V11 - Property Prices Discussion, Intelligent debates only pls

Rooney1985
post Jul 5 2013, 11:03 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Jul 5 2013, 10:19 AM)
Heard flora DAMANSARA still cheap
The group of friends that I mentioned earlier also same thought as u, hope everyone can find cheap.
I really worry them bcos they keep emo recently
Really? yawn.gif

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 6 2013, 10:39 AM

986 posts

Hmmm... Too little too late? Or is this the spark that starts the fire (sales)? Impact of this news in the market will definitely stir some panic selling ... Look out for early bargains... For those with upcoming VPs I think they enjoyed the so called airconditioned coach too long until they missed their stop... Now it's going to be more difficult to find buyers (I.e sell)... I wonder why BNM is doing this... Isn't property prices going up good? Wealth of locals increasing no? What happened to the foreigners coming to buy? Another point to note is... BNM new policy covers PERSONAL loans as well... Hmmm ... Trouble brewing there as well? Seems like he credit crisis is in the horizon... Everyone got their popcorn and drink ready?
Rooney1985
post Jul 9 2013, 04:30 PM

986 posts

yawn.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 9 2013, 05:42 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jul 9 2013, 05:27 PM)
u like it? need it? can afford?  try buy that partial furnish up to 420k. good luck
Not sure where it is... but just looked up some info on the place... I'll offer that fella 320K (start) to 350K (last) take it of leave it. biggrin.gif

Can empty the unit also, I don't put value on furnishings... costs me more to tear it all down... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Jul 9 2013, 05:46 PM
Rooney1985
post Jul 10 2013, 08:52 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(ReenaRina @ Jul 9 2013, 05:12 PM)
Hi. I am looking to buy an apartment in Putramas, dutamas(Segambut), Jalan Ipoh/ Jalan Kuching area. At present I am renting a fully furnished unit for RM 2000/ month in Royal Domain Sri Putramas 2 (Off jalan Kuching). As my budget is well below RM 500k ( only because of the property market of course!)  and most decent apartments in these areas are costing beyond RM 500K including Sri Putramas 2, I am sort of in a serious dilemma especially after BNM’s announcement of capping the loan term as well as percentage given.

1. Will the property market take a slight dip? I am now seriously          hunting for a buy, therefore should I wait or should I just go for it?
2. I have seen a unit in Putramas 1 yesterday. It is 1100 Sqft and fully furnished(decent furnishing) with renovation as well as with 2 car parks. The owner is asking for RM480K. is it worth paying that price for that property.

I hope someone can give me some clear insights on these. Thanks so much!
If you're buying when prices are peaked you're essentially locking in the highest commitment (monthly installment payment) for the next 30-35 years. If the market goes south, you've practically loss on equity as the value of your asset declines... (please also bear in mind... your commitment to the bank is still the same). Yes, the value of your house may return to the value that you purchased it in the future. But what does this all ultimately mean? It means that, if you enter at the highest price, your greatest loss is the opportunity that you would have if you entered at a lower price. This opportunity comes in the form of an earlier upgrade to a better house, basically more funds to do other things instead of just paying of installments.

I hope that helps to give you some clarity and especially a different POV to what others here may preach (i.e. anytime is a good time to buy, you need it, you can afford it, you buy)... I don't like paying for over priced items (i.e. priced way above its value) biggrin.gif

Rooney1985
post Jul 10 2013, 12:09 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(EddyLB @ Jul 10 2013, 11:15 AM)
I could not disagree as all points are valid  thumbup.gif

Notice you also have 4 "ifs" in your comment  laugh.gif  So a lot of uncertainties are involved in property investment. At the end of the day, it is personal judgement and 眼光
3 "ifs" relate the the action of the person... only 1 "if" is in relation to the market... the most important... end of the day you just have to understand both sides of the coin before making your decision... just giving a different POV cos I can see many here always say "anytime is a good time to buy"... which is just one side, and I offer the other.

It doesn't matter how many you picked up yesterday, last year, or in the past 8 - 10 years... .the most important thing is ... NET WEALTH.. no point picking 5 properties and drown in debt... I don't see any sense in that.

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Jul 10 2013, 12:10 PM
Rooney1985
post Jul 10 2013, 12:34 PM

986 posts

600,000 Y for 3 sqm
600,000 Y for 32 sq ft
18,587 Y psf
RM 580 psf

Hmmm.... how many properties here already hit the price?... especially those developed in no-man's land...

