20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Asset Allocation Investing using US ETF, Basic approach to asset Allocation ETF

wongmunkeong
post Aug 2 2014, 07:24 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Hapeng @ Aug 2 2014, 06:35 AM)
Just for everyone's info, Hong Leong foreign share trading only does NYSE Nasdaq and Amex.
So if you want VOO which is on ARCA, go for another broker.
er.. online platform yes, U are right.
For ARCA buys, if one is one HLeB - one can just call / traditional-style
Of course best if can do online la but if one has limited resources (ie. no US stock a/c or SG stock a/c that can do US), why not
Just sharing notworthy.gif
Hapeng
post Aug 2 2014, 08:05 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 2 2014, 07:24 AM)
er.. online platform yes, U are right.
For ARCA buys, if one is one HLeB - one can just call / traditional-style
Of course best if can do online la but if one has limited resources (ie. no US stock a/c or SG stock a/c that can do US), why not
Just sharing  notworthy.gif
eh reli?
thank u sifu!
guy3288
post Aug 2 2014, 09:02 AM

5,894 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 2 2014, 06:41 AM)
Folks,

1) Please note that just because you open an A/C using US address, it does not mean you cannot change your address later to somewhere else in the world.

2) Almost statement can be sent electronically.  For most of my A/C, I do not receive anything in the mail anyhow.

Dreamer
This is good news, then i just wonder why have that condition that disallow malaysian addresses ........

Why include such a 'loose condition' to control when people can easily avoid.......

Malaysian govt tried to stop us investing in US??
US brokers do not want malaysian moneys?

Surely the malaysian govt can do better than such lousy loose condition to control us.......
or are there some hidden sticks that the govt can use later on for such accounts?

This post has been edited by guy3288: Aug 2 2014, 09:03 AM
Hapeng
post Aug 2 2014, 09:27 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 2 2014, 09:02 AM)
This is good news, then i  just wonder why have that condition that disallow malaysian addresses ........

Why include such a 'loose condition' to control when people can easily avoid.......

Malaysian govt tried to stop us investing in US??
US brokers do not want malaysian moneys?
Surely the malaysian govt can do better than such lousy loose condition to control us.......
or are there some hidden sticks that the govt can use later on for such accounts?
maybe money laundering concerns?
wongmunkeong
post Aug 2 2014, 10:40 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Hapeng @ Aug 2 2014, 09:27 AM)
maybe money laundering concerns?
Yup, AMLA issues +fraud - Malusia is very infamous.
Now it seems trainers of terrorists too doh.gif which i personally find funny - may training ground for those that are stupid enough to blow themselves up gua but REAL training shakehead.gif ?

I digress. Back to topic.
When i opened OptionXpress a/c with their SG branch last Nov/Dec 2013 - got through
However when i wanted to get onto Think or Swim (bought over by TD Ameritrade) a/c with their SG branch - was told to hold on as their US HQ had issues with Malusians, Indonesians, etc. cry.gif

langstrasse
post Aug 2 2014, 11:06 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,589 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 2 2014, 10:40 AM)
Yup, AMLA issues +fraud - Malusia is very infamous.
Now it seems trainers of terrorists too  doh.gif which i personally find funny - may training ground for those that are stupid enough to blow themselves up gua but REAL training  shakehead.gif ?

I digress. Back to topic.
When i opened OptionXpress a/c with their SG branch last Nov/Dec 2013 - got through
However when i wanted to get onto Think or Swim (bought over by TD Ameritrade) a/c with their SG branch - was told to hold on as their US HQ had issues with Malusians, Indonesians, etc.  cry.gif
So the only way around this is to find a friend/relative staying in a country in the "approved countries list" and to use their address?
wongmunkeong
post Aug 2 2014, 11:14 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Aug 2 2014, 11:06 AM)
So the only way around this is to find a friend/relative staying in a country in the "approved countries list" and to use their address?
Yes, perhaps like what dreamer shared.
However, since i was lucky (already have an OX account), i'll play with time to do it "properly" - don't want kaka to happen somehow later.
That's just me - chicken little sweat.gif
Hapeng
post Aug 2 2014, 06:57 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 2 2014, 11:14 AM)
Yes, perhaps like what dreamer shared.
However, since i was lucky (already have an OX account), i'll play with time to do it "properly" - don't want kaka to happen somehow later.
That's just me - chicken little  sweat.gif
better safe than sorry
for now i'll stick to HLB and will be calling them on monday for the VOO shares.
TSdreamer101
post Aug 2 2014, 07:50 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Hapeng @ Aug 2 2014, 06:57 PM)
better safe than sorry
for now i'll stick to HLB and will be calling them on monday for the VOO shares.
Hapeng,

In investing, do whatever that you feel comfortable in.

