Hair styling products

TSnick67
post Jun 8 2013, 03:36 PM, updated 13y ago

What?
1,501 posts

Been searching around the forums, but most of it are just bits and pieces of info.

I'm looking for a new hair product but very confused when I went to the shop just now. The sales lady wasn't much help because she don't really know the different effects of the products.

Looking at the Osis line, I was wondering the difference of the wax, gum, clay etc. I told her I wanted to achieve a dry look that has good hold yet looks natural and she recommended Osis wax. Thing is, I had lousy experience with wax product. I was using one from Loreal if I'm not wrong and the effect wasn't quite nice. It doesn't hold long and my hair just ends up looking weird and oily after a while. I threw away the bottle after few uses.

Anyone here know the difference in those types?
jonny4
post Jun 9 2013, 01:10 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 8 2013, 03:36 PM)
Been searching around the forums, but most of it are just bits and pieces of info.

I'm looking for a new hair product but very confused when I went to the shop just now. The sales lady wasn't much help because she don't really know the different effects of the products.

Looking at the Osis line, I was wondering the difference of the wax, gum, clay etc. I told her I wanted to achieve a dry look that has good hold yet looks natural and she recommended Osis wax. Thing is, I had lousy experience with wax product. I was using one from Loreal if I'm not wrong and the effect wasn't quite nice. It doesn't hold long and my hair just ends up looking weird and oily after a while. I threw away the bottle after few uses.

Anyone here know the difference in those types?
Flexwax ?

Flexwax is pretty good. holds pretty well yet can be restyles many times. doesn't give a dry look though. its more of a natural healthy shine type of look if u use a moderate amount. but if u intend to spike ur hair den Flexwax wont be really suitable.

Mess Up Gum could be another option but the hold is kinda weak. this one is really matte n dry. but if ur hair is thick n coarse like mine den better dun use Mess Up coz mess up tends to give hair volume. Mess Up only works for me fresh after a haircut...after 2 weeks when my hair gets thick Mess Up is really difficult to use.

Overall Osis products dun give the best hold but offers restylability. i usually need to use a lil hairspray after applying Osis products.

The Loreal one with the red cap ? extreme something ? that one is horrible. really oily n takes days to wash out fr hair. i used it 3 times n threw it away.
TSnick67
post Jun 9 2013, 05:38 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jun 9 2013, 01:10 PM)
Flexwax ?

Flexwax is pretty good. holds pretty well yet can be restyles many times. doesn't give a dry look though. its more of a natural healthy shine type of look if u use a moderate amount. but if u intend to spike ur hair den Flexwax wont be really suitable.

Mess Up Gum could be another option but the hold is kinda weak. this one is really matte n dry. but if ur hair is thick n coarse like mine den better dun use Mess Up coz mess up tends to give hair volume. Mess Up only works for me fresh after a haircut...after 2 weeks when my hair gets thick Mess Up is really difficult to use.

Overall Osis products dun give the best hold but offers restylability. i usually need to use a lil hairspray after applying Osis products.

The Loreal one with the red cap ? extreme something ? that one is horrible. really oily n takes days to wash out fr hair. i used it 3 times n threw it away.
Yep the name was flexwax.

I don't intend to spike my hair. It's more like a side parting but my fringe area is left pretty long, so have to kind of slick it backwards to the side. Maybe I should try the flexwax.

I think it was fibre gum, in a small cylindrical bottle.

May I know which spray do you find good? I had this one from gatsby. A silver colored bottle which says strong hold. This one hardens my hair quite a bit and when I wash it I can see hair falling out.

Yeah, it's the extreme loreal one. I hate it so much because when the weather is hot or when I sweat I can feel it all over my forehead, and it causes pimples like mad.

There's so many osis product and I got confused. Didn't really want to randomly buy because its quite costly. I saw the price tag RM60+ each bottle before discount. BTW you really know your osis products tongue.gif
jonny4
post Jun 9 2013, 07:14 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 9 2013, 05:38 PM)
Yep the name was flexwax.

I don't intend to spike my hair. It's more like a side parting but my fringe area is left pretty long, so have to kind of slick it backwards to the side. Maybe I should try the flexwax.

I think it was fibre gum, in a small cylindrical bottle.

May I know which spray do you find good? I had this one from gatsby. A silver colored bottle which says strong hold. This one hardens my hair quite a bit and when I wash it I can see hair falling out.

