TShypermount
post Aug 21 2006, 12:39 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

mamamia nice soiler.

QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Aug 20 2006, 07:37 PM)
I am going to book one within 3 months. Friend introduces me to a shop to do glasses tinting and bodykits. Yipee...after considering of MyVi, WAJA CAMPRO and etc.... I come to a decision to get SAVVY AMT.
Cool! I thought you're driving a new waja, Jinyee80. Where do you plan to install the bodykits..you've made the perfect choice...check owners forums for more infor about the car.

QUOTE(Latino Heat @ Aug 20 2006, 11:57 PM)
Proton Savvy, Year 2005 (around sept) , Blue, Manual, Going off at RM26,800(nego) !!!
2nd hand damm Berbaloi !
Before somebody starts to bash and liken it to tiara, the second hand value will automatically drop when the new price is announced.

Savvy's new price OTR with bodykits and free service voucher

1.2 MT Met : RM 36,974
1.2 AMT Met : RM 39,916

Insured value bank.

SAVVY MT BASIC RM 29,800
SAVVY MT COMFORT RM 32,300
SAVVY MT MET BASIC RM 31,500

SAVVY MT MET COMFORT RM 33,200
SAVVY MT MET STANDARD RM 32,300
SAVVY MT STANDARD RM 30,600

TShypermount
post Aug 24 2006, 05:18 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Aug 15 2006, 03:15 AM)
Savvy's parts price

1) Wing mirror (entire unit) = RM 122.70
2) Air filter = RM 113.94
3) Oil Filter = RM 34.01
4) Tranself gear oil 75W80 (1L) = RM 44.66
5) Front headlight = RM 346.42
6) Rear tail Light = RM 195.27
7) 3rd brake light = RM103.70
8) Speedo meter (UK version, part# PW865651) = RM436.10
9) Timing Belt kit with bearing (part# 7701473001) = RM516.74
10) Radio Antenna (part# PW851932) = RM167.00

Oil & air  filter change is 20k km..there's much cheaper aftermarket air filter like washable redline..I feel it's the most pricey in the list...the gear oil is 40k and timing belt 60k..the gear oil is synthetic needs 3L..got cheaper alternative I heard owners use Tranself mineral type instead.
Localised parts ( apart from proton ori) is beginning to appear in the market.

Oil filter for Savvy is RM7 and air filter RM16..

There will be a cheaper alternative for Savvy's timing belt kit which is RM500++

Proton cut throat..even renault's ori oil filter is cheaper than Proton's filter...

Expensive parts? hardly...that's the beauty of the net, infos travel very fast.
TShypermount
post Sep 17 2006, 12:06 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Savvy is the most laris Proton model in UK now.

What some Proton fans in UK said about savvy rclxms.gif

cant believe it, i saw 2 savvy's driving in front of me 2day, couldn't get to them to tell them about the club though, bloody traffic lights Sad , first time i've seen them out of the fore court of a garage, they look rather smart i have to say.

Yea I saw one on the road a month or two back and I agree they look rather savvy on the road Very Happy

i did the same as noel today two savvys one black with blacked out windows looked tidy and two impians too
Got lots of Singaporean members in SAVOC too..

Singaporean Savvy meet

Savvy in Singapore comes with smallet 14' steel with hub cap and mini spoiler..no airbags, ABS and EBD unlike the UK spec.

TShypermount
post Sep 17 2006, 12:07 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 6 2006, 04:03 PM)
let's not forget the launch of AMT and the green / silver variants. smile.gif
many people thought my green savvy is AMT but infact it's the MT variant..
TShypermount
post Sep 20 2006, 04:15 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Proton UK said said savvy contribute the most sales, check out the latest press release..nofgures thou

Savvy makes national fuel economy record

Proton Holdings Bhd's Savvy compact car made it into the Malaysia Book of Records for travelling 1,614km journey through West Malaysia on 1.75 tanks of petrol, setting a fuel economy record for a standard showroom vehicle above 1,000cc.

Fitted with a 40-litre capacity fuel tank, the Savvy used 68.08 litres of fuel - about RM130.71 at the pump - or an average fuel consumption of 4.22 litres per 100km. The car travelled through all 11 states on the Peninsula in all road conditions.

