The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
SUSHuman10
Jan 19 2014, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(300thecat @ Jan 19 2014, 03:45 PM) Expecting to get my Intel 530 120GB next week. But I wanna ask regarding hard disk enclosures for my replaced laptop hard disk. How much should I expect them to cost and are there stuff I should look out for before buying one? Norm between RM20+ to RM50++, depend on the quality.
SUSHuman10
Nov 29 2014, 12:58 AM
BTW, just to share here.
I think cheapest 256GB local Crucial MX100 is definitely from Sri Computer, at RM399.
SUSHuman10
Nov 29 2014, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 29 2014, 05:00 AM) did you manage to find out the pricing for 512GB?  Not particularly impressive. Double of it, RM799. And b4 you people go there and buy, it is currently out of stock (for 256GB, 512 available, 128 no idea), restock in Dec they say...
SUSHuman10
Dec 2 2014, 05:25 PM
Just go LYP again (yeah, I kaki LYP, will visit there from time to time depend on mood, LEL).
Seems like Sri Computer's Crucial MX100 256GB is back with stock (may not be too much though).
But still I ended up settling for Transcend 370 due to being the cheapest 512GB around, sub RM700.
Hope I didn't made any wrong decision.
This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 2 2014, 05:27 PM
SUSHuman10
Dec 2 2014, 09:59 PM
Also, is it just placebo/paranoid for me to here noise from my newly bought SSD?
SUSHuman10
Dec 3 2014, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 2 2014, 10:21 PM) tbh the price of sub 700 is very attractive. i have read about this transcend drive from review sites. from reviews it is indeed a very affordable ssd, with damn good values. the one graph at thessdreview.com is particularly surprising imo. [attachmentid=4242640] it is impressive. notice that the top two use the same Silicon Motion SM2246EN controller. several other drives, like Corsair Force LX and PNY Optima are using the same controller. maybe later you can tell us how it fares? edit: noise? what noise? Can't deliver much, as my PSU is sent for RMA, currently testing it on my SATA2 laptop. Some high pitch vibrating noise. Googled around and they say SSD may offer suffer from coil whine or resonance too.  Also, even for budget SSD, the built is a little too flimsy and light with the plastic case... This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 3 2014, 12:04 AM
SUSHuman10
Dec 3 2014, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 3 2014, 01:08 PM) Any SAS SSD out there with reasonable price? Looking to find a SSD for a company's server but the SSD price is one hell of a joke, yes it has good endurance (200GB @ 3.86PB) but it just don't justify the high price, I could buy a high-end PC with that price alone. Is Enterprise SSD came out just so to earn more from "Enterprise"?  Not sure if there is any enterpise SSD which is "cheap". But this is a consumer SLC SSD, which should have a theoretically better lifespan. http://global.pchome.com.tw/?mod=store&fun..._NO=DRAH3O&tm=u
SUSHuman10
Dec 3 2014, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 3 2014, 01:21 PM) Erm, If that server uses SATA then I won't be headache right now, but it's SAS...  A darn evil that created to sucks money out of Enterprise market. Not sure if reliable, but may be try if an sata adapter will work?
SUSHuman10
Dec 8 2014, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(ainuddin @ Dec 8 2014, 05:07 PM) yup, i think i have an external casing lying somewhere and this ssd would do fit nicely. how about the Kingston HyperX 3k ssd? read some reviews that it is very good too, although with the standard 3 years warranty. Kingston's brand reputation is pretty tainted with this action, http://www.anandtech.com/show/7763/an-upda...wer-micron-nandBut for their HyperX line, no idea, should be OK? But generally, when talking bout SSD this days, its all about Intel/Samsung/Plextor with occasional mention of Crucial for their MX100 line. If you searching for bang for bucks (locally available), I think the Transcend 370 512GB is the one to go for, cheapest 512GB available locally.
