Astro B.yond Episode VI (Version 11.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

Anonymous34
post Jan 29 2014, 11:10 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Jan 26 2014, 12:52 AM)
Hi Guys,

it may repeat questin but i try to seacrh there is no active topic for this matter.

Would like to check what is the actual process of re-activation of Astro account.

Situation;

I used to have astro account, then i terminate it a year ago. But i did not return the decoder+card due to i do not get any refunds or anything when i return it.
I paid 200 during the installation.

Anyway, i try to reconnect and call astro but they said i cant reconnect due to the account has been terminated. But i do receive lots of SMS ask me to reconnect FOC  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
And they ask me to register for new account. When i ask what should i do with the old one(not really old, its still beyond decoder), they said they cannot do anything. doh.gif
So if i register for new one, i will need to fork up another 200 ringgit .

Is there any possible way to activate the account without being bullied by Astro?

Cheers guys thumbup.gif
If terminated means terminated the smart card. cannot reactivate. Unless its suspended by user can reactivate. Most you can do is nego with Astro and tell them you have the decoder but not smart card. say you threw away the smart card dy, tell them you want a new smart card and account. hopefully this helps you.
Anonymous34
post Jan 29 2014, 11:12 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jan 27 2014, 09:51 AM)
I already told installer come pay RM120. Thanks your advise.
K sure sure haha

QUOTE(CAL V @ Jan 27 2014, 08:11 PM)
Sorry guys, i'm asking the cable question again. Just visited Astro Service center today and registered for Astro Byond PVR and SPack3. Like a year ago i moved my TV corner to another side in my living room, so I called the guy that did all electric work when I first moved in the house. All my cables are buried in the wall including the Astro RG? cable. He suggested to pull a new cable from the old port to the new side at the ceiling. The cable He used for the extension is RG6 18awg.
I've heard you peeps said Astro Byond HD decoder must use RG6 for HD service, so I just wanna ask are the cable in the wall RG5/RG6? Can they mix or the actual cable buried in the wall is RG6 when he first bury them?
FYI, i'm living in this house like 10+ years, RG6 introduced that long ago?
RG6 cable can last very long unless the lightning kong it like my one. I recommend you to ask the installer for the cable health, they have special equiqment to test it, or some use Ohm meter only if I remembered it correctly.
PVR also need two cables so yeah, better you just pull two new cable la.
Anonymous34
post Jan 30 2014, 12:30 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(JEMAH @ Jan 30 2014, 08:16 AM)
Hey i need to know is there something wrong with my astro beyond decoder if the lighting(kilat) happened? Bcoz i can't open it. How to check? tq.
Just call Astro. If cannot on mostly kena kilat dy. Got a small chance that it's power brick. But yeah small chance only, just call Astro, Byond has lifetime warranty.
Anonymous34
post Jan 31 2014, 09:23 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 30 2014, 02:46 PM)
Try calling astro 2 change package but each time when they tranfer the line to operator the line cut off. Anyone experience this 2day.
It's Chinese new year lol.

QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 30 2014, 03:17 PM)
I got a letter from astro to upgrade free pvr decoder. I'm subscribed to superpack few years back. Didn't get pvr feature then. Don't really need it. So is it worth to upgrade?
Just upgrade, you will only be bound to a new contract if you're subscribed to superpack. Superpack includes HD and PVR fees

QUOTE(triad @ Jan 30 2014, 03:31 PM)
Thanks bro!, apparently they can, but i tried few times (more than 10) until i got the Sales Personnel who can make it. Just ask them to reconnect, using the same box+card.

But 99% of the Sales Personnel say can't. Have to apply new acc and to pay installation charges.
Good to hear that you've sorted it out! I think some sales personnel don't have the right to do that due to their rank. Glad that I helped.

QUOTE(Liquid Snake @ Jan 30 2014, 08:26 PM)
I got call frm Astro a few times already for the offer to upgrade my Beyond decoder to PVR. They offer one time RM50 installation and no changes to the monthly subscription. I declined to accept. But today got a call again offering the same thing....and yeah i accept the offer. I've been thinking maybe its a good thing to have a PVR because I mostly work at night and missed some shows or programs that i want to watch. Can't rely on replays also because there are no program guide (monthly magazines) like those days anymore. I dont have any idea how to know when is a particular program is replayed. So the thing is now after reading a few posts....this PVR decoder is quite troublesome right? Some of u guys facing a few problems with it. I just hope its not that bad.

