Gainer for fat people

TSpakdamek
post May 28 2013, 01:51 PM, updated 13y ago

646 posts

Guys,
I have a question here.

- In theory, fat people doesn't have much muscle, thin people also doesn't have much muscle.
- So, they need to build muscle and slowly throw away the fat.

My question is, is it ok for fat people to take mass gainer and build muscle before they cut down their fat?

"inb4, I'm not fat."

This post has been edited by pakdamek: May 28 2013, 01:52 PM
akiratm
post May 28 2013, 02:03 PM

595 posts

u totally no need mass gainer to build muscle...
takkicom
post May 28 2013, 02:29 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(akiratm @ May 28 2013, 02:03 PM)
u totally no need mass gainer to build muscle...
i have the same problem, i do weight what i get is getting thinner and slimer
but no muscle and lean look just get slim each time, now look like thin with 0 muscle
alien9
post May 28 2013, 02:39 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 28 2013, 02:29 PM)
i have the same problem, i do weight what i get is getting thinner and slimer
but no muscle and lean look just get slim each time, now look like thin with 0 muscle
answer for you is:

takkicom
post May 28 2013, 03:00 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ May 28 2013, 02:39 PM)
answer for you is:

ok blink.gif how i gain more muscle instead reverse thin

im from 88 > 60 now rclxm9.gif

but i want muscle sad.gif

This post has been edited by takkicom: May 28 2013, 03:01 PM
zacharyseng
post May 28 2013, 03:17 PM

216 posts

read the stickies JEEEZ =.=
SUSLdee
post May 28 2013, 11:18 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 28 2013, 03:00 PM)
ok  blink.gif how i gain more muscle instead reverse thin

im from 88 > 60 now  rclxm9.gif

but i want muscle sad.gif
hw long hv u been training? hmm.gif
alien9
post May 29 2013, 01:26 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

For TS, fat people have a lot of bodyfat (~duh) so if somehow they choose to bulk, they'll get much much bigger and possibly fatter. So, it will better for them to cut first, probably to 15%~ish bf then start to bulk.
takkicom
post May 29 2013, 02:06 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(Ldee @ May 28 2013, 11:18 PM)
hw long hv u been training? hmm.gif
6 mth cardio 6 mth on weight
SUSLdee
post May 29 2013, 11:44 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 29 2013, 02:06 PM)
holy cow, cardio for 6 month! i can feel bored in 6 days for merely cardio..

eating habit problem i guess?
takkicom
post May 30 2013, 01:10 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(Ldee @ May 29 2013, 11:44 PM)
holy cow, cardio for 6 month! i can feel bored in 6 days for merely cardio..

eating habit problem i guess?
i follow the men health routine for daily workout need

cardio getting slim down faster, yea possible anything goes wrong
GameFr3ak
post Jun 3 2013, 10:06 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 29 2013, 02:06 PM)
So 6 whole months you did cardio then followed by 6 whole months of weight lifting?
Al@n2rock
post Jun 3 2013, 11:39 AM

349 posts

Some people always said

"I do weight lifthing"
"Aku main besi"

But end up stuck in pair of 10kg dumbells in the gym......hurmm i started fat, and still fat...but i gain lots muscle by pumping heaving weight....nak besar kena main besar bro ^ ^
takkicom
post Jun 3 2013, 11:56 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jun 3 2013, 10:06 AM)
So 6 whole months you did cardio then followed by 6 whole months of weight lifting?
weekly did is
mon chest
tues cardio
wed biceps
thus cardio
fri chest
sat leg
sun cardio/rest
takkicom
post Jun 3 2013, 12:00 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(Al@n2rock @ Jun 3 2013, 11:39 AM)
Some people always said

"I do weight lifthing"
"Aku main besi"

But end up stuck in pair of 10kg dumbells in the gym......hurmm i started fat, and still fat...but i gain lots muscle by pumping heaving weight....nak besar kena main besar bro ^ ^
i did increase weight

i know my problem adi, cause my gymate ask me do i have amnesia?
i told them yes, i have long term amnesia, that why i can gain muscle

This post has been edited by takkicom: Jun 3 2013, 12:06 PM
mikehuan
post Jun 3 2013, 12:27 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ Jun 3 2013, 11:56 AM)
weekly did is
mon chest
tues cardio
wed biceps
thus cardio
fri chest
sat leg
sun cardio/rest
delts/back/triceps?
takkicom
post Jun 3 2013, 12:31 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 3 2013, 12:27 PM)
delts/back/triceps?
blink.gif
mate say do these 1st until ok just do other part i follow them
maybe my table also mess up
mikehuan
post Jun 3 2013, 12:41 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ Jun 3 2013, 12:31 PM)
blink.gif
mate say do these 1st until ok just do other part i follow them
maybe my table also mess up
needless to say, you're doing it wrong. read the stickies.
takkicom
post Jun 3 2013, 01:16 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 3 2013, 12:41 PM)
needless to say, you're doing it wrong. read the stickies.
blush.gif thx ok i will change my schedule
alien9
post Jun 4 2013, 12:04 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ Jun 3 2013, 12:00 PM)
i did increase weight

i know my problem adi, cause my gymate ask me do i have amnesia?
i told them yes, i have long term amnesia, that why i can gain muscle
cannot brain this rclxub.gif
temmyoi
post Jun 8 2013, 04:16 PM

