5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia Lumia 1020 & Various Nokia M$ Talk, RM2,499 with camera grip.

jonchai
post Jun 21 2013, 02:17 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:10 PM)
I am worried too! with all those restrictions in WP, can Nokia handle it?
but I think Microsoft now is working closer with Nokia. but from the leaked shots, I still see no sign of stereo recording. and what a lazy back design Nokia made (but the front was awesome NOKIA logo now re-place in center!) but hey, 41megapixel ftw. Samsung Apple kamu ada?  icon_rolleyes.gif
WP8 will always be the one that's holding back Nokia. Unless 8.1 brings WP closer to WinRT in terms of functionality and API, Nokia will always be held back.

Good thing Nokia didn't agree to sell the smartphone division to MSFT. Otherwise, it's as good as gone.
jonchai
post Jul 10 2013, 09:34 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

I'm getting one biggrin.gif
jonchai
post Jul 25 2013, 04:19 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

Been waiting for this .... Wait til neck also long dy
jonchai
post Jul 25 2013, 07:05 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jul 25 2013, 05:12 PM)
twtang on 925's thread is quite a good tipster for Malaysia, stalk him if you wish to know any new release.
Not likely to see this phone gets announce in Malaysia any soon. Hopefully this november.
According to Gary head of Pan Asia Marketing for Nokia, it's coming in Q4 ... That's good enough. It's a phone I'd get at any price brows.gif
jonchai
post Jul 31 2013, 11:32 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 31 2013, 08:15 AM)
i dunno what nokia try to say most of the features other OS already have long time but they can say no one come near lol.
I believe this came from a fan, not directly from Nokia .... I could be wrong but it's a hell of a phone. I'm getting one if it's under 3k biggrin.gif
jonchai
post Aug 2 2013, 10:28 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 2 2013, 10:23 AM)
For nokia trend and strategy the most I am willing to sacrifice is 2k and below anything above I save it for a phablet.

There are alot great phones coming up not worth spending premium price for a half baked OS like windows phone.

For camera its definitely satisfying everything else is not.
Boss, I'll grab one when it's out. Then let's have a gaythering brows.gif
jonchai
post Aug 15 2013, 11:28 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 14 2013, 07:50 PM)
Hello uncle before even you get to try lumia 1020 i will get my unit dont need to teach me what to do.

Since when i said Lumia is a OS i didnt know there someone outdated like you that dont even know what the OS is running until requires you to assume Lumia is an OS. Please la please at least google it.

Hello uncle all lumia series are running windowsphone you dont even know that? Need me to state in clearly?

Uncle lets not humilate you but if you want lets put money on table if i can prove to you what i said you reward me RM1000 if lose i reward RM1000 dare take the bet lets bring it on on the real time multitasking.

So please tell me how much is the Lumia 1020 price going to launch in malaysia? Give me your info since you claim you know?

We are talking about flexibility not a person that only can afford windowsphone telling me whats a malware?
I have all OS even from meego, to symbian and even maemo.  I know the difference.

Just because you do not know what you are buying please stop teaching me what to do.

Even mobile photography you cant even beat me so what are you talking about camera?

So 920 vs 925 vs 1020 maybe for a rich person like you show me you own all 3. Then talk.

You pay additional 1K+ each for metallic, camera and jack of all traits. I dunno should i laugh or cry isnt lumia 1020 have jack of traits all combine and BETTER. 2GB ram.
Please go do your research before teaching me what to do. Try all different OS then teach me do you know even know what real time multi tasking is? You wanna see my video on real time multitasking on a Nokia N9?

Thank you uncle try keep yourself in trend and up to date then with that you know how to compare the difference not blindly support one thing that you dont even know what you are buying?

I can even tell you the pros and cons windows phone vs android vs iOS.

I also wonder for a person that can take Lumia as an OS is a joke.

