> UTAR student suicides due to friendship problem, Source: China Press

PhakFuhZai
post Jul 19 2013, 11:16 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jul 19 2013, 10:59 PM)
I am different. I didn't hang out with these kind of people because I hate fake. I admit they have the advantages/skills of sucking out tips out of nowhere and super detailed study materials. Their materials were top notch, compact and simple but contain almost all information, putting to shame almost all the buku rujukan in the market.

I just can't stand their "batu" face when I asked:

Me: hey, any tips? My tips are lousy, just this and that..
Major top scorer: Oh, I no tips la, got also just same as yours.
Me: oh ok. Do you know which sections are important?
Major top scorer: Aiyo, exam la. If want score study all la
Me: .... ok.jpeg

After the exams, he actually know the questions that are going to come out. Because he shared with his group of close friends. And his friend was so happy, he can't help but to tell everyone how lucky he was to get similar tips right after the exam. Study all my punggung... vmad.gif

So I just carry on with my life without joining them. Study what matters.
erm.. welcome to the real world?
SUSl_topazinbox
post Jul 19 2013, 11:16 PM

26 posts

i tot somebody who kill temself will easily go to hell.... well even 12A +4A also went to hell byebye
arsenwagon
post Jul 19 2013, 11:22 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 19 2013, 08:17 PM)
wah 12A then 4A... study king..
Then firstclass honours is brows.gif
11c
post Jul 19 2013, 11:22 PM

141 posts

Sad, our society is getting tougher
EthanWong
post Jul 19 2013, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(ISawYou @ Jul 19 2013, 08:26 PM)
I pernah study utar, I know how it feels and I still remember it. Not wanna be racist, but it's not easy adapt to this kind of environment. People are quite pikcky when making friends there. Those with cars, even u face problem perangai mcam babi also can get friends. I regret masuk utar, honestly speaking.
IMO, for those university where most of the students are upper middle class chinese, basic car like proton or kancil also will get looked down upon.

Minimum standard is at least a entry level japanese car like vios or city.

I have known quite alot of people who are actually my close friends who will judge people solely based on the car that said person drives.
arsenwagon
post Jul 19 2013, 11:25 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 19 2013, 08:57 PM)
why u call as 2 face? those smart people also wanted smart ppl in study group u think they will let slow student join and buta buta copy notes?, i can blend with them and contribute, so when graduate also same 1st class grades,  brows.gif .. ,
but when enjoy time, they dont want to go enjoy ma.. ask go casino in london also dowan.. so will have different group to go touring UK, usa and Australia..
anyway most of them also overseas, Sg, HK, auz, how to see them? if drop a email or facebook then got la..
So, unker, what happen to those 3rd class pipu? Is it true like they say hard work doesnt mewn jack shit, e.g a lt of third class now become boss of those first class.

Except one unker la, forst class become boss brows.gif
SUSboyot
post Jul 19 2013, 11:25 PM

14 posts

I tot he suicide bcos cannot get minion toys
SUSanti@
post Jul 19 2013, 11:26 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(EthanWong @ Jul 19 2013, 11:23 PM)
IMO, for those university where most of the students are upper middle class chinese, basic car like proton or kancil also will get looked down upon.

Minimum standard is at least a entry level japanese car like vios or city.

I have known quite alot of people who are actually my close friends who will judge people solely based on the car that said person drives.
second tat. those who drive vios and none local car except myvi r consider fren while those who drive proton r just merely a driver for them. sad
joesheon
post Jul 19 2013, 11:28 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Jul 19 2013, 08:12 PM)
5th floor only so low....looser
better than you that have no guts to jump off
PhakFuhZai
post Jul 19 2013, 11:29 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(anti@ @ Jul 19 2013, 11:26 PM)
second tat. those who drive vios and none local car except myvi r consider fren while those who drive proton r just merely a driver for them. sad
but there are still people without any vehicle at all, would they even have the position to judge others who drive just a kancil?
EthanWong
post Jul 19 2013, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jul 19 2013, 10:59 PM)
I am different. I didn't hang out with these kind of people because I hate fake. I admit they have the advantages/skills of sucking out tips out of nowhere and super detailed study materials. Their materials were top notch, compact and simple but contain almost all information, putting to shame almost all the buku rujukan in the market.

