Can Avoid Astro or not?, Idea

AVFAN
post Jan 15 2014, 11:16 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 10:15 AM)
Guys, im probably a noob in this area. So i could use some good advise. Im planning to get rid of my Astro (for obvious reasons e.g constant repeats, old documentaries, etc). I intend to install a high speed home fibre internet.

What are my options to get all the Astro channels and also download latest HD movies and serials? Money is not an issue as long as i dont pay a huge amount per month. Most important is it must be hassle free and has quality.

Please let me know. Thanks!

(P/S: I want only latest English movies and Serials)
hi bro,
reading this, i was in same situation 3 mths ago, now closer to objective. astro will be terminated very soon.

how to get what u want... "download" usally means stored for playback. streaming is probably what u r looking for, i.e. online watching, no storing.

there r now many boxes/sticks u can buy rm100-rm1000 a piece. many brands, many threads here. a popular one is himedia, so u may want to read these and other threads as the suppliers are active there. my bet is if u want only english movies and tv series (n probably news and sports), one of thse androidtv boxes installed with xbmc and good broadband speed will do for you. i'm a user, not seller, sharing with u what i discovered 3 months ago. wink.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2598907
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2594654
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1849024
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2014, 12:31 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 11:23 AM)
Can you suggest one system for me and tell me pricing, what i need to do and how do i go about getting it installed? Dont really have time to go through all the threads. Many thanks bro.
tough... i do not know if there is a simple way (like in astro - plug in, turn on and press channel no., and pay of course) but i find this androidtv thingy isn't idiot proof, needs a lot of understanding, diy, trial and error to set it all up to work nicely. so, i dare not recommend u anything specific. perhaps, if u know of someone who already has it running, best wud b to visit him and see how it works. i can only say it is a whole new big world waiting for u to explore! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2014, 03:31 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 02:43 PM)
What is XBMC? Whats an android box and where do i get one from? Price?

Whats the best website to download the latest HD English movies and serials?

Sorry, am a noob.
"download" = collect files from www to playback, many formats, some small like 100mb, some 50gb, may be playedback on pc, dvd player, bd player, media player via usb connection.

"streaming" = online buffering, can be live tv or on demand. done with smart tvs, androids, ios devices, pcs/notebooks. some foc, some paid apps.

dwnld/playback can get you the highest quality video/audio available but streaming is pretty limited to lower grade video and audio for mass users.

if objective is to do away with astro but want only tv series and movies, u r better off downloading, playback with a media player or equivalent.
if objective is to watch mid grade stuff anytime, no storage, android is more convenient way.
can do both - there are machines that serve as androidtv box as well as media player.

it will be nice if there is a super machine that is all ready for everything to roll just by plugging in unifi, but there isn't. also, not everything u look for exist, they come in various shades and grades, some unstable, some need ip prioxies, some dun even work!

ya, bro, need to read up, ask questions, then buy the stuff, spend time messing with it! a lot of fun too.
AVFAN
post Jan 16 2014, 10:58 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Jan 16 2014, 10:49 AM)
Yes....free channels in cloudtv totally just for display purpose...Even the premium paid channels nowadays are poor in quality and buffers quite a lot. I guess soon they will loose all their subscribers...I also searching for other alternatives
hmmm... not true.
cloudtv is stable.
during the free trial, i had all channels working good.
hd ones come out good, close to 720p but audio is just 2.0
after free trial, i continue to get all free channels.
but these free channels are just sd, nothing great.
free channels like channel news asia, cnn, cartoon network, axn, etc. - they come out better, almost 480p on some xbmc channels.
why pay astro?! tongue.gif

i am using unifi 10mbps, lan connection.
take note sd streaming only takes 200-300kbps, hd video (with 2.0 audio) maybe 800kbps?
AVFAN
post Jan 16 2014, 02:06 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Jan 16 2014, 11:06 AM)
well...good that your cloudtv is stable ..maybe it is just my connection is bad..Im using unifi 5mbps...should be sufficient enough..but still i will get bad days every months that it will buffers badly and out of sync. I read in their forum and there are quite a lot complains coming from user worldwide....but again I'm just sharing my experience...not to badmouth cloudtv
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:56 AM)
Maxis home fiber 10mbps. Not all movies stream smoothly. Some smooth, some buffer like hell, overseas Internet traffic can never promise 10mbps. Also, day time smoother than night time.
this is something i hv been wondering...

