The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V14

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2013, 02:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Aug 6 2013, 02:32 PM)
i think someone selling it for 1.5k in BOM? or i see wrongly?
my eye a bit blur lately due to not enough sleep
rclxub.gif
EV3, similiar like NXT / Mindstorm, is one of the most expensive RRP category.

USD350 in Lego S@H, that's easily rm1120 not yet count shipping & tax.
+/- ... my guess is landed price 1k-1.3k (after deduct discount, but add back shipping & tax)
Anything below rm1k, can buy

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 6 2013, 02:45 PM)
I think EV3 will be able to take NXT components but it's just my wild guess... Never owned one before and I'm looking forward to it!! rclxm9.gif
Doesn't that make you feel like a banker now? laugh.gif
yeah. EV3 is backward compatible with NXT. But not to my RCX controller, need conversion cable.

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2013, 03:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Aug 6 2013, 02:52 PM)
yeap smile.gif thats what i worry also.
yea boss. currency shooting up n down nowadays.
Straight declare as "LEGO toy". Customs normally see Lego will know.

They can't say got wire treat as cables, cause many other PF sets have wires and remote controllers (Technic, train sets, etc.)

Else, if Customs argue, you say got ARM processor, memory and controller, put under Computer... 0% tax thumbup.gif

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Aug 6 2013, 02:54 PM)
I was thinking maybe I will get a NXT 2.0 instead unsure.gif cheaper by a bit. Furthermore, I think it maybe a good start for a robotic noob like me smile.gif
My advise, get NXT 2.0 unless you want to collect some parts to combine with EV3 later.
Otherwise, go straight to EV3 first.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2013, 03:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Aug 6 2013, 03:07 PM)
haha.... must try to get the seller to declare it as computer parts...
then 0% tax.... nice nice...

never thought of this
thanks for sharing  notworthy.gif
Declare as computer set = 0% (if Customs accept it, which I think unlikely tongue.gif )
Don't put as computer parts/cables, this maybe taxable.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2013, 03:38 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Aug 6 2013, 03:29 PM)
but false declaration is illegal leh..  unsure.gif
It's not false declaration. It just depends on which category you declare, and whether Customs think is valid or not.
EV3 controller is actually a small portable PC wink.gif
Similiar like handheld-computer , it is not a PC actually, but Customs treat it as PC category 0% tax.
But if you try to import just the charger for it , you won't get 0% under computer. Plastic/rubber/copper as parts got tax (previously, not sure current now got changes).

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 6 2013, 03:31 PM)
Unfortunately more up than down... icon_question.gif
Really doubt can be below RM1k unless Tan Sri can do something about that... brows.gif

Backward compatible with NXT good enough and will cover many owners. To be backward compatible with RCX kinda asking too much from TLG! lol! icon_rolleyes.gif They want you to upgrade! tongue.gif
I also will dream a little longer... Zzzzz...
Like that you are never going to evolve! lol! doh.gif
That is the reason holding me back not to get EV3 urgently. Maybe can wait EV3.5 or EV4 tongue.gif
With the cable I get from you, my RCX is compatible with PF motor wink.gif and vice-versa

But NXT/EV3 motor is very precise (for Lego standard). Up to 1 degree rotation control.

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2013, 03:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Aug 6 2013, 03:41 PM)
keywords here are --------- if custom agree. tongue.gif i seriously doubt they gonna listen. they will jz categorize the item as whatever they see fit.
Yes, then it is arguable, if you decide to take it up to Customs office. Or come up with "extra" documentation, similiar method like "blackout" and tadaaaa... extra documentations wink.gif

Previously I have similiar items brought in regularly, but different size and model.
Customs will simply assign different category, even if I already state it clearly.
So, bring it up to them (quite dangerous if you don't know what you are doing, then you will need type-approval, sirim, etc. if RF related), and re-categorize it. I always bring my "File DiRaja" with me, the moment I open my "Royal File" , they will know already.

Even if they insist on their category (sometimes they mood not good), then I use "blackout" technique to come out with documentations the stuff will not stay in M'sia and will fly out within weeks, so I ask them to prepare docs for me to claim back tax paid, if any. Normally, Malaysia Boleh, tidak apa attitude, lazy to do documentation , and for future documentation, they will relent.
I don't mind if need to prepare, cause no matter what, I still send the same stuff out of M'sia after that. So in reality, I'm not cheating.

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2013, 04:00 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Aug 6 2013, 03:50 PM)
Now to travel overseas also not cheap cause spending there is also gonna cost as much laugh.gif Guess will just wait till the exchange rate stabilize or until everyone is used to seeing the high conversion rate hahaha
Normally is not purposely go there to buy Lego. But coincidence if that overseas country has cheap Lego while you study/work/vacation, then can buy.

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2013, 10:11 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Aug 6 2013, 08:12 PM)
But do all sensor compatible with EV3? including sound sensor? I somewhat like sound sensor because I used to have a robotic toy that does almost the same function... hehe
Yes. All compatible. But EV3 controller has some advantages over NXT in programming/control.