290 posts

I able to slim down by cut off some oily foods, eat less during dinner...
alien9
post Jun 8 2013, 09:18 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(temmyoi @ Jun 8 2013, 04:16 PM)
I able to slim down by cut off some oily foods, eat less during dinner...
Why don't you try this. Eat whatever you have for dinner during lunch and whatever you eat during lunch for dinner. Tell me if you still able to slim down thumbup.gif
temmyoi
post Jun 9 2013, 05:39 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 8 2013, 09:18 PM)
Why don't you try this. Eat whatever you have for dinner during lunch and whatever you eat during lunch for dinner. Tell me if you still able to slim down  thumbup.gif
I cut down some foods at dinner, mostly just fruits + cereal + hot milk then wait few more hrs then go to bed..
But I am big eater during lunch time drool.gif
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 02:37 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ May 29 2013, 01:26 AM)
For TS, fat people have a lot of bodyfat (~duh) so if somehow they choose to bulk, they'll get much much bigger and possibly fatter. So, it will better for them to cut first, probably to 15%~ish bf then start to bulk.
Wrong answer.

Cutting is never needed to gain mass.

Fat people should not cut unless they have some desire to go from fat to skinny fat.
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 02:39 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(temmyoi @ Jun 9 2013, 05:39 PM)
I cut down some foods at dinner, mostly just fruits + cereal + hot milk then wait few more hrs then go to bed..
But I am big eater during lunch time  drool.gif
This dinner is ~100% carbs. That's a bad "weightloss" dinner and a very good "keep me skinny fat" dinner.

How about two hard boiled eggs, a glass of milk and 200-300 grams (two servings) of broccoli, carrots or spinach for dinner.
alien9
post Jun 10 2013, 02:45 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 02:37 PM)
Wrong answer.

Fat people should not cut unless they have some desire to go from fat to skinny fat.
The one you've quoted is not an answer but merely my opinion. TBH, when a person is an obese fat, what is the best improvement that they wish they want to see? Bigger body or slimmer one?

By working out and packing more muscle, they'll will become bigger and is that a good thing for them?

Well like I said, it is my opinion, not a definitive answer

This post has been edited by alien9: Jun 10 2013, 02:45 PM
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 02:55 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 10 2013, 02:45 PM)
The one you've quoted is not an answer but merely my opinion. TBH, when a person is an obese fat, what is the best improvement that they wish they want to see? Bigger body or slimmer one?

By working out and packing more muscle, they'll will become bigger and is that a good thing for them?

Well like I said, it is my opinion, not a definitive answer
Yes, this is a good thing and yes this is a definitive answer.

If they work out and pack more muscle they burn more calories than doing stupid cutting as well as plain cardio and slower rate of fat loss. of course, this doesn't mean follow a powerlifting training style.

Actually, this has been proven a lot on shows like "Biggest Loser".

Fat people should focus on doing circuit training or super sets.
alien9
post Jun 10 2013, 03:53 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 02:55 PM)
Yes, this is a good thing and yes this is a definitive answer.

If they work out and pack more muscle they burn more calories than doing stupid cutting as well as plain cardio and slower rate of fat loss. of course, this doesn't mean follow a powerlifting training style.

Actually, this has been proven a lot on shows like "Biggest Loser".

Fat people should focus on doing circuit training or super sets.
Workout =/= building muscle. You need to have calorie surplus + workout to gain mass.

Circuit training, supersets will not give you muscle mass if you don't accompany them with calorie surplus. Those workout are meant to increase their metabolism through increase in EPOC.

And does cutting = cardio for you? I'm cutting but I ain't doing jackshit cardio.

This post has been edited by alien9: Jun 10 2013, 04:00 PM
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 04:16 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 10 2013, 03:53 PM)
Workout =/= building muscle. You need to have calorie surplus + workout to gain mass.

Circuit training, supersets will not give you muscle mass if you don't accompany them with calorie surplus. Those workout are meant to increase their metabolism through increase in EPOC.

And does cutting = cardio for you? I'm cutting but I ain't doing jackshit cardio.
Nope, that's a broad generalization and bro-science.

Fat people can indeed build muscle on below maintenance as they have plenty of fats to fuel their burn as well as to break down for recovery. Not to mention beginner gains can DEFINITELY be made on crappy diets as long as someone is working hard enough in the gym. The person just needs to eat sufficient protein to ensure a steady supply of muscle-building nutrients.