One more thing i heard there are charges for the cable. So the PVR will use 2 cables? If thats the case....the total cost will be more than RM50 that they offered.
The RM 50 includes 20Mx2 RG6 cabling. It's not really troublesome for me(PVR). My decoder will only have phantom recording issue sometimes and I'm able to delete it easily.

This post has been edited by Anonymous34: Jan 31 2014, 09:25 AM
Anonymous34
post Jan 31 2014, 11:37 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 31 2014, 11:33 AM)
[attachmentid=3837111]

KIX new ident dropped the "HD" word. I assume the SD version is letterboxed all time?
I tried to think that it's HD all the time but I guess I was right all the time?

QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 31 2014, 02:19 PM)
Thanks for the input. Another 1-2 years contract for the new decoder? Erm, don't think I want it.

I dislike how astro keep increasing their prices and their shows keep repeating. Today is cny; don't see any interesting stuff being shown. If I can cancel, I would (my parents watch the tv most of the time). As it is, I'm on a lookout for other alternatives. It's really sad when consumers are being short changed in this country.
2 years contract. Yep, Astro sucks! Because the old man in my house don't know how to make use of the Smart TV they bought, they have to pay for Astro. With an external HD plugged into the TV, I could just pay USD 14.99 every year and I get to watch the channels that we normally watch on Astro.

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Jan 31 2014, 08:12 PM)
if upgrade from old decoder to b.yond decoder (non-pvr) , got bound to another new 2yrs contract or not?

not super pack subscriber..
No matter what still 2 year contract if you upgrade to PVR.
Anonymous34
post Feb 2 2014, 11:31 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Feb 1 2014, 12:44 PM)
Doubt we will ever have Celestial HD.....some of the movies shown on the ch are on Star Chinese Movies HD....celestial boughts MAL rights while SCM got the SIN rights.

Btw, astro opened up free view for all chs? Over here, only mio TV does it. Starhub only opened up the Chinese chs.
I thought Malaysians here(including me tongue.gif) have SCM on HyppTV?
Anonymous34
post Feb 2 2014, 11:33 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Feb 2 2014, 04:24 AM)
Guys,

If want to change address, do they send any guys to verify or does it incur additional charges?

Current unit using centralized dish as well as new address.
I don't think so. Now it's all free.
But since you're using centralized dish it should be really easy even if you move it yourself. Literally plug and play stuff. If you ask them to do it need to wait..
After moving the decoder you just call them to change your billing address.
Anonymous34
post Feb 2 2014, 11:34 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 1 2014, 05:45 PM)
Not opened, including those 3 channels.
What do you expect from a monopoly provider? shakehead.gif
But since I already have all the chinese channels so I don't mind lol.
Anonymous34
post Feb 4 2014, 10:28 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 4 2014, 07:59 PM)
Just usual 32 one. tongue.gif
Yang ni baru macho!  thumbup.gif SamsunG UHD Curved 105 inch TV Aspect ratio 21:9!

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...ite-in-may.html
Whelp, was expecting around next month (says Q1 2014). laugh.gif

Next month, satallite got smashed by the Banglas because no Bangla channels for them! Rebuild time: 10 year   whistling.gif
This post has been edited by Anonymous34: Feb 4 2014, 10:29 PM
Anonymous34
post Feb 5 2014, 10:31 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 5 2014, 12:04 AM)
Give me RM100K. While on that, can cover astro biling too. brows.gif
I'm just 15 laugh.gif

QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 5 2014, 06:36 AM)
They launch satelites for their own business not to bring new great channels,so who cares! All their satelites are full not for local use but to beam to other countries. In india we hear 24 channels launched at one go and belive me that will never happen here! biggrin.gif
Exactky lol, one day if I go to space I would go shoot down their satallite and GTFO to other planet although I can't live there.

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Feb 5 2014, 12:08 PM)
Fyi only. Winter Olympics channels up on mio TV. All 7 chs in HD. https://info.singtel.com/about-us/news-rele...ic-winter-games
hehe, is it included with your sports pack?

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 5 2014, 02:56 PM)
Meanwhile in bolehland, it's quite predictable one. hmm.gif
Assteruk Lemahsport as usual

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Feb 5 2014, 06:18 PM)
Is beyond pvr decoder use different cable compared to beyond (normal black decoder)?
Same RG6 cable but it needs two

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Feb 5 2014, 10:08 PM)
My existing 2 years contract (non HD package but comes with HD decoder) already expired. I just called to Astro to change my package to Value Pack 3 + Movie + learning with HD services.