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 6 2013, 08:35 PM)
Just found a review of 42008 drool.gif
Nice! Medium size Technic vehicle. Not sure what vehicles it can lift up. I think 8110 is too big & heavy for it.
And the weight it can lift & tow. Motorizing it will be interesting, but my servo & motor will be fixed in 8110.
Need to get extra XL motor again, but no servo sad.gif unless I take out from 9398.

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2013, 10:09 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 7 2013, 07:09 PM)
yeah biggrin.gif the 42008 really nice and I already plan to get it brows.gif
Yeah, me too going to get 42008
42005 look see first

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2013, 10:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ccyeoh79 @ Aug 7 2013, 07:30 PM)
I never own a technic set yet. Just wan to make a small try on it. tongue.gif
It's like your first time eating donuts wink.gif

It's either you like/hate it.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2013, 10:15 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Aug 7 2013, 09:53 PM)
keeping to Technic poison tongue.gif

41999 review drool.gif

check out this hot supercar drool.gif

and I will be bringing these fellas back to play during the holidays biggrin.gif

Lucky I'm not into Technic supercar laugh.gif
I'm more into construction/heavy vehicles (excavator/truck/cranes)
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 8 2013, 09:48 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Aug 8 2013, 01:53 AM)
They do have more interesting parts n mechanisms n pneumatics  brows.gif

I actually haven't own a set with pneumatics, hope to get one soon  hmm.gif
First, I need to catch up with a few more backlog of previous years sets b4 buying new sets, it's a never ending journey!  sweat.gif
I have an offer for 42000, not sure want to take or not sweat.gif

Let me check the building instructions for supercars.
I know some have gearbox (with reverse), pneumatic as suspension, ... maybe can learn something new
icon_rolleyes.gif

edit: for pneumatics, 8110 is the current set. Frankly, at this moment, pneumatics has more disadvantages compared to Linear Actuator.

Advantage of pneumatic:
- more "realistic"
- good for far out places, where gears/axles are not suitable.
- compact for far our places, as no need beams to hold the gears/axles.

Disadvantage:
- shorter cylinder rod extension
- less powerful than LA
- air compressible, not hydraulic.
- no accuracy.
- slow response when activated, need to build up the pressure. Then suddenly fully extended (no accuracy).
- air leaking if left for long time.

etc. That's all I recall so far.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 8 2013, 09:56 PM
cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 11:07 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 11 2013, 04:13 PM)
I've been doing this over the long weekend.
Done a V6 engine mod onto my 9398 rockcrawler.
[attachmentid=3577377]
[attachmentid=3577383]

By using 3 universal axle joint to transfer the rotation power from the front motor, to a gear on the chassis. The gear from the V6 engine can then be detached when the chassis is flipped up.
[attachmentid=3577379][attachmentid=3577381][attachmentid=3577382]

Comments are welcomed smile.gif
Nice idea for the hot-rod v6 engine.

My comments:
- 2x U-joint are enough. You may want to use 1x U-joint and 1x CV-joint, cause the suspension system will cause the axle to move a bit. Refer 8110 PTO

- add 2 beams to hold the axle at motor and engine each.

- another way is direct plug in a M-motor to the engine block. Kind of fake, but less gears/axles involved. But can make the engine rpm look faster.

icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 11:16 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 11 2013, 07:39 PM)
BTW, just finish my mobile crane MKII this holiday... my first set that unable to complete in 1 day...
let me share some pictures that i take this morning biggrin.gif (haven't apply stickers yet)

personally, i'm prefer the hook to be in one piece of metal, just like those old sets but i don't think it's possible with this size...
and there are "sound of doom" or sound like somethings gonna broken when raise or lower the crane part to maximum point...

took me 2 days to complete (about 13-15 hours) even i'm follow the instruction, only open the packages that's require instead of open all at once... (normally i will open all at once and search through all the parts biggrin.gif and this is my first set to use this method and i found it not bad actually... reduce the chances of wrong parts)

probably take me longer time if i apply stickers as well...

first thing that surprise me when i open the box - the wheel... it's really bigger than I had anticipated although there is picture show 1:1 of wheel size but it really surprise me when i take it out from the box

and it not only 10 rubber wheels in MKII brows.gif i'm sure it can be seen in my pictures laugh.gif
That should be the LA reaching its max or min point. The clutch will auto-skip (grind-of-death) to protect it from breaking.

There is a flaw with the double LA, similiar with the construction in 8043. Both the 20T gears should be at the same side, i.e. not opposite of each another.
Search for Parax here
Due to it, it could strain one LA on the way up, and another LA on the way down.
Long term, the metal cylinder inside could grind the plastic inside, even though it is already gel-lubricated.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 03:32 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 12 2013, 02:00 PM)
thanks for the info.
icon_question.gif so it means one of the LA will be slightly longer than another one when fully raise hmm.gif
does it mean it will damage the LA if always raise and lower? will it damage also if keep in lowest position...
actually i also know this and test it before put the crane on it but i can't see the difference...  i just simply put one long 'batang' and raise it or lower it
It's easy to know. Fully extend it. Touch your finger onto the side of each LA, both should have the same firmness. If one is firm, another wobble slightly, it's not balance.
Fully minimize it (no vertical force impact for 42009, but there is for 8043), do the same, see if both firm, or only one is firm.

