33 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

VoIP Thread, Your only means of communication !

Xybirium
post Aug 11 2006, 09:54 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Aug 11 2006, 09:17 PM)
Xybirium : Please explain more on this plan ?
rattan: Sorry!!! Just saw it on their website just now. It was not there yesterday. I'm just wondering if any other forumers have any inside story. It seems to be a minute plan, no details but if you call 100 and speak to customer service, maybe they can explain. Haven't called them yet.
TSrattan
post Aug 13 2006, 03:27 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Oh ok... hope to hear soon... im currently using 3 providers only :

1) BBPhone
2)Gizmo Project
3)VoIP Stunt

All of it is paid service. Amont the 3, the best is BBPhone from clarity and connectivity vice, VoIP Stunt is also good, Voice quality is average but the rates are attractive. Gizmo Project is a total lost, they are con mens...
Xybirium
post Aug 13 2006, 08:03 PM

1,991 posts

:::.. Upload Stats ..:::
Upload Connection is:: 18242 Kbps about 18.24 Mbps (tested with 12159 kB)
Upload Speed is:: 2227 kB/s
Tested From:: http://testmy.net/ (Server 1)
Test Time:: 2006/08/13 - 5:01am
Bottom Line:: 318X faster than 56K 1MB Upload in 0.46 sec
Tested from a 12159 kB file and took 5.46048 seconds to complete
Upload Diagnosis:: 90% + Okay : running at 100 % of your hosts average (92.24)
U-Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/stats/id-LXTS7QMJA
User Agent:: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1b1) Gecko/20060710 Firefox/2.0b1 [!]

Wow!!! Looks great!!! Just cheating using onspeed. Hehehe...
TSrattan
post Aug 14 2006, 12:46 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Xybirium : wow wish streamyx offer that kind of speed at mere RM 99 unlimited package drool.gif

This post has been edited by rattan: Aug 14 2006, 12:47 AM
Xybirium
post Aug 14 2006, 07:43 PM

1,991 posts

http://www.ctimes.com.my/Highlight/20060814113742/wartrevamp

Highlights: Speedy broadband for less
By Izwan Ismail

POOR quality broadband services could soon be a thing of the past for subscribers around the country. This follows the Government's move to set new requirements for service providers to comply with. This include primarily faster access speed and more affordable package rates for broadband services.
Energy, Water and Communications Minister Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik said the move is crucial to ensure that broadband services become more attractive to users, which in turn will help boost its uptake further.
He added that to underline its seriousness, the Government has set a two-megabits-per-second (Mbps) per user minimum speed as a new requirement for service providers which want to apply for the Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMax) licence.
"If the Government does not set any target for the minimum speed, the service providers will continue to give their 'best effort' speed. We do not want this to happen anymore, and Government bodies like Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) can take action if the promised connectivity speed is not met," he said in Putrajaya last week.
Once service providers can guarantee that they can provide a minimum of 2Mbps connection per user, the Government will be ready to issue the WiMax licence, Lim added.
"If service providers can provide 2Mbps speed, then things like IPTV, video-conferencing, various e-commerce activities, etc, can be enjoyed by users, and this will boost the take-up rate of broadband services."
According to him, the Government is also cognizant of the fact that broadband services such as third-generation (3G) are still considered costly because most of the supporting devices such as transmitters are imported and expensive. Therefore, service providers in the broadband market are urged to reduce their rollout costs by using local products.
"The Government is also encouraging service providers to use whatever platform available in providing broadband, be it wired, wireless or via satellite connection. We want the market to be competitive and this will bring down the access price further, to probably as low as RM20
a month" he said.
Lim said the Energy, Water and Communications Ministry intends to use the national five-year ICT blueprint, MyICMS 886 programme, as the platform where plans for the country's broadband services will be streamlined.
"I understand the infrastructure that we have is not that good. So part of MyICMS 886's target is to look at infrastructure issues," Lim said.
Under MyICMS 886, the country's broadband penetration is expected to increase to 1.3 million users or five per cent of the population by year-end from the current 600,000 users.
In the long run, the Government is looking at achieving 2.8 million broadband subscribers or 10 per cent of the population by 2008.
bhorng
post Aug 15 2006, 12:43 AM

534 posts

Guys.. I've been using VOIPSTUNT for at least 70days.. and their voice quality is good...
So.. do try it out and get some free call too..
TSrattan
post Aug 15 2006, 01:21 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Xybirium : Good one... thanks for sharing... hopefully they keep on their word... not just "Malaysia Boleh"

Enjoy smile.gif
netfan
post Aug 15 2006, 08:47 AM

542 posts

Hey rattan, what do you mean by Gizmo Project are con men ?
It seems that their VoIP service is still available.

