STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V132, Everyone Huat!

yok70
post Jun 24 2013, 09:20 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 24 2013, 09:13 PM)
That why I keep on remind myself one simple theory.

Crowded trade is always wrong in investment,
in other word, when more and more people screaming to buy, and more crowd are joining the bandwagon, then often the investment highly will go wrong one.

This apply across various investment target.

That's why I do not like to see a lot of people say good thing about reit...  sweat.gif
and it makes me worry when people are rushing to buy property... and thinking property price always go up one.
REIT is a good example too. Now started selling down from super peak? laugh.gif
Late few months, still seeing huge placement at close to today's price in CMMT and Axreit. Wondering if these stocks will drop below those price? If that happens, will Axreit difficult to get further placement in future? Since Axreit placement at least once a year on its aggressive growth plan. hmm.gif
yok70
post Jun 24 2013, 09:22 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jun 24 2013, 09:19 PM)
I am still wondering, if FF exit emerging market and invest US, by right, Dog Jones should surge up, but why are we not seeing those?
I was asking the same question. Wondering. laugh.gif
My wild guess is, FF is playing the market, so that they benefit the most. So now, they are actually holding more cash than ever. hmm.gif
yok70
post Jun 24 2013, 09:35 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 24 2013, 09:26 PM)
The word, deleveraging.

When yield is getting higher, it makes no sense to borrow and invest.
No every investment made is done by own cash money.

A lot of investment can be done by leveraging.
For eg.
When one want to invest in equities, bonds or whatever that yielding 4-5%, investment banker can arrange margin/leverage facility for one, x million to invest.
The borrowed money carry interest of 2-3% (due QE effect), while the investment target yielding 5%, a carry trade, without need to bring out a single cent, and enjoy the difference.
A net 2% difference of 1 million means 20K without sweat, without need to fork out a single cent.
1 million for investment banker is peanut only.

So when yield is getting higher, the reverse happens.
And the bank received back a lot of cash. What would the bank do with these "extra" cash? Not using them for investment? hmm.gif
yok70
post Jun 24 2013, 09:36 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jun 24 2013, 09:28 PM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
This is how Lowyat forum own legendary Neo made his millions by leveraging to buy huge REITs during financial crisis, if I remember correctly. biggrin.gif
yok70
post Jun 24 2013, 09:37 PM

12,698 posts

DJ begins trading with triple digits falling. Lets see what's following. biggrin.gif
yok70
post Jun 25 2013, 06:03 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 25 2013, 10:18 AM)
Ya same view with a lot of lady friends... tongue.gif

C&K is listed in SGX  tongue.gif
What's the stock code/name? I can't find it. Under a investment company name? notworthy.gif
Interested to know more. Got research paper on it? drool.gif
yok70
post Jun 25 2013, 08:19 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Jun 25 2013, 06:15 PM)
wah got giordano now want charles & keith?  whistling.gif

FJ Benjamin in SG too ..... brands it carries refer to > http://www.fjbenjamin.com/our-brands.php

suggestion only.......  whistling.gif

recent AR http://research.maybank-ib.com/pdf/documen...080513_4196.pdf
Thanks! notworthy.gif

I also bought in Stelux. So in addition to Giordano, I also now got Optical 88, eGG, City Chain and Seiko. laugh.gif

I really like charles & keith products as they look fashionable, good quality at reasonable price. And I also like its sales strategy (frequent renewal of products and different stores have quite different products rolling). If the stock is not expensive with good balance sheet, I don't mind to add this into my world consumer basket. Worldwide middle class growth will continues for the next 10 years. brows.gif

yok70
post Jun 25 2013, 09:35 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Jun 25 2013, 08:52 PM)
Three country shares! Maybe four if include US, can monitor meh? hmm.gif
Already bought Apple in US. sweat.gif
yok70
post Jun 25 2013, 10:47 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Jun 25 2013, 10:02 PM)
hmm all US data is better than expected ... @.@
but no guarantee mkt will be up... haih... such a tough game to play
it's called "cautiously optimistic", so that sharks got chance to buy at lows. If they are cash rich, we may need to wait 1 year before market rally again. whistling.gif
my wild dream, few months before QE totally exit, market will start super rally. cool2.gif

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0445sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:05 PM