if the required streaming speed is not that high and the problem really is the internet traffic and blockages, wudn't 5mbps be good enough for all cloudtv sd or free channels?

and that leads to another question - will 20mbps improve the streaming of all content, incl hd ones from the most popular apps and addons?

i really like to know if 20 mbps unifi or maxis can stream 720-1080p dd5.1 nicely and consistently. if yes, wudn;t mind upgrading after dumping astro altogether!
AVFAN
post Jan 16 2014, 04:56 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2014, 02:38 PM)
Got la. I think YunOS is more "accessible" to copy right contents than android  brows.gif
I think is very much depend on the technology used by the contents provider and the device we use. Example, my Netflix and Hulu+ on Apple TV smooth as silk but as for MeLE, some channels ok some channels no ok. Both using the same Maxis 10Mbps fiber line.
yes, surely. but just wondering a user in sg or seoul with 100 or 500mbps speed and a good box, will he be able to get all hd nicely? anyone witnessed such a performance?

interesting to note huluplus n netflix on yr unit. they both come out very well on my android, with better video resolution for huluplus.

about china channels, this one is my top choice - always smooth, incl hd stuuf! thumbup.gif
http://v.qq.com/
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2014, 09:54 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 19 2014, 04:26 PM)
Why wait, Just potong Astro and use the money to buy the above devices and upgrade to faster internet plan.
+100.

i potong 2 months ago. that alone paid for the cost of an adroidtv box!

seriously, if you have unifi or good broadband, astro is obsolete. there is a whole new world out there to explore.

at this time, there is already a lot to discover and enjoy. i expect a lot more to come in the near future. best to start now, whatever box or stick u like.
AVFAN
post Mar 25 2014, 08:48 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Mar 20 2014, 01:51 PM)
hi guys.. im new to this media box.. just would like to know whats d difference between HiMedia and Minix android box ? i dun need function with 3D, just normal and HD will do.
QUOTE(yumchala @ Mar 25 2014, 07:01 PM)
Hi, any good vpn you guys can suggest? I have an android tv box but access to those china app, e.g. pps, youku is freaking slow/ blocked. heard that vpn can overcome this issue. and not sure can it be used in android box or not..
QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 25 2014, 08:16 PM)
ya...i like to know how to get the vpn also.....and good to see a lot of people already ditched astro...yeahhhhhh
i'll share with u what i experienced in the last 3 months with himedia q5ii emmc on unifi 10mbps.

dumped astro a month ago, waiting for refund of partial month since they bill in advance.

with the latest 1.0.6 firmware, i am very satisfied:

.. comes with mangotv, a comprehensive china package with live tv stations, movies, tv series, some in hd. not everything work. i notice it works better in the day and after midnight, not so good in the evening.
.. comes with hitv - youku, vqq, qiyi, pptv, can install pps too. vqq, pptv, pps work good, the rest don't.
.. xbmc now works very well, 720, 1080 hd movies 24/7.
.. free content cloudtv is edgy - some channels get mixed up with others, some dun work. discovery hd world, fox sports work.

note1: i do not know the complexity of ip's, dns', proxies, vpn's.... i just google for tips and do what is recommended and viola! tongue.gif

note2: not advertising for any brand/model/seller - pls read the threads on whatever box is for sale and decide. i am only an enthusiastic user. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2014, 11:18 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 26 2014, 09:08 AM)
How is unifi traffic to china sites? My Maxis fiber is slow.
Some contents cant load at all.
Discovery HD in cloudtv works.
Most Youku contents geo blocked and cant load.
I using MeLE with YunOS. Not android.
youku for sure does not work well, whether built into firmware or separate apk. i gave up on it.
qiyi and a few others work sometimes
in my experience, vqq is best, work 95% of the time. but i have to say the built in version works better than separate apk, so cud be vpn at work...?
pptv and pps work well too, 90% of the time.
himedia also comes wit mangotv - the livetv channels work 50% of the time, streaming on demand 80% of the time, incl hd.
between those 4 sites, i have more than enough chinese stuff to watch.

