Ride is not too smooth, I can feel every bump the car went over.

I will go to see a mechanic and check what's needed to be repaired, but I would like to have a rough idea on it first. Maybe you guys can help point out what should I look into.

TT session anyone?

Btw, here is the car
Regarding the odometer not working, may check the other end of the cable whether it is connected to the gearbox or not smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Mar 24 2014, 07:01 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Mar 23 2014, 09:27 PM)
my wiper not squirting fluids

pls advise..

can i diy ?
Hi bro..Hopefully this may help you smile.gif
http://www.wikihow.com/Troubleshoot-a-Windshield-Washer-Pump
DaBestOne
post Apr 14 2014, 05:03 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(sayooq @ Apr 14 2014, 04:41 PM)
Hi all,
New guy here. Seeking help and advice from our brothers.
I am using a saga lmst year 2007. It has been working fine all these years until recently found out it consumed engine oil and the engine constantly overheated. there is also a smoke-like odour coming into the cockpit and it get worse when the aircond is turned on. as for the overheating problem, found out that the fan motor was faulty. got it changed and serviced the cooling system. as for the engine, i decided to send it in for top overhaul. it has been a week now since the repair and everything seems to be ok except for the smokey-like odour that keeps coming into the cockpit. i thought this could be the cabin/aircond filter that once been contaminated by the smoke? coming from the engine bay?. but i've been looking around for this thing in my saga to clean/change it but could not find one.
Do u guys have any idea to what may cause this smokey-odour in the cockpit and how to solve it?
appreciate it much.
There are a few things that commonly cause an engine to overheat regularly. smile.gif

1. Low Coolant By a large margin, the most common cause for engine overheating is simply a low coolant level. Your engine's cooling system relies on coolant to circulate and remove heat from the engine. If you don't have enough coolant in there to do the job, heat will build up and your engine will overheat. No amount of running the heater in the summer will help if you don't have enough coolant in the radiator to transfer that heat. By far, the first thing you should do if your engine seems to be running hot is check your coolant level.

2. Electric Cooling Fan Failure If you have an electric cooling fan that isn't coming on, this can cause your engine to overheat. The electric cooling fan draws cooler air through your radiator when your car isn't going fast enough to ram it through from the front. You can test this by letting your car idle long enough for the engine to heat up. If you've been having an overheating problem in traffic, keep an eye on your temperature gauge. When it starts creeping into the danger zone, look under the hood to see if your electric fan is running. If it's not, you'll need to figure out why. There are two usual causes to this:
2a. Bad Electric Fan: Sometimes your fan motor will just burn out and your fan won't come on at all. To test this, find your radiator fan switch and disconnect the wiring harness. Get a jumper wire and insert it into both contacts, your fan should come on. Another way to test the fan is to turn on the air conditioning. Most, but not all, cars activate the cooling fan at either a medium or high speed when you turn on the AC.
2b. Bad Radiator Fan Switch: There is a switch that tells your cooling fan to come on when your coolant reaches a certain temperature. The easiest way to test this switch is to disconnect the wiring harness and then run a jumper wire across the harness contacts. If the fan comes on, you need to replace the switch.

3. Thermostat Not Opening The most common symptom of a failed thermostat is overheating at highway speeds. Your engine may be able to stay cool at low speeds because it's not working that hard, and therefore not creating as much heat. But at highway speeds your engine needs lots of coolant flowing through. If the thermostat doesn't open, there isn't enough flow to keep things cool, and you'll find yourself looking more like a steam ship than a sedan going down the highway.

4. Broken Fan Belt There are still lots of engines out there which have a fan belt to drive the engine cooling fan. If you see a belt attached to your fan, you're in this club. The good news is your repair is always cheaper than the electric guys. You can replace your fan belt easily if it's broken.

5. Clogged Radiator If your car has more than 50,000 miles on it, your radiator could start getting gummed up. You can avoid this and other problems associated with old coolant by flushing your radiator every year. There's nothing good about an overheating problem. If your engine is running hot you should try to fix the problem as quickly as possible. A hot engine can do damage to itself, even if you aren't going into a full overheating. Check your oil regularly to be sure you are providing adequate lubrication to your engine, everything you can do to reduce heat buildup helps! If you've checked these more common causes of overheating
DaBestOne
post Apr 21 2014, 02:11 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Apr 19 2014, 02:52 PM)
own fault driving too fast and lost control and wrecked my front chasis, knocked back of unser. fork out 2k plus for repair and claim for unser. Learned mistake and past is past, I have to go on and cannot let this unfortunate event break me down, I still have thing to do.  flex.gif
Sorry for hear that bro..Just learned a lesson and use the money to buy peace smile.gif
DaBestOne
post Apr 28 2014, 03:34 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

anyone know how much to change a timing belt in old Iswara ?
DaBestOne
post May 5 2014, 08:00 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(abcstop @ May 5 2014, 03:19 PM)
one more question, any nice recommend shop in puchong/selangor for servicing?
bro may contact with Fendy 0162974192 which located at USJ 8 smile.gif
DaBestOne
post May 12 2014, 02:12 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ May 12 2014, 11:36 AM)
guys one of my spark plug are wet.. covered with engine lub.. the mech told me its time for me to do a top overhaul.. anyone know how much it cost for my 4G13p?
You may contact with this mechanic nearby Sri Petaling smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1261038/all

DaBestOne
post May 15 2014, 03:12 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 15 2014, 10:21 AM)
never overfill especially if you're a high revver, too much oil pressure will cause gaskets/seals to wear off sooner than they should.

[attachmentid=3971478]
see that middle line? i make sure my EO is before/below that line, and after engine started/running i make sure the eo is after/above the line beside min wording smile.gif

in a nutshell, between those 2 lines and you're fine smile.gif
Always filled it until max level.. After that will check the eo level every 2 weeks smile.gif
DaBestOne
post May 28 2014, 12:37 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

Anyone know the promotion plan for buying a new saga for student ?

This post has been edited by DaBestOne: May 28 2014, 12:38 PM

0.0473sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:09 AM