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 10 2013, 12:36 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jul 10 2013, 12:29 PM)
It depend on how to see it.
He/she are burning RM2k/mth on rental. In a year, that 24k, around 5% of RM480k of the property intend to purchase.
Should the properties market drop 5%, he still get nothing. But if price stagnant, every year burns 24k wor tongue.gif
Price up lagi jialat sweat.gif
If price up/correction at 20% either end, I think no eye see jor laugh.gif

With loan interest rate at very good packages and he manage to find home sweet home with no problem servicing the loan. I would said, go for it.
We can afford to make a mistake on first home purchase cause normally we can outlive the price correction

Just my 2 cents opinion.
Her problem is simple... she's paying too much rent... nothing to do with the buying at 480K... I think someone mentioned the same point earlier.
Rooney1985
post Jul 12 2013, 10:23 AM

986 posts

Knew a guy back in 94/95... Everything he owned was bought on credit... Not that he didn't have cash but he preferred to take advantage of the availability of credit... Absolutely everything was bought on credit even down to his furniture... The last I heard was he lost everything in 97/98... His business collapsed overnight and within months his cash reserves dried up... His debtors could not be found and his creditors were knocking at his front door... He lost his house, car, furniture, everything... when times were good he was living the life... Happiest man in the world... This is high risk high gain life but could also mean you lose everything when times turn bad and your unprepared... When crisis comes it doesn't differentiate between the poor and the rich... Millionaires who have lived the high flying lifestyles have also lost everything so what's a 6 figure number in the bank account?
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 11:42 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(cockee @ Jul 15 2013, 11:17 AM)
This article is close to what i had been saying in the past few postings..

Highlights:
"Wanting and actually being able to afford your own place are two very different things"

"For example, if both the borrower and the spouse each earns RM5,000, a month, the household income is RM10,000 a month or RM120,000 a year. The value of the house that the household should be looking at purchasing should at most be RM360,000," he explains. "

"Average house prices are RM497,535 in Kuala Lumpur, followed by Sabah and Selangor, with average prices of RM382,414 and RM372,499 respectively"

Conclusion:
1) Affordability has become a real and serious issue. "Got price, but no market"
2) A real disparity and mismatch of pricing (supply) and demand (affordability)

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews...4-437011/3.html
Looks like the window of opportunity for investors to sell and make some profit is about to close shut. Those still on the air-cond coach, its rise and shine time...

Wonder what other new policies BNM going to come up with next... and the mother-of-all changes?... increase interest rates.

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 12:40 PM

986 posts

thumbup.gif Its all for the best thumbup.gif

Those who just entered the market affected, cos they have to pay more interest. Those looking to exit the market also affected cos demand is restricted. Those looking to enter can't get loans BECAUSE asking price too high and they can't secure loan based on higher interest and shorter tenure... 2 outcomes, prices stagnant or go up, end up no transactions OR prices drop and transactions continue... now its just the market adjusting... Intensity of impact dependent on the stubbornness of prices...

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Jul 15 2013, 12:46 PM
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 12:59 PM

986 posts

See those that bought for own stay will be facing higher interest rates (i.e. higher monthly installments) and therefore under pressure to sell if they can't continue paying... Those who bought for investment will see their paper profits diminish as prices remain stagnant (due to lack of demand resulting from peaked out prices and restrictive credit policies) until a point where they are back to square one, break-even... so then the decision is do i exit at a small profit now, or take a gamble and ride out the period of 2, 3 years of continuous monthly payments... Mind you, all this is happening with the possibility that the market is selling like crazy... My view is, these guys are going to exit... Only ones that will hold on to their properties for dear life are those that need a roof over their heads... local demand is shrinking... with more attractive returns from an improving US, foreign investors are going to cash out... hmmm.... but really... is that a trap as well?

whistling.gif

If you think those at RM400psf still okay then please go ahead... that's your decision, others may think RM500psf okay, some RM300psf okay... But I'm greedy, example instead of getting one unit for RM400psf I want 2, at RM200psf... hehe...

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Jul 15 2013, 01:02 PM
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 02:32 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ Jul 15 2013, 02:20 PM)
Blaader, you haven't tell your place where 250k apartment can rent out for 1.5k. PM me la I wanna invest.
Me three, four and five... sounds like a very good deal...

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 03:10 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(clyong @ Jul 15 2013, 03:01 PM)
May I know the monthly commitment will not be change if they did raised the interest but the load payment period will be increase to cover the interest?
Should be stated in your loan/ facility agreement. Bank's have the right to adjust your monthly repayment OR loan tenure OR both. Please bear in mind current tenure cap of 35 years.
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 03:26 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(clyong @ Jul 15 2013, 03:12 PM)
So look like either way also will be a problems to the buyer and affect the market.  blush.gif
nod.gif

I think although those who applied for loans before July 2013 may obtain loan tenures > 35 years... if BLR increases, 110% its going to be pure increase in monthly payments for these loans (i.e. remaining tenure >= 35 years)

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Jul 15 2013, 03:38 PM
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 03:50 PM

986 posts

FYI,

For every 1% increase on 100K loan balance, monthly payment increases by at least RM60 per month (exponential component of 2-3%). So if your loan balance is:

100K and BLR increase 2%, that's additional RM120 per month.
500K and BLR increase 2% (BLR 8.6%), that's additional RM600 per month.
500K and BLR increase 4% (BLR 10.4%), that's additional RM1200 per month.
1M and BLR increase 4%, that's additional RM2,400 per month.