Yeah, it's the extreme loreal one. I hate it so much because when the weather is hot or when I sweat I can feel it all over my forehead, and it causes pimples like mad.

There's so many osis product and I got confused. Didn't really want to randomly buy because its quite costly. I saw the price tag RM60+ each bottle before discount. BTW you really know your osis products  tongue.gif
I think Flexwax will suit ur hairstyle. even though the control level is 4, a bit of spray is still needed. Im using Osis Session hair spray. its pretty good coz it holds well without looking too stiff.

fibre gum i think more suited for wavy or curly hair. i tried using b4 n it made my hair too wet. separates hair too much n i couldn't get any shape.

neva buy Osis products at full retail price. u can always get discounts at salons or salon supply shops all the time. Flexwax cost me only RM34 n u can get even cheaper at other shops.

I tried quite a few Osis products dats y biggrin.gif but only Flexwax n to a certain extent Mess Up worked for me. the rest a bit meh la.
Pmc
post Jun 9 2013, 07:28 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

im also looking for replacement for my gatsby.. can't tahan liao.. very hard to wash out and i realize my hair fall more frequent also.. i'm using the purple color wax, and pink color hairspray..

from ur explanation, mess up gum would be suitable, pairing with another hairspray which would not create the shiny wet look. that'd be perfect.

what you think?
TSnick67
post Jun 9 2013, 08:33 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jun 9 2013, 07:14 PM)
I think Flexwax will suit ur hairstyle. even though the control level is 4, a bit of spray is still needed. Im using Osis Session hair spray. its pretty good coz it holds well without looking too stiff.

fibre gum i think more suited for wavy or curly hair. i tried using b4 n it made my hair too wet. separates hair too much n i couldn't get any shape.

neva buy Osis products at full retail price. u can always get discounts at salons or salon supply shops all the time. Flexwax cost me only RM34 n u can get even cheaper at other shops.

I tried quite a few Osis products dats y  biggrin.gif  but only Flexwax n to a certain extent Mess Up worked for me. the rest a bit meh la.
Thanks for the info and recommendation. Asking you is better than asking the sales lady man seriously.

May I know how much you paid for Session spray? I didn't know retail and discounted value almost 50% difference!

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 9 2013, 07:28 PM)
im also looking for replacement for my gatsby.. can't tahan liao.. very hard to wash out and i realize my hair fall more frequent also.. i'm using the purple color wax, and pink color hairspray..

from ur explanation, mess up gum would be suitable, pairing with another hairspray which would not create the shiny wet look. that'd be perfect.

what you think?
My gatsby is the hair spray type. I tried their moving rubber also but didn't like the effect. Anyway I think jonny4 is a better person to answer your question. Seems like he tried many products already tongue.gif
jonny4
post Jun 9 2013, 08:51 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 9 2013, 07:28 PM)

what you think?
Only if ur hair is on the softer side n not thick. if not ur hair will clump up..matte effect doesn't look very nice on thick coarse hair. i ended up having super saiyan hair coz i applied too much Mess Up. i tried applying less but there will be no hold. Mess Up also pretty hard to wash out. similar to gatsby in that aspect.

I usually pair Mess Up with Osis Session hairspray. it works but only if my hair has been recently cut. by d 3rd week Mess Up ends up makin my hair clump together and i have to go back to Flexwax.

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 9 2013, 08:33 PM)
Thanks for the info and recommendation. Asking you is better than asking the sales lady man seriously.

May I know how much you paid for Session spray? I didn't know retail and discounted value almost 50% difference!
My gatsby is the hair spray type. I tried their moving rubber also but didn't like the effect. Anyway I think jonny4 is a better person to answer your question. Seems like he tried many products already  tongue.gif
no prob man

IIRC i paid RM60 for the hairspray...could have gotten it cheaper but i was lazy to travel. but its a big 500ml can. there is a cheaper smaller 300ml also. but look at the control level properly...there is a level 2 also but called something else n d packaging is identical

Usually on the Osis packaging there will be a price sticker indicating the recommended max retail price. usually 40% discount is normal. sometimes if u lucky can get 50% or more or a buy one free one deal.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 9 2013, 08:52 PM
Pmc
post Jun 9 2013, 10:41 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jun 9 2013, 08:51 PM)
Only if ur hair is on the softer side n not thick. if not ur hair will clump up..matte effect doesn't look very nice on thick coarse hair. i ended up having super saiyan hair coz i applied too much Mess Up. i tried applying less but there will be no hold. Mess Up also pretty hard to wash out. similar to gatsby in that aspect.

