Preview Supreme Commander (SupCom), new E3 video

goldfries
post Mar 9 2008, 03:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i build strategic missile defence instead. tongue.gif faster. then build T4 units. like the Perodua Kumbang.

QUOTE(Ryto @ Mar 7 2008, 12:06 PM)
So what is the min req?
Mine is
Core 2 Duo 2.0
Leadtek 8600 GTH
1GB RAM

more than enough la. i know people who play with single core and 7300GS.

better processor and more RAM is more helpful than the graphic card.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 9 2008, 03:27 AM
goldfries
post Mar 10 2008, 06:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

GC does help if your graphic setting is high.

but I've personally tested gaming with hordes units. on my earlier setup it was the single core processor, then X2 3600+. back then, it won't be long before the system goes into a crawl, with 1 second in game as 3 seconds in real life.

now after i changed to an even better system, it took much longer before the game actually slows down.

do remember that this game REALLY does need a lot of processing power because it actually takes note of the thousands on unit and their waypoints / instructions and everything else. AI included.
goldfries
post Mar 10 2008, 04:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

not yet. I'll look into that. smile.gif

btw one thing about Sup.Comm is that the AI intelligence varies on maps. some maps they're difficult like crazy (like having easily 8 T4 units along with a hordes of T3 units) while on others they just practically have T1 / T2 and minimal T3 here and there with no T4.
goldfries
post Mar 10 2008, 09:59 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

some don't even have to choke them.

i played a 40x40 map, the computer has limited mass and has to cross water to gain more mass and i find on that map, it performs much slower than those maps where mass are easily accessed.
goldfries
post Mar 14 2008, 01:13 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 10 2008, 10:29 PM)
hahaha unlucky com then....

Do you play on gpgnet?
no. i play direct connection.

i start game, friends connect to me.

QUOTE(Predatorazor84 @ Mar 12 2008, 12:12 AM)
Need help with campaign mission, why i felt it's so hard and boring huh? Maybe because take hours to complete and built massive amount of army......  hmm.gif

How to counter enemy base with shield?? Seem my forces just rip apart easily in early campaign
yes takes time. but it's great if you can mass up the stuff.

i find the game quite easy, it's harder towards the end and usually it's damn hard with their surprises when "operation area expanded" so what you can do is take note of the black areas when in the overview map and build mass defenses / units. smile.gif

i got bored playing the hard mode (cos sure can win) so i play easy mode campaigns for the rest to save time.

and you know what i tried? build a bunch of T3 factory. and spam T3 bots + shield + T2 AA. and i went out for evening exercise and dinner.

came back that time, map full. so i practically finished the 2nd and 3rd objective of that map with these units. tongue.gif

yes, they took down T4 unit counter attacks with ease but that was just an experiment.

i remember when i 1st played FA, some missions i just feel so lazy to play. since i have a bunch of T3 gunship already, heck i just go in and take down the commander. smile.gif that usually ends the mission without having to mass up to take down the base. if fail, just reload only lor.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Mar 13 2008, 06:45 PM)
Don't know what to build next ... Mass and Power not enuff ... Always lose to HARD AI if they rush ...
i play against AIX on multiplayer and 1 on 1 is just impossible. 3 on 1 also sometimes barely surviving.

i got replays. smile.gif
goldfries
post Mar 22 2008, 11:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

a setting related to monitor. vsync enabled would mean the max the framerates goes is 60fps, based on the 60hz of the LCD refresh rate (assuming you on LCD la)

something like that. hehe.

for me, my E2140 @ 3.2ghz works ok la. only lag during cut-scenes. i finish all 3 campaigns, just play for fun.

i wonder if you guys notice, running a map vs a bunch of AIX takes more load than vs a bunch of AI.
goldfries
post Mar 25 2008, 01:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(angrim @ Mar 24 2008, 06:35 PM)
finally got my copy of FA. Is it me or the the experimentals weapons now are being nerfed down badly?

galactic colossus hp from 120k to 99999, fatboy from 25k to 15k? the strategic nukes seems to takes forever to build as well compare to last time.

the new experimental weapons also kinda useless also
the new experimental weapon for UEF, what does it suppose to do anyway? cant see it firing anyone on the map also with its so call satelite lasers? aeon's one even better, takes 130 minutes to build it (by the time i build this i got more than enough resources to make a whole nation of t3 units)

the only thing worth while is still the Cybran's new "crab" thingy megabot, still think its a bit slow compare to the monkeylord
120k to 99999? no. AFAIK the previous Colossus had 240k armor.

CZAR last time was less than 10 armor but now has 45k. I remember that I could take down CZAR with just a bunch of T1 ints. later when i play FA it was like WTH!??! 45k?!?!?!

from my observation, UEF T3 gunships were nerfed a lot.

seraphim T4 bombers are great but you can take them down with a bunch of T3 ints. they'll probably get to drop a bomb or 2. smile.gif their area effect bomb make them level up damn fast for mass HP recovery / boost.

seraphim assault bot is nice, arguably as good as Colossus. can't eat units but can AA and leaves a volatile mass behind upon defeat.

Cybran's megabot is damn nice! and brickbots too (T3 bot, goes underwater and has torpedoes and damn high damage per second).

UEF's satellite is rather pointless to me. if you do build it, remember to guard the control center. Aeon's resource generator thing takes damn long to build as well.

