what accessories do you need?
i saw my car has a slot called AUX, under the cigarette lighter. Is it supposed to use that slot to connect iPod?
How to listen iPod in car?, Of course not using your earphone..
Apr 30 2006, 01:09 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
427 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Is there anyone know how to connect your iPod (my case, iPod-video) in your car?
what accessories do you need? i saw my car has a slot called AUX, under the cigarette lighter. Is it supposed to use that slot to connect iPod? |
Apr 30 2006, 01:13 PM
62 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
U can try using Fm transmitter... but the quality not so good la.. almost the same like u listen to radio..
Apr 30 2006, 01:44 PM
56 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(uchan @ Apr 30 2006, 01:09 PM) Is there anyone know how to connect your iPod (my case, iPod-video) in your car? If your car's stereo got AUX inputs, congrats! Connecting your iPod to ur car would cost the least this way. Most cars' AUX inputs are RCA jacks. It's best to confirm with the user manual.what accessories do you need? i saw my car has a slot called AUX, under the cigarette lighter. Is it supposed to use that slot to connect iPod? Get 1 Headphone to RCA stereo cable, go to your trusted car audio accessories shop, and ask them to connect to the AUX jacks. The sound quality is more than reasonable if you use the headphone jacks. You can crank the volume up to max (from the iPod, i mean) and there'll be no distortion at all. Otherwise, you can buy a Dock to Stereo RCA (alpine has one, i think) and use that instead. The last i check it's more than RM100. Good luck! |
Apr 30 2006, 03:11 PM
2,394 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bristol, UK |
There's this equipment.. a tape, connected to your iPod by a port.
The tape goes into your tape player (if you have one), and then the cord links it up. Quality is quite good. Here's a few links : https://secure.tryandbyte.com.au/shop/shop1270.html http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebO...nMore=T4332LL/A |
Apr 30 2006, 05:34 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
The first link is expensive wooh...
Just go kedai audio, and ask them. It's really cheap, only RM25. |
Apr 30 2006, 06:51 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
1) aux input on your cd player
2) fm transmitter 3) cassete adapter 4) ipod adapter - for kenwood, pioneer and alpine player 5) amplifier with aux input? ( not sure) |
Apr 30 2006, 09:20 PM
7 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Direct connection thr' the IPOD headphone jack will reduced the sound quality as the headphone jack hole is for your headphone (as the name suggest)..so I would recommend you to get an original IPOD Universal Dock (cost less than RM200). The Universal Dock makes a convenient home base or in your case, your car radio with AUX . The S-video port lets you connect iPod to a TV (via optional standard AV cable) to play photo slideshows and video. If you have a LCD panel installed in your car..then WOWO..you may used the remote control to view music video in your car. I used to do that.....
Apr 30 2006, 09:26 PM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
i mod the cassette player for direct line in
Apr 30 2006, 09:54 PM
7 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Ho Liao...That's great....I connect my IPOD direct to the AUX in my car via the Universal Dock....looks Okay on my SUV...but I guess if SONY or JVC could have a set with direct ipod connect will be deeeemmm good lah...
Apr 30 2006, 11:54 PM
if u r ICE fella, u can consider Alpine & MonsterCable's iPod connector. google for their spec.
May 1 2006, 03:29 AM
Alpine has a dedicated Dock to RCA cable, which is >RM100. One accessories shop quoted me RM200++, which i think is ridiculous. (hey, one mans music is another man's noise..
Try the headphone to RCA 1st. It's the most affordable option. If you're not satisfied with it, it'd be only RM10 off your pocket. You guys are danm lucky to have AUX in or iPod ready systems in ur car. I still gotta live with a redundant 6-CD changer. |
May 1 2006, 09:23 AM
May 1 2006, 10:37 AM
5,005 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: A galaxy far, far away... |
Wasn't there an article in TechPlus (NST) or InTech (The Star) the other day mentioning something about the iPod car audio thingy? I think that's the one that will be progressively introduced as a built-in feature in new car models (Ford and BMW are just two of them)...
Wonder how much does it cost to have it installed in your current vehicle? |
May 1 2006, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(wei @ May 1 2006, 09:23 AM) That thing has to go with a CD-Changer ready Alpine head unit right? I mean, it cant be used with just any other head unit right? It's gonna be a RM400++ add-on just for the interface...I'm just trying to help the guy since he already mentioned that his stereo already has AUX in. What i meant was something like this. ![]() This post has been edited by kennee: May 1 2006, 11:35 AM |
May 1 2006, 12:10 PM
715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
alternatively.. if u drive a mini or bmw.. the adapter comes as standard..
May 1 2006, 02:04 PM
427 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
why go so fancy stuff?
i have figured out how to connect it, the cheapest way this only works, if your car audio system has the AUX slot just connect either one side to your iPod, then the other side to the AUX slot.. Guys, personal thinking, i feel the quality isn't bad after all. But, the only thing is your need to max your volume in iPod to MAXIMUM, then only you can adjust the volume via your audio car system.. Im not sure whether it's also same as other car, but mine is like that. |
May 1 2006, 02:32 PM
4,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore |
I use and iTrip
No complains so far |
May 1 2006, 07:32 PM
892 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 1' from the Screen |
I'm not so lucky like u guys using head unit with built-in AUX output.
What i did is install a pre-amp (use this to switch/select audio source between CD/radio player and my iPod) and connect it to my amp. Pre-amp with wiring only costs me about RM150. Connection from pre-amp to iPod = RCA/stereo link cable. Of course, if you want true line out, get an apple dock or PocketDock (by Sendstation). This will give u better sound quality. Still waiting for someone to organize a PocketDock bulk. |
May 3 2006, 03:03 AM
744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May I know where can iget an iTrip? I'm thinking to use it bcz can transmit in car or in the room so as long as got radio.
Is the quality that bad as some of them say? |
May 3 2006, 03:36 AM
3,135 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Megah Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
@ReaperX
I Am Driving VIOS With Stock HU. Without AUX So, I Need To Add A Pre-Amp? In Order To Connect iPod? |
| Change to: | 0.0184sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:03 PM |