ahemm... it's 1TB
aiya, I must be sleep walking doh.gif
Thanks and edited.
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 03:53 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 18 2013, 03:46 PM)
Mac Book Air 2013 PCIE SSD macam ini ker?

Not impressed with the 4k speed at all.
http://thessdreview.com/our-reviews/2013-m...e-ssd-review/4/

see here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 18 2013, 03:54 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 04:07 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 18 2013, 04:01 PM)
Ohh ya my bad.

Here's the fella's AS SSD:

For this particular baby, look at here:
http://thessdreview.com/our-reviews/2013-m...e-ssd-review/6/

The 4k issue is very particular to Windows OS hmm.gif
Apple must have done something laugh.gif

Let's see how it perform when it pop up in other laptop.
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 09:48 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jul 18 2013, 09:20 PM)
Nice source added, recently a lot brands focusing on enterprise grade ssd. But the price is still expensive as they are new lineups.
Plextor also doing their new series of ssd since the computex 2013, not sure about those details yet. A matter of time plextor reveal them  hmm.gif .
Samsung also move forward to a 19nm chip like toshiba did a week ago iinm  hmm.gif . For the reasons of better speed, power consumption and bla3  tongue.gif .
I become ever more hopeful that in 2-3 years time, the same RM600 that get us 256G now could land us a 1TB SSD. If they come in PCIe 3 wub.gif rclxms.gif bye bye SATA thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 18 2013, 09:49 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 09:57 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 18 2013, 09:49 PM)
Will the samsung 840 evo cheaper or more expensive than the 840 pro of the same capacity?

Aiseh... just bought 840 pro (haven't even reached) now this announcement sad.gif
Pro still more expensive, and come with 5 years warranty vs Evo 3 years.
Evo is just an upgrade over normal 840.
nexus2238
post Jul 26 2013, 01:09 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7173/samsung...b-models-tested

Anandtech review of Samsung 840 Evo.
Numbers look really good (better than normal 840).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 26 2013, 01:19 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 10 2013, 03:32 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/crucia...b-ssd,3551.html

nice review on Crucial M500, talking about the extra feature it sport (vs the old m4).
Also has a show down with Samsung 840 Evo.

Can't wait for the day when I can afford to replace my whole NAS with arrays of 1TB SSD laugh.gif Price drop quick quick rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 10 2013, 03:32 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 13 2013, 10:38 AM

4,193 posts

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7237/samsung...on-nand-scaling

Article on how Samsung is using V-NAND tech. Its impact is enable Samsung to produce big capacity SSD.
nexus2238
post Sep 24 2013, 05:41 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.thessdreview.com/our-reviews/sa...d-review-512gb/

Review on Samsung xp941 m.2 SSD.
Practically blow everything away.
nexus2238
post Sep 27 2013, 12:20 AM

4,193 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/a110-m.2-ssd,3594.html

Review on Sandisk A110 m.2
Also give a good introduction on what m.2 entail etc. Good read for those who need to catch up.
nexus2238
post Oct 4 2013, 11:01 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Oct 4 2013, 01:27 AM)
Is theRe anybody that uses lite one 128gb sad here?
Is it worth it?
It's the cheapest ssd i can find in the market
QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Oct 4 2013, 02:26 PM)
u mean the liteon ssd ?
its somehow rare to see in shops now.
what model of the ssd u saw is cheapest ?
QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Oct 4 2013, 02:31 PM)
yea liteon, yesterday was typing on a phone while sleepy.
Saw it in LYN, 128GB which is sufficient for my windows, hackintosh on other partition.
128GB is 250 on LYN>..
QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Oct 4 2013, 05:52 PM)
RM250 is ok by considering its older series/batch ssd.
iinm, Lite-on is one of the largest OEM supplier of SSD.
For example, Plextor SSD is manufactured by Lite-on.
LCT-256M3S (this Lite-on is actually slightly faster than as the old Plextor M3)
We normally won't find Lite-on SSD on retails, but in laptop (eg. lots of Dell models use Lite-on SSD). Rock steady firmware.
May want to make sure it is brand new unit, and not some salvaged parts smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 4 2013, 11:02 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 18 2013, 02:25 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(sgh141 @ Oct 13 2013, 11:39 AM)
Hi,I'm new to this ssd,so I need opinion which 1 is suit me better...
Budget is RM600,but the prob is,my motherboard is old 1...
It's a P55 chipset board(Maximus 3 Gene)....
Please help me to choose....Just want to make sure worth to buy with that amount of money and no regrets later....
And please inbox me where you will prefer to buy it,or any recommended seller..prefer KL location...
Thank you....

