12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 10:46 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jun 19 2007, 10:21 PM)
Huh.. den u last time taught me the way tat they wont lift leg 1 can work anot arh?
Can.... coz my friend taught her dog that way. He never lift leg to pee. I even saw a male chihuahua squat to pee also. My boxer squat to pee for 2 years before he start to lift his leg again when he saw my other dog mark territory.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 11:12 PM

12,047 posts

You don't let your dog out and socialize with males. Just let it pee on newspaper. Coz if they pee on newspaper or tray or training pad, the dog will need to squat.... if you bring your dog out, sure got very interesting smells and once it smells another dog's pee, it will lift leg to mark.

Only let it out after neutering but it will only lose his interest to mark after a few months from the neutering surgery... this is what I experienced with my dog lah. Puppies won't mark so early.... they will start to lift legs up to mark around 5 months onwards...
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 20 2007, 11:41 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 20 2007, 01:05 PM)
My Westie is giving me loads of problem now. He is very reluctant to eat his food.

I used to feed him Nutrisource without any problems but everything began when I switched over to Eaglepack Hollistic. Even though the change was done gradually, mix and mix until now full bowl is Eaglepack Hollistic, I think the gradually change didnt change anything at all.

Right now, he is very reluctant to eat his food. I also added Hartz Vitamin for pets recently. He eat his food but dont eat the broken pieces of vitamins. So I thought the vits are the problem, so I stop giving him.

I give him only Eaglepack dog biscuits which I think is much better than Nutrisource but then he is hardly eating. Everyday, either the breakfast or the dinner is wasted because he dont want to eat, we had to throw it away to feed the stray dogs behind my house.

I tried giving him the bowl for 1 hour, if he dont take, take it up. But then he still dont learn. I dont know if he is hungry or not but he is definitely not sick. Can play everytime I let him out from the cage + playpen.

Sunday, dinner didnt eat
Monday, dinner didnt eat
Tuesday, breakfast didnt eat
Wed, breakfast didnt eat.

I am not feediing too much. My bowl is as small as the chinese soup bowl about 12cm diameter and it barely covers the bottom of the plate. Its quite little only, can count maybe 50 or 60 biji or Eaglepack for puppies (small biji).

I usually add Biscal for smell reduction, fish oil for coat, milk powder for calcium and Nutri-state (sometimes only) for taste. But then he doesnt eat either.

Yesterday dinner, I punish him, not to give him a lot for dinner. Only 25 biji of Eaglepack biscuit... 25 biji is damn little. He finished it. This morning, he dont want to eat - not hungry. WTF?! I dont give him treats either. I only give him a bone to chew so he doesnt attack the newspaper, which is his potty area.

What should I do? I believe feeding him too much Caesar dogfood also spoilt him in a way and lead to this. What can I do to correct the problem?
Oh, Ceasar dogfood indeed does make a dog become a picky eater. My aunt feeds her Pekingese 4 containes of Ceasar a day coz her peke won't eat other type of foods....

My Chelsea didn't like Eaglepack holistic.... had to force her to eat.... after that, I change back to Nutriedge only she eats. But now, she prefers Orijen. She now willingly eats up every bit of Orijen kibble.

QUOTE(juichuan @ Jun 20 2007, 04:08 PM)
hi,

anyone knows the rate of baby sitting a dog in pet shop or vet?

coz i am baby sitting a dog for 5 months and this mutual friend is paying me RM 60 per month exclude the dog's food, which she will provide.
RM60 a month? There is a kennel that does boarding, almost Rm1k a month, I forgot which kennel I think.... LOL... but if you kira Rm30 a day. 1 month should be RM900 rite? Vet and petshops charge RM30 a day. But since a friend, well, sometimes for friends we don't really kira kira....

crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 12:33 AM

12,047 posts

Some dogs are very choosy... sometimes it takes a long time just to find the right brand. So far I am quite happy with the mixture of Orijen and California Natural.

If everything fails, you may need to mix Ceasar into the food in the end but just add like a teaspoon for flavour.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 01:19 AM

12,047 posts

Yes but the food will spoil if not finished in 3 days..... so why waste? Just don't let your dog start on wetfood and it should be fine. If picky, let it learn to be not picky.... wetfood introduced can make situations worst only so don't allow it to happen.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 01:30 AM

12,047 posts

Hahah... I would only advice mixing wet food as a last resort only.... but it can be troublesome coz if don't finish means have to throw away... and yes, it can lead to diarrhea if the food is not finished fast(within an hour) or kept too long in the fridge.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 01:47 AM

12,047 posts

If treats, the best is the biscuit type.... those gel or jerky type got salt, sugar and preservatives and dunno what kind of flavouring. Normally I get IAMS biscuits as treats but that is like once a blue moon hahahah.... but there are so many better brands to choose lah. Biscuit type is good coz crunchy, it can help clean the teeth too. Greenies once a while is ok. You go Pet Safari and see, got many nice biscuit types with all kinds of prices.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 01:51 AM

12,047 posts

You can train Hugo using the dogfood.... but say if he doesn't respond with dogfood, train with toys... if this also fail, use treats. Make sure the treats are small coz you want him to feel the taste and get excited over it rather than eat till full. I normally buy the biscuits, then break into small pieces. Each time successful trick, 1 small piece. Now I turn to fruits coz my Chelsea likes apples and carrots hahahah. Only give treats when your dog has done something you want it to do. So later, Hugo will remember that he will get a tasty reward when he behaves well.