People talk oh 1% I can take it la so small, but painting out the monthly payments gives a clearer picture... no?

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 04:51 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 04:30 PM)
Yup, that's a good point to highlight so those who are planning to go for a property remember to plan the worst out of it. Cause if your loan repayment is rm1.8k today if it shoot up to 10.x% out of the blue.. It will turn out to be rm3.3k.

But Rooney  have you thought. If something as simple as that you could have already thought of what makes you think BNM would not do anything to prevent this from happening? Do you really think they would like to see ppl jumping off KLCC out of a sudden? Do you really think they would want everyone to declare bankrupt and have the nation suffer? Look at Greece la.. 20% unemployment rate but at least when I went there for holiday, ppl are still happily walking around and I don't see any beggars around.. KL street have more if you were to compare..
If it were so easy you'd think UK, Ireland, Spain, Greece all would've prevented what happened to their country and their people... And these are countries that do what they can to look after their people... You think these countries like to see their people going bankrupt, going jobless? They don't have a choice sometimes... but I think these countries have more sympathy for and responsibility towards their people... bolehland.... I think they would sacrifice the mass public first while the elite few cr0nees enjoy the tax payers wealth... I think the coffers all dried up already anyway... You think organisations care about how many people go bankrupt, jump off buildings, sleep on the streets, etc, etc... If they did, we wouldn't have casinos and medicine would be free... Get real its a dog eat dog world... Like someone said earlier... nothing is fair... well the same goes here, if it costs more for Malaysia to borrow, you think they're going to bear that cost for you? Then why even bring up GST in the first place? No body wants to see beggars or people jumping off buildings... BUT at the same time, no one is going to sacrifice their own livelihood so that a stranger doesn't have to go bankrupt.

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Jul 15 2013, 04:51 PM
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 05:26 PM

986 posts

rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

That should expedite the increase of interest rates....

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 05:38 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 05:31 PM)
I like to see how you construct a sentence. Cause all you points were not constructed base on fact... And they were all statement which build base on "I think" ? If those think think think of yours could really happen, then you must be the prime minister or some big shoots pulling the string behind the scene. Stop thinking put your thoughts into action and make it happen.  smile.gif
Relax la, cool down... this is only my opinion.. why you so serious? I'm not pointing at gun at you and insisting you follow and agree to my opinion... you got your opinion then you share... but please don't tell people what to do... I don't know why everyone is so up tight and defensive when others have opinions that are not all rosy... jeez...

Btw, your points are not constructed based on facts either biggrin.gif Its good to reflect on yourself before criticising others...

Anyway, i was just sharing if you think RM400psf is still a good buy then by all means, best of luck...

whistling.gif
Rooney1985
post Jul 15 2013, 07:07 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 05:47 PM)
Paid the money already. lol. Yeah man I need a little of luck the rest is all up to me on what I'm gonna do next. My points are constructed on series of events which had already happened. Rooney, I don't predict the future thus I'm not gonna talk much about what I think would happen in the future. The only part I do agree with you is on the sentiment that greedy people is all around and price are going up way above means. Whether it will boom or not? I can't tell but I do think by 2015 it might happen. -This is my thought- again it's base on the trending on how the property prices are shooting up.

But if you are saying properties are cold at the moment... I could not agree on this point. I've spent approx. 3 - 4 weeks cold calling agents for Condo which is RM350k and below and to my surprise there is nothing good. I wish I could buy another unit of Puri Ayu Condo and get it renovated nicely but unfortunately the going price is just too high.. RM350k and above and yet only 1 car park lot... I would not want to buy a unit which was bought at rm250k for rm350k today.
I think you made some good points above... Yea current price trend is up, but future price don't depend solely on historical data... If that's the case it'll always be up... Even you don't want to buy a unit that is priced almost 50% more in what 2yrs? Or less? If you have that mindset, what do you think others are thinking? It takes time for buyers to accept price increase until affordability kicks in that's when even if they accept they can't afford it... On the flip side, it takes time for seller to accept that majority can't afford their prices or are unwilling to accept that price to value... I'm not saying property market is cold I saying there's a stand off now... Either people can't afford it or they can't accept it... Those that accepted it and can afford it are already in... And there's only one way left for prices that's down lest foreigners stry buying up or owners can keep holding on... This is my opinion...

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0516sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:41 PM