Credit Cards RHB Credit Card, Open discussion/frustration with RHB CC

Jason
post Aug 9 2013, 12:05 PM

6,354 posts

Seems like RHB signature is a very good card to get due to the 5% cash back until end of 2013. I want to thank Ronnie and human nature for your info.

Please take note rm150 cash back only applicable too cards approved by RHB by 17 August 2013. Take note!

Quick question: do you earn points with the signature card?

This post has been edited by Jason: Aug 9 2013, 12:16 PM
Jason
post Aug 16 2013, 02:15 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 15 2013, 01:29 PM)
They ignored my request. This is after intervention from Bank Negara.
How does one get Bank Negara to intervene? Share with us please do.
Jason
post Aug 27 2013, 04:53 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(aqblood @ Aug 23 2013, 06:40 PM)
Just received the card after applying at 1U road fair.

Not planning to use. doh.gif
Did you get any sign up bonus/rebate?

I submitted my application to branch earlier this month, and they claim it was approved on 23rd, so I miss the RM150 cash back bonus. I also submitted BT along with application, so don't know approved.

Feel like kena cheated. They can say promo period until XX date and only valid upon approval within promo period. Then they just approve all your applications AFTER promo date, settle lah. So unfair, it should be based on application date during promo period.

Also, my card already at the branch but no notification or call. I can foresee RHB is the shittiest bank based on my experience with HLB, Maybank, SCB (also shitty for sign up), OCBC, CIMB.

If you guys plan to use RHB as your only card, you are going to have a bad time.
Jason
post Sep 30 2013, 03:42 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 24 2013, 03:29 PM)
Today I was pleasantly surprise to receive RM50 from RHB.
It under RM50 Cashback for 1st swipe within 45 days.

This could cover the GST I paid.... I was expecting RM150 cash back actually
When did you apply? According to the T&C of the RM150 cash back, the card must be approved by RHB by XXX date. I can't remember the exact date.

I sign up for my RHB Signature together with the RM150 cash back & 0% balance transfer package 1 week before XXX. After I got my card approved, they say I do not qualify for the RM150 because my application was approved after XXX, but my 0% BT was approved, so I called them and ask why I get 0% BT but not RM150, so they tell me cause I past the XXX approval date..and I say..if that's the case I shouldn't get the 0% BT as well since it is the same offer, so I ask the person on the line should I file report for false promotion with RHB or BNM? She was taken back a bit and she say file with RHB.. this was 2 weeks ago.

I called today to double confirm my statement, and they tell me the RM150 approved and will be credited on my next statement. Woohoo for me.

Personal opinion I feel "approved by RHB by XXX date" is unfair to consumer, because if that's the case I can do a campaign and approve everything AFTER the campaign date. By right should follow application date, after all, the inefficiency of the bank to process and approve application is the bank's problem.

So far enjoying my cash back.

Got my first statement from RHB, 5% cash back on everything, except my transaction did on statement date which will reflect on next month statement.
Jason
post Oct 11 2013, 02:09 PM

6,354 posts

I just tried at Starbucks Gardens, RM30 to top up my Starbucks card for a free drink, the answer was NO.

RHB T&C regarding Sbux.

Starbucks
www.starbucks.com.my

One (1) Grande beverage of your choice.

• This promotion is valid at all Starbucks outlets in Malaysia only.
• This promotion is valid for purchase made directly at Starbucks outlets only.
• Not applicable for any add- on toppings.

Top up of my Starbucks is not add-on toppings. So according to RHB's own T&C they cannot deny me participation of this promotion. False advertising. I am calling RHB now to complain, if its unsatisfactory I will call BNM to complain false promotion and advertising by bank.

Now according to RHB's own T&C, they can't change these T&C without 21 days notice. So it is still valid as of right now.
Jason
post Oct 11 2013, 02:30 PM

6,354 posts

Just got off the phone with RHB, file the complain with RHB

First the person on the line say RHB Signature card not applicable due to the clause

"7. This Promotion is not valid with any on-going promotions and discounts at the participating partners’ outlets."

She say my RHB Signature enjoy cashback. So I told her RHB Signature cash back is a card feature, no time limit, its not a promotion. She come back and say it is valid, but not valid for Starbucks card top up because valid for dine-in only, then I told her that's not true because the "dine-in" clause is only applicable to Secret Recipe and Kenny Rogers and others but not Starbucks.

These RHB people really have no clue and simply bang only. Among all the banks I deal with RHB is the paling sotong one.

I also highlighted about the clause that takes 21 days to change a clause or delete a clause etc and I ask her how is the notice given, and she can't give a firm answer, so I requested that I be updated directly if the clause change.