Added on June 21, 2007, 1:54 am
QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jun 21 2007, 01:51 AM)
ohh.. then those meaty type not good lo.. they sure look tasty!! hehehe
i'll buy biscuit type for them.. greenies once a month.. ok ?

err abit confusing here.. the "biscuits" u talking about is those dog food kibbles or those "biscuits" for treats wan?
hehe paiseh.. i juz wan to make sure wad i can giv the best for hugo.
Dogfood is called kibble... the treats I call biscuits coz they are bigger hahahah.... kibble small mah. But you train first use kibble... if he can be train using kibble then you keep doing it loh. If say he don't like the kibble as treats, then you get those doggy biscuits.
Hahaha... Hugo will sure be well loved by you. Yups, give what is best for him. I know those treats are so tempting.... I also bought before last time but after realizing what is inside ah.... to me the biscuit ones are healthier than those meat looking ones. Also, those holistic treats are mostly biscuit too.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jun 21 2007, 01:54 AM
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 02:30 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jun 21 2007, 02:10 AM)
Ok.. Everything noted.. i actually saved all the information to microsoft word in case i 4gotten, coz im 4getful.. Thanks for all the guide u'd given me..

Added on June 21, 2007, 2:12 amer .. haha how do i know if he can be trained using kibble? lol..

Added on June 21, 2007, 2:14 amare holistic biscuits stated on the biscuit box anot? lol
i dunoe how to choose lol.
but if the box there got state holistic.. then i'll know.
Wah, you saved everything? Good wor... heheheh....

If you have time, best you bake your own treats heheh... but of course you must find the right recipe. I think I posted one good recipe somewhere....

Well, you train him with kibbles first. If he eats them after he do something good and ask for more, means he likes his kibbles as treats... so no need for you to waste money buy treats hahahah.

Yes, the packets or boxes will have Holistic printed on. Those are the ones with quality hehehehe. But you can use other brands too but make sure you read the ingredients, anything weird like flavourings, colourings, preservatives, gel, offal or corn, just don't buy.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 10:04 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 21 2007, 08:37 PM)
Hun, is california natural okay?
where can i get it from?
it is advisable 2 keep on changing brands of da kibbles?
so far i think i changed 3 in 2 months time d..

eltan, mine goes 2 da vet every month, as jack-jack has eye prob. deworming some say 3 weeks, some say every month.
vaccinations every month for da 1st 3 jabs.
You can get California Natural at Pet Safari also.

Actually, just stick with one brand. Changing brands may affect in your dog's stool being soft, also it is not so good for their tummies.

Added on June 21, 2007, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(eltan @ Jun 21 2007, 03:22 PM)
oh...sorry i dont know how to choose dogfood.
whats wrong with pedigree n alpo?

those nice brands only in petshops and clinics right?
how mch do i need to feed/ day? one handful?
Pedigree and Alpo... erm... imagine it as McD... everyday you eat McD for 3 meals a day is it healthy? It is about the same.... Pedigree and Alpo are very low in quality.... they spend all their money on advertisements so that is why it is known but they don't use good ingredients. All full of colourings and flavourings and body parts instead of real meat. Also it has loads of corn cereal, which will make your dog shit more.

1 handful? That is too little.... read the packaging on the dogfood bag. Each brand of dogfood has their own measurements and weight for dogs according to sizes.... Go with Nutriedge or Acana.... more affordable than Orijen and holistic brands.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jun 21 2007, 10:15 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 07:26 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 22 2007, 04:38 PM)
my silky can finish stick bones quite fast. except for those white color stick types..when its wet it gets like sticky? i wonder it's good for the stomach or not
Those are rawhides.... well, they aren't very good coz it can get stuck in the gut if a dog swallows it whole. Also rawhide uses alot of preservatives...

My dogs all get nylon bones to chew and hard dog biscuits and fruits for treats.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 08:14 PM

12,047 posts

If you hand feed your dogs, it can become a habit. Chelsea was like that at one stage. So I let her starve, then she got the message and now eats on her own.

