Is Proton Preve Power, Acceleration & Handling, Better Than Waja with Mitsubishi Engine?
TSSportyHandling
Jul 23 2013, 07:55 AM, updated 12y ago
To those who want to ask me to go test drive the Preve, please note that I will test it this coming Saturday, so dont' waste your time asking me to test drive.
For those who have driven both the Waja 1.6 with Mitsubishi engine and the Preve 1.6 top model with CFE Turbo engine, may I ask which vehicle has better handling and driving dynamics in tackling corners and better stability on the highways at 110km/h to 140km/h? I do know the Preve CFE Turbo's 0-100km/h acceleration at 9.6s is better than most common 2.0-litre passenger vehicles. IN this sense, the Preve CFE Turbo is quite powerful.
The fuel efficiency of the Preve is not very good right? Since the car is quite heavy being ANCAP 5 star rated and having the CFE Turbo thing.
Just a bit concerned on reliability problems - sound from dashboard, doors, suspension, and wind sound from windscreen etc.
:3mushy:3
Jul 23 2013, 08:12 AM
Driven both, Preve is much superior in handling, taking a corner at 100kmh felt smooth  Waja is better for city driving (less FC), but on highway or uphill, you can guess the winner
icp
Jul 23 2013, 08:17 AM
i guess its about new cars vs old cars.. imho, preve is more superior than waja in all ways..
overfloe
Jul 23 2013, 08:20 AM
QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 23 2013, 08:55 AM) Just a bit concerned on reliability problems - sound from dashboard, doors, suspension, and wind sound from windscreen etc. The centre console of the dashboard will vibrate whenever you floor the pedal. I do not know if Proton has managed to fix this, but this is what happened to my cousin's preve.. otherwise it is more refined than wajunk. Btw, acceleration at 9.6s is NOT powerful.
Jul 23 2013, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(overfloe @ Jul 23 2013, 08:20 AM) The centre console of the dashboard will vibrate whenever you floor the pedal. I do not know if Proton has managed to fix this, but this is what happened to my cousin's preve.. otherwise it is more refined than wajunk. Btw, acceleration at 9.6s is NOT powerful. I believe they have. No rattling vibration or sound at all in my CFE
TSSportyHandling
Jul 23 2013, 08:33 AM
Thanks for all the feedback. Looks like the Preve's handling and driving dynamics are better than Waja, which is a good thing, since the Waja's handling, to me, is better than Nissan Almera.
Overfloe, vibrating centre console of the Preve is not a good thing to hear, especially for a new car. But the Preve I sat early this year, a friend's car, it doesn't have any vibrating sound from the centre console. Guess it's just luck. Once there is sound coming out from the dashboard, that's it man. Once the dashboard is opened up to fix the sound, more sound will pop up.
As for the 0-100km/h acceleration, 9.6s may not be very powerful if compared to more powerful cars. However, for normal 1.6 to 1.8 litre vehicles, it is already considered powerful. Most 2.0-litre passenger vehicles register 10.0s to 11.0s in a 0-100km/h dash - Altis, Sylphy, Camry, Accord etc. Meanwhile, most 1.6-litre vehicles(non-turbo) takes about 12.0s to 12.5s to reach 100km/h from standstill.
Nightstalker1993
Jul 23 2013, 08:38 AM
I own a Waja manual and i've test driven the Preve CFE. In terms of power, the 'pull' is not really there but the speed is actually pretty fast when you look at the speedo. Handling wise it's pretty good actually with the stock setup and the ESP really does kicks in. During my test drive there was one corner i took so hard the ESP kicked in with lights flashing on my dashboard  the brakes on the car is also pretty good and the cabin noise is simply superb. Test using a db meter on my android device, the Preve while cruising at highway speeds is actually equivalent to my mom's Harrier which is pretty damn good  My friend's unit doesn't have any dashboard sound as mentioned but the CVT whine is apparent during hard driving.