No matter what, I want to enjoy this benefit. Keep you guys posted. We get shafted by banks all the time, no way I will let them shaft us when their T&C says otherwise.
Jason
post Oct 14 2013, 01:14 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Oct 11 2013, 10:23 PM)
Damn

I tried to reload or buy new card but not eligible for free drink
Call RHB and complain, cause its not in their T&C. Say you want to file report.
This is unfair when some RHB card holders can get it, some cannot. And according to their own T&C, by right is can.
Jason
post Oct 15 2013, 11:03 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Oct 14 2013, 05:28 PM)
I think from the another point of view, the reload is actually a credit transfer from Credit Card to Starbucks Card, which there is no actual spending/transaction, thus I think those outlet that gave out free drink might have been confused.

All in all, its RHB that have overlooked on this. But then again, its hard to blame on RHB as the person that work out this promo mechanism might not be familiar with Starbucks operation, thus, the confusion.
Whatever it is, if its the bank's fault, that is their problem, as long as WE abide by THEIR T&C, they have to honor it. In the case of RHB, even if they want to change their T&C, they have to give 21 days notice as per their T&C.
Jason
post Oct 23 2013, 02:31 PM

6,354 posts

I just got off the phone with RHB after I filed complain regarding Friday Specials about Starbucks top up

RHB official response - Starbucks card Top-Up of RM30 with RHB cards are entitled to the free drink. It is OFFICIAL response I get from RHB.

For filing my complaint I also get free Starbucks voucher. Woohoo for me.
Jason
post Oct 23 2013, 03:34 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 23 2013, 02:55 PM)
How to tell the Starbucks cashier that's it's official ??
RHB CS said RHB Marketing already communicated with Starbucks, and won't be an issue anymore.
Jason
post Oct 25 2013, 04:01 PM

6,354 posts

Oh yeah, got my voucher from RHB for complaining. I am beginning to like RHB.

Jason
post Oct 25 2013, 06:39 PM

6,354 posts

LOL.. got rejected by Starbucks again, called RHB and they are putting me on hold. Somebody in RHB is going to get !@#$ by me.
Jason
post Nov 9 2013, 04:42 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Nov 9 2013, 04:04 PM)
I just got my rhb signature card, did the first transaction on jetstar flight booking to get 5% rebate and waive the gst rclxms.gif
Anyone tried the Plaza Premium Lounges?

4x complimentary access within CALENDAR YEAR mean i can use all 4x before 31/12/2013 and i will get 4x again starting 1/1/2014?
I used the PPL facility using RHB Signature, yes it works.

Also to update, I can FINALLY use my RHB Signature to enjoy Friday Specials, I top up RM30 for Starbucks Card and I get my free drink. If you more kiasu you can buy a new Starbucks card and you will get 2 free drinks. LOL.

I lazy to have so many cards.
Jason
post Nov 12 2013, 07:13 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Franino @ Nov 12 2013, 07:12 PM)
Anyone could advise, for inactivated card, do I need to pay the RM50 GOV tax?
What do you mean by inactivated? Can you swipe the card now and transaction go through? If yes, you have to pay RM50 gov tax.

If the card is expired, then no.
Jason
post Nov 15 2013, 12:32 PM

6,354 posts

Used RHB Friday Specials again @ Starbucks to topup my Starbucks card for RM30.. redeemed for one Toffee Nut Latte. Not bad not bad.
Jason
post Nov 15 2013, 03:53 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 15 2013, 03:43 PM)
Next time share the exact Starbucks outlet LOCATION !!!
Gardens. I did share the last time. Same time also.

By the way, this offer is valid for ALL STARBUCKS LOCATIONS in MALAYSIA according to RHB smile.gif
Jason
post Nov 15 2013, 06:37 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 15 2013, 04:03 PM)
thanks... How would we know your regular spot is Starbucks Gardens ... didn't want to assume
No problem! But like I said, the offer is valid for ALL Starbucks. So don't worry and enjoy. It is official from RHB.
Jason
post Nov 16 2013, 05:58 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Nov 16 2013, 04:45 PM)
Starbucks Penang still wouldn't honor this offer. So just stick to buy new card instead of reload.
You can call RHB and complain. When I did that I get 1 free starbucks voucher. This deal is really badly executed by RHB and Starbucks.

Maybank deal with Starbucks was so good last time.
Jason
post Dec 6 2013, 04:17 PM

6,354 posts

Just used RHB Sig. @ Kenny Rogers Midvalley for RHB Friday deals.. spend RM30..free quarter chicken meal. woohoo.
Jason
post Feb 26 2014, 12:22 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 26 2014, 12:00 PM)
Paradigm mall has the EPF machine?

darn the BT promo is good tongue.gif

EDIT: ok..went through the T&C they request to print EPF at kiosk.
Not necessarily must go RHB kiosk. AEON usually have kiosks. So does HLB Mach outlet @ Gardens.

0.1492sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:12 PM