I just can't stand their "batu" face when I asked:

Me: hey, any tips? My tips are lousy, just this and that..
Major top scorer: Oh, I no tips la, got also just same as yours.
Me: oh ok. Do you know which sections are important?
Major top scorer: Aiyo, exam la. If want score study all la
Me: .... ok.jpeg

After the exams, he actually know the questions that are going to come out. Because he shared with his group of close friends. And his friend was so happy, he can't help but to tell everyone how lucky he was to get similar tips right after the exam. Study all my punggung... vmad.gif

So I just carry on with my life without joining them. Study what matters.
I could emphatize with that maajor top score guy. He probably got his "tips" or knowledge/notes through sheer hard work and consistent studying.

if i were him, i would only willing to share my work with very close friends as i would feel hard-done by sharing these notes with random people.

don't forget that in the examination, you are also his competitor
zheng88
post Jul 19 2013, 11:31 PM

Nutritionist / Nutrition Counselor
485 posts

It is sad that the institution that he chose did not pick up signs that he was in this predicament. Surely, if there were counsellors or mentors at the institution they would have recognised the danger signs. It just show that we don't live in a caring society only in name but not in actions and that it is a hypocritical society which we live in.
kennethchowa
post Jul 19 2013, 11:33 PM

He shld try again after he get a job, he just need one more step… give up pulak… so sad that he couldnt found any fren… rip!
EthanWong
post Jul 19 2013, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(anti@ @ Jul 19 2013, 11:26 PM)
lol yeah. for some reason, a myvi is acceptable for most of these people whereas a similarly specced proton such as a saga or waja would be deemed lower end. not sure why though.
YKayz
post Jul 19 2013, 11:34 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Jul 19 2013, 08:00 PM)
Blue and red title: He tried, but he still couldn't
Yellow subtitle: He lamented his friendship problem. UTAR student jumps to death

Source: http://www.chinapress.com.my/node/441436
KAJANG - An accountancy student from Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) has chosen to end his life by jumping from the fifth floor of the teaching block. His body was found at a parking lot.

Speculation is rife about his cause of suicide, but his family members recalled that the boy had expressed his difficulties in making friends earlier. He was also reportedly to have apologised to his old schoolmates in the past two weeks without any explanation.

He was also said to have attempted to get into the social circle in his university but to no avail. He was quoted as saying that, "I tried, but I still couldn't...".

The deceased, identified as Lim Ming Chun (transliteration), is a high-achiever in national examinations, scoring 12A and 4A in Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) and Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia (STPM) respectively.
This location should be at SG Long campus, I think he should take 3yrs accounting degree at Kampar campus instead of 4yrs accounting in Sg Long.
Kampar have more students than in sg long campus.
H4XF4XTOR
post Jul 19 2013, 11:36 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

RIP. if only he met /k/. at least he can release his stress and depression here
joesheon
post Jul 19 2013, 11:38 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(ISawYou @ Jul 19 2013, 08:26 PM)
I pernah study utar, I know how it feels and I still remember it. Not wanna be racist, but it's not easy adapt to this kind of environment. People are quite pikcky when making friends there. Those with cars, even u face problem perangai mcam babi also can get friends. I regret masuk utar, honestly speaking.
I feel you bro sweat.gif Those who don't know speak chinese will mostly be deserted doh.gif
jimbet1337
post Jul 19 2013, 11:39 PM

meh
2,672 posts

Can handle exam papers but can't handle life.

Pity.
SUSJyunkai
post Jul 19 2013, 11:40 PM

176 posts

People here are insensitive assholes
zheng88
post Jul 19 2013, 11:40 PM

Nutritionist / Nutrition Counselor
485 posts

The environment and his lecturers should have been more proactive in picking up the warning signs. It shows the cold and insular environment that the institution has and perhaps he felt that there weren't people that cared for his problems especially depression. It is a shame that an institution that is so renoun should actually have people trained to mentor and supervise the wellbeing of students and see that people don't go over the cliff left unsupervised. Today we see a couple get convicted of crimes that show that our youth are suffering from delinquency and the defects of our society that is not paying attention to the emotional needs of people. We pay to much attention to the material aspects of life and not enough thought goes into wellbeing and balance state of mind and health. It is sad that we are becoming a mindless society only bent on prosecuting victims of a failed society.

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0148sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:32 PM