Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra Official Thread, available now- RM2299 (original Sony MY)

marquis
post Jul 12 2013, 09:44 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 12 2013, 08:27 AM)
pre order for HK or Malaysia ??  hmm.gif
I'm guessing HK since sony.my do not have the Ultra on the list. Would be nice if they had a dummy set of the phone though. Would like to know if it's feasible to have a six incher in my trousers.

...ifyouknowwhatimean.jpg

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 12 2013, 09:25 AM)
honestly i am only impressed with the camera. The other hardware nth special.

the 1/1.2 inch sensor is even bigger size than high end compact camera. Plus can full manual control the setting, this seriously can replace my compact cam tongue.gif

I just sriously wish Honami is not 1/1.6 inch (same sensor size with all high end compact except Fujifilm X20) but 1/1.2 inch also to compete with Nokia. Pair with their G lens or ZEISS also!
That's some crazy sensor size...on a phone. Can seriously leave your compact at home when going out. Speaking of a Carl Zeiss, I thought Nokia have some sort of exclusive deal with them?

The Honami is rumoured to be a 5 incher too right?
marquis
post Jul 12 2013, 10:43 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 12 2013, 09:54 AM)
ya i suppose Nokia has exclusive deal but Sony camera also has few ZEISS (they are call ZEISS now, drop the Carl adi laugh.gif) lens as well. Yup Honami will be 5 inch and water proof too
Oh. Didn't know that. Thanks for the info! biggrin.gif Guess I'm not keyed enough on the latest news laugh.gif

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 12 2013, 10:27 AM)
anyway i hope Singapore / Malaysia will available as soon as possible.  tongue.gif

or some grey seller will import from HK ??  wink.gif
Same here. I'm glad I held off from getting the Z. The Ultra looks so much better (on paper lah).

My only worry is the sheer size of it. If we had a colder climate wouldn't be too much of an issue, can always slip it inside your jacket pocket. I can't imagine wearing a jacket all the time here though sweat.gif

Even with the cool bt headset (the mini phone), there's still a problem of fitting the phone in your trousers. Unless you carry a manbag around with you all the time. Which is kinda gay imho laugh.gif

Hopefully the event that was mentioned previously will announce the Honami. Looking forward to Z variant with a better screen and even better camera.
marquis
post Jul 15 2013, 09:37 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 12 2013, 05:52 PM)
I use bag all the while, nothing look funny, nowadays a lot guy carry bag also la. As long you carry a correct bag/handbag, nothing look gay here.
Big bag or small bag? I mean the manbag kinda bag you know. Not messenger - more like a satchel. Looks gay. laugh.gif

Post pic of your bag! So can see if we can pull off the Ultra in this bag of yours.

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 12 2013, 09:13 PM)
I just molest Z Ultra this afternoon brows.gif
2 words! Super awesome! The Sony staff told me will launch on August in Malaysia! Then Honami confirm launch on IFA event on Sept
I love you man. Seriously. I would have thought it would release in September. If it's after raya, the wait would be longer. I just hope someone would come up with the battery test soon. Here's hoping to the 800 being more batt efficient.

Give us some first impressions! How big are your hands compared to an average person; based on that, how well can you operate the phone single handed?

QUOTE(titi123 @ Jul 13 2013, 04:18 PM)
yes, confirm stock arriving Malaysia in August...some infor from Sony insider but limites stock available and no other details like whether LTE or 3G version and what in-the-box....
Bro, limited stock or limitless stock. If it's the latter then...yay! If it's the former...damn kau rush la for pre-order.

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Jul 14 2013, 06:51 AM)
Got an unoffical news about Sony will refresh xperia z with SNAPDRAGON 800 But feel confuse,will sony become like samsung?
I heard that rumour too actually. Xperiablog is a pretty good place for all these news/rumours actually. TBH, I don't see a point in getting a refresh of the Z if the Honami is coming out. Makes the phone redundant. It's like buying a One X+ when the One has already been out for so long.

Speaking of the one, does Timeshift (the new cam feature) operate like Zoe? I want the Zoe feature in a Sony dammit! laugh.gif

Edit: Added some questions for jloi

This post has been edited by marquis: Jul 15 2013, 09:55 AM
marquis
post Jul 16 2013, 12:44 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 15 2013, 05:15 PM)
I just play abit since I am there to collect camera for review actually XP
My first 1 min impression on d phone is silky smooth, apps open fast with no delay. My hand is very medium size and HTC One just nice for my palm. Definitely cant use single hand operation on Z Ultra for me laugh.gif