Yes cutting should involve cardio - since you already mentioned no or very little weight training. Or else what, they should eat below maintenance and wait an eternity for the fat to come off?

No offence, but if your avatar is current, it looks like you sure could use some cardio as well. tongue.gif

alien9
post Jun 10 2013, 06:06 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 04:16 PM)
Nope, that's a broad generalization and bro-science.

Fat people can indeed build muscle on below maintenance as they have plenty of fats to fuel their burn as well as to break down for recovery. Not to mention beginner gains can DEFINITELY be made on crappy diets as long as someone is working hard enough in the gym. The person just needs to eat sufficient protein to ensure a steady supply of muscle-building nutrients.

Yes cutting should involve cardio - since you already mentioned no or very little weight training. Or else what, they should eat below maintenance and wait an eternity for the fat to come off?

No offence, but if your avatar is current, it looks like you sure could use some cardio as well.  tongue.gif
Since when do I said anything about cutting doesn't need to do weight training?

Below is my post that you said is totally wrong.

QUOTE(alien9 @ May 29 2013, 01:26 AM)
This post addressing TS post that do fat people need to bulk first or cutting first and I merely give my opinion about the size of the fat people if they are thinking of bulking instead of cutting. I never discussed about cutting that doesn't need weight training or do full cardio or eating in calorie deficit whatsoever.

Fat people doesn't need to bulk especially beginners because as you said they use their fat to build muscle (if weight training involved) and the beginners advantage. If that so, why do they need to bulk?
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 06:19 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 10 2013, 06:06 PM)
Below is my post that you said is totally wrong.
This post addressing TS post that do fat people need to bulk first or cutting first and I merely give my opinion about the size of the fat people if they are thinking of bulking instead of cutting. I never discussed about cutting that doesn't need weight training or do full cardio or eating in calorie deficit whatsoever.

Fat people doesn't need to bulk especially beginners because as you said they use their fat to build muscle (if weight training involved) and the beginners advantage. If that so, why do they need to bulk?
When did I say they need to bulk?

They don't need to cut either. That's a sure fire way to fail. Cutting is hard - even for advanced bodybuilders, never mind fat people that are just beginning to learn how to eat properly and starting working out. They need a good, filling diet if they are going to work hard in the gym and keep their mind of the sweets and mcdonalds. You ever cut before while still working out hard? Physically draining and tiring, can't imagine what it will be like for a beginner, with serious DOMS and body aches as well.......and not enough nutrition to recover properly.

They need to do a proper recomp - which will give them the best results. Eat right, at or just sliiiiightly below maintenance and push hard in the gym.

Also, fat people, their body weight and leverage allows them to ramp up to heavier weights - much smarter than doing a cut and then only focus on strength.
alien9
post Jun 10 2013, 06:27 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 06:19 PM)
When did I say they need to bulk?

They don't need to cut either. That's a sure fire way to fail. Cutting is hard - even for advanced bodybuilders, never mind fat people that are just beginning to learn how to eat properly and starting working out. They need a good, filling diet if they are going to work hard in the gym and keep their mind of the sweets and mcdonalds. You ever cut before while still working out hard? Physically draining and tiring, can't imagine what it will be like for a beginner, with serious DOMS and body aches as well.......and not enough nutrition to recover properly.

They need to do a proper recomp - which will give them the best results. Eat right, at or just sliiiiightly below maintenance and push hard in the gym.

Also, fat people, their body weight and leverage allows them to ramp up to heavier weights - much smarter than doing a cut and then only focus on strength.
QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 02:37 PM)
Wrong answer.

So if you don't cut, then you do what?
temmyoi
post Jun 10 2013, 09:17 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 02:39 PM)
This dinner is ~100% carbs. That's a bad "weightloss" dinner and a very good "keep me skinny fat" dinner.

How about two hard boiled eggs, a glass of milk and 200-300 grams (two servings) of broccoli, carrots or spinach for dinner.
Thanks for your idea! Last few weeks was consuming carrots + meat balls continuously.
Think need to revise my dinner menu again and cut off meats even more @ dinner.. hmm.gif
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 10:59 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 10 2013, 06:27 PM)
So if you don't cut, then you do what?
Recomp.

Simple. Eat till full but clean up diet - no fast food and no sweets (or replace sweets with diet coke).

Work out as hard as you can in the gym - make sure increase the weights every week. Stay away from stupid programs like Starting Strength.

????

Profit. biggrin.gif
joeblows
post Jun 10 2013, 11:01 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(temmyoi @ Jun 10 2013, 09:17 PM)
Thanks for your idea! Last few weeks was consuming carrots + meat balls continuously.
Think need to revise my dinner menu again and cut off meats even more @ dinner..  hmm.gif
Very bad idea.

