Working in Singapore V14

seantang
post Jun 10 2013, 11:09 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(wilhelm @ Jun 10 2013, 12:43 AM)
Hey guys, anyone here working in recruitment firm? Hows the job market there for Malaysian? And is it true that SIngapore bank normally won't take foreigners?

I have been looking for job in SG for a month, some of you may thought that it's still not long but im getting more concern as i have sent almost 50 applications and none of them call back for at least a phone interview? I'm wondering is it my problem or what..I have two years experiences in trade finance with a global bank in Malaysia, i wouldn't say that my profile and resume are very impressive but i believe should be no problem for at least maybe secure an interview? This is a huge knock on my confidence sad.gif

I am now still in Malaysia, due to financial problem it's not wise for me to simply go down and stay without interview. With Malaysia address and numbers in resume, could these affect the employer when they are short-listing?
Thanks in advance guys
There is no shortage of fresh/junior bank employees right now.

Only if you're a pretty senior hire, will they will take the trouble to recruit someone who is still overseas (they have to phone, get you into SG for interviews, juggle your leave/flights/accommodation with the interviewers' schedules etc), and with no work permit or residency status (ie. they have to get it for you).
seantang
post Jun 10 2013, 05:49 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Jun 10 2013, 04:29 PM)
i think sg 'only' give u good public transport, clean city, security, and strong currency.
other than that KL is better, really better.
Like what kind of "other than that"?
seantang
post Jun 11 2013, 08:57 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 10 2013, 10:28 PM)
Well, that's you.
Alot of hiring manages from certain banks don't think like you.
But having said that I heard MOM is looking into this problem already.

It's sometimes a shadowy line between meritocracy based on competence, and personal effectiveness due to good rapport.

But the fact is that every job has a minimum competence requirement, above which the diminishing returns are swift. The returns from high personal effectiveness are practically infinite.
seantang
post Jun 11 2013, 10:25 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 11 2013, 10:07 AM)
wide open spaces, bigger accomodation
This is a difference, not better or worse. It's the difference between living in a city state (SG, HK, Monaco...) vs everywhere else perhaps.

Whether wide open spaces and bigger accomodation are better... it's a matter of preference (although it has to be said that the vast majority will agree that bigger is better). Personally I value location more than space.

QUOTE(robertchoo)
no queues during lunchtime or dinner time, no need for reservations most of the time
I don't know how true this is... I've been left standing over diner's shoulders waiting for tables lots of times. Or cannot find parking near the restaurant, SS2, Uptown, Taipan etc. Or dealing with the curry mee seller or chee cheong fun seller who says "cannot wait ah, don't eat lah".

QUOTE(robertchoo)
Food (the everday fare - not the high krass ones), did i mention food?,
Compared to Ipoh or Penang food... you've got a point. KL food... ummm, I don't think so. If you have a car in SG, you can find everyday hawker stall food that can match anything KL has to offer.
seantang
post Jun 12 2013, 01:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Jun 12 2013, 12:10 PM)
Wanna work in SG, got an offer from Msia company to go down there, but when ask for more details like tax rate etc, they are not providing, ask me to direct ask the supervisor over SG during my first day there. This is dangerous.
Ask them for what? It's your personal income tax. Just surf to Internal Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS)'s website and look at the tax rates.

QUOTE(NoiZy)
Also, if I am to apply for a job in SG, wonder what is my expected salary range.
3 years working exp in Management (Business development). Degree in Marketing.
Your salary is not determined by your experience nor your degree. It is determined by your job.

What field, level and which company is the job in SG? That will tell you the salary.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 12 2013, 01:48 PM
seantang
post Jun 12 2013, 01:50 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(aaron_jb @ Jun 12 2013, 01:27 PM)
If you are driven by achieving the targets and the sales income, send your resume to aaron_jb91@yahoo.com

Alternatively, you may visit our :webpage at www.unitedmeteoricgroup.com for more details.
I HIGHLY DOUBT any company - that doesn't even have an email domain and uses yahoo freemail to receive job applications - can offer anything worth looking at.

seantang
post Jun 12 2013, 03:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Jun 12 2013, 02:28 PM)
Of course salary is not determined by exp and education, it depends on job. But your job depends on exp and education level. So it definitely relates.
Relates... ya lah... but only as a "ticket to play". At the end of the day, it's the job itself. I sometimes meet my uni-mates in SG. We all have the same years of experience and the exact same degree, but our incomes range from a $70K per annum for a SME accountant to $750K per year for a SGX listed company CFO.

3 years generic experience and a bachelor's degree is like having good eyesight and a minimum height of 165cm to join the army. It gets you into the army but doesn't determine whether your job is a trench digger or officer's school candidate.