At HK now and very hard to find phone store around haha
Hmm...I see. Thanks for that. I'm trying to figure out before there's a dummy of the set if it'll be ok in my hands. One handed operation would be a big plus.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 15 2013, 06:14 PM)
Big or small also use, depends on situation. Lazy posts photo for you. If you think it look gay, go ahead. Not my business. smile.gif
Aiyor. Taikor - no hard feelings ler. I was merely looking for alternatives to carry such a huge ass phone. Finding a suitable manbag is not an easy task - I know coz I usually get called borderline gay for what I wear sweat.gif

Chill bro! Sincerest apologies if I have said something to offend sweat.gif
marquis
post Jul 17 2013, 09:44 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 16 2013, 01:05 PM)

official leaked ??
Erm. Like everyone else said. Feels more like a Z "upgrade". Nothing outstanding about the design nor the specs. I'd still consider it though tongue.gif

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 16 2013, 01:23 PM)
Oh, nothing la, nothing hard feeling here. smile.gif

Just I do lazy snap the bag, haha!
Cool cool. Sometimes words don't translate well when the medium is text, so yeah. Always better to err on the side of caution! biggrin.gif

No more news on the Ultra? Would be nice to see a proper review smile.gif The best compilation of hands on by far is the one done by xperiablog. To those that haven't seen it yet, you guys should laugh.gif
marquis
post Jul 17 2013, 10:13 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 17 2013, 09:57 AM)
Actually I am not impress with Honami latest leak information yesterday, it is far wider than Z which mean much bigger bezel, which not in my liking, also much taller than Z. The camera sensor is small, nothing special here then, I believe it just a Mega Pixel upgrade but not really impact a lot in image quality. Also it is thicker than Z as well at 8.3mm without water proof but only water resistance IP57.

If leak information is true, I rather buy Xperia Z Ultra, at least it look solid cool slim 6.5mm and waterproof IP58 + cool multi touch material input capability.  smile.gif

and I think only will have more Z Ultra news once it official release. I hope it get tune more on the software part, give more features on it. smile.gif
I just hope the Honami won't fail just because of the overwhelming hype it received. Ah well. Agree with all your points though.

The only thing about the Ultra is the lack of flash (Not for photography, but for navigating myself in dark places laugh.gif) and single-handed usage. The battery I guess we'll have to wait for an official release. Meh. Gotta be patient.

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 17 2013, 10:07 AM)
ZU official launch at HK today later.
Seriously? Official launch as in ready to sell kinda launch? Or just an announcement kinda launch?

Damn. I'm excited now. I really like how the phone phablet looks. I'd really eliminate the need for me to ge a tablet. Just hope the new proc is efficient enough for 30000 mAh.
marquis
post Jul 17 2013, 10:22 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 17 2013, 10:14 AM)
Ya, Z Ultra weak point is no flash, I also use flash as torch light only.

And possible battery is not big enough for giant screen size 6.4"
That's the thing. 6.4" man. Bloody huge. Just hoping the tech is all highly efficient. No point to have an all-in-one device if it can only last for so long sweat.gif

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 17 2013, 10:18 AM)
Announcement launch only. but Sony Mobile HK already comfirmed it will available End of July / Early of Aug. Price yet known. Try to update when got latest info  tongue.gif
Oh...Man if it was product launch...WOO HOO! laugh.gif

Although I suppose early August is good enough. Looking forward for your update bro! biggrin.gif
marquis
post Jul 17 2013, 04:02 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 17 2013, 02:09 PM)
alright guys ... here some update for XZU

HK got 2 version, for 3G, available end of this month. 4G LTE, available Sept  shocking.gif

Price for 3G around RM2550 , for 4G LTE around RM 2650

3G Version NOT SUPPORT X-Reality for temporary, have to wait Software Update on Sept.

user posted imageuser posted image

battery life ( Stamina Mode ) can last for 1 day ( 4G LTE Version )
NICE! Thanks for the share man biggrin.gif

But...the battery life with stamina mode on can only last for 1 day huh? What's the rough On Screen Time for that figure?
marquis
post Jul 17 2013, 04:35 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(xgnesh93 @ Jul 17 2013, 04:09 PM)
I saw yesterday at Sony Centre at Setia City Mall, they are taking  Pre Order for this unit. I have asked them when it is available, the Sales Person told that It would available in next month (Aug 2013 - but they did not give a specific date).
Dude. Details. Do they have a dummy set there? Damn far wei if it's just to go and test a dummy unit.

How much is needed for a Pre-Order? Any package for the first xx customers?

Thanks man! biggrin.gif
marquis
post Jul 18 2013, 12:48 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Brings a whole new meaning to:

"Wanna see the 6.4" monster I have in my trousers?" brows.gif
marquis
post Jul 23 2013, 10:36 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 19 2013, 07:35 PM)

jeng jeng bro marquis here the Xperia Z Ultra size when hold by my gf hand. I have same size with her hand.
Whoah. HUGE! Damn. My hands are big but I think I'll still have issues with one-handed operation sweat.gif

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 22 2013, 02:11 PM)
Taiwan launch today TWD22900 , around RM2430

Free DK30 Magnetic charging dock and Leather Cover
That doesn't seem too bad actually. You guys think they'll include the dock for the Malaysian release?