MR_alien
Jul 23 2013, 08:48 AM
i've owned and driven a waja manual and preve CFE in terms of acceleration, let's just say preve is nothing without its turbo...its too heavy but when the turbo kicks in, acceleration is effortless...so u need to hit a certain RPM and speed for the turbo to kick in....startup from standstill is pretty slow since turbo didn't kick in yet handling wise, better...since new car vs old car
OhNooy
Jul 23 2013, 09:08 AM
Driven Waja auto, power wise, still ok to use in town. Going Genting is abit slow. Most sucks about Waja is the turning radius. Most of the time cannot clear the U-turn at traffic light.
omnimech
Jul 23 2013, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jul 23 2013, 08:12 AM) Driven both, Preve is much superior in handling, taking a corner at 100kmh felt smooth  Waja is better for city driving (less FC), but on highway or uphill, you can guess the winner  No offence . But were you high when you were cornering at 100 kmph ? The ride height is high beyond believe, the tyres are 16 inch with super high side walls . cornering in that preve feels like I have a death wish . If you want to drive like a rempit in that car, you need to change the tires . suspension optional . power wise, definitely more powerful then the waja .
xgenomer
Jul 23 2013, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(omnimech @ Jul 23 2013, 09:27 AM) No offence . But were you high when you were cornering at 100 kmph ? The ride height is high beyond believe, the tyres are 16 inch with super high side walls . cornering in that preve feels like I have a death wish . If you want to drive like a rempit in that car, you need to change the tires . suspension optional . power wise, definitely more powerful then the waja . This is from when u drive it or just from your observation?
Jul 23 2013, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(omnimech @ Jul 23 2013, 09:27 AM) No offence . But were you high when you were cornering at 100 kmph ? The ride height is high beyond believe, the tyres are 16 inch with super high side walls . cornering in that preve feels like I have a death wish . If you want to drive like a rempit in that car, you need to change the tires . suspension optional . power wise, definitely more powerful then the waja . You would only know when you have done it, but apparently, you haven't  QUOTE(xgenomer @ Jul 23 2013, 09:47 AM) This is from when u drive it or just from your observation? This car is capable of doing so
theanswer
Jul 23 2013, 10:01 AM
9.6 sec is not that fast. but having 205nm at 2000rpm is good. preve ground clearance is 155mm..a bit high..but not to say unstable. handling dynamics sometimes refer to good in both handling and comfort level. 205/55 tyre is not that 'super' high. suitable for normal and comfort sedan.
SUSkimsim
Jul 23 2013, 10:05 AM
Rev that high RPM not worry CVT faulty issue or overheat after that...?
theanswer
Jul 23 2013, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(xgenomer @ Jul 23 2013, 09:47 AM) This is from when u drive it or just from your observation? i watch the car being tested vs persona..preve did a good job in controlling body roll.
Jul 23 2013, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 23 2013, 10:05 AM) Rev that high RPM not worry CVT faulty issue or overheat after that...? For normal driving (80-110kmh), the RPM hardly goes over 2.5k, most of the time it's only 2k. To me there are only two cons of this Preve, which Waja has the advantages, the higher FC and also the sluggishness from idle to moving.
omnimech
Jul 23 2013, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jul 23 2013, 09:55 AM) You would only know when you have done it, but apparently, you haven't  This car is capable of doing so  I have done it . And it doesnt feel composed or safe .
RattleSnaKe
Jul 23 2013, 10:19 AM

I thought the CFE is quite stable and responsive in handling despite its tall ride height. Maybe the suspension and front roll bar very stiff so the car turns in quite sharply.
Jul 23 2013, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(omnimech @ Jul 23 2013, 10:13 AM) I have done it . And it doesnt feel composed or safe . Too bad for you then. I feel this is another valuable advantage of this car, even my City felt heavy and starting to roll when taking corner at that speed.
xgenomer
Jul 23 2013, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jul 23 2013, 09:55 AM) This car is capable of doing so  ya I know preve can do so since I can tackle some corner in standard viva at 100kmh leng leng.. I just questioning omnimech statement..