This post has been edited by netfan: Aug 15 2006, 08:48 AM
TSrattan
post Aug 15 2006, 12:52 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(netfan @ Aug 15 2006, 08:47 AM)
Hey rattan, what do you mean by Gizmo Project are con men ?
It seems that their VoIP service is still available.
Yes I know their VoIP is available... they say on the website that there is free calls.... but when u subscribe and use their service, even when calling to the mentioned free calls destination you will be charged.

vmad.gif

Xybirium
post Aug 15 2006, 07:23 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(bhorng @ Aug 15 2006, 12:43 AM)
Guys.. I've been using VOIPSTUNT for at least 70days.. and their voice quality is good...
So.. do try it out and get some free call too..
Used voipstunt for few months but the latency is quite high. Maybe your connection is much better than mine. What broadband package are you subscribing to?

If voipstunt has a server in Australia, I might want to use it again 'cos latency to Australia is much better.
Xybirium
post Aug 15 2006, 07:24 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Aug 15 2006, 01:21 AM)
Xybirium : Good one... thanks for sharing... hopefully they keep on their word... not just "Malaysia Boleh"
Enjoy smile.gif
rattan: Yea... Hopefully I don't have to wait until I'm using a cane to walk before I get it.
Xybirium
post Aug 15 2006, 07:26 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Aug 13 2006, 03:27 PM)
Oh ok... hope to hear soon... im currently using 3 providers only :

1) BBPhone
2)Gizmo Project
3)VoIP Stunt

All of it is paid service. Amont the 3, the best is BBPhone from clarity and connectivity vice, VoIP Stunt is also good, Voice quality is average but the rates are attractive. Gizmo Project is a total lost, they are con mens...
Also subscribed to Gizmo but their site seems to be too confusing for me unlike VoipStunt which is very direct to the point. Maybe they do it on purpose to get customers...
TSrattan
post Aug 16 2006, 12:28 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Yes that is their intentions... further more their softphone is also a so screw it tends to hang all the time... sigh... i went to their support forum, alot of subscribers are complaining on dispute charge...

This post has been edited by rattan: Aug 16 2006, 12:29 PM
cruzzmz
post Aug 16 2006, 11:40 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

well they say they will set the bar at 2 meg well have to wait & see who is the main player in providing the service lah ... if just stick wz the current copper mayb cannot ... If using Metro E can lah kot but RM20 / month seems a lill bit unthinkable .... juz have 2 wait

TSrattan
post Aug 17 2006, 12:17 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

cruzzmz : copper is not the issue.... its the whole network structure... some housing area, even some industrial area uses very old copper, damaged and improper circulation will effect the service. Replacing all the coppers and also exchange box will cost a few billion... I think the best move is to introduce WiMAX and also implement wireless broadband, minimum 2MB d/l speed.

Understanding the structure of wireless broadband, its merely double the cost of wired... therefore... in certain areas where there is high demand, ISP should use canopy system ( sorry if too technical), this will solve much queries and we will be looking at malaysia being connected even in the most urban area.

The only freaking problem in Malaysia is, TMNUT is given to monopolise everything... there is no competition... Imagine if the ISP were competiting with each others just like the telecommunication providers are... we are looking at each others competiting to sell 24Megs ADSL 2 by now

Once again, from my forecast, Malaysia need another 25 years to challenge Japan, Australia, USA and also germany....
Xybirium
post Aug 17 2006, 08:24 PM

1,991 posts

25 years???

Hopefully not 250 years!!!
tcs
post Aug 18 2006, 12:10 AM

He's so good i just can't think of a caption
4,637 posts

Currently at singapore, using yahoo voice out. so far quality is quite good and rate is ok. Sin local landline/mobile is 1.9 cent/min where msia is 3.9 cent/min for landline, 6.9 cent/min for mobile. All in singapore dollar.

voipstunt and internetcalls.com are same...act got many other similar sites also.

any one using http://www.telextreme.com/ or
cruzzmz
post Aug 18 2006, 12:23 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

yup i agree wz u rattan .. telco have to change all current copper ... enrolling wireless streamyx like canopy sys is a good idea but the problem wz wireless is the LOS issue ... if today suddenly got a tall tree infront of ur house that is blocking ur BTS then no more streamyx 4 u ... hopefully WiMax wont have the LOS or near LOS issue :fingercross:

ps: LOS = Line Of Sight

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Aug 18 2006, 12:23 AM
nocar
post Aug 18 2006, 01:00 AM

752 posts

The last mile network roll-out is costly and the other guys (Maxis, Time.com and Jaring) know that the pc penetration per household in Malaysia is shitty - so why waste their money on thin margin service, small market size and dunno when to achieve ROI. And need to spend more money to build world-class call-centre to support tech-savvy rakyat! Sell VOIP better lah.

if the DSL service price is much more higher than today, ofcourse these guys will roll-out the service whole-heartedly and ready to compete with TM. You need to charge more in the first 2-3 years to compensate the initial cost of network implementation. So let TM do the national service first. So when the time is right, they will pounce.
TSrattan
post Aug 18 2006, 01:02 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Cheers... never tought this thread will be so knowledgeable... rclxm9.gif

Sharing is caring...

33 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled