Jigoku
post Feb 24 2015, 12:13 AM

288 posts

I should have read before getting it.

Just got myself 840 Evo 500GB.

I tested both diskmark and AS SSD both telling me read & write at 330mb+

I should try using the fix and hopefully it fix it?
Jigoku
post Feb 24 2015, 05:59 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 24 2015, 12:32 AM)
The problem with 840 evo is the slow read bug when you have old data (at least a few weeks old). New one doesn't show this sign. There might be other issues tht caused the slow reads of your 840 evo.
Any way for me to troubleshoot or should i just RMA it?
Jigoku
post Feb 24 2015, 06:59 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 24 2015, 06:49 PM)
maybe you should tell us more about your machine that the ssd is attached to.
iops (input/output operations per second) is basically a performance indicator for storage (i.e. how often a storage device can perform io tasks). in general, the higher the numbers the better. what makes ssd shines is its iops for random reads and writes of small files (which usually reflects typical computer usage), which is much higher than hdd.

there are many things that can influence iops, but we assume that these results are from the same test environment, using the same measurement tools by all manufacturers. (so, we can use it for reference only, because the numbers vary in different scenarios)

wikipedia has a page about this.

edit: sorry i posted this too slow. wcypierre explained about iops already lol
AsRock B75 Pro3-M
16gb RAM
I5 3470
Msi 770

Using 840 Evo 500gb SSD hmm.gif
Jigoku
post Feb 24 2015, 07:21 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 24 2015, 07:11 PM)
are you connecting the ssd to the intel sata3 port? from the manual the mobo only has 1x intel sata3 port.

by the way what's the OS?
Yes its connected with sata 3 port with sata 3 cable.

I launch Samsung Magician to check the sata interface it also say its connected with sata 3 sweat.gif

Window 7 Ultimate
Jigoku
post Feb 24 2015, 07:26 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 24 2015, 07:24 PM)
yeah i guess you are connecting to a sata3 port, too. however is that port an intel sata3 port?
hmm.gif

How would i know if its an intel sata 3 port?

Do i need to like open the casing to check?
Jigoku
post Feb 24 2015, 07:44 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 24 2015, 07:37 PM)
yes you do. just refer to the mobo manual for the right location of the intel port.

i suspect you have plugged the ssd into a non-intel sata3 port, hence the slower speed.
yes. it will be your storage.

what do you wanna achieve? a dual-boot? if you wanna have a dual-boot system, it's better to review the tutorials available online (google them. there are a lot of them). if you don't need that, it's better to unplug the hdd, install windows with only ssd, then reconnect the hdd to the system after that. better yet, just clean up the os/system/recovery partitions on the hdd first to avoid boot issues if you don't know how to handle it.
Ok Thank you

Will look into that notworthy.gif
Jigoku
post Feb 25 2015, 06:22 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 25 2015, 04:50 PM)
Lu manyak kaya eh can spend 1k on 500 gig laugh.gif i poor lass can only afford 250 gig dang doh.gif

Msi z97
8gb ram
I7 4790K with 4 ghz
770 limited 4 gig classified edition by evga
Tak kaya la boss i got it during black friday sale rm500+ sweat.gif

0.0532sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:06 PM