32 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Can Avoid Astro or not?, Idea

thoseeyes
post Jan 15 2014, 12:38 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 11:23 AM)
Can you suggest one system for me and tell me pricing, what i need to do and how do i go about getting it installed? Dont really have time to go through all the threads. Many thanks bro.
the easiest way is still astro..just plug and play...another way is to subscribe Hypptv when you are getting your broadband which i presume is unifi. Other than these 2, the other method is either getting a apple tv or android player and subscribe netflix or hulu which is from US. It will cater to you since you only want English drama and movies.
mun88
post Jan 15 2014, 12:53 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Jan 15 2014, 10:11 AM)
Hi...can share where to get this app? so it is totally free? But can change the interface to English? tks
try at play store "myTV" is original from "TVB" , but i think you cannot watch because is for hong kong people use, i use this app is modify version so i can watch .

thoseeyes
post Jan 15 2014, 01:29 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(mun88 @ Jan 15 2014, 12:53 PM)
try at play store "myTV" is original from "TVB" , but i  think you cannot watch because is for hong kong people use, i use this app is modify version so i can watch .

so can share how to get this 'modified' version?
vergas
post Jan 15 2014, 02:24 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 10:15 AM)
Guys, im probably a noob in this area. So i could use some good advise. Im planning to get rid of my Astro (for obvious reasons e.g constant repeats, old documentaries, etc). I intend to install a high speed home fibre internet.

What are my options to get all the Astro channels and also download latest HD movies and serials? Money is not an issue as long as i dont pay a huge amount per month. Most important is it must be hassle free and has quality.

Please let me know. Thanks!

(P/S: I want only latest English movies and Serials)
If you have a PC explore xbmc in your PC first. See whether you like it or not. If ok, then either connect your PC to your TV (for bigger screen) or buy one of the android box.
cybermaster98
post Jan 15 2014, 02:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Jan 15 2014, 02:24 PM)
If you have a PC explore xbmc in your PC first. See whether you like it or not. If ok, then either connect your PC to your TV (for bigger screen) or buy one of the android box.
What is XBMC? Whats an android box and where do i get one from? Price?

Whats the best website to download the latest HD English movies and serials?

Sorry, am a noob.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 15 2014, 02:49 PM
vergas
post Jan 15 2014, 03:27 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 02:43 PM)

Sorry, am a noob.
Ok, step by step exploration then. http://xbmc.org/about/

Download, and try install al-jazerra adds on and watch al-jazerra. Then if ok, we can explore the rest.
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2014, 03:31 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2014, 02:43 PM)

Sorry, am a noob.
"download" = collect files from www to playback, many formats, some small like 100mb, some 50gb, may be playedback on pc, dvd player, bd player, media player via usb connection.

"streaming" = online buffering, can be live tv or on demand. done with smart tvs, androids, ios devices, pcs/notebooks. some foc, some paid apps.

dwnld/playback can get you the highest quality video/audio available but streaming is pretty limited to lower grade video and audio for mass users.

if objective is to do away with astro but want only tv series and movies, u r better off downloading, playback with a media player or equivalent.
if objective is to watch mid grade stuff anytime, no storage, android is more convenient way.
can do both - there are machines that serve as androidtv box as well as media player.

it will be nice if there is a super machine that is all ready for everything to roll just by plugging in unifi, but there isn't. also, not everything u look for exist, they come in various shades and grades, some unstable, some need ip prioxies, some dun even work!

ya, bro, need to read up, ask questions, then buy the stuff, spend time messing with it! a lot of fun too.
he-sham
post Jan 15 2014, 03:56 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

NJOI + UNIFI&HYPPTV + ANdroid Box will 95% ensure your satisfaction in avoiding astrox...

if still want satellite, consider BigTV.co.id... they're sellers selling the decoder... dish can use astrox one.. their 'Paket' are cheap..EPL included...
look.eye
post Jan 15 2014, 06:07 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 7 2014, 03:44 PM)
I just bought MeLE M6 迈乐盒子 M6 and it works like TVPad at less than 50% the price of TVPad2.

Bunch of channels/Apps to provide endless of contents in English, China, HK, Korea, Taiwan... you name it.
Just watched The Wolverin (2013) and Elysium(2013) in HD quality.

http://www.mele.cn/products/show/32.htm

Already POTONG Astro about a year.
Hi aeiou228,

You mean just plug in the MeLE M6 迈乐盒子 M6 and can play straight away?
No subscription needed?
Does your English channels include BPL, Discovery, and National Geographic?
Does your HK channels include TVB 翡翠高清?

Where did you get the box? and how much?

Thanks!
SUSchokia
post Jan 16 2014, 08:37 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jan 15 2014, 03:56 PM)
ANdroid Box with Astro On The Go* will 100% ensure your satisfaction in avoiding astrox...