I was told my current decoder can support Value Pack 3 so I dont have to install new dish or decoder. However I need a HDMI cable instead of the current 3 color cable and wait 24 hours for them to update the system.

Right after the call, I change my cable to HDMI cable but I can't watch anything at all. Change it back to the old cable only able to watch.

Then I called back Astro again. This time the technician said need to wait 48 hours for them to update the system THEN only I can use HDMI cable.

So I have 2 questions to verify with you all.

Q1: how long do I need to wait? 24 hours or 48 hours?
Q2: Is it true I need to wait until system update my package only I can use the HDMI cable?

thanks!
Question 1 : 48 hours
Question 2: Yesh, with their Intel MMX server whistling.gif
Bonus: It is supported but I still recommend you go for PVR decoder hehe
Anonymous34
post Feb 5 2014, 10:58 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Feb 5 2014, 10:38 PM)
Thanks for your reply rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
PVR need to add another rm10 so maybe next time...
why do u recommend it?

I seldom watch its for my family n they dont record.
don't you know superpack include the pvr services fee in it already? just need to pay RM50 for installation fee. just install PVR doesn't matter lol. Maybe one day you need it
Anonymous34
post Feb 5 2014, 11:04 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Feb 5 2014, 11:00 PM)
no no mine is value pack without PVR. thats y didnt change it.
Saw it wrongly sorry. notworthy.gif

Anonymous34
post Feb 8 2014, 11:59 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 6 2014, 07:52 PM)
Sochi Olympic on Astro in 4 channels:

SD: Ch 820 and Ch 821
HD: Ch 840 and 841

Pfft. laugh.gif
Palm face a million time weih. 2 channels only mana enough?

QUOTE(nudgetman @ Feb 7 2014, 01:10 PM)
hi guys, was wondering is it possible to use the Astro Wi-Fi Dongle for usage of IPTV? coz if can i wan use wireless.. i currrently am using a homeplug but then i kenot use homeplug for my internet (since it always get confused)..

sorry for my noobness

thx sifus! biggrin.gif
WiFi dongle is for VOD on pace PVR. As for homeplug, obviously not bro. I don't think you can use same homeplug on the same phase. If you have three phase then different story la.

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 7 2014, 04:38 PM)
BR1Mming over it soon. tongue.gif
32 inch Bravia?

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Feb 8 2014, 04:29 AM)
Hi sifus, is the Astro B.yond decoder able to output both composite and component video & audio simultaniously? Just got the free decoder upgrade recently. smile.gif

What i want to do is :
Composite (1 video 2 audio L/R cable) to RF converter, for 2nd floor tv.
Component (3 video 2 audio L/R cable) to main LCD TV, as it's higher quality.

Not subscribing to HD service or channels, so no HDMI output as the port is locked.
If my plan is workable it will be good. Quality on the 2nd floor tv doesnt matter, only the main tv does.

Possible? Or is it locked to single output, either composite/component one-at-a-time only?
Possible. It outputs to all outputs at the same time if you're subscribed to HD services.

Anonymous34
post Feb 9 2014, 12:07 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Feb 7 2014, 10:45 AM)
nice info! thanks dude
Have a look at the box!

Here's the lelong link if you want to install it yourself
Link:

The installer charged my uncle RM 200 i think when they installed it.

This post has been edited by Anonymous34: Feb 9 2014, 12:09 AM
Anonymous34
post Feb 9 2014, 12:12 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 9 2014, 12:07 AM)
Either KDL-32W674A or KLV-32R402 one. hmm.gif
http://www.sony.com.my/product/kdl-32w674a

Definitely go for KDL-32W674A if you have the money.
Has more audio codec and the refresh rate also higher.
Design also better brows.gif
After that connect your macho i7 PC to it thumbup.gif
Anonymous34
post Feb 9 2014, 09:43 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 9 2014, 12:58 AM)
Same model as here. Well, let's see, 2 HDMI port (for b.yond & Blu-ray) is proabably more than enough. hmm.gif
Yea.. Buy the better model if you dont want to regret in the future.
New tech will come and you will have to move on.
Anonymous34
post Feb 17 2014, 04:49 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Feb 16 2014, 07:02 PM)
Need some help to verify the Astro signal strength. Just installed Astro PVR with super pack 1. The installer did it very fast when I personally was not at home only other family members were in.

The signal strength received is only 163 for both Tuner1 @ Tuner2 on any clear day. Is this okay?, as per the beyond installation guide it says to ensure signal strength at least 180. The dish is on the roof edge, nothing is blocking it.