QUOTE(NoiZy)
Yes, I do understand this. But when probing on tax, what I want to know is just the tax that is enforced unto the employer, I just need to know that the salary offered is really the salary given, don't want SGD 3000 offered, but end of the day, they say SGD700 paid for tax etc.
Your friends must be mistaken. No tax is payable by your employer as a deduction from an employee's salary.

Now,.. having said that, there might be a tax deduction on an employee's monthly salary if they have not become a tax resident yet by working in Singapore for at least 183 days... (iinm, it's 15%). But this is directly remitted to IRAS by the employer, and it is a personal taxation matter between you and IRAS. If you work past 183 days, you can get it back from IRAS... but as mentioned, it's between you and IRAS.

So as far as the employer is concerned, your salary is 100%. If IRAS orders them to remit 15% of it to them on your behalf, your salary is still 100%. If I'm the employer, your "take home" (ie. your "take out" of my payroll bank account) is 100%. The 15% is what you need to lodge temporarily with IRAS after you've taken the 100% home.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 12 2013, 10:42 PM
seantang
post Jun 12 2013, 08:43 PM

6,624 posts

Something interesting... this is a new approach! CIMB is quite innovative in SG.

seantang
post Jun 16 2013, 01:28 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 15 2013, 11:46 PM)
so i highlight to my project manager about this problem.. he said "this is ur personal problem", then i said "if u can't help me regarding this matter, i will extend this matter to ur superior"

my question is:
1. because i already sign the agreement to stay in the house, can it be replace by other tenant? but its from the same company that i worked
2. what can i do to further this matter to my PM superior? formal letter signed by me n my mother perhaps ?

1. You need to agree with your landlord. You signed the tenancy and it's not transferable I presume.

Next time, if you feel so strongly about it, then rent a whole unit or get it stated in your tenancy agreement that the tenants must be such and such.

2. What is the agreement with your employer? That they provide such accommodation as per your specification or they just reimburse your rental cost?

If it's the latter, your PM is right. It's your personal issue. If you bring it to his superior, it'll be the same. You are supposed to take care of your own religious preferences, not them. Your work and your religion are 2 separate issues. Don't mix them up.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 16 2013, 01:31 AM
seantang
post Jun 18 2013, 04:49 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 18 2013, 04:37 PM)
Something new. I don't know how your case is possible. But my sis-in-law asked JPJ recently, the law still same like the time I applied. Only can hold one driving license, have to cancel the other one. I remember they punch hole to my MY driving license when applying.

Who punched the hole? Singapore Traffic Police?

seantang
post Jun 19 2013, 02:07 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 19 2013, 09:16 AM)
JPJ in my state. I can't remember the exact procedure when they punched the hole since it was more than one decade ago. I got the impression from the JPJ officer that the MY license must be cancel according to their Act. JPJ also issued a letter from their director saying that the MY license is cancel and return, to reactivate next time when I give up the SG license with a letter from LTA.
JPJ in Sabah. No standard procedure one...
Wow... if they punch a hole in your licence at JPJ,.. how do they expect you to drive home from JPJ? No licence, man.

seantang
post Jun 19 2013, 08:36 PM

6,624 posts

Drivers ie. who can drive, is under TP. Driving licences are issued by them.

Cars ie. what you can drive, is under LTA. Car registration and entry of foreign cars is under them.

LTA will enforce the laws or by-laws that they create.

TP will enforce all laws.

1. make sure you can drive in Singapore ie. have an appropriate driving licence.

2. make sure you have a car that can be driven in Singapore ie. properly registered or legally entried.

3. based on your residency status, make sure you drive the right type of properly registered or legally entried car.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 19 2013, 08:40 PM
seantang
post Jun 21 2013, 02:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Jun 21 2013, 12:03 PM)
prepare to go back malaysia... haha.. yea.. mask also no use.. my apartment already smells like being smoked!
You're right. I went out for lunch yesterday... cannot tahan, went back to office, book ticket, and took the afternoon flight back to Ipoh.

Clear blue skies here luckily.

seantang
post Jun 21 2013, 03:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 21 2013, 02:32 PM)
The haze got affect the flight schedule? Yesterday PSI should be 371? Today just hit 400, can't see the opposite block in my office, later tomorrow they cancel my flight back home  cry.gif
The Berjaya Air flight to Redang at 3pm yesterday was cancelled at 2:55pm because of "weather conditions".

The Firefly flight to Subang at 3.30pm was initially scheduled to be delayed until they boarded early at 3pm. To beat the worsening haze I think.

My 3pm Firefly flight to Ipoh was delayed until we boarded at 3:30pm. Sat on the runway for another 30 minutes waiting for takeoff clearance. Luckily we were allowed to take off instead of being asked to return to the gate.

Today is worse than yesterday. And if tomorrow is as bad as today... I'd say you'd be in for a 50:50 touch and go experience.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 21 2013, 03:11 PM
seantang
post Jun 21 2013, 04:06 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(onlycl0veR @ Jun 21 2013, 03:54 PM)
I'm a fresh banking & finance graduate who is currently looking for job in Singapore... Is there any job vacancies / websites can be recommended for me?