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 22 2013, 08:21 PM)
India launching and available by end July:
http://www.thinkdigit.com/Mobiles-PDAs/Son...ndia_16781.html

The Xperia Z Ultra (probably is 3G version )  is set to cost Rs. 45,000 (US$760), which is slightly less than what it costs in Hong Kong (US$800) and Taiwan (US$900).
So Uncle Benny, will you be getting the ultra? I remember you said that the bigger the screen, the better biggrin.gif
marquis
post Jul 23 2013, 10:46 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 23 2013, 10:43 AM)
Uncle Benny already said he will get the Z Ultra laugh.gif
Oh. Blur liao. Must've missed it then tongue.gif

Btw, thanks for the photo bro. I'm having second thoughts now after seeing your gf needing two hands to handle the phone. laugh.gif

Still...I won't have to get a tablet if I get this phone! One device to rule them all...while the battery can tahan lah.
marquis
post Jul 23 2013, 11:29 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 23 2013, 11:03 AM)
malaysia normally free phone pouch only.  shakehead.gif

for another battery test : -

Sony Xperia Z Ultra 的電池容量為 3000 mAh,官方表示待機時間長達820小時,我執行 Real Racing 3 3D賽車遊戲20分鐘後,電量仍然維持在 100%,表示電池續航力真的相當不錯。

實際測試待機8小時電量完全沒有下降,推測若要長時間間斷使用的話,大概3天充一次電就即可
Phone pouch? Damn sien. At least give the free speaker like for the Z also not so bad ler.

Btw...What does that read bro? I can't read leh sweat.gif
marquis
post Jul 23 2013, 03:08 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 23 2013, 11:53 AM)
Use Google translate -lah !!
Sony Xperia Z Ultra battery capacity of 3000 mAh, officials said up to 820 hours standby time, I run Real Racing 3 3D racing game after 20 minutes, power remained at 100%, which means that battery life is really quite good.

Actual test 8 hours standby battery completely down, presumably to prolonged intermittent use, it would probably three days on a single charge can
I tried Google Translate. It failed. That's why I asked leh. sweat.gif How did you get it to work btw? O_o

Anyways, I assume that's the translation? Three days on a single charge? That seems a bit far fetched though. Though if it's true...wow biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 23 2013, 12:23 PM)
haha i tod u got a hude palm? me and my gf consider medium sized thus I never like huge phone. for me 4.3 inch is perfect for single hand operation. 4.7 inch (my htc one) also still can since the width same with my previous 4.3 inch phone (Asus Padfone).

Whenever I hold Xperia Z Ultra.. I just feel like use it to slap people  laugh.gif
I've got big hands la...but not freakish big sweat.gif The Z and One sits just right in my hands. I could still handle a Note 2 with relative ease...but the Ultra is something else though. I think laugh.gif

Guess to really find out I should test it on a dummy - especially to factor in the weight/weight distribution. Sometimes a small phone can be cumbersome if the weight isn't distributed evenly.

QUOTE(ahwai_83 @ Jul 23 2013, 02:39 PM)
i got to know pre-order will free sony handsfree + sony powerbank...
Oh? Which handsfree is it bro? If it's the SBH 52 it would be absolutely BRILLIANT! biggrin.gif
marquis
post Jul 24 2013, 10:36 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 23 2013, 03:56 PM)
for some reason i don't hate Z Ultra size and weight laugh.gif
yea best go and try urself. No point worry about it now icon_rolleyes.gif
Alot people eye-ing on Z Ultra during my trip at HK brows.gif

Apparently Samsung and SOny are well advertised in HK. Everywhere can c their advertisement
When oh when will the dummy set be cominggggggg

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2013, 12:47 AM)
Yalo!  If final no LTE version coming,  then I won't buy it here already.
Same. What's the point of upgrading a phone if it's not future-proof (or at the rate technology is moving nowadays, as future-proof as you can)

QUOTE(kakikubesi @ Jul 24 2013, 01:41 AM)
For me, ZL much much better design n looks compact than honami.
But ZL no IP rating. I want my IP rating. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2013, 09:58 AM)
Ya, I quite like Motorola Droid Maxx, it look awesome!

And also the spec of Oppo 7 - Snapdragon 800, 4000mAh! battery, wow! and 8MP Front camera + 13MP real camera! awesome spec!
Hmmmmm. Interesting. Just that support in Malaysia wouldn't be very good right? Or rather, non-existent?