Eaglepack is a good brand but I guess your Casper don't like the taste.... this is common coz dogfoods, especially the dry kind have little flavour but smells good. The wet food has more flavour and smell, which makes the dog wants more.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 09:22 PM

12,047 posts

We should not grow soft on dogs lah.... you must teach them who is boss.... if you feed him using your hand, the dog can be more stubborn coz he thinks he is alpha male coz you keep babying him. Handfeeding and pampering is quite bad lah for a dog's development stage. I know you love them but you must teach them.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 09:32 PM

12,047 posts

Your pup needs to exercise. Bring out to have long walks.... a 1km walk will do him good. Normally dogs which are more energetic will have better appetite.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 11:56 PM

12,047 posts

Actually, choosing a dogfood brand don't need to look at those reviews.... read the ingredients to judge. Those reviews were done by a few researchers and they are comparing it to many other brands we do not find here.

Super Premium brands and Holistic brands usually have similar pricing.... not much difference. It is just that super premium brands use soy or corn or wheat while holistic doesn't contain those.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 23 2007, 02:58 AM

12,047 posts

Wetfood is those canned or packeted.... like Ceasar, Pedigree can.... anything that is wet, looks like luncheon meat/spam and stuff that comes out of a can or packet is considered wet food.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 23 2007, 05:06 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 23 2007, 12:04 PM)
Oic, now I know. Thanks for the explaination Hun.
Hahaha... I didnt feed my Westie with a lot of wet food la. So far we only tried Caesar but that's also like once every fortnight for taste. Most small dogs are very picky ones.

Hollistic dog biscuit? I think I better go with fruits la, cheaper. But then most fruits are acidic and it could be harmful to them if given too much. I will just try the nylon bone thing and then sure he will bite until koyak rabak. Is it dangerous if he telan the nylons?

Your sentence how the hell im not sure i myself is married or not.. duhz.. shakehead.gif means what ah? You are married or you are not married? Confusing betul...
Oooo... cepatnya nak advance. Oh well, Moderators has their privileges. Hahaha.. Kidding!
Yups, small breeds are usually picky.... I guess your Casper already know kibbles with Ceasar taste nicer hahahah.

Fruits and vegie are good treats.... well, you don't feed oranges and anything else sour. Apples, pear, melon is good enough.... carrots too if your dog likes it.

Get a nylon bone. Perfectly safe. The plastic is hard so your Casper can't really bite off and swallow.... Also, if he does bite off, I'm sure they are the size of grains of rice or small little kibble size pieces. If swallowed, it can be past out easily in their poo. My dogs have had their nylon bones since young.... oldest nylon bone is like 6 years hahaha.... but my dogs 7 years old lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 24 2007, 02:17 AM

12,047 posts

Both my Lab and Boxer are neutered..... fat or not? Already 7 years old ... neutered and spayed 6 years ago... All that grow fat part is all a myth. If you pamper, give more than enough food and never bring the dog for exercise or never play with it, sure become fat lah, be it neutered or not.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 24 2007, 02:31 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 23 2007, 09:03 PM)
i bought a nylon bone previously when i got jack-jack. he actually play wif it till its like so dirty, so had 2 throw away. how u manage 2 keep da nylon bone for them for so long, hun?
Dirty? Wah... what kind you buy lah? LOL.... mine all, chewed alot... if dirty i just soak overnight in a bucket of water and use a brush and soap to scrub it clean loh.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jun 23 2007, 10:56 PM)
kakaka. lol.. paiseh. i also wan to buy nylon bones.. is it available in any petshop? how much is it ?
Not every petshop has.... I don't think Pet Safari sells them but i saw Pet family had it before.... I got mine from Petsmore.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 24 2007, 08:17 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 24 2007, 07:20 PM)
How do you shower your dog's face? My groomer tells me its ok to shower the face because often when dogs go swimming, they will just jump into the water with everything wet. On the contrary, I am worried Casper's ears get infection.

So, how exactly do you guys do it? I just hold his fur around the jaw tight tight, put in cotton balls to the ears, cover one, spray one side. Then I let go of that ear and cover the other ear, spray the other side but really I dont have that many hands to scrub or anything and his fur around his face is turning yellow.

So how exactly should we do it? Any guidelines, advice on the proper way?
You can wash the face but as for showering, you would need to lower your dog's head so the water doesn't get into the nose. Dogs hate it when water gets into their nose. Firstly, washing the face is easy if you use baby tearless shampoo. It is safer, tearless means it won't irritate the eyes. Just use your fingers to scrub. Don't worry about shampoo getting into the eyes, baby shampoo is very safe since it won't cause harm to babies. For me, I'll hold my dog's muzzle and lower her head in an angle so that when I shower, the water drips downwards and won't enter her nose. Another way is getting a bucket of water and a small cup to pour the water slowly at the areas you wanna wash out the shampoo. Some people would use wet cloths but it won't 100% get rid of all shampoo residue.

If you want to whiten the face, you can get hold of BioGroom's whitening shampoo, it is tearless. Not all of BioGroom's shampoo are tearless.... so far only a few and one of them is the whitening one.

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0468sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:06 PM