7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode VI (Version 11.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

smileguy
post Mar 31 2014, 06:32 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Mar 31 2014, 05:21 PM)
YAAWWWNNNN. ABNXCESS IS ALL ABOUT TALK.
ABNXCESS
Yes agreed Talk Talk Talk!! yawn.gif Look at their disabled FB page,at least astro is still open for sacarsms! smile.gif Anyway they have no good channels to offer,their costs to start off itself wl kill them.Looks like astro wl remain the winner hmm.gif 70% channels unseen before,of course so cos those are low profile channels! Even astro has not touched 150 channels less its In House channels!

This post has been edited by smileguy: Mar 31 2014, 06:41 PM
smileguy
post Apr 2 2014, 06:10 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Apr 1 2014, 08:03 PM)
ASTRO to add 8 HD channels & 12 SD channels this year. I think they can do better than that but adding 20 channels in a year in itself is a record for ASTRO. But one question remains, will we see better picture quality on Astro's SD channels?

[EDIT] Current channels which already have HD version but Astro has yet to bring them to their platform
1. FOX HD
2. NAT GEO WILD HD
3. CARTOON NETWORK HD
4. E! HD
5. CNN HD
6. DIVA UNIVERSAL HD
7. LIFETIME HD

Well, did I miss any channel? Kindly add to the list.
Bro ,I dont think astro wl move to MPEG4,so better SD is out! You spend millions and only add 20 channels!!Dont they know there is another provider targeting 500 channels?! That will be embarrassing! Their target is NOT their customers but leasing transponders to other operators,Launching,testing and adding wl take us to end of 2014, yawn.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 2 2014, 06:15 AM
smileguy
post Apr 7 2014, 11:24 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 7 2014, 09:25 AM)
Most likely end up on ABN, given how many of their channels target Indians...
Not exactly Bro,perhaps thats all cheap stuff ABN can get!! Many Indians hv left for another source at only RM420 per year!! tongue.gif
smileguy
post Apr 7 2014, 07:14 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Apr 7 2014, 06:58 PM)
1. TrueVisions added 34 new HD channels in a year. Here, we are happy enough to be offered 12 SD & 8 HD channels.

2. All 50 TrueVisions HD channels will broadcast with Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 Surround. Here, we still complain about Astro's SD channels' picture & audio quality.
Even another 5 satelites launched also nothing wl change ,we wl be deprived of good variety, just like 3 movie channels since 1996! yawn.gif For things to change BN has to go! nod.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 7 2014, 07:15 PM
smileguy
post Apr 12 2014, 06:26 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(klphang @ Apr 12 2014, 01:47 AM)
Astro first and best no need combine, just remove totally from the list, waste of bandwidth. Been wonder who will buy this limited time only and highly censored on demand movie.
There are many rich people out there!!They support all the way!!I read somewhere, since their subscriber base is large they just need 5% support to keep those channels. Thats why they dont entertain our complaints on delayed, limited and censored screenings ! sad.gif
smileguy
post Apr 12 2014, 11:16 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 12 2014, 07:16 AM)
Forgot to add one more info. ch.951 ABO Movies Thangathirai will be shifted to ch.241 on same day.
Thanks for the update,so 241 means most likely in future wl be upscaled to HD hmm.gif
smileguy
post Apr 16 2014, 08:46 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:39 PM)
Preparation for the world cup.. maybe??
Source: english.astroawani.com
Not exactly ..........WC will see compressed channels for sure! cry.gif The launch will be end of May and full use will take months. One more thing the main purpose of them is always NOT local interests their main interest is leasing transponders to other countries! Locals get the left overs,we are still on MPEG2 and the still yet to go digital and we hv only one single provider controlling the nation. mad.gif
smileguy
post Apr 16 2014, 01:37 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 16 2014, 12:42 PM)
+1,  but minor correction in italic.

There are other providers in IPTV. But they all invariably have their own problems mostly caused by Assteruk's channel monopoly rights  vmad.gif

But the real problem is this: all the other providers failing to take off is because assteruk can make MCMC deny them rights to take channels that assteruk already has and doesn't want them to have because of assteruk's own selfish means.
Exactly, and not forgetting astro is owned by the umno investment arm Khazanah Nasional which struck heavy losses thru MAS 370! Another price hike or add on packages are surely on the way!
smileguy
post Apr 18 2014, 05:57 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 16 2014, 10:58 PM)
Oh I see, didn't know that. Here are the UIs, think they are similar. I post one first...having difficulty in uploading the rest. Tks.
Bro,just a query,Mediacorp has gone digital,nw I can get singapore channels using normal aerials. Many in johor hv started using Digital Boxes and are getting HD. But my question is once analog signal is shut down will this digital signal reach Johor and other areas which now get analog signals, any idea?? People hv offered me those boxes but I am reluctant to commit. tongue.gif Thanks

@RAMChYLD perhaps you too can shed some light here bro! thanks. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 18 2014, 05:59 AM
smileguy
post Apr 18 2014, 11:53 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 18 2014, 11:18 AM)
The digital signals are actually spillovers as they can't really can't limit to a projected range to reach Woodlands checkpoint. This is in case residents at Woodlands can't received it. But I am not sure if future DVB-T2 from RTM or Media Prima may transmit on the same frequency used by mediacorp effectively covering them....

Similar in Hong Kong, residents near HK border can actually receive spillover China Digital HD chs.

There are additional chs on the DVB-T2 on test now, which are likely to launch soon, like Channel 8+1 (time shifted ch) and one ch called 'Test 1'.

