Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V24, WARNING on POST 1 DMF2 / DME6
ZoidbergFry
Jun 20 2013, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 20 2013, 12:20 PM) This is what makes this thread so much fun..... tying device usage to other forms of usage that only alexng2208 can dream of.... Do you recall the first part of the phrase "............where angels fear to tread." He is a highly imaginative person, so please pardon his delusional fantasies. However do you have any updated kernel tweak settings like what you help Andreilux on his values spreadsheet? i see..haha,still new here..maby nex time i leave some comments to add petrol to the fire..
hooh888
Jun 20 2013, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 20 2013, 01:30 PM) Why? Is it something to do with the ROM itself? not the rom, this is due to latest stock kernel. this problem occurs not only in this rom, but on a few others that recently updated as well if i am not mistaken. QUOTE(mikecmy @ Jun 20 2013, 01:47 PM) my wanam kills me in 3 1/2 hrs SOT.. GOD  heard of this problem from other users, which is why i downloaded it but not flashed it yet, and most probably not flashing it too.
gin&tonic
Jun 20 2013, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(mikecmy @ Jun 20 2013, 01:47 PM) my wanam kills me in 3 1/2 hrs SOT.. GOD  If u just flashed, give it a few charge cycles & see how it goes.
Superman7
Jun 20 2013, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(hooh888 @ Jun 20 2013, 02:09 PM) not the rom, this is due to latest stock kernel. this problem occurs not only in this rom, but on a few others that recently updated as well if i am not mistaken. heard of this problem from other users, which is why i downloaded it but not flashed it yet, and most probably not flashing it too. ohh.. if that's the case, change the stock kernel then change the modem.
ZoidbergFry
Jun 20 2013, 02:20 PM
erm stupid question,if i under clock my fon and some software requires higher processor speed to run,will it screw up my system?
EdwinCodec
Jun 20 2013, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 20 2013, 02:20 PM) ohh.. if that's the case, change the stock kernel then change the modem. It's not working. I tried.
TSjoytest
Jun 20 2013, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(ZoidbergFry @ Jun 20 2013, 02:20 PM) erm stupid question,if i under clock my fon and some software requires higher processor speed to run,will it screw up my system? Should not be a problem. Mine is underclocked to 1GHz for observation for now, although I'm with Perseus, I didn't tweak anything. I'm only observing that it hits 1GHz all the time for extended periods. NFS:MW only needs 900MHz to run smoothly. QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jun 20 2013, 02:26 PM) It's not working. I tried. Does this mean that this is part of Samsung's kill switch feature? If even after a kernel change you are still getting modem problems, then I suspect the bootloader got changed for some security controls.
hooh888
Jun 20 2013, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 20 2013, 02:51 PM) Should not be a problem. Mine is underclocked to 1GHz for observation for now, although I'm with Perseus, I didn't tweak anything. I'm only observing that it hits 1GHz all the time for extended periods. NFS:MW only needs 900MHz to run smoothly. Does this mean that this is part of Samsung's kill switch feature? If even after a kernel change you are still getting modem problems, then I suspect the bootloader got changed for some security controls. looks like i am not re-downloading sentinel now for nothing lol.
d33pbluez
Jun 20 2013, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(muctabucta @ Jun 20 2013, 02:03 PM) [/spoiler] bro..any tips and tricks u could pass down to me? this would be my first time applying sp myself..sure got see bubbles everywhere..tho they did recommend to long press the apparent bubble and sorta massage it out..within 36hours..the airpockets should settle down..and hows the oleo coating? noticeable difference? is it more of a tvshow CSI or on the field CSI? The method used is about the sample apply to plastic screen protector. Always find a flat surface and clean spot away from fan or window...and have enough light source to spot out the dust. When apply screen protector lay you phone down, don't hold them and never used your breath to blow the dust you might not know the saliva will stay on the screen.  instead used tape or lint free cloth to take out the dust... Make your screen protector lay down down once your confidence with the alignment. Best is only 1 times, adjust you may but try to minimize that. Always kept your finger nail clean or just tools to ply the edge for adjustment else you would had debris under your finder nail stick to screen protector.. There is not much different the screen, you still get finger print smudge if you hand is greasy enough...Just that makes you feel safe with extra glass protection...