In a statement on Sept 19, Proton said the one-year-old Savvy was designed to be fuel economical while being both dynamic and practical. The record-making feat, it added, also showed the durability of the car.

The company's media and public relations executive Gary Lee said: "It's a practical demonstration of what the car is capable of. It was also timely to demonstrate to our customers the car is fuel economical."

"In general all the cars in that category, small compact city cars, target fuel economy as one of their main criteria. But, by doing this we can show what the car can do instead of talking about it," he added.

TShypermount
post Sep 20 2006, 04:29 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.js...214b10-4d89fd10

it is better than my predicition of 22km/l...the record fc is 23.7km/l...cruising speed 90km/h

savoc excorting the record breaking cars from COE to sungai buloh tol

http://savoc.fotopic.net/c1085084.html
[COLOR=red]

TShypermount
post Sep 21 2006, 07:31 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Sep 21 2006, 10:04 AM)
it still can't beat the Neo laugh.gif tongue.gif
same corner, same speed the savvy has more body roll compared to the neo. plus not to mention the tendency to loose traction of the rear tires if the corner is too sharp and entery speed too fast.

it's not an apple to apple comparison though tongue.gif
Of course neo is better cos Savvy use torsion beam suspension on its rear, one tyre will affect the another, one tyre will leave the ground when another hit a pothole or hit a coner too fast, gen.2/neo use multi-link rear suspension which is fully independent. Vios and city use this suspension setup, another saloon car use this type of suspension for its rear is nissan sentra. Still many people think cars like Vios/sentra provides better ride&handling when all new Proton cars practically ownz thsese japanese models..badge snobs altitude I would say.

One can say Savvy chassis is very stiff which is a good point, only three tyres made ground contact when i was coming down from genting. It's pro and cons for every setup.

But its confrmed savvy has mor bodyroll cos the car is quite tall and narrow, it can be eliminated using lowered sprigns and frotn struts.

Jasonking is drving gen.2 rite.. I can confirm too Savvy both manual n auto has better pickup than Gen.2..ride & handling maybe on par at best tongue.gif

TShypermount
post Oct 27 2006, 12:58 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

There's actually local owners with dark interior in savoc. ALL NEW SAVVY IN LOCAL MARKET HAVE DARK INTERIOR as confirmed by Amin the marketing manager from R3. Try to check with branch instead.

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Sep 22 2006, 12:54 AM)
sez the guy who has a proton badge as his avatar with a signature that goes: "Proton Power" in large bold red text.

doh.gif
rclxms.gif w00t.
No not me ohmy.gif ... I give credit when it's due. I'm defending Proton from attempts to defame them by using tak nak to proton avatar in LYN. That's even worse. it's just a knee jerk reaction from me.

TShypermount
post Oct 27 2006, 11:30 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Savvy's latest price I myself also not sure....need to check with my dealer too.

Jing_Kohkoh,

You said their price USD1.50 per gallon.

I think we can't use petrol price in the US as a comparison...their petrol is way too cheap..been subsidesed also.

True price is 15 times that!!
http://www.progress.org/gasoline.htm

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Oct 27 2006, 05:18 PM)
Just picked my Savvy MT few days before Raya. so i spent my Raya zipping back to my kampung in my savvy  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

overall the  car handling is very good and my wife aka co-pilot told me to slow down cause i'm taking corner way too fast on winding roads in Pahang tongue.gif

too bad that you can't adjust the steering wheel height. FC is quite okay for me. RM 50 for one day 426 km trip (Bangi-Raub-Tanjung Besar-Kuala Lipis- Seremban).

I bought savvy as a second car as i finished paying off my iswara and me and my wife travel a lot.
Hi the FC is okay only for a car that hasn't been run in properly lol? I think the FC is very good already flex.gif .. have you sent your car for 1k service?

Anyway glad you make the choice..gratz on ur new Savvy..

Trust me after getting a Savvy, you won't feel like travelling on expressway anymore although it's stable at high speed...now I travel on b roads a lot. Love the ride n handling.
TShypermount
post Oct 27 2006, 11:31 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

wow
TShypermount
post Oct 27 2006, 11:42 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

I don't think it is...from the sideskirt and spoiler they aredifferent..can't dfferentiate the front thou.