I usually pair Mess Up with Osis Session hairspray. it works but only if my hair has been recently cut. by d 3rd week Mess Up ends up makin my hair clump together and i have to go back to Flexwax.
no prob man

IIRC i paid RM60 for the hairspray...could have gotten it cheaper but i was lazy to travel. but its a big 500ml can. there is a cheaper smaller 300ml also. but look at the control level properly...there is a level 2 also but called something else n d packaging is identical

Usually on the Osis packaging there will be a price sticker indicating the recommended max retail price. usually 40% discount is normal. sometimes if u lucky can get 50% or more or a buy one free one deal.
if its hard to wash also then defeats the purpose of me changing the wax.. my stylist recommend me the wax he's using, it really easy to wash, but holding power lacking, still need hairspray.
jonny4
post Jun 9 2013, 10:55 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 9 2013, 10:41 PM)
if its hard to wash also then defeats the purpose of me changing the wax.. my stylist recommend me the wax he's using, it really easy to wash, but holding power lacking, still need hairspray.
i think hairspray is a must if u want ur hairstyle shape to last more den a few. the humidity really destroys hairstyles.
Pmc
post Jun 9 2013, 11:38 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jun 9 2013, 10:55 PM)
i think hairspray is a must if u want ur hairstyle shape to last more den a few. the humidity really destroys hairstyles.
yea.. but not easy to find those that can hold strong, doesnt look wet/shiny and easy 2 clean off
TSnick67
post Jun 12 2013, 10:16 AM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 9 2013, 11:38 PM)
yea.. but not easy to find those that can hold strong, doesnt look wet/shiny and easy 2 clean off
Bro, just want to let you know I bought the flexwax already. It is definitely not very shiny compared to my previous wax. It's actually quite a dry look especially when compared to my previous wax which is super oily. Overall I'm happy with my purchase.

Thanks jonny4!
Pmc
post Jun 12 2013, 02:16 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 12 2013, 10:16 AM)
Bro, just want to let you know I bought the flexwax already. It is definitely not very shiny compared to my previous wax. It's actually quite a dry look especially when compared to my previous wax which is super oily. Overall I'm happy with my purchase.

Thanks jonny4!
easy 2 clean bro? but my hair just wax wont be enough for whole day.. lol.. if got wind blow then gone d
TSnick67
post Jun 12 2013, 02:23 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 12 2013, 02:16 PM)
easy 2 clean bro? but my hair just wax wont be enough for whole day.. lol.. if got wind blow then gone d
Yeah quite easy to clean with shampoo. But it kinda dries on my hands pretty fast and just plain water feels like not enough to wash it out and have to use a little soap. Other than that it's good.

The hold is ok la. I bought the spray as well cause my hair is kinda soft and wax alone can't hold it up for long.
Pmc
post Jun 12 2013, 05:04 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 12 2013, 02:23 PM)
Yeah quite easy to clean with shampoo. But it kinda dries on my hands pretty fast and just plain water feels like not enough to wash it out and have to use a little soap. Other than that it's good.

The hold is ok la. I bought the spray as well cause my hair is kinda soft and wax alone can't hold it up for long.
also osis spray? can see pic ah whistling.gif whistling.gif
TSnick67
post Jun 12 2013, 06:31 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 12 2013, 05:04 PM)
also osis spray? can see pic ah  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
lol its called session spray don't think you can mistaken it hahah.
TSnick67
post Jun 12 2013, 08:18 PM

What?
1,501 posts

jonny4
post Jun 12 2013, 09:28 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 12 2013, 06:31 PM)
lol its called session spray don't think you can mistaken it hahah.
how much u paid for the Flexwax and Session ? where u bought it from ?

my Flexwax running out soon.

The hold of Flexwax can be quite good if u apply the correct amount. too much will make the hair limp n weight down. try to experimenting with the amount u apply.
Pmc
post Jun 12 2013, 09:47 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

yeah wanna know the price too.. hardly see osis here.. maybe need to walk in saloon..
TSnick67
post Jun 12 2013, 11:49 PM

What?
1,501 posts

I paid about RM80 for them both from a shampoo shop in SS2 mall. The spray is the small one though.
Pmc
post Jun 13 2013, 10:07 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

bought mine d.. flexwax was at rm 34.. but i kena con on the session hairspray.. which i bought at rm42, from diff shop.. lol.

0.0230sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:57 PM