Uncle i have owned and used windows phone since 7.5 to 8.
Just to put things into perspective, WP does do real time multitasking, even in suspended state. It really depends on which API is being used. Try downloading a large file, switch out to another app and come back, your download doesn't pause while you're away, it continues to run. That's as real time as you can get.

Another API that runs in the background is music streaming / playback. The music app can be suspended and your music will still continue to play / stream in the background.

Edit: Down to the end, it's not that the OS is not capable of multitasking, it's more like they're trying to supress and unnecessary use of resources in order to achieve the best user experience.

This post has been edited by jonchai: Aug 15 2013, 11:31 AM
jonchai
post Aug 15 2013, 11:30 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 14 2013, 09:14 PM)
Heard my friend said taiwan is selling it for almost rm3k (after converting it to myr), with some freebies of coz. Minus the freebies should be around rm2.7k. Not sure how much would this phone cost in Malaysia.
It's impossible to go 3k, it's suicidal to do so. While I still think 3k is worth it, just my personal opinion, it just makes no sense at all to be priced so high. Max would be 2,199.
jonchai
post Aug 15 2013, 11:32 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Aug 15 2013, 11:31 AM)
i think what he means real multitasking is like the samseng's multi windows view maybe?  unsure.gif

Well, there's always app switching up to 8 brows.gif
jonchai
post Aug 15 2013, 12:15 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Aug 15 2013, 11:41 AM)
i know app swithing...but atleast on my wp7.8 kenot watch simultaneously side by side example like: watching prawn while another window whatsapp side by side....

not sure on wp8 tough....
Nope, even on 8 it's the same brows.gif
jonchai
post Aug 16 2013, 01:22 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Aug 15 2013, 11:57 PM)
i got lumia 920 dy, must wait till it is no longer supported by microsoft..
they promise gdr1,2,3, blue or 8.1, then wp9..
No, version 9 is still very far. Microsoft extended the support for WP8 by another 18 months which clearly indicates version 8 still has a long way before it's dead

This post has been edited by jonchai: Aug 16 2013, 01:23 PM
jonchai
post Aug 16 2013, 08:01 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Aug 16 2013, 07:55 PM)
if so, i did a good choice selecting Lumia 920 back then over samsung galaxy s3,
bear in mind back then all my frens and family use iphone and android..
the decision i made was like swimming across a mighty river..

every time i met ppl they said why not s3??
windows no apps lah.. nobody use wp8.. whatsapp oso buggy..

i said to them, apps can come anytime,
better for me to buy good hardware, solid phone, good camera,
got free navigation summore..
now wp8 slowly moving forward, apps got improvised, new functions unlocked..
thumbup.gif
That's good to hear thumbup.gif
jonchai
post Aug 28 2013, 10:54 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

Just curious, for those who own this phone, what's the image processing lag between shots? 3s? 2s?
jonchai
post Aug 28 2013, 12:29 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Aug 28 2013, 12:06 PM)
Jom teh tarik and test it out.  whistling.gif
Give me a unit brows.gif

We'll need aspire2006 as well
jonchai
post Sep 3 2013, 03:36 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 3 2013, 03:30 PM)
to steal some thunder from Ipong5s/5c and Note 3 i guess.

Bro mwtang, now that Microsoft bought over Nokia devices, will it (Lumia range) get cheaper ?
Why should it get cheaper?
jonchai
post Sep 3 2013, 04:58 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 3 2013, 03:38 PM)
To capture more share ? Since now they can directly influence RRP / price points ?
DIff marketing team in charge ? Diff ideas ?
If the current Lumia line isn't cheap enough, I don't know what is. Nokia wasn't getting a huge margin from the Lumia line to begin with. Any more cuts could very well become a loss. Unless they wish to clear off inventory, I doubt they'd do anything like that.

Also, Apple has demonstrated very well that people can be very insensitive to price.

While Microsoft can influence RRP, past records have shown that they don't go for price wars. See Surface as a good example. It wasn't until they had inventory leftovers that they started to sell cheaply.