What are your signal strengths? Please advise & share. Thanks
For PVR, 150 and above is fine. The meter is different than the one on normal Byond.

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 16 2014, 10:35 PM)
[attachmentid=3855081]

Epic fail. laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Astro Employee not happy with her boss shutting down FFM icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Feb 17 2014, 04:42 AM)
currently i have the astro 2nd decoder at 50% discount both decoder with superpack 2....can i switch to astro multiroom...

Btw for pvr is satcr rm100 including the installation fees
I'm pretty sure you can, and SatCR has two outputs. One output can split into two cables

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 17 2014, 10:56 AM)
A-list also no longer free

i guess no one will subscribe it as it's just a repetition of a few art movies every day
and not everyone can appreciate those art movies laugh.gif

just a matter of time before they shutdown that channel for losing monies tongue.gif

but the FFM is a nice addition to the movie/family package, which actually catered for general audience, and why the heck they stop broadcasting it doh.gif
The only movie I enjoyed is Europa Report. Nothing Else. sweat.gif

QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 17 2014, 11:38 AM)
Thats right bro,but sadly there are still people supporting these add ons and we can see none of their add ons FAILED! vmad.gif The power is in our hands but unused!Their subscriber base is huge and all it takes is to get 5% subscribe and costs covered dy! As for FFM they hv been playing the preview joke  the second time around! mad.gif
I wish they have FFM in the movies pack. And yah A-list is nothing to me, as I don't know how to enjoy artistic movies. lol
Anonymous34
post Feb 19 2014, 08:09 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Feb 17 2014, 08:10 PM)
QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Feb 17 2014, 04:42 AM)
currently i have the astro 2nd decoder at 50% discount both decoder with superpack 2....can i switch to astro multiroom...

Btw for pvr is satcr rm100 including the installation fees
I'm pretty sure you can, and SatCR has two outputs. One output can split into two cables
I meant my astro previous package is the 2nd decoder with 50% disc...can i switch to astro multiroom which is rm50 for the second decoder

And the satcr price if i want to change to pvr decoder is rm50 n satcr rm100 right so total rm150??
yes boss

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 17 2014, 09:10 PM)
[attachmentid=3856833][attachmentid=3856834]

>MTV didn't even bother to put MAL time

See, this is why our MTV sucks.
that Is why we don't give a fu*k about MTV. I think I want to cancel variety package for news package

QUOTE(MK84 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:55 PM)
Just a heads up. If anyone is interested in getting Astro B.yond HD into XBMC, Windows Media Center, Media Portal etc, I'm selling my old kit here.

It's all the hardware you need to do this:

cool! But its so expensive.

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Feb 18 2014, 02:46 AM)
Maybe putting it reminds viewers they are watching a delayed feed.....which invites complaints. Or maybe astro not renewing MTV so MTV  decided to drop the MAL time....fingers crossed they take [V] back, which is less of a censorship problem compared to the teen sexual reality shows on eMpTyV. 😊
lol. Assteruk sucks badly for not getting HD channel for MTV and use sources from other countries.

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Feb 18 2014, 10:11 AM)
If Assteruk isn't renewing MTV tho, TM will be happy to take it given they already have the sister channel MTV Live.
Got ah. On TM.
lol. I thought they have MTV Live HD?
Anonymous34
post Feb 19 2014, 08:15 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(toffeeman @ Feb 18 2014, 03:13 PM)
Quite annoyed that Astro discontinue FFM.....What a lame excuse
ikr, attract customers to upgrade to beyond for the free HD channels lol

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Feb 18 2014, 04:00 PM)
Today receive calling from Astro regarding upgrade Beyond. CS told me my decoder can't get signal soon. hahaha
BS, just keep using it

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Feb 19 2014, 01:27 AM)
What is the point of this? So slow changing channels!  sad.gif
watch it across the world!

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 19 2014, 04:11 PM)
or any other Asstro sifu,
do you know how much is the cost for viewing same channel on 2 TV?
Dun wan the Asstro RM50/mth for another decoder.
TV are in upstairs and downstairs.
Able to control from both site.
you want to watch HD channels or SD channels on second TV?
able to do wired or must be wireless?
Anonymous34
post Feb 19 2014, 08:17 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 19 2014, 08:11 PM)
News package is shit, censorship everywhere. wink.gif
not as shit as variety package. Lol
btw boss, any cinivia free 3D Blu Ray player in Malaysia? I mau beli cuz my dad want to use ahemm ahemm Blu-Ray 3D disc(download and burn sendiri)

23 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0423sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:43 AM