Fixed. (*using your parent astro account that subscribed everything)

This post has been edited by chokia: Jan 16 2014, 08:38 AM
petelowyat
post Jan 16 2014, 08:54 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jan 15 2014, 03:56 PM)
NJOI + UNIFI&HYPPTV + ANdroid Box will 95% ensure your satisfaction in avoiding astrox...

if still want satellite, consider BigTV.co.id... they're sellers selling the decoder... dish can use astrox one.. their 'Paket' are cheap..EPL included...
I agree. Astro is awful now.
aeiou228
post Jan 16 2014, 10:21 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(look.eye @ Jan 15 2014, 06:07 PM)
Hi aeiou228,

No subscription needed?

Thanks!
1. Yes PnP.
2. No.
3. All live TV channels got, inside CloudTV app but gave few days trial only, after trial need to pay.
4. .TVB 翡翠高清 and few hundred live HK,TW,CH,channels avaiable in CloudTV some free, some premium.
5. http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=26407128653
¥ 219.00年终促 at taobao but delivered to my doorstep cost me around rm300 for 2 units.

Please note that this model is running on YunOS ( 阿里云) founded by Jack Ma of Alibaba. Got more Chinese based iptv apps than Android. I Just watched RED 2 in HD via this device.
Alvan86
post Jan 16 2014, 10:30 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(look.eye @ Jan 15 2014, 06:07 PM)
Hi aeiou228,

No subscription needed?

Thanks!
Just asked the seller. It is just like other android tv box which you need to search for 3rd party app
for tv streaming
thoseeyes
post Jan 16 2014, 10:32 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:21 AM)
1. Yes PnP.
2. No.
3. All live TV channels got, inside CloudTV app but gave few days trial only, after trial need to pay.
4. .TVB 翡翠高清 and few hundred live HK,TW,CH,channels avaiable in CloudTV some free, some premium.
¥ 219.00年终促 at taobao but delivered to my doorstep cost me around rm300 for 2 units.

Please note that this model is running on YunOS ( 阿里云) founded by Jack Ma of Alibaba. Got more Chinese based iptv apps than Android. I Just watched RED 2 in HD via this device.
This Mele is not sold be any local distributor? Only can buy thru TaoBao? SO there is no subscription at all? tks
Alvan86
post Jan 16 2014, 10:32 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:21 AM)
1. Yes PnP.
2. No.

Can u pls share your internet speed in order to stream smoothly?
Heard other said free channels in Cloud TV normally can't watch, need to subscribe premium package
thoseeyes
post Jan 16 2014, 10:49 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:32 AM)
Heard other said free channels in Cloud TV normally can't watch, need to subscribe premium package
Yes....free channels in cloudtv totally just for display purpose...Even the premium paid channels nowadays are poor in quality and buffers quite a lot. I guess soon they will loose all their subscribers...I also searching for other alternatives
durfzstonez
post Jan 16 2014, 10:52 AM

340 posts

Go try abnxcess, i heard their price quite ok
aeiou228
post Jan 16 2014, 10:56 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:30 AM)
Just asked the seller. It is just like other android tv box which you need to search for 3rd party app
for tv streaming
Just like android, there is an app store to down load the apps such as CloudTV, Youku, pptv, etc etc.

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Jan 16 2014, 10:32 AM)
This Mele is not sold be any local distributor? Only can buy thru TaoBao? SO there is no subscription at all? tks
Only from Taobao.
Got free and premium channels. Example, I can watch RED2 free from MoreTV but can't watch from 百度电视云.

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:32 AM)
Maxis home fiber 10mbps. Not all movies stream smoothly. Some smooth, some buffer like hell, overseas Internet traffic can never promise 10mbps. Also, day time smoother than night time.
AVFAN
post Jan 16 2014, 10:58 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Jan 16 2014, 10:49 AM)
Yes....free channels in cloudtv totally just for display purpose...Even the premium paid channels nowadays are poor in quality and buffers quite a lot. I guess soon they will loose all their subscribers...I also searching for other alternatives
hmmm... not true.
cloudtv is stable.
during the free trial, i had all channels working good.
hd ones come out good, close to 720p but audio is just 2.0
after free trial, i continue to get all free channels.
but these free channels are just sd, nothing great.
free channels like channel news asia, cnn, cartoon network, axn, etc. - they come out better, almost 480p on some xbmc channels.
why pay astro?! tongue.gif

i am using unifi 10mbps, lan connection.
take note sd streaming only takes 200-300kbps, hd video (with 2.0 audio) maybe 800kbps?
thoseeyes
post Jan 16 2014, 11:06 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 16 2014, 10:58 AM)
hmmm... not true.
cloudtv is stable.
during the free trial, i had all channels working good.
hd ones come out good, close to 720p but audio is just 2.0
after free trial, i continue to get all free channels.
but these free channels are just sd, nothing great.
free channels like channel news asia, cnn, cartoon network, axn, etc. - they come out better, almost 480p on some xbmc channels.
why pay astro?! tongue.gif

i am using unifi 10mbps, lan connection.
take note sd streaming only takes 200-300kbps, hd video (with 2.0 audio) maybe 800kbps?
well...good that your cloudtv is stable ..maybe it is just my connection is bad..Im using unifi 5mbps...should be sufficient enough..but still i will get bad days every months that it will buffers badly and out of sync. I read in their forum and there are quite a lot complains coming from user worldwide....but again I'm just sharing my experience...not to badmouth cloudtv

32 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:50 AM