So maybe, u can shop around for the cheapest T2 box for now.
Thanks for the info,according to info the box is effective and perfect until kulai,I am further down south though I still recieve UHF Vasantham/CNA,the box is RM200 thought of buying and testing out! tongue.gif
smileguy
post Apr 18 2014, 04:10 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 18 2014, 02:57 PM)
At the moment from what I gather the MediaCorp digital signal is spilling into Johor and can be received with any DVB-T2 receiver (last time stay at a hotel in Batu Pahat and they have a DVB-T1 receiver to bring in crystal clear SG channels). So yes, if analog shutdown you can still get Singapore via digital, and in fact it would be better since the signal would be at least assteruk quality and not grainy. In many cases quality will even surpass "assteruk quality".

The only worry is that there are talks that Singapore is proposing CI card (smart card like assteruk, but for normal TV use. Which means digital TV signal will be encrypted) and Malaysia also thinking the same from what I read. If it gets implemented then it's going to be a nightmare since DVB-T2 TVs sold in the countries will have card reader like Japanese TV (from what I read, Japanese ISDB-T TVs require a "license card" to be inserted to be able to use. DVB consortium borrowed the idea because countries like Singapore and UK enforcing TV license and the system will make it possible to lock out those who don't pay) and may mean that Malaysian gomen may reinstate TV license (since deactivated CI card or no CI card equals no TV). Possibly they may leave one or two channels clear and make other more desirable channels encrypted.
Ok bro thanks for shedding light on the matter,will try it myself soon tongue.gif Need a break from astro at for least OKTO's cartoons nod.gif
smileguy
post Apr 21 2014, 09:23 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 20 2014, 10:42 PM)
Caught the promo spot on TV. The indoor reception of mediacorp DVB-T2. Woodlands is only next year. So, if you can already receive it now around JB area, signals will be even stronger in time to come. Cheers!
Will try my luck soon and update you! tongue.gif A quick update https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1921291

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 21 2014, 06:44 PM
smileguy
post Apr 25 2014, 05:50 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Apr 25 2014, 01:54 AM)
oh mai, another in house channel again  doh.gif
..............and many more to come.What more will come from a Bn crony company! yawn.gif
smileguy
post May 2 2014, 02:50 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 2 2014, 02:33 PM)
Meanwhile in Indonesia...

They already moved 100% to MPEG-4 since yesterday, while we are still stuck with the old MPEG-2 just FOR THE SAKE OF SOME NJOI USER AND THOSE WHO ARE REFUSED TO CHANGE THEIR DECODER TO BYOND!  doh.gif  Perhaps Astro should act more aggressively now...  rolleyes.gif

For those who are not understand Indonesian language, this noticed tells the telkomvision subscriber who are still using the old mpeg-2 decoder to immediately change their decoder to MPEG-4 one because they will ceased the transmission via MPEG-2 starting on 1st May 2014 (yesterday).
I beg to differ, astro has no interest in moving to MPEG4,their excuses are lame, they wl continue cheating msians with MPEG2 somply bcos they hv no competetion and they are only concerned to protect personal interest and things like card sharing. yawn.gif They launch satelite after satelite not for local use but to lease transponders to other countries,msians are still fed with In House crap channels and channel addition is a luxury!
smileguy
post May 2 2014, 03:32 PM

3,147 posts

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v7/bu/newsb....php?id=1035167
smileguy
post May 2 2014, 04:09 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ May 2 2014, 03:54 PM)
lol rm500 is huge.. mine is just family basic.. any source?
http://www.astro.com.my/portal/subscriber-...s-conditions-2/ This applies to all no matter what package ! sad.gif Pls note how smartly astro puts the burden on customers to contact astro within 30 days to arrange return of equipment!! brows.gif

The Customer shall maintain and keep his account active for a minimum continuous period of 24 months from the date of activation of the Services. Further, in the event the Customer promptly or otherwise causes the deactivation of the Services at any time during the said 24 months period for any reason whatsoever, including without limitation, by failing or refusing and/or neglecting to pay the Subscription Fees as and when due, an agreed fee of RM 500.00 shall be charged to the Customer’s Astro account on a prorated basis.

If at any point in time the Customer’s subscription to the Services is terminated either by the Customer or Astro for any reason whatsoever, the Customer shall contact Astro within thirty (30) days from the termination date of the Services to arrange for the collection of the Reception Equipment by Astro at no cost to the Customer. If the Customer does not contact Astro for the collection of the Reception Equipment within the retrieval and the cost of the Reception Equipment shall be borne by the Customer and charged to his Astro account. In the event that the Customer wishes to re-subscribe to the Services, the aforesaid Reception Equipment not returned by the Customer is not authorised for subscription. Where the Customer is an Astro B.yond PVR subscriber, the Customer shall pay a compulsory monthly recording service fee in accordance with Astro rates for the recording functionality payable from the activation date of each Astro B.yond PVR installed and activated at the Customer’s residence. If the Customer has subscribed to the Services via special campaigns or promotions, the minimum subscription period as stated in the Campaign Terms & Conditions shall apply.

This post has been edited by smileguy: May 2 2014, 04:14 PM
smileguy
post May 7 2014, 05:55 AM

3,147 posts

He is one of the many (our ancestors) who played a big part for what malaysia is today but sad we have been branded and forgotten! hmm.gif
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...ys-muslim-group

This post has been edited by smileguy: May 7 2014, 05:56 AM
smileguy
post May 11 2014, 06:25 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 10 2014, 09:29 PM)
That reminds me, Astroll monopoly still alive after 17+ years. wink.gif
Now and Forever brows.gif unless BN is ousted but that wl never happen,so enjoy yr asstro! shakehead.gif
smileguy
post May 15 2014, 11:15 AM

3,147 posts

Well to me asstro SD was blur all the way,when was it sharp and clear!
smileguy
post May 17 2014, 04:10 PM

3,147 posts

For better PQ astro has to migrate to MPEG4 and STOP compression.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0434sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:17 PM