Working in Singapore V14

JohnJon82
post Jul 22 2013, 12:43 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jgamer @ Jul 22 2013, 11:48 AM)
My mistake, because i'm currently staying in kl and ppl in jb can find the job faster so i ask for some tips maybe?

I just resign recently and in job hunting in kl, then after a trip to Singapore has convince me to work in Singapore.
I found few job on jobstreet which advert by job agency and 1 recommend to my friend's friend work place.

Since rent a room in Singapore is expensive, i think of stay in jb
How early u guys wake up just to pass the custom and work in Singapore?
Spend the travelling time to earn more better than saving money by spending time.
JohnJon82
post Jul 22 2013, 02:38 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Jul 22 2013, 02:03 PM)
since u r fr UM, SIA nod ur Q here, you can always work your way to be registered while attached to a QP.
I thought is BOA and not SIA for registration?
JohnJon82
post Jul 25 2013, 04:36 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Jul 25 2013, 12:14 PM)
i got a job somewhere at Thomson Road.
im thinking to rent a room in JB, drive and park my car at jb custom then take bus to work.
my working hours is frm 9-6pm, which area i should stay in JB? how early i should goes out frm home in the morning to avoid traffic jam? is it easy to find a parking at custom?
Archi right? Don't expect to go home on time... Thomson road is very long, can think of CW5 from CIQ which stop at Newton and do some walking.
JohnJon82
post Jul 25 2013, 10:38 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Jul 25 2013, 07:49 PM)
Hi, just want to ask if i want go to JB senai airport from woodlands check point. How do i go for it? I need to catch up flight over there during hari raya. Please advise.
If you take AA, got free bus from JB custom. Or take bus from JB sentral to Senai.
JohnJon82
post Jul 26 2013, 01:18 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Jul 26 2013, 09:53 AM)
so which area in JB i should stay? my route will be:
- drive and park at custom
- take bus to kranji mrt
- change to circle line at bishan
- alight at caldecott
- and take bus or walk to office
If you are staying in JB for the sake of saving the rent money only then it is not a wise decision. I posted this before, you can use your travelling time to earn much more than your SG rent. You can calculate what is your per hour pay, then do some maths and see how much money you wasted travelling to work. Penny wise, pound foolish. A day or two of OT is more than enough to pay for the rent in some case. The left over time you can spend enjoying your life.

I can only understand why people choose to cross the border daily for the few reasons such as staying with family across the border, staying in own property with the comfort of own home, die die want to stay in JB for the love of Malaysia, and too much free time...
JohnJon82
post Jul 27 2013, 10:56 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(hhkangyong @ Jul 27 2013, 09:07 AM)
What if the fact that staying in Singapore also take approximate more than an hour travelling to working place? last time i took approximately 3 hours in travelling to working place by company transport because the place is in Jurong Island. Well now i'm driving and even stay in gelang patah which takes me less than 2 hours a day for travelling.

time, cost, expanses all greatly reduce. having great food in JB as well. unlike in singapore have to go those hawker that not bearable at all.
You are comparing driving and taking company transport. If you stay and drive in SG then your travelling time to Jurong Island won't be 3 hours, most likely less than the time taken now.
JohnJon82
post Jul 28 2013, 11:54 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(hamliomusica @ Jul 28 2013, 10:13 PM)
hi guys, my gf will be working at SG soon, and I would like to visit her maybe twice every month and so, I most probably will stay for a night at her room (she stays with a local family and they approved of my stay but will be subjected to some minimal charges)

But I've heard some news that the authorities do not encourage such activity and they will question me, is it true?

or if there are any other implications on my action, please let me know
=)
Law say cannot rent out for short term, hdb, condo, landed in residential area marked by URA. And if hdb then also cannot rent to social visit pass people. So yeah your news is correct if you belong to the above. You will get into trouble if you have nasty neighbours reporting you.

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Jul 28 2013, 11:56 PM
JohnJon82
post Jul 29 2013, 12:37 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(hamliomusica @ Jul 29 2013, 12:15 AM)
hmmm..if I get to stay for free without any charges, would it be different? and am I only in trouble if I am reported?

will the msian/SG's customs authorities check the duration of my stay in SG?
Not sure if free can or not, there maybe some other thing. Safest bet is put your name inside the tenant agreement. Always a saying, do whatever you want, just don't get caught rclxm9.gif Think they will let you go with a warning or what for the first time. Your landlord get into more trouble than you.

SG will check your stay when you going out, 30 days in your white card I think.
JohnJon82
post Aug 3 2013, 07:53 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Aug 3 2013, 07:35 PM)
anyone rent a utility room before? i saw an ads for utility room, S$450.
Its a very small room, one bed one wardrobe, and sometime no windows...
JohnJon82
post Aug 5 2013, 12:01 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 5 2013, 08:49 AM)
I stayed in a house without owner and all malaysian. for me, there is afew issues which i cant take it, the cloth hanging area always occupied, cleaniness of the house is worse and since the house cleaniness sucks, therefore bedbug issues !! mad.gif
Bedbug is not related to cleanliness, main spread is air travel from the luggage. I get that a lot even house got maid.
JohnJon82
post Aug 5 2013, 07:21 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 5 2013, 02:16 PM)
what you means by air travel from luggage?
you get alot bedbug even the house got maid, you still staying there? blink.gif
Bedbug don't normally go into the house unless it was brought back from outside. Planes, hotels etc. Normally I get it when I come back from travelling, luggage being mix around with others in the bottom of the plane. My housemates seldom travel so I am the main suspect hehe. Try note the next time you got bedbug attack, any of your housemates travel overseas or not. Very annoying bug.
JohnJon82
post Aug 17 2013, 12:16 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(840812145195 @ Aug 17 2013, 12:00 PM)
Hi all sifu here , need all your advise here , recently I just get a offer to work in singapore , now the problem is the working permit , I refer to MOM website , they stated there requirement for foreigners to get permit in singapore , they need a minimum spm to get the permit .

For my case , I did not have spm , due to I have fail all my subject and not even have a credit subject .

I also did not have any diploma or degree in it .

But as for my current status , I have few proffesional cert for network security ( it line ) .as my position for company hire at singapore is network security engineer .

Is that any issue to get the permit with my proffesional cert .

Wait for all ur advise here
Apply employment pass?
JohnJon82
post Aug 17 2013, 12:34 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Aug 17 2013, 12:26 PM)
If we go jb for a day trip to shop and buy electronics/ liqueur/ ciggie/ etc will we be taxed when coming back to sg??
Liquor and cigarettes full tax. Electronics if over 400 SGD, pay GST.
JohnJon82
post Aug 17 2013, 12:36 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(840812145195 @ Aug 17 2013, 12:33 PM)
Hi john ,

Thanks for ur reply , I don get what u mean about the employment pass , but I have receive the appointment letter from the company

Can apply for s-pass or e-pass with professional cert I think. Anyway, all these should be done by your office.
JohnJon82
post Aug 19 2013, 02:43 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 19 2013, 09:39 AM)
Guys, i found my accommodation at toa payoh and signed contract on the same day and came back, which is good. I wanna ask too, my rotation will be in batches of 6 months, and i may not know which country i will be sent after 6 months. So far i only see M1 mobile package that offers 6 months contract minimum, but sold at a premium price.. What do you guys think? I thought of getting a postpaid sim card with alot data, and double it as a modem for my laptop. Are there like any other options?
Take the SIM only postpaid plan, same price, no subsidised phone, but no contract.
JohnJon82
post Aug 27 2013, 07:18 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Aug 27 2013, 05:39 PM)
anyone know what the sg gomen will check with msia gomen when granting the employment pass?
You done anything wrong? Blacklisted by MY?
JohnJon82
post Aug 28 2013, 06:02 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Aug 27 2013, 11:29 PM)
is tat legal for owner to rent out the whole hdb? because the unit im renting now is without owner one, one of the housemate request one of the copy of my EP pass
Think he will go borrow ah long with your EP.
JohnJon82
post Aug 28 2013, 07:02 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Aug 28 2013, 06:46 PM)
cpf gooding ma...  20% top up by employer but with cap and yearly 3.5% interest rate.... is like a high return fd account (just not sure if die first or receive money first haha)
20%? Oh no where to report? My boss only pay 15 or 16%...
JohnJon82
post Sep 5 2013, 06:36 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Sep 5 2013, 04:41 PM)
Do you mean this -

For example the purchase price is 500k (Assume zero COV)
Bank loans you 400k (80%)

Stamp Duties & legal fees etc 30k
Bank loans you 30k as a "Personal Loan" and not part of the mortgage.

I am not aware that Bank can include stamp duty and legal fees as part of mortgage loan.
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 5 2013, 05:42 PM)
It's not a personal loan...but its deducted from your CPF....
Ya, can pay stamp duty and legal fees using your "own" money inside CPF.

Bank won't lend you that amount under house loan because they can't recover it from your house value. Personal loan maybe, but very high interest.

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Sep 5 2013, 06:36 PM
JohnJon82
post Sep 6 2013, 04:41 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 6 2013, 03:51 PM)
Yes..but at least u wont have to fork out COLD HARD CASH from your own pocket/savings account to cover for the ABSD/stamp/lawyer n misc fees!! which can be quite a sum!!

P/S: Anyone has got any ideas with the new rules for new PR having to wait 3 years before buying a HDB. If either side(example husband) is already more than 3 years PR..and the spouse is less than 3 years, does it still affect them?
Its still OUR own cold hard cash forcefully taken away from us every month la cry.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0535sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:35 PM