Added on March 25, 2008, 1:45 amoh btw, Cybran's T3 gunship rawks!

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 25 2008, 01:45 AM
goldfries
post Mar 25 2008, 07:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Mar 25 2008, 09:19 AM)
I think the UEF new experimental weapon is the most useless ...

I love Crybran's megabot.. Can lay egg..
yeah. T3 eng and a few T3 bots. only flaw is that it's got no AA.

not that it matters la. any ground unit also have insufficient AA to take down a T3 gunship / bomber.

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:20 pmspam colossus? i rather spam CZAR.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 25 2008, 07:20 PM
goldfries
post Mar 25 2008, 11:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

aiyah you build T4 ground units, they're so slow they get taken down by air units as well. a bunch of T3 bombers could do huge damage. smile.gif

the thing about CZAR is that it's capable of faster mass-production.

another nice thing about CZAR is that IF you could reach the base without being harassed by fighters, you could do some serious damage.
goldfries
post Mar 26 2008, 12:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yes of course. building a colossus is pointless if you don't have backup units to go together.

fatboys can't get near any base that has a few decent air units.

so far i think the best units to actually REACH anyone's base would be anything that cloaks, if not then faster units like Awasa and Kumbang (yes, that's what i call then cybran experimental gunship......... which i end up forgetting it's actual name)

the scathis is nice (T4 cybran arti) but it's slow and has limited range. still pretty nice if you're against someone who doesn't scout.

i like the idea of using multiple czars to span t3 air units. arguably one might as well build those T3 units right off the T3 factory unless the map is big and it's good to have mobile factory without having to ship eng / support cmdr some where.
goldfries
post Mar 26 2008, 11:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Mar 26 2008, 09:19 AM)
I don't like to build a lot of T3 gunships becoz my PC cannot support.. Freaking lag.. LOL

i use almost same setup as you. also can build many mah. smile.gif some more i usually be the host machine.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Mar 26 2008, 09:19 AM)
That kumbang is called Soul Reaper if not mistaken cause there's one mission that Fletcher keeps complaining that I didn't provide air support..

oh that mission ah. cheh he kena hit also he'll teleport away only.

till now i donno what i am missing if i don't fulfil secondary objective.

remember that one mission where you can't be recalled and dostyha or whatever that girl died and you need to survive the onslaught? the other day i free so i play this mission hardmode using cybran. normally is wait till the time complete la but this time i whack until no enemy left on map. haha. spidermonkey + soulreaper is a nice combo. brows.gif
goldfries
post Mar 27 2008, 10:53 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

this game really uses proc.

anyway, i find la human vs human can take really long time to kau tim a game.

try vs AIX. the fella build crazy wan la. 3 vs 1 also me and my friends can get hit badly, the other day the computer was using 6 - 8 T3 nuke and 3 T3 artillery. sad.gif got hit sooooooo bad.
goldfries
post Mar 29 2008, 06:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it's not the speed. it's the architecture.

anyway i have friends playing on single and dual-core. i use dual-core overclocked processor.

even with the 3870X2, I don't use AA and some effect as it pretty much lags when there's hundreds of unit on-screen.
goldfries
post Mar 30 2008, 01:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

of course it can! my friends are using not even an 8500GT leh. biggrin.gif just play low details la

I've personally used 2600XT / 8600GT and even 8400GS on this game. smile.gif 9600GT/3870/3850 is more than enough.
goldfries
post Jun 5 2009, 12:20 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

2. goldfries. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jun 5 2009, 12:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

but i come in around 11 i hope. maybe later cos might need to pass goods to people. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jun 5 2009, 04:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 5 2009, 01:07 AM)
Sure no problem but be sure to update it ok ^^
i launch GPGnet, then launch FA, then to realize already that version! tongue.gif

end up playing a few games of 1 vs 7.

goldfries
post Jun 7 2009, 11:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

why put my name ah? tongue.gif

1st game totally pwned, was hoping fujkenasai go for upgrade but he come when T1.

2nd game was interesting, fujkenasai suggested the map saying wanted to try water. ok la so i build also water units, got 3 factory, some more.

mana tau the fella come with T1 again.......... but i got T2 fighter/bomber. he wiped off most part of my base but my cmdr chase after his cmdr and after a duel, both cmdr died and both lost the game. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jun 8 2009, 12:40 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

getting beat by fujkenasai - i rarely vs humans, in fact after years of SC this was my 1st time. tongue.gif

this fujkenasai la, suggested that map want to try water but in the end i see hi playing air and land unit only, i kena mislead. biggrin.gif when i scout his base i see T3 land factory already but no sea unit at all. sad.gif

Added on June 8, 2009, 12:42 am
QUOTE(Crazegamer @ Jun 7 2009, 11:34 PM)
LOL....sounds like a fun match
we waiting for team vs team games. should be more fun.

this afternoon we played against 3AI + 1AIX - game took quite long to finish due to slowdown. sad.gif we had 1 AI on our side and the fella shown the most impressive AI performance. the fella manage to hold grown and do defense on the chokepoint at my side.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 8 2009, 12:42 AM
goldfries
post Jun 10 2009, 01:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 9 2009, 12:43 PM)
Yeah hope you guys finish exams fast so that we can have a team game soon. But I think have to play according to everyone's PC set up.
look forward to play again this weekend. biggrin.gif i need training.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0352sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:38 PM