Another angle

TShypermount
post Oct 30 2006, 08:21 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

1st service should be only oil change! oil filter optional...pls go to reputable SC..
TShypermount
post Oct 30 2006, 08:23 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

yea the spoiler could be better..
TShypermount
post Oct 30 2006, 08:35 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Some independent authorised service center can be cut throat.. just becos savvy has conti engine they wanna cheat people.. they throw in many parts change that is deem unnecesarry..my fren's pocket kena burn, i hate them cos it's a major turn off for potential owners. Pls stick to the recommended parts change in the service booklet.
TShypermount
post Oct 31 2006, 03:46 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Oct 30 2006, 08:40 AM)
hypermount, my cousin said that his Tiara use Value spark plugs. Does savvy use the same spark plugs?
Savvy use Champion spark plugs.
TShypermount
post Nov 2 2006, 02:06 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Pls calm down..just a slight misunderstanding..

Just done my 20k service!

only RM229!!! quite cheap considering the service interval is 20k.

needs only half day to complete the major service with thorough inspection checks...there's quite a lot of cars at SC thou today's weekday.
TShypermount
post Nov 18 2006, 02:07 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Yes, from what I read the ECU has self learning capablities. It will adapt to your driving styles.
TShypermount
post Nov 18 2006, 02:53 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 18 2006, 02:11 AM)
So what happens if you always step on the gas when you have just got your car, the fuel consumption will be higher whenever you drive the car in the future because the ECU thinks that you have a need for speed?  rclxub.gif
Yes the ECU will adapt to your driving style affecting the fuel/air mixture and gear shifting, gives you good FC when you drives slow and keeping your engine in its powerband when you feel like going fast esp in automatic mode in AMT... if you drive slow, the air/fuelmixture will be leaner, less fuel burn...dun worry the self learning pattern can be easily derided if you change ur driving habit instantly.

Some people didn't understand well about Savvy's drive by wire and say the pickup is sluggish but in fact the power to weight ratio is good like what you said. It doesn't have that linear pickup feeling in conventional throttle by mechanical cable. let say if you are a fast driver, pedal to metal most of the time, the ECU and TCU will change gear in high RPM and adapt to your driving style and later even if you half press or fully press, the gear change is still in the same rpm band.

The only diff between MT and AMT is in AMT the ECU and TCU providing the gear shifting which is not controlled by us..

This post has been edited by hypermount: Nov 18 2006, 02:54 AM
TShypermount
post Nov 19 2006, 08:30 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(Ripp87 @ Nov 18 2006, 07:06 PM)
how much to tint whole car? say, black color? any jpj approved version?

How much is v-kool? any other brand offers same quality but cheaper price? how much leh?

help. thanks.
There must be 70% light penetration on the front windscreen and 50% for the rest...but last I heard tint film is actually not approved by the authorities..as long as it's not too dark and they can see ur face, it's ok la.

I had this tint film done on my savvy, RM250 on the front and RM280 on the 5 windows...the visible light penetration percentage is 70 on the front and 50 the rest.

http://www.rightcool.com/

I use their cheapest real cool range..so far no prob..no bubbles when installing..already 1 year smile.gif
TShypermount
post Nov 19 2006, 08:36 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 18 2006, 09:55 PM)
I like Savvy's AMT version, something rare for a budget car and power to weight ratio, Savvy beats MYVI anytime but I wasn't a little comfortable with the interior, too much European feel I guess and the steering wheel could be better, looked worst than a toy car. I guess if Proton has an eye for details, they could make Savvy a winner, they just missed out some fine details of this car. I guess it's not too late, it could be done since cars get a facelift after a few years. Among the current Proton models, Saga, Gen 2  1.3, Satria Neo  1.3, etc ...... I guess Savvy has the best pickup among the lot and it's a zippy car for city driving.

So, to reset the ECU, can it be done by removing the battery terminal or it needs to be reset by the service centre?
Yes it can be reset by that way no need to go to SC.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:18 AM