The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?
f5calvin
Aug 28 2013, 10:55 AM
starsssss
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 28 2013, 10:51 AM) Haha true, myself thinking of that too since I have one atm Going to gym lah atm, getting there nehh, 14mm samyang. RM900 and 90% of the 14-24mm nikkor I dare say when it comes to sharpness. manual focus?
f5calvin
Aug 28 2013, 09:30 PM
starsssss
Ruby Rose - RWBY by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr DSC_8589 by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr This post has been edited by f5calvin: Aug 28 2013, 09:31 PM
f5calvin
Aug 28 2013, 09:36 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 28 2013, 12:07 PM) What lens are you using? This tend to happen on both my D700 and D800, especially with the 35mm and 85mm depending how small the object is. However 70-200 f/2.8 and 16-35 f/4 has significantly higher hit rate compared to the f/1.4 primes. I'm thinking because of the distance its harder for the system to capture the contrast... eg when you focus on a billboard up close, you probably can aim at the letters, but when you focus from far away, your AF point might cover the entire billboard instead. Side note, mine shows inconsistent result. Does yours always front focus, or at nailing and at times front focus? QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 28 2013, 12:30 PM) I tested this with 35 1.4 and 85 1.8. Yeah very similar to your experience, some times it hits accurately and most of the time it front focuses and very rarely back focuses. Its like 70% front focus, 20% accurate and 10% back focus. Its hard to notice unless you zoom in on your LCD. I tried AF fine tune +5 to +10 values. Seem to give me a better result for further subjects but when the subject is close where the AF is more accurate, it becomes back focus  even pro bodies d600 d700 d800 giving AF issues.. >.< isit just nikon or it happens to others as well? if the subject is close is fine?
f5calvin
Aug 28 2013, 09:41 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 09:35 PM) Awesome photos man, love your FB album too 2nd shot is nice~ Not easy to get in crowded places i was vy vy lost this event..coz last time in comic fiesta i jz folo sifus..this time was wanderin by myself..dno how to shoot. luckily got mirrorless people walking around so i peep into their lcd see the view. copy. haha. 2nd photo was an accidental one..no flash is hard to shoot there p/s: i find it soo hard to compose thro' mini viewfinder of d5100.. love the big big ones in d700 n etc.. eyes not so pain/
f5calvin
Aug 28 2013, 09:51 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 09:47 PM) I'm a happy user LOL Probably because I'm too noob to realize whether there are errors or not Your photos are damn nice ar (but of course for this event it also depends largely on the "quality" of the cosplayers also haha) The 2nd shot "accidental" as in got other people flash when you press the shutter? The lighting looks great! Maybe can invest in an external flash if not already... really useful to bounce light around~ You can choose eye pain or shoulder pain haha » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « *Since you have a D5100, should grab opportunity to take some "selfie" shots with pretty lenglois yo was using my new 35mm 1.8g that time.. then i switched to tammy1750.. after 5 minutes, switched back.. not used to the heavy weight haha.. i've a nissin..din bring oni. cz i thought lighting will be good.. mana tahu so bad.. by the way which diffuser u guys using? no problem with ur camera then good la. behind me was a large large window. so lighting was nice at that spot. This post has been edited by f5calvin: Aug 28 2013, 09:53 PM
f5calvin
Aug 29 2013, 01:13 AM
starsssss
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 29 2013, 01:10 AM) what is the benefit? last time i hear NPS benefit is like...meh only? let's exchange my D70s with your D5100, you gain more manual control  haha manual control is what i duwan. btw viewfinder magnification is bigger in d70s?
f5calvin
Aug 29 2013, 10:45 AM
starsssss
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 29 2013, 10:41 AM) okay checked, seems like it is almost same...  oh..where u check? internet o?
f5calvin
Aug 29 2013, 06:50 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 29 2013, 06:05 PM) >>> would be good if u stick to DX.. 30mm for DX is better than 35mm for me.. QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 29 2013, 06:09 PM) Actually the Nikon 1.8G very sharp liao. Much sharper than the 50 1.8G. AF speed also very fast and accurate.  the 35mm 1.8g u using on d600 oso sharp?