cloudtv - i only watch a few of them - bloomberg, tlc, discovery hd, natgeo. the free contents are sometimes edgy but from the trials, i believe if u subscribe, the full package works well. but i don't need it as i prefer to stream on demand vs "live" like astro. also, i can get my fav channels foc elsewhere.

the mother of all of them is xbmc. this one offers a whole bunch of stuff for all in the family incl hd, a must to have working well. open source and foc. discussed in dedicated xbmc thread.

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 26 2014, 10:06 AM)
i wonder using a low end android player in comparing to high end player like Himedia q5II, will the low end player result bad connection and a lot of buffering and low quality when watching iptv channels especially those from china? Or the issues lies with the server of the provider has nothing to do with the device?
i dun think himedia q5ii considered high end... rm3xx isn't too costly given ac ryan veolo is rm7xx, astro monhtly charge rm1xx!
sure, it has great features - 3d, airplay, digital audio output, 3 usb ports - all very useful.

i think for a box/stick to work well, it is a combination of hardware, firmware, settings, broadband speed and the sites u access.
having tried couldtv premium, huluplus and nextflix, i can attest paid sites work better than free ones.
it is those free sites that you want working well too. that seems inconsistent across diff sticks, boxes and models.
i hv no idea what other free apps boxes/sticks come with, but himedia does a good job with mangtv and hitv chinese stuff - foc, which i think is the big benefit.
but if u dun care about chinese stuff, that wud not be appealing.

a fren of mine is looking a box can offers live tv channels from uk. not just bbc but the rest too. xbmc does not offer much.
anyone got a recommendation to look at?
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2014, 11:55 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Mar 26 2014, 11:50 AM)
Mango TV can install on others box?
i doubt it. it is built into the firmware of the unit.
AVFAN
post Apr 2 2014, 07:22 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Apr 2 2014, 07:17 PM)
I got rid of Astro 3 years ago
my heavily tweaked xbmc gives me all the channels I need incl sky sports , bein Fox sports etc etc etc until cannot watch
i also can get 720, 1080 dd5.1/dts5.1 movies on xbmc... thumbup.gif

but, if u r willing to share, any way i can get food network asia? tq.

it was in mashup ilive for a while but now gone....

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 2 2014, 07:30 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 2 2014, 07:39 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Apr 2 2014, 07:33 PM)
Wish I could - since I am not into cooking shows cant help you out.
There are some channels such as Good Food ( I get them in 720 ) and others like Nightmare kitchen and stuff.

BTW what device are you on?
will pm you. tq.
AVFAN
post Apr 4 2014, 03:54 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ctvtec @ Apr 4 2014, 11:56 AM)
Go Mashup > Live Stream > *Something like Buzz Sports* > All the Skyports channels are in there, including Skysports F1
it shows all skysports1, 2,3, etc. tried a couple of times, none of them work properly.

i think u can get such watchable live tv only via vpns/subscriptions. think paid cloudtv offer some good sports channels, there must be many others that offer same or more.

most live tv on xbmc is either poor resolution or don't work at all. but xbmc is very good for video on demand, ok for live news channels.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 4 2014, 03:56 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 4 2014, 07:26 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ctvtec @ Apr 4 2014, 05:53 PM)
Which one did you try? I just tested Fox Sport, Skysports 1/2/3/4/F1, Star Sports, NBA TV, none of them fails me.

