LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V27, all the older sifus went MIA liao :(
jedi_master
Jan 20 2014, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 20 2014, 05:43 PM) yeah at the moment my iswara still remains my daily ride as it has ICE done while the inspira is still stock standard pending money  also http://www.fuelly.com/driver/quazacolt/saga vs http://www.fuelly.com/driver/quazacolt/inspiraiswara is actually having better FC than the inspira LOL! btw you checked your valve clearance? that thing gave SIGNIFICANT boost in power (buttdyno) and FC (fuelly as linked above)... i'm really curious what the dyno figures will show... =edit= of course the xw30 motul (in conjunction with the valve clearance) maybe the deciding factor instead, but i suppose both are worth looking at... referring the old service manuals by mitsubishi, i've gotten the valve clearance done as per spec (which in turn popped out cold start issue as my auto choke is dead, and thermostat removed  ) and engine oil according to previous xw30 specification (API SG, btw). really not sure why malaysia specifies xw50 officially davidke20can take a look at that sexy custom exhaust header  Yep prior to dyno I had a compression test done and valve clearances adjusted. Agreed valve clearance affects a lot! Wow your iswara is fuel efficient. Haha mine gets around 10km/l only full urban driving.
jedi_master
Jan 21 2014, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Jan 20 2014, 06:50 PM) lol, his is 12l/100km.... not 12km/l  Mine is about 10km/l too  QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 20 2014, 06:52 PM) it's more than 8.3 km/l already  and yes, same pedal to the metal/red line whenever traffic permits  (technically i save more fuel being stuck in traffic jams) Lol, saw it wrong the first time. I guess 10km/l is fine then, can't expect much fuel economy from this engine. Hehe, I set my idle a bit richer during idle to stabilize it, so I can't say getting stuck in jam is good for me..
jedi_master
Jan 25 2014, 06:56 PM

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Jan 24 2014, 10:35 PM) hi guys, I've been using this model for a while now but only recently that there seems to be a problem in accelerating. There seems to be like a crackling noise from the engine which usually happens when the clutch is being raised too fast. but now whenever I put more pressure on the accelerator to speed up the sound would come up, only when I maintain a standard degree on the pedal that the sound would not come up should i be worried? because I don't have enough cash on me to repair it at the moment and can only repair once i get my next paycheck can someone please tell me the price of the front signal light of the car as well? thanks  as quaza said it's light pinging so just need to retard your distributor slightly. since it only comes when u accelerate, also possibly your problem is caused by your car running too lean. adjust carb to slightly richer would be better, but you waste that bit more fuel.
jedi_master
Jan 26 2014, 05:50 PM

Quaza, you put the nano thingie + Ceratec together into your Inspira? Not planning to do it to the Iswara anytime soon?
jedi_master
Jan 26 2014, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 26 2014, 06:23 PM) yes i did, seeing the springy/bouncy rpm meter is f***ing fun lol. haha iswara didn't seem worth it ma... 199x tech... i did have ceratec in the iswara though, iinm around 25k km odo, now it's 64k km so the effect is pretty much gone lolz (old odo was on 235-237k km) i mean, you know anyone else besides me pouring around/over rm200 worth of full synthetic engine oil in their iswaras/4g15? from the top of my head, no. all my 4g15 kaki/friends etc don't do that lol. Haha, maybe I will try it... next service!
jedi_master
Jan 27 2014, 09:15 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 26 2014, 08:37 PM) oh edited on the 4g15 actual age lol... vs the GEMA/4b10 engine that's done around the 2005's http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_4B1_engineabout 35-40 years or so on tech difference lol anyways looking forward to your feedback, and if possible use back same EO so can get a more objective feedback. btw what EO you're using currently? what other notable EO have you used before? Currently 10w40 lm semi synth. Been running same since overhauled in 2012. Tried ceratec as well back then, its probably gone too by now. Before this running on petronas syntium (i get staff discount).
jedi_master
Jan 27 2014, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 27 2014, 09:43 AM) i see do provide your feedback after you pour in ws2  Will do, hehe. Btw how much volume does both ws2 and ceratec take up? Maybe I can get away with less EO hehe.
jedi_master
Feb 3 2014, 10:31 PM