What it means while extending fully in operation, it is using only 1x LA power, the other is no-load. i.e. might as well take out the other LA to mod other stuff.
Refer some dismantle pics here
Using single LA, with repeated up/down, may strain it and the metal cylinder 'screw' will start to "cut" into the plastic housing it, even with lubricants.

So far I have not hit into this ... yet. I test my 8043 with bucket lifting load of up to 250gm (yeah, I weight the load dumped by the bucket with a scale) and it sounds a bit strain to lift up the boom. Digging at higher load "in the ground", I estimate at 400-500gm, it starts to grind.
Not yet build 42009, but I expect the double LA issue, and I will build the gears parallel instead of opposite.

Also, by keeping the crane boom in down position, I guess no damage will occur, as it will rest on top of the front driver's cab.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 04:25 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Aug 12 2013, 04:17 PM)
What is past, already passed... look into the future laugh.gif I was wondering will they came out with a architecture of pyramid + sphinx drool.gif
Pyramid, too simple lah laugh.gif
Unless they make it 5 layer with maze inside shocking.gif probably with the base like Taj Mahal, the piece count could be 25k tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 05:20 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Aug 12 2013, 04:58 PM)
i'm thinking...
is is possible to bring a weight scale and weight the minifig?
i'm lousy at picit...no match for others...

thinking of ways to cheat... hehe  laugh.gif
Yes, bring those microscale up to gram +/-

But you need to have the base weight for reference, for all the minifigs (including the packaging, plastic/paper, and Billund air inside)
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 10:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 12 2013, 05:39 PM)
that also ours is not the oldest available.

back then, the castles were all bricks! later in the 90s, castles were just pre-built thin plastic pieces.
Yes, before 1990's, it is really brick by piece.
Then it started to have bigger and bigger pieces, which spoils the "brick-building" process.
doh.gif

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ Aug 12 2013, 07:40 PM)
before challenge 42009, just bought 42006 for testing since i still new on lego..
wish me good luck guys  brows.gif  brows.gif

still remember last time i used almost 4hours to finish 8069 rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Technic range - it's either you like it or hate it
icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ilfort @ Aug 12 2013, 08:16 PM)
you must have a very bad childhood that you cannot remember. tongue.gif
Not everyone is lucky to be able to afford Lego when small (even parents or uncle/auntie/God-parents)
I still consider myself very lucky to have jus a few sets.
So now, got own income, can afford to go relive my childhood.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2013, 10:59 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Ultraman the great @ Aug 12 2013, 08:29 PM)
Big technic sets not easy to do. One wrong move can set u back many many hours..... hahahha... I kena liao... tongue.gif
Means start with 42004 first ? Then 42006, then 42009 ? sweat.gif

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 12 2013, 10:32 PM)
Thanks for the info and the link.
will try this at this weekends... maybe i just straight away modify it brows.gif it just simply change either gear to another side... "how hard can it be"...
Jeremy Clarkson laugh.gif

yeah, I suggest just mod it, align both LA properly (can twist 180 degree) then set it in.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 13 2013, 11:01 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 13 2013, 09:44 AM)
Thanks for CV-joint the idea. I ended up changing it to 2x u-joint at both ends and 1x cv-joint in the middle. The shaft will now "shrink" appropriately when the suspension is compressed (one wheel, but not both or else the shaft will compress to much).

There are beams to secure the gear from the motor and the engine block, just those middle transfer gears doesn't have beams to secure it yet. I might wanna use a 1/2 L thick beam instead as it might be blocking the battery box.

I only using parts from 42000 Grand Prix, I don't have an M-motor.
Yeah, I don't know how to describe the "shrink" when you compress suspension, but you get the idea and know about it laugh.gif

Anyway, the beams (thin / thick) to hold the axles at both sides, is for it to be secure, and not wobble. Especially affecting the gears. Also not to fall out when lifted/compressed. And holding it in proper place, reduce the gears friction and/or loss-of-power, which may affect the motor performance for front and back (9398)
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 14 2013, 10:22 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 13 2013, 08:21 PM)
align both LA properly is that means both in shortest position with same direction for a beam to go through?
err... how to align. Normally I built the whole thing near complete, or until at least the crane/boom is sturdy enough to stand by itself.
Then with the LA extended 60-100% with the weight of the boom, press in the middle part of the entire LA length and can feel the degree of firmness or wobble. Both should have the same firmness.
If not, dismantle part of it, only rotate the top part of the LA 180 degrees clock/counter-clock wise. Sometimes may need to adjust 1 teeth of the gears connected to the bottom of the LA.
icon_rolleyes.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0592sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:20 AM