I tried jobstreet, jobscentral, jobsdb but none of my resume sent got replied sad.gif
Try http://www.efinancialcareers.sg/
seantang
post Jun 22 2013, 10:47 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Jun 22 2013, 10:22 AM)
all provider offer almost same price
free incoming call, certain amount of free sms and free local call +2gb around 40sgd.

coverage should be the same,
but singtel said to give better data speed and coverage

try to get discount, better rate or some perks by subscribe during IT fair,
provider give 10%, 20% discount for certain companies also, do check it out.
A friend just recontracted Starhub's entry level plan and they gave him 6GB. No change with the handset subsidy.

seantang
post Jun 23 2013, 08:55 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Jun 22 2013, 12:50 PM)
Anyone can share method by transferring a large amount of money (about RM250k) from Malaysia to Singapore? If anyone wonder why transfer so much, it's for down payment to buy property in SG.

I know one of the method is TT and the rate will follow bank's rate (so might lose few thousand SGD). Any other better way?

You don't lose a "few thousand SGD" lah. Even if the spread between bank's TT rate and money changers rate is 3 points (buy ringgit at 2.53 vs 2.50 per SGD), you lose S$1K. Usually the difference is 0.02 or less than that.

For me, that's a small price to pay for convenience AND security of a bank vs an unmonitored money changer. And not to mention the fact that you don't have to walk around with so much cash on your pocket. People have gotten robbed by friends and extended family whom they thought they could trust, for much less. And if the guy standing behind you in the queue at the bank is a spotter, you're going to have an eventful trip from the bank to the money changer.
seantang
post Jun 23 2013, 10:54 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Jun 23 2013, 10:08 AM)
I had checked Maybank's TT is RM27 but the spread for exchange rate is 7 cent. I do checked Maybank's Forex through their website.
Yea, security is part of our concern. I had checked the spread for Maybank, is about 7 cent (2.55 vs 2.48). So about SGD2K+ lesser compare to Money Changer.
Are you comparing a buy rate to a sell rate? The difference seems impossibly high.

Today's average rate is 2.51. So a sell rate of 2.55 sounds okay. But a sell rate of 2.48, even from the most efficient money changer is unrealistic, a little above 2.51 would be where it would be, maybe 2.52 or 2.53.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 23 2013, 10:55 AM
seantang
post Jun 24 2013, 01:27 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 23 2013, 11:21 PM)
Was on the same FY3546  flight laugh.gif. was a bit panic when they have not asked passenger to board the flight by 3.00pm and announced redang flight canceled. heard from another fy passenger, berjaya air cancelled flight the day before (19th) due to technical. but on 20th was weather in redang was bad.

Luckily no cancellation as flying alone with my toddler. tomorrow returning to sg thumbup.gif
Such a coincidence. Yeah, have not felt so relieved to get final clearance for takeoff in a very long time.
seantang
post Jun 24 2013, 01:58 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Jun 23 2013, 10:20 PM)
I got a question from my friend who intends to get a job in Singapore. He has over 10 years experiences in accounting and finance and is one of the Senior Management staff in listed company. However, he has never worked in Singapore.

Some of his concerns are as follow:

1) Would it be challenging for someone like him to get a job in Singapore since his overseas experiences is zero (only have Malaysian company experience)?

2) If he get a job, is it likely that he will get a lower ranking position or lower salary since Malaysian is experience is not considered “in par” with Singaporean?

3) What are the main challenges when switching from Malaysian working cultural to the Singaporean’s?

Thanks for contributing. rclxms.gif
1 & 2... Depends on which company he's from, and what is his experience. Generally, the companies in Singapore don't think highly of their counterparts in other countries. Malaysia included, although not as bad as our Asean neighbours or India or China. But they certainly don't think our companies have equal standards, service quality and professional ethics as Singaporean, Hong Kong, Japanese or ANZ companies... especially the ethics.

However, within the industry and within companies at par (eg. coming from the KL office of a global MNC to the Sg office of the same or similar global MNC), the equivalency of your value is much more appreciated.

3. The biggest challenge, in my opinion and from an ethnic Chinese perspective, is the realisation that those attributes that made you stand out in Malaysia and handed you an auto-win over 70% of the Malaysian population (ie. the hunger or motivation to work hard because you know you will starve if you don't, being trilingual and for many, having a foreign degree) is effectively neutralised in Singapore. Everybody speaks English (in most cases better than you, 75% speak Mandarin (in most cases better than you) and the entire population of this generation has at least a poly diploma or better. On top of that, Singapore is home to hundreds of thousands of highly qualified first and second generation immigrants that are all too willing to take your job away from you.

The competition, therefore, is stiff!

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0524sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:27 AM