Bros, anyone knows whether path up to Gohtong Jaya / Genting peak itself is friendly towards lowered vehicles? Been up few times but can't really remember as it wasn't an issue before.
jedi_master
Feb 4 2014, 09:37 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 4 2014, 04:13 AM) my front bumper/side bars are just few inches off the ground, if i can pass, your car most likely could. just go REALLY SLOW on the road bumps during downhill (only at the top part of genting) take it as a warm up for your car/brakes. you planning a run or something? want to tt? lol (will be going slow since i'm lazy to swap tires lol) Haha, I'm just going up for short post CNY vacation break. Slow drive too, can't afford to do much with wife in the car.
jedi_master
Feb 20 2014, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(andy@ @ Feb 19 2014, 09:47 PM) hello guys anyone know about what is LMST optimum CO level ? The other day I had my carb and ignition timing tuned and I saw the CO machine is about 2.5 - 2.9%. Is this our optimum level or should it be lower ? Anyway do you guys experiencing knocking sound when using shell RON95 (yellow color)!  Always knocking or only in certain rpm range or at certain time when climbing slope? Mine knocks on RON95 when on incline between 2000-3000 RPM and throttle is increased. If throttle position is held, it doesn't knock and I can ascend at a constant speed, just no overtaking in that RPM range. Borderline tuning for maximum fuel economy.
jedi_master
Feb 20 2014, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 20 2014, 03:23 PM) recent weather much hotter, easier to have knocking/pinging (fuel pre-detonation) either retard the distributor a little, or use other fuel/octane boosters. personally, f*** shell. my top choice would be bhp, caltex or petronas (personally using petronas cuz of cimb petronas card cash back) Yeah recent weather is crazy hot. I'm personally using Petronas cos it's convenient, near my house and practically everywhere. Like quaza says, try other brand first, if no knocking then all's good if still there then pull ignition timing a bit. Possible also that there is a lot of carbon buildup in you engine, can try cleaning it.
jedi_master
Feb 25 2014, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(gemini sharti @ Feb 25 2014, 08:20 PM) Planning to change all four absorbers and tyres on my 98 Iswara. There are 2 types, oil & gas. Which 1 shud I buy and what's the difference? I'm using my car for normal city driving ny... Anyways, I gona buy Kayaba. Oil softer ride, gas slightly harder. Pricewise I think oil slightly cheaper, but not much difference really.
jedi_master
Mar 6 2014, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(izzudinhafiz @ Mar 6 2014, 02:26 AM)  Was thinking 200 for at least the odo and tacho. zzz Thanks for the info though!  If you can find meters from mirage or RVR, looks quite good installed in our Iswara. I'm using a white face Mirage meter myself. Someone only needs to trim the panel slightly to get it to fit. Wiring can be done easily as well..
jedi_master
May 15 2014, 06:45 PM

QUOTE(AzeL @ May 15 2014, 06:23 PM) This is my engine bay 3 weeks after cleaning it with a mixture of kerosene and dishwasher liquid... Have to say after initial cleaning very easy to maintain cleanliness afterwards. https://www.dropbox.com/s/n3yy7opb5gzm6c1/IMAG0357.jpgReplaced radiator cap, rm18 but works great so far... Really got an imitation denso cap last time lol. Dude how does kerosene and dishwater liquid mixture smell like?
jedi_master
Jun 14 2014, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(sdas86 @ Jun 11 2014, 12:08 PM) Hi, My car is Carburettor. Carburettors do not need fuel pressure regulation. In fact, low pressure due to high velocity air is what causes fuel to enter the air stream. Fuel injection cars are different as fuel pressure affects how accurate the injection rate is, hence the need for proper pressure regulation.
jedi_master
Jun 16 2014, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(JetOfSang @ Jun 15 2014, 07:28 PM) Hi all, I am about to purchase a second hand proton iswara, '00. Just wanna ask if there is any reputable workshop around cheras area to do the cold air intake and also over-hauling like the high performance camshaft and polishing the engine head? Since this will be my first wheel, I just want to make sure of not placing at the wrong hands. Thanks! Bro, suggest don't touch the cam first. In fact, maybe best not to touch anything first. Have a drive first, fix anything that's not working right and then see what you want. More low end? Better top end? You will not only have better idea after you drive the car first, also you can ensure the car is optimum prior to modding.
jedi_master
Jun 17 2014, 04:32 PM

Last time weber days I used Incoe brand battery, jalan for 2.5 years. Now since fuel injection using Century but just slightly over a year kaputed. Duno because of additional engine off current drain or battery type..
jedi_master
Jun 20 2014, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(minionbanana @ Jun 18 2014, 10:14 AM) hi, need help! Proton saga lmst 2007 1.wanna ask if this amount of fuel consumption is normal? rm60 ron95 for average around 230km. 2.acceleration feels weak when turn on air-cond (very big difference when air-cond off). also when air-cond on, acceleration not smooth like something pulling the car on-and-off on-and-off(when rev around 1k-3k) then gone at >3k .not continuous pull. 3.another thing is everytime i change gear, the moment i release the clutch, there is sound like the gears bang into place, making the car kick once per gear change. gear problem?or transmission oil problem?or my leg problem? if for normal(no problem punya car), no matter how you release the clutch also there wont be kicks is it? Hope saga lmst sifus can give some opinions. thanks in advance.  (double post) 1. A bit on the poor side, but not too bad. 2. The power drop is normal. The acceleration hesitation is not. Try change fuel filter, clean and service the carb, check for vacuum leaks. 3. Can be many causes. Go send to specialist and check.
jedi_master
Jul 3 2014, 04:23 PM

Haiyo, after changing cam your powerband now shifted higher already. That's what it's supposed to do.
Don't worry, you will still accelerate faster than last time as long as you shift higher now..
jedi_master
Jul 6 2014, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(BlackWidowIswara @ Jul 4 2014, 03:05 PM) Means I need to ram high for better acceleration? :0 Yes..