SUSHuman10
Dec 8 2014, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(ainuddin @ Dec 8 2014, 07:57 PM) same as vertex2 34nm to 25nm, my unit is the older 34nm. from here; http://techreport.com/review/27436/the-ssd...aking-petabytes seems that hyperX 3K doing good, one has reaced 2PB writes same as samsung. that trancend how much bro? 3 years warranty? Cheapest you can find is around RM670-680, may even lower if your nego skill really good.  Yeah, official warranty is 3 years. This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 8 2014, 07:59 PM
SUSHuman10
Dec 8 2014, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(DreamScars @ Dec 8 2014, 09:40 PM) kinda tight on budget so only able to buy ssd's under rm400  The last I check, Sri Comp selling MX100 (256GB) at RM399.
SUSHuman10
Dec 9 2014, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 9 2014, 02:34 PM) oh ok. yeah most probably you will upgrade in two years hehe -- samsung 850 evo is coming, with new tlc nand and 5-year warranty. a tlc that can do 2k p/e (samsung said). inside one of articles they also mentioned the p/e cycles of samsung 850 pro and 845dc pro to be 6k p/e and 40k p/e. it's no wonder the price is so steep! http://www.anandtech.com/show/8747/samsung...-850-evo-reviewhttp://www.extremetech.com/computing/19553...-the-mainstreamWondering why Samsung as a big chip manufacturer themselves still playing with TLC instead of MLC or even SLC...  My point is that do MLC/SLC really much pricier than TLC even Samsung manufacture the chips themselves? This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 9 2014, 08:50 PM
SUSHuman10
Dec 9 2014, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 9 2014, 09:44 PM) shhh its business point of view why would they sell you something that can last long, when they can sell you something that couldnt? capitalism ho! Boikot, jangan tak boikot!!!
SUSHuman10
Jan 6 2015, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jan 4 2015, 08:24 PM) but the difference between 840 evo and 850 evo i cant really find it as one more thing i forget to mention here. My laptop using msata ps: just saw the writing speed of 850 evo is much more better compared to 840 evo and also wana ask why didnt u suggest pro? 850 = new NAND = about 2x more lifespan Pro will be way overpriced that you can literally get 2x capacity with same budget from other brands. If you don't mind and want the best in the industry, it shall be a good choice though.
SUSHuman10
Jan 6 2015, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 4 2015, 08:38 PM)  That is small. Jangan persoal, 3D NAND and TLC memang designed to make things more compacted what.
SUSHuman10
Feb 5 2015, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Feb 5 2015, 12:59 AM) thanx for the long reply. appreciate that bro. very informative.. can u help me to choose which one i should pick for 240gb. Plextor M6s samsung evo 850 intel 730 all ssd listed above have similar price(plextor the cheapest).. can you give me the simplest benchmark chart for ssd performance as i dunno which chart i can refer to... (sorry very noob about ssd...  ) All your choices are on the pricier side. May be you can consider Kingston HyperX, there's ongoing experiment with a lucky unit still kicking after years of abuse. http://www.lowyat.net/2014/12/two-ssds-sur...-worth-of-data/Another thing to note is Samsung's Pro line > EVO line (inb4 youdontsay). For asking price of 850 evo, I still too paranoid to believe in the durability of TLC (with 3D NAND) and will opt for conventional MLC SSD which should have a similar durability as of TLC (with 3D NAND). This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 5 2015, 01:22 AM
SUSHuman10
Feb 5 2015, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Feb 5 2015, 01:42 AM) err.. u hav any suggestion for less pricier? wow! 1000 years data?  but seems nobody using kingston ssd.. are u saying that 850 evo stil not "matured" enuf? SLC > MLC > TLC But samsung is charging premium on its TLC for which they manage to make TLC with durability on par with MLC (they claimed). I certainly not willing to be paying premium to be white rat, LOL... BTW, Kingston divide their SSD into 3 line - normal, HyperX Fury and HyperX 3k. Your budget should be able to afford their best offer, HyperX 3k. This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 5 2015, 01:49 AM