icon_rolleyes.gif

Forgot to add : I prefer capacity 180GB or more....
As long as your motherboard support SATA (sata III preferably), then no problem.
Run W7 or later, since Vista don't support TRIM natively.
nexus2238
post Oct 18 2013, 02:28 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Oct 17 2013, 05:37 PM)
Okay, I have confirm that the news is true from the reseller.
Samsung SSD is now officially carry by one MY distributor.
So far only 840 Evo and 840 Pro series if not mistaken.
Finally no longer to worry warranty issue if the ones u bought is MY set.
Thanks great news thumbup.gif
Plextor M5S was running promotion, 128GB was going at RM310 tongue.gif (To clear stock, M6 is coming Nov / Dec13)
http://us.hardware.info/news/36916/plextor...ci-express-ssds
More competition and more choices are always good rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 18 2013, 02:40 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 18 2013, 02:35 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.thessdreview.com/our-reviews/to...d-review-512gb/

Review on Toshiba m2 SATA3 SSD. Can't buy through retail, but will pop up in OEM system (laptop, etc).
nexus2238
post Oct 23 2013, 12:38 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(iJoel @ Oct 21 2013, 11:16 PM)
Plan to get Samsung 840 evo 250GB soon, but there are a few things that I would like to get opinions on:

1. My laptop is a 3 year old UL30VT which has CULV SU7300 1.7Ghz on it, will the CPU limit the performance of the ssd?

2. The board has only SATA2 on it, again it will not be maximising the SSD's potential but after a few search it says on normal usage this will not be very noticeable.

3. I'm a light user of my laptop, the only heavy duty stuff I'd do is only running Lightroom 4. Will a SSD boost the performance other than launching speed?
1. no way smile.gif
2. capped by the bandwidth of SATA2, but still offer lots of improvement vs HDD.
3. As long as any of your usage make a lot of HDD signal light blinking on your laptop, a SSD will make you smile smile.gif (and Lightroom does tongue.gif )
nexus2238
post Oct 23 2013, 12:40 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Oct 21 2013, 10:19 PM)
Lelong also selling M5S RM319 now
Plextor is clearing stock for M5S (M6 is coming).
Dealers are getting buy 5 get 1 free that kind of offer, that's why M5S is selling very cheap now.
nexus2238
post Oct 23 2013, 12:43 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.thessdreview.com/hardware/noteb...tra-speed-date/

review on the Samsung XP941 m.2 pcie SSD inside Sony Vaio Pro 13. Better indication of its speed in Windows.

It's quite funny now that the fastest consumer SSD can only be found inside laptop (MBA and this Sony laugh.gif )
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 11:33 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(kop2299 @ Oct 25 2013, 11:19 AM)
Can you share Where to get cheaper m5s?
My colleague just went to LYP Jayacom this Monday (21Oct13) and get 1 for RM320 (quick pop in / pop out / not much negotiation, knowing him, it probably went like "320 can ah? Can? ok" laugh.gif ).

edit: ok, I just checked Jayacome pricelist at LYN here (dated 22Oct13), and they list M5S 128G at RM328. So there you go.
http://www.lowyat.net/pc-hardware-pricelist-jayacom/

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 25 2013, 11:43 AM
nexus2238
post Nov 16 2013, 07:39 PM

4,193 posts

review on Intel 530 SSD.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7438/intel-s...30-240gb-review