8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V31, Enjoying 4.3 while waiting 4.4 Kit Kat

mtxx
post Sep 4 2013, 01:39 PM

5,011 posts

the battery usage reporting is wrong in all 4.2 aosp rom.
the batter usage reports that phone is always not awake when screen is on.

in 4.3 its even worst. it doesnt even report screen on correctly.
i'm using the phone and the screen is on, but in battery usage it report screen is off. so in 4.3 cant get accurate screen on time anymore.

anyone facing this? i'm using slimbean beta 4

edit:
the battery reporting for screen on seems to recover by itself after a full charge and reboot.
good then.

honestly speaking this 4.3 slimbean is identical to 4.2.
just placebo effect i'm on latest android version haha. wink.gif syok sendiri

This post has been edited by mtxx: Sep 4 2013, 03:38 PM
mtxx
post Sep 5 2013, 03:02 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Sep 5 2013, 01:30 PM)
To me, it's different. TouchWiz has the excellent Low Light mode which I couldn't find in SuperNexus. Do any AOSP ROM have it?
You mean night mode?
The original stock aosp camera don't have.

But custom aosp rom like aokp slim bean rrootbox etc have modded aosp cam. So they have scene mode like touch wiz cam. The night mode works well.

In xda themes and apps section. There is a touch wiz cam for aosp rom also. I have it too but seldom use it. I prefer the default modded aosp cam that comes with slim bean
mtxx
post Sep 8 2013, 01:43 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 7 2013, 07:55 PM)
i mean the battery status android OS
if you are using aosp rom for 4.2, its a normal bug.

android OS always appear number 1 in the battery usage.
unless you use your phone alot and have high screen on time, then android OS will be in number 2.

but in reality, the battery life is good as usual. just fake reporting of the battery usage.
if you observe, you will also notice the awake and screen on doesnt match. very often screen is on but phone not awake. it only register as awake if cpu usage is very high.

another aosp bug is the camera problem.
sometimes will experience "unable to connect to camera" problem.
every single aosp rom have this. it's just a matter how frequent you encounter them.
it gets better as you use. i only have this once a week.
the usual method to resolve is to restart the phone, but thanks to an app called "restart camera",
camera will be usable again after 1 second.

these 2 are the known bugs in aosp rom.
for me its not too bad.
mtxx
post Sep 9 2013, 08:55 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Sep 9 2013, 08:04 AM)
that one full body cover look more safer.
silicon n rubber always protect our phone better than hard case rite
i strongly agree using silicon tpu or rubbery case that are bendable.
those hard plastic case that are not bendable are useless, just protect from scratches but 0 protection from fall.

i use the mercury case, rubbery kind, during a drop it helps absorb impact.
not saying 100% unbreakable, but chances of survival much much higher than hard case.

another important thing to consider is the case must have some protrusion at the front,
so that when the phone is face down on the table, the case is touching the table instead of the glass.

my colleague's s3 use hard case with no front protrusion,
drop from pocket instant crack. so kesian. fortunately the touch screen still usable but it looks like shit.
mtxx
post Sep 9 2013, 08:35 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ffrozz @ Sep 9 2013, 08:24 PM)
hi bro & sis,is the rooting method on page 1 still valid and kindly recommend me stable rom. thanks
rooting method search in xda
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhSSmdqAXRM

stock rom is the most stable.
mtxx
post Sep 10 2013, 04:37 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 10 2013, 04:09 PM)
now go lowyat or pasar malam see the case confirmed got like s4 s view cover
why s3 need it ? don't have that features also doh.gif
it has proximity sensor, and i seen xda got people develop app for it to work similar to s4.
go search if interested.
mtxx
post Sep 10 2013, 04:39 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Sep 10 2013, 01:12 PM)
sifus and gurus, i need your help....
for those who bought their S3s when it was first launched, what is your battery life like at the moment? My battery now seems to KO very fast (less than 1 day have to charge already). is this normal? if it is not, can recommend a good seller for battery?

secondly, the top left of my phone screen seems to have a pinkish hue developing. is that a screen going to rosak syndrome?

thanks in advance!
even when brand new, where can last more than 1 day?
sure got use it to do stuff ma.
also every day before sleep also have to charge la.

even on a very very busy day where i rarely check phone at all,
best i get is 30+% before i go sleep.
mtxx
post Sep 12 2013, 09:39 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 12 2013, 07:18 PM)
previously quite bad but after tested for a long time, i get this results >  today 1:45am battery 78% until 10am+ i start using it. proven never drop 1% really deep sleep. v36 gt better scrolling from my personally view compare v37. while waiting now update, now playing PVZ2!
pvz2 out for android already?

i look in play store seems like so many fake ones.

anyway already finish all 3 worlds on my ipad. waiting for them to update.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Sep 12 2013, 09:40 PM
mtxx
post Sep 16 2013, 11:44 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(slackitude @ Sep 16 2013, 10:44 AM)
slimbean 4.3 stable build 1 is out! biggrin.gif
finally! wohoo..
mtxx
post Sep 17 2013, 07:14 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 16 2013, 11:38 PM)
Looking to try out AOSP based Rom on the SIII. What do you guys suggest?

As I'm not too sure of how many there are and how good they are, these are the few that I know of:

1) Temasek
2) SuperNexus
3) SlimBean
4) Sentinel

Which offers the most features? And how accurate is this article?

http://www.androidnova.org/aosp-based-roms-for-galaxy-s3/

SlimBean rated no.1
Frankly speaking all the aosp ROMs are very similar in terms of ui, speed, battery life. At least for me the difference is not very noticeable.

The more mods and features a rom have surely it'll be bigger in size, consumes more ram, have more frequent slowdowns, and higher risk to have more bugs compared to rom with less features.