TSjoytest
Jun 20 2013, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(hooh888 @ Jun 20 2013, 02:55 PM) looks like i am not re-downloading sentinel now for nothing lol. The sentence structure contains multiple negations....what are you trying to negate??? LOL Anyway, I believe CM based ROMs should not pose a problem since CM is out to improve user privacy, so it should not contain the updated bootloader.
antt00
Jun 20 2013, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 20 2013, 02:51 PM) Should not be a problem. Mine is underclocked to 1GHz for observation for now, although I'm with Perseus, I didn't tweak anything. I'm only observing that it hits 1GHz all the time for extended periods. NFS:MW only needs 900MHz to run smoothly. Does this mean that this is part of Samsung's kill switch feature? If even after a kernel change you are still getting modem problems, then I suspect the bootloader got changed for some security controls. No. I dun suspect any relation to bootloader as they are all using custom rom flash through recovery which does not concern bootloader. It could be some changes in the way modem is communicating with the rom hence older modems are not compatible.
ZoidbergFry
Jun 20 2013, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 20 2013, 02:51 PM) Should not be a problem. Mine is underclocked to 1GHz for observation for now, although I'm with Perseus, I didn't tweak anything. I'm only observing that it hits 1GHz all the time for extended periods. NFS:MW only needs 900MHz to run smoothly. Does this mean that this is part of Samsung's kill switch feature? If even after a kernel change you are still getting modem problems, then I suspect the bootloader got changed for some security controls. how bout say i underclock my processor to 800mhz to run a 1ghz app,i know its gona lag,but will the system push to overclock to recomended speeds and the rom manager stops it from doing it then screw up my system?
antt00
Jun 20 2013, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(ZoidbergFry @ Jun 20 2013, 03:05 PM) how bout say i underclock my processor to 800mhz to run a 1ghz app,i know its gona lag,but will the system push to overclock to recomended speeds and the rom manager stops it from doing it then screw up my system?  All its gonna do is run at 800mhz and lag. Thats all.
ZoidbergFry
Jun 20 2013, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(antt00 @ Jun 20 2013, 03:06 PM) All its gonna do is run at 800mhz and lag. Thats all. oh i see i tot there was gona be a clash in the system defult settings to overclock to required speed and software preventing it from going any higher because im a very cheepo and LOVE this fon,so im planing to underclock it most of the time to prolong the life span of the device..muahahahaha
sai86
Jun 20 2013, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(ZoidbergFry @ Jun 20 2013, 03:08 PM) oh i see i tot there was gona be a clash in the system defult settings to overclock to required speed and software preventing it from going any higher because im a very cheepo and LOVE this fon,so im planing to underclock it most of the time to prolong the life span of the device..muahahahaha  don't worry, ur phone will get stolen b4 it end its life due to usage turning off wifi/3g really save alot battery. only consume 4% during sleep time 12pm to 7am.
hooh888
Jun 20 2013, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 20 2013, 02:59 PM) The sentence structure contains multiple negations....what are you trying to negate??? LOL Anyway, I believe CM based ROMs should not pose a problem since CM is out to improve user privacy, so it should not contain the updated bootloader. i mean i'm glad that i'm downloading sentinel due to problems with current stock rom and tw roms.
EdwinCodec
Jun 20 2013, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(antt00 @ Jun 20 2013, 03:00 PM) No. I dun suspect any relation to bootloader as they are all using custom rom flash through recovery which does not concern bootloader. It could be some changes in the way modem is communicating with the rom hence older modems are not compatible. Off topic: The haze is getting worst =.= Went out and came back, whole shirt covered with smoke smell. Take care people. Hmm, I'm gonna wipe and try changing kernel again then change the modem and let's see as if it works. This post has been edited by EdwinCodec: Jun 20 2013, 03:19 PM
ZoidbergFry
Jun 20 2013, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 20 2013, 03:11 PM) don't worry, ur phone will get stolen b4 it end its life due to usage turning off wifi/3g really save alot battery. only consume 4% during sleep time 12pm to 7am. NOOOOOOOO  ....i gona buy a lock to lock this fon to my pants..wana steal my fon?unless u manage to pull of my pants as well...muahahaha
alexng2208
Jun 20 2013, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(hooh888 @ Jun 20 2013, 03:15 PM) i mean i'm glad that i'm downloading sentinel due to problems with current stock rom and tw roms. yea another convert... suck that TW sklchan, no my sifu you are not getting old. just copy pasta your cpu tweaks and what-not for me to follow