Dreamer
SUSMNet
post Aug 2 2014, 08:08 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 1 2014, 09:11 PM)
guy3288,

Come on.. If somebody tell you that you cannot open A/C using address from Malaysia, isn't it OBVIOUS that you should open A/C using address not from Malaysia.  For example, an address in USA??

Do not let education spoil your brain.  LEARN to THINK creatively.

Dreamer
Come on learn to think more deeper.

What if after u use the fake address then the brokerage need to verify your identity such as social security number? ID number? IC number?

Are you gonna fake that using Photoshop?
TSdreamer101
post Aug 2 2014, 10:19 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 2 2014, 08:08 PM)

What if after u use the fake address then the brokerage need to verify your identity such as social security number? ID number? IC number?

MNet,

<< What if after u use the fake address then the brokerage need to verify your identity such as social security number? ID number? IC number?>>

1) Why a person need to use FAKE address??

2) Did you ever try to open an A/C to begin with?? If NO, why do you THINK that they verify those things to begin with?? Or, they ask for those information to begin with??

<<Come on learn to think more deeper.>>

3) In all other countries, you can download the form or check online. They tell you PRECISELY what you need to open an A/C.

4) Ditto in all other countries, they tell you PRECISELY what information that they will verify and penalty in falsifying anything.

5) If you are INTERESTED, do your RESEARCH.

Dreamer
langstrasse
post Aug 3 2014, 09:09 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,589 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 2 2014, 08:08 PM)

Easiest would still be to find a friend/relative overseas and use their address ma. The fake address thing seems not a good idea to me.

Comeon la, we're Malaysians, with all the brain drain going on almost everyone knows someone who is abroad lol.
SUSMNet
post Aug 3 2014, 09:00 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 2 2014, 10:19 PM)
MNet,

<< What if after u use the fake address then the brokerage need to verify your identity such as social security number? ID number? IC number?>>

1) Why a person need to use FAKE address??

2) Did you ever try to open an A/C to begin with?? If NO, why do you THINK that they verify those things to begin with??  Or, they ask for those information to begin with??

<<Come on learn to think more deeper.>>

3) In all other countries, you can download the form or check online.  They tell you PRECISELY what you need to open an A/C. 

4) Ditto in all other countries, they tell you PRECISELY what information that they will verify and penalty in falsifying anything.

5) If you are INTERESTED, do your RESEARCH.

Dreamer
Yea im using regulated broker they did request every client to proof of identity.

What broker u use? Did ur broker regulated by finra?They don't request for ur ID verification?
Hapeng
post Aug 5 2014, 09:01 AM

1,031 posts

a little off topic here, has anyone attended Berkshire Hathaway's annual meeting before? aka woodstock for capitalists
ideoteque
post Aug 6 2014, 11:21 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(Hapeng @ Aug 4 2014, 08:01 PM)
a little off topic here, has anyone attended Berkshire Hathaway's annual meeting before? aka woodstock for capitalists
Cant afford even a share of BRK-B. How many shares must you own to get a ticket to Omaha, tho?
Hapeng
post Aug 6 2014, 11:26 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(ideoteque @ Aug 6 2014, 11:21 AM)
Cant afford even a share of BRK-B. How many shares must you own to get a ticket to Omaha, tho?
1 is enough.
its about USD 177 per share bro..
kaiserwulf
post Aug 7 2014, 10:56 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 11 2013, 02:39 PM)
For those who are interested in ETF... but worry about trading cost and 30% withholding tax ton dividends there are ways to avoid this.

Buy offshore US ETF listed in SGX and HKEX, you will not be charged the 30% withholding tax since both countries have no tax on dividends. You choices are more limited, but you can still find the most of the more popular ETF's.

Also a lot of broker have commission free trades on US ETF, this might be able to offset your witholding tax. Then sell your holdings before dividend and re-buy ex-dividend once the price is adjusted. Otherwise don't bother (like me) as most US ETF dividend is <3%.

Or you can buy Offshore Vanguard funds , as non-US resident but the minimum purchase is $10,000.
Thanks gark. Good tip.
SUSMNet
post Aug 8 2014, 08:32 AM

11,954 posts

30% withholding tax

If sell share profit USD100, then need pay US Gov USD30 ?
Hapeng
post Aug 8 2014, 11:47 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 8 2014, 08:32 AM)
30% withholding tax

If sell share profit USD100, then need pay US Gov USD30 ?
only on dividends i think
SUSMNet
post Aug 23 2014, 10:38 PM

11,954 posts

Why these "since inception" return is different?

Supposingly the iShares U.S. Healthcare Providers ETF will yield more higher % compare to Vanguard FTSE All-World ex-US Small-Cap ETF ?

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snap...ntExt=INT#tab=1

http://www.ishares.com/us/products/239510/...e-providers-etf

20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:23 PM