Cyanogenmod is the most stable relatively speaking. With the least features and updated nightly. But it has too little features. Not my cup of tea

All in one rom like pacman and rootbox have every feature existed, but it feels too bloated.

Slimbean is my personal favorite because it's even more slim than Cyanogenmod. It remove alot of stock apps that no one use. Yet it add some important features from aokp. There is no paranoid android feature. So if u are a PA fan, stay away from Slimbean.

mtxx
post Sep 17 2013, 03:06 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Sep 17 2013, 02:16 PM)
so slimbean got PA function or not? hmm.gif

or its better go for jellybam hmm.gif

guys?? unsure.gif
Said already. Slimbean confirm no PA feature.

Use rootbox or pacman.

mtxx
post Sep 17 2013, 05:10 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(badai @ Sep 17 2013, 10:10 AM)
i'm using slimbean. how do i set the dpi per app thingy? i think one of my games cannot use my current dpi.
Slim bean mana Ada per app dpi?
Go for paranoid android if dpi is your thing.
mtxx
post Sep 17 2013, 05:12 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 17 2013, 09:23 AM)
Temasek is on 4.3 now right?
Thanks!

You mentioned 'there is no paranoid android feature', maybe I know what feature is that and what makes PA attractive?

p/s: Does SlimBean support 4.3 now?
Paranoid have very awesome dpi settings, able to change dpi for every individual app

It also have halo feature which is kinda like popup notifications for every app.

The dpi setting and halo are pa exclusive feature.

mtxx
post Sep 17 2013, 05:23 PM

5,011 posts

Luckily I saw the change log before flash slimbean 4.3 stable build 1

exynos4 (i9100/n7000/i9300/n7100)
Mobile Data disconnects during Phone Call restors to normal state after the call.
Small arrows on data signal icon (status bar) for in and outgoing data stream do not show up
The icons camera scene mode are wrong labled but functional

What were they thinking. With bugs like this still consider stable version?
I never flash the beta version because of these issue. Never thought stable version also have this problem.

Better stick with the 4.2 stable built 8.

mtxx
post Sep 18 2013, 12:31 AM

5,011 posts

On aosp rom,

Android 4.1
Crt off effect is high frame rate and smooth. Very nice

Android 4.2
crf effect is faster, less animation time and lower frame rate. Not that nice

Android 4.3
Crt off is so ugly. Burst of white light then abruptly start the effect so fast n even lower frame rate.

Duno why it's going backwards
mtxx
post Sep 18 2013, 04:16 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(kurtcobain77 @ Sep 18 2013, 12:05 PM)
cm10.2 is a joke..if using ur phone for fun and dont care about it u can flash it....camera suck..and lots of bug.....stock rom 100x better than this ..
aosp camera quality really sucks?

hard for me to judge or compare, i've been a long time aosp rom user, and i'm satisfied with the pictures, huge improvement compared to s2.

on stock rom, when viewing pic, i notice the touch wiz gallery dont fully zoom 100% actual size when you double tap, it probably zoom in 75% of the actual size. and the touch wiz gallery seems to distort the color and sharpen things a little bit. i notice this because i once compared with my cousins s3 on touch wiz. when double tap, it dont fully zoom in. when i bluetooth a pic to her phone, the image i took look slightly sharpened.

on aosp gallery, when double tap, it zooms 100% actual size, hence you will notice more noise.
maybe this is why pics looks sharper on samsung rom?

if anyone have 2 s3 lying around with different rom, try taking lots of pics and compare them on a pc monitor.
i would really like to know is there really a difference in aosp camera quality.

mtxx
post Sep 20 2013, 10:39 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ApoKalypse @ Sep 20 2013, 10:18 AM)
My frenz used s2 with 4.3, very smooth and no lag when playing real racing 3... so I think it would be better if playing on s3..
4.3 aosp?

s2 is generally very smooth, because the screen is 800x480p, and it has very good gpu.
its like car with strong engine with light body.

unlike xperia s, weak gpu, pushing 720p screen. lag is everywhere.
mtxx
post Sep 20 2013, 11:04 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 20 2013, 02:47 AM)
in direct response to apple releasing iwork for free.
apple's pages,numbers, and keynote are really awesome apps.

google finally adding documents into the os as well.
competition is great.
mtxx
post Sep 20 2013, 03:18 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Sep 20 2013, 03:07 PM)
Cross our finger harder!...

still didn't smell any 4.3... almost come to the end of 2-3+1 days.... but one thing for sure the fake 4.3 S3 picture released LOL!!!! laugh.gif
in g+, many post teasing iOS fans getting too excited about iOS7 that they claim is very minor update.
in all fairness, iOS7 is quite a big update to iOS6. (lots of new functions, and refreshing new look)

at least more significant than android 4.2/4.3 to 4.1.
the difference between 4.2&4.1 is minor, and 4.3 to 4.2 is even smaller.

yet you guys discussing and anticipating it since forever. sweat.gif
just flash slimbean 4.2 stable built 8 and be happy with it la.

if wan touch wiz 4.2 flash omega rom la.

no need wait for samsung.
since you are reading this thread,
high chance you already know how to root and stuff,
then why bother wait for official update? rclxub.gif

mtxx
post Sep 20 2013, 03:44 PM

5,011 posts

4.3 aosp rom still have some weird issues.

here are some of the things i'm facing.

slimbean 4.3
~sometimes auto reboot after updating apps in play store
~no network arrow when using data

cyanogen 10.2
~greenify sometimes dont hibernate apps
~tasker profile issue, it cant toggle state for gps and auto sync
~laggy animation in camera

both also don't have data connection during phone call,
and have weird camera issue,
the focus ring sometimes dont turn red when out of focus.

gave both of them a shot, but seems like not fully bug free daily driver yet. back to 4.2 for me.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0522sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:33 PM