You should take some meat - or at least some protein: whey, eggs, etc.

Cut off carbo. No cereals. No potatoes. Less fruits (or none).

Lots of green veg. Romaine Lettuce, Celery, Kai Lan, Spinach.

If really craving buy one box cherry tomatoes. smile.gif
temmyoi
post Jun 11 2013, 09:34 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 11:01 PM)
Very bad idea.

I do eat eggs, fruits like oranges everyday, why would you suggest me to take less fruit? rclxub.gif Can let me know?
Cherry tomatoes? Oh my favorite.
mikehuan
post Jun 11 2013, 04:04 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 11:01 PM)
Very bad idea.

Just to be clear here. What exactly do you do different when cutting?

Read up on insulin sensitivity. Supersets and circuits for beginners? Why? Please don't say they burn the most cals. What's the point of not restricting calories when you burn them off afterwards? Why didn't you suggest cardio? Why is starting strength bad?

Where's your pic?
alien9
post Jun 12 2013, 12:03 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 10 2013, 10:59 PM)
Recomp.

Simple. Eat till full but clean up diet - no fast food and no sweets (or replace sweets with diet coke).

Work out as hard as you can in the gym - make sure increase the weights every week. Stay away from stupid programs like Starting Strength.

????

Profit.  biggrin.gif
So with this advice, obese people can lose weight?

1. I guess you missed the point that obese people are getting fat because of their lust. Eat clean but till full? Worse advice ever to an obese guy doh.gif Have you been fat before? wink.gif
2. Doesn't matter how clean you are eating but if you eat until you exceed your TDEE, that would be calorie surplus and calorie surplus leads to....
3. If you are going to deflect point no. 3 with the 'eat till full but clean', refer to point no. 1

joeblows
post Jun 13 2013, 09:47 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 11 2013, 04:04 PM)
Just to be clear here. What exactly do you do different when cutting?
Calorie-restrictive diet.
Caloric counting
Fad diets like keto or paleo (admittedly paleo is not really a "fad" and can work but may be hard to maintain in KL)

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 11 2013, 04:04 PM)
Read up on insulin sensitivity. Supersets and circuits for beginners? Why? Please don't say they burn the most cals. What's the point of not restricting calories when you burn them off afterwards? Why didn't you suggest cardio? Why is starting strength bad?

Where's your pic?
1) Supersets and circuit training are great for beginners as they allow maximum volume of work for the lowered strength of a new trainee.
2) Starting strength is the dumbest program known to man. Want to look better nekkid? The answer: definitely not squat 3x a week and gain lots of imbalances (no back work? LOL. No hamstring work? LOL)
3) No pics. There are people who know me IRL on the forum so I want to ensure my privacy - however, I train at darklight's gym (when I'm in KL, fly around a bit) and have met him in person. You're welcome to send me a PM to meet up too - to vouch if I really know about training or just talk crap on the Net.
joeblows
post Jun 13 2013, 10:55 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(temmyoi @ Jun 11 2013, 09:34 AM)
I do eat eggs, fruits like oranges everyday, why would you suggest me to take less fruit?  rclxub.gif  Can let me know?
Cherry tomatoes? Oh my favorite.
Fruit has lots of fructose, which is a sugar. It is not conducive for weight loss.

This post has been edited by joeblows: Jun 13 2013, 10:55 AM
joeblows
post Jun 13 2013, 11:01 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 12 2013, 12:03 AM)
So with this advice, obese people can lose weight?

1. I guess you missed the point that obese people are getting fat because of their lust. Eat clean but till full? Worse advice ever to an obese guy  doh.gif Have you been fat before?  wink.gif
2. Doesn't matter how clean you are eating but if you eat until you exceed your TDEE, that would be calorie surplus and calorie surplus leads to....
3. If you are going to deflect point no. 3 with the 'eat till full but clean', refer to point no. 1
1) Yes I have. The whole gamut. Skinny in high school. Fat as fvck in Uni. Then now mesomorph look. laugh.gif
If I show you my drivers license then you can see how fat I was. Double chin and everything.

2) Eat until full =/= caloric surplus.
Also, your TDEE is increasing steadily = more work load in the gym, more muscle mass, more caloric expenditure.

In the end - caloric surplus on Day 1 doesnt mean (and probably won't be) caloric surplus on Day 60 or Day 120.

Furthermore if one eats CLEAN its very hard to overeat. On the other hand if one cuts calories, undisciplined people will be very tempted to binge eat sweets after a certain period.

3) Refer to point no. 1.
temmyoi
post Jun 13 2013, 11:05 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 13 2013, 10:55 AM)
Fruit has lots of fructose, which is a sugar. It is not conducive for weight loss.
If I eat every single night before sleep, not good for health ? blink.gif

0.0275sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:57 PM