f5calvin
Aug 29 2013, 07:08 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 29 2013, 07:06 PM) 1st picture,, girl on the most left red shirt, ur cousin ar?
f5calvin
Aug 29 2013, 07:28 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 29 2013, 07:12 PM) Her initials are CYW ah? Nah, my friend birthday. Those are his friends  his friends oso u noe the initials? haha..yaya yeewen. UM ppl.
f5calvin
Aug 29 2013, 08:01 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 29 2013, 07:28 PM) Like me when i have to choose between 50mm 1.8 g or d or 85mm 1.8g that one not hard to choose leh.. 85mm 1.8g is nikon's sharpest lens d..even sharper than the bokeh king 85mm 1.4G.. QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 29 2013, 07:29 PM) I take the photo, upload, my friend tag all then ma know liao lo  haha ya hor
f5calvin
Aug 30 2013, 06:41 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 30 2013, 06:33 PM) Amata cf. huebneri- Wasp/Lawn Moth Great shot there Wah, this one is really very upclose! Superb details there XD I wonder why is it erecting its tail like that Nice one man, hard to miss out the island-style keyboard of a Lenovo  bro u studied taxanomy? why so many sp. name u noe,
f5calvin
Aug 30 2013, 08:47 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 30 2013, 08:44 PM) Haha, yeah, my phD project is something related to taxonomy haha  But insects are not my major though... I only know a handful of the common ones There are just too many diverse species out there, which is why sometimes photographers may be the 1st ever to document a new species (without knowing it!)  doing photography for those graduation thingy that'll be going on next month or so?
f5calvin
Aug 30 2013, 08:57 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 30 2013, 08:50 PM) Probably, a few of my colleagues are graduating this year  But its always a challenge to photograph in those conditions... the crowds are crazy LOL... I guess using a super wide angle lens will be easiest but I don't have one @_@ go throw ppl..my arms wanna patah d last time..i saw many pro ones using 5dm3, some using gopro summore
f5calvin
Aug 30 2013, 10:43 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Aug 30 2013, 10:22 PM) Thanks! I don't know, I still feel something amiss especially with the sky. Still a newb for this Lightroom. try shooting more of the sky..folo rule of thirds. then maybe better?
f5calvin
Aug 30 2013, 11:15 PM
starsssss
f5calvin
Aug 31 2013, 12:08 AM
starsssss
QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 30 2013, 11:46 PM) Its a nice pic, no doubt, but i feel something is missing haha me too..it's just not right..
f5calvin
Aug 31 2013, 01:07 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 31 2013, 01:38 AM) I think most probably because no impact. This photo not taken with UWA right? I think if this photo was taken in portrait orientation will look better, without the city scape. Just the bridge and the opera house. yeah u've got the point.. maybe bcz not uwa.. QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 31 2013, 02:19 AM) [/spoiler] I think the foreground element is placed wrongly la. Should alter the perspective abit. There's not much connection between the foreground and the background. Leading lines would help. Maybe a telephoto lens to compress the perspective so that there's less of a gap between the rocks and the cityscape.  yeah maybe leading lines would help alot too..
f5calvin
Aug 31 2013, 06:18 PM
starsssss
QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Aug 31 2013, 04:58 PM) Nice shot there, I think you could have taken the shot from a lower angle, just my guess... Did you go anywhere outskirt in Sydney or perhaps watch Dolphins and Whales during your trip in Sydney? I'll be going there in a week's time and starting to plan about it now  im on the rocks..cant go any lower or else my camera will get into the water.. sydney i went like 2 days only..heard there're mountains for skiing there..u should go there.. yeah watched dolphins too..
f5calvin
Aug 31 2013, 11:13 PM
starsssss
tmw cosplay event in seremban terminal 1..anyone's goin?