Look inside Buzzy's channels.
i just tried again....
live streams....buzzy sports...buzzy streams 1-40... link 1, link2.... link 5...,
then buzzy channels... sky f1, sky's ports 1,2,3... NBA.... Nothing works...

maybe there is some kind of tweak reqd?
AVFAN
post Apr 4 2014, 08:59 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Apr 4 2014, 08:28 PM)
They come and go as they please - thus FREE
However Mash updates regularly so chances are there.
Try swap between UK and US VPN - sometimes it helps
yep, think that explains it. will try changing dns/vpn.... tq.
AVFAN
post Apr 4 2014, 10:06 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ctvtec @ Apr 4 2014, 09:36 PM)
No, you are not using the correct one
live streams....buzzy sports...buzzy channel
Not the buzzy stream

*edit* sorry just saw that you tried the channel folder too
I have no idea why liao like that, since I can watch the stream just fine

i just tried it on pc, 12.3... yes, can get skysports1,2,3,4, f1.
can get many others too.
but all in sd, 1.0/2.0... ok for tablet, not good for big tv, too blur...
anyway, all free, can do!

i failed to get it on my android, think becos it is on 12.2 or unsuitable dns. will muck around later and see if i can get it to work somehow.

thanks for the tip, now i now buzzy sports! thumbup.gif

AVFAN
post Apr 5 2014, 05:59 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ctvtec @ Apr 4 2014, 10:29 PM)
Glad that it works for you now.
managed to get all of mashup working well now. ilive, buzzy sports all good.

i now have skysports1234, bt sports, foodnetworkasia.

only sd but still acceptable. waiting for worldcup brazil! biggrin.gif

tq to u again. thumbup.gif

anyone who doesn't know buzzy sports, pls try!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 5 2014, 06:00 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2014, 07:04 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(kawaii87 @ Apr 5 2014, 06:52 PM)
got epl?
the ones i mentioned r live tv sports channels, i doubt they do Epl only. think u got to know which btssportsx, eurosportsx or skyportsx will broadcast at wat time, what cup, wat match. tot I saw a schedule of sorts.
i m not big sports fan...
maybe ctvtec can. Help.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 5 2014, 07:13 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 6 2014, 11:19 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 6 2014, 10:37 PM)
thank you guys ctvtec, AVFAN, Xnet  rclxms.gif for the valuable input.
I got it working just nice.
Just my line is not fast enough.
now on xbmc mashup buzzsports....

sky f1 is not smooth.

but sky 1 is ok, am I right I am now watching live west ham vs liverpool, 19th min, score 0-0?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 6 2014, 11:20 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2014, 10:04 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 27 2014, 01:59 AM)
Torrents, YouTube, Showbox, Flixtor, Netflix, Hulu, USTV, American Live TV, Popcorn Time, CloudTV, DNS & VPN Services, Heavily tweaked XBMC setup which includes Navi-X, Icefilms, 1Channel, Mash-Up, SportsDevil, PseudoTV Live, Vevo, Vimeo, Ted, Yify, iStreams, etc and an m3u Playlist of Live TV channels pvr function (NTV 1 - 9, other local and international channels. Using my setup for over a year now & have forgotten about ASTRO or Hypptv services. Rather use the money to buy faster unifi download speeds. Rooted Android ftw!!
agree..! i dun even utilize my androids half the way u use it. just xbmc, cloudtv, in-house movies/tv apps and browser - that's enough to forget astro, put hypptvbox in the drawer! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(yogiman @ Jul 26 2014, 11:15 PM)
It seems difficult for me to set up the android tv box for streaming.
Been following the thread but not easy.
As for me, i bought HiMedia Q5 a year back. Didn't use it much because i was confused. sad.gif
Now i heard there is Cloud TV. Good feedback...
How do i install it and subscribe?
Or any alternative? Tried XBMC but all the versions are not compatible after i install and open it.
sad.gif
Thanks in advance.
the box u have is a little old but can still do much. u just need to spend some time reading the tips in some other threads to fix it.
cloudtv - you can find the apk and other info here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2970945/all

xbmc - download amd install latest xbmc 13.1, android, arm version:
http://xbmc.org/download/
then, do this impt setting described in post# 932:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1849024/+920
read the first few pages of this xbmc thread to get instructions to get and enable addons, it shud work well:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3139601

0.0313sec    0.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:41 AM