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 24 2013, 10:13 AM)
haha I know right! I dun mind give a try on Motorola..never tried their phone before

Will see what capture my heart by end of the year or else i keep using my HTC One nia  tongue.gif
You using the One dy why you wanna get another phone sweat.gif
marquis
post Jul 24 2013, 10:59 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 24 2013, 10:52 AM)
Xperia Z Ultra media launch 1st August! Next week!

https://twitter.com/Soya_Cincau/status/359867825898266626
ALRIGHT! Thanks for that info! Gonna subscribe to their twitter now biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 24 2013, 10:54 AM)
coz coz coz coz my heart still with Sony  cry.gif
Traitor. You go buy the One for what? laugh.gif

On a different note, it's still not possible to port the ZOE to other phones is it? I want that feature on a Sony dammit.
marquis
post Jul 24 2013, 11:54 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 24 2013, 11:02 AM)
Coz coz coz HTC One Zoe capture my heart  wub.gif
Not sure the Zoe is software based or hardware but my assumption, the Zoe gallery is software based, but the Zoe on camera is with hardware based.

Anyway tmrw I am going Sony HQ again brows.gif going to bug them invite me to ZU media launch laugh.gif
You ah...heart so easily swayed. Tsk tsk laugh.gif

I think it was mentioned that it ties in to the hardware...but seems kinda bullshit la. I just want a Zoe gallery to be honest, since the newer Sony fw (the one Honami uses) already have a Timeshift feature...which is just burst mode (I think it's close enough to what the Zoe is). I really like how the photo gallery looks like with moving pictures and stuff. Feels like I'm in the Harry Potter world! tongue.gif

Eh if you go to the media launch do a blow-by-blow coverage man. We'll love you forever wub.gif

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2013, 11:02 AM)
Maybe but I not interesting with anything call "mini", it not only mini the total size but spec as well. Hehe...

Ya, XZL look much awesome, my sister is using it, I did not take it as I feel IP57 is cool even though it not really useful, haha!
Really? You must be a very careful person man. I salute you!

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2013, 11:29 AM)
Now the Sony Malaysia site never mention Z Ultra got LTE model, if end up Z Ultra no LTE, then sorry la Sony, I won't buy it.
I'm guessing it's gonna follow the HK release style. Get the 3G model out first, then release the LTE. It'd be suicide la if they don't sell an LTE version. They would indirectly promote grey imports that way. I can understand the decision during the Z/ZL time...but the Ultra doesn't really have any competitor within the family. Wouldn't make sense for them to not have an LTE version out. (at least that's what I'm saying to convince myself anyways laugh.gif )
marquis
post Jul 24 2013, 12:07 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 24 2013, 12:01 PM)
Perhaps wait someone extract out the gallery or 3rd party apps for gallery to do it laugh.gif

I'll let u all know if i manage to get invites by tmrw  smile.gif
Waited for sometime dy. Still no news sad.gif Ah well. Life goes on.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2013, 12:02 PM)
So far previously all phone don't have water resistance or water proof also, did your phone die before because of water?
It never happen to me. smile.gif
That's why I said you're a very careful user man. My phone few times dy kena water...but I've been lucky enough to save it laugh.gif

Edit: By phone, I mean various different phones I've used. Most of them have either encountered direct contact with water, or almost but saved due to my quick reflexes (at least that's what I believe it to be, not just pure luck tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by marquis: Jul 24 2013, 12:09 PM
marquis
post Jul 24 2013, 12:49 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2013, 12:11 PM)
Then I can only said you are really careless. haha! ops!

Never, none of my phone dating with water before.

I do take care whatever I own not only phone, as I hate things look bad condition.
Can't deny that I'm careless sweat.gif

That was what inspired me to the Z in the first place - it survived falls very well and had the added advantage of being water resistant.

I'm generally careful with other things...Just not so much when it comes to phones sweat.gif

I hope the Ultra is the same with the Z whereby it can withstand drops well enough.
marquis
post Jul 25 2013, 02:07 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jul 25 2013, 01:37 PM)
yup..just confirm with distributor. malaysia spec is lte version
So you're saying Sony will only release an LTE version in Malaysia?

AND THEY GONNA START SELLING IT STARTING AUGUST 1ST?!!

*hyperventilates*

Ok. So when do they start taking in pre-orders? Better still, when will the dummy stock come in? I wanna size up the phone in my hand dammit sweat.gif

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 25 2013, 02:02 PM)
but even Sony website also mentioned is 3G only.

your distributor source reliable or not ? hmm.gif
...brought back to reality. That's true though. The Sony page had no mention of LTE. My feelings are so mixed now rclxub.gif

0.0403sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:51 PM