Also, if we were to count on Microsoft's marketing team, we may as well just give up. Microsoft's marketing team is one of the worst in recent history.

All in all, while marketshare is important, making a profit is equally important. They have to strike and maintain a balance. Lumia, for the past months, has been growing steadily, so I don't see how they'd suddenly come in and do further price cuts.
jonchai
post Sep 3 2013, 07:06 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(lkhoe @ Sep 3 2013, 05:10 PM)
Another update... the matte finish on the body is excellent.. not as slippery as the L920 since it catches alot of oil and fingerprints, but is instead smooth. There is however tendancy for device to slip out, but at least the matte texture reduces such possiblity. 

I keep taking it out to 'feel' it and the camera hump gives it exquisite character and seamlessly formed with the phone body. No gaps or irregular corners, unlike my HTC One which has a miniscule gap in one corner of the screen. The L1020 glass screen is not as curved at the edges like the L920, hence, when I roam my fingers all over the phone, its silky smooth. So good.

Build quality is also very good and improved. No squeeky or hollow feely bits like my L920 that even after sending to SC for repair, would re-appear in different parts of the phone (sides and near camera lens).

No random restarts or shutdowns.

Significantly lighter than the L920, yet feels very solid.
Just for your info, L920 finish is glossy, hence it feels slippery.

Just my personal preference, I like gloss a lot more than matte.
jonchai
post Sep 3 2013, 07:09 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 3 2013, 05:34 PM)
getting new/even more market share, priced right. Price cuts don't have to be massive.
Not asking/demanding, just hoping.
I know where you're coming from. I was only stating from my point of view smile.gif

Like I always say, bring the features on par with others first before worrying about marketshare, something that Microsoft really has to get it into their heads. They refuse to accept that the lack of sales are mostly caused by the lack of features (restrictions).
jonchai
post Sep 5 2013, 08:29 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 4 2013, 11:14 PM)
I think they need to boost market share more to get those key developers behind popular apps to develop app for Windows Phone. I think the main drawback of Windows Phone is lack of certain essential apps, like banking apps, stock broking apps and some other essential apps that are already available with Android and iOS.  hmm.gif

Cheap phones will boost market share a lot. Look at L520.  rclxms.gif

*Hoping for Microsoft subsidized L1020  rolleyes.gif
While apps do matter, it's not so much of a deal breaker as the lack of features.

I once approached a company (name confidential) with 20+ men with the intent to sell a full package to them, a web service that runs on web (obviously), desktop and mobile app (I'm a MSFT guy, so WinPhone it is). I tried to get them to adopt Lumia 620 (for staff), Lumia 820 / 920 (for execs). The deal didn't materialize.

Why? Lack of features. I demonstrated a lot of features using my 920 back then, and then I let the top execs get their hands on it. The very first question one of them asked, how to attach documents through emails. I showed them, but they were dumbfounded .... It could only attach one doc per email. Seriously? Back then, there was only PDF Reader from MSFT. Again, how to attach PDF, I was screwed.

I demonstrated an alternative, through the use of SkyDrive, but they didn't buy the idea. Next up, the IT guy asked, how to set static IP? Again, I couldn't answer. Corporates sometimes don't just rely on DHCP to do the job. They have specific IP for each device that connects to the network for administrative purposes.

These are very important features, yet, to date, still nowhere to be found. WP, to date, is still very much a commercial phone, not recommended for enterprise use. Had they included those features, imagine how many companies service providers like me could approach? Imagine how many companies are already using Windows Phone right now?
jonchai
post Sep 5 2013, 10:10 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Sep 5 2013, 09:51 AM)
I had the idea of compiling the local apps into a thread and let them shine and perhaps comments on it so that the developers of those app at least have some deep insights on how to improve.

I still remember Nokia company paying 3 figures money for those students who successfully submitted their assignment apps to the Ovi store.
jon, *pats shoulder*

All we can do is ask and hope for the best for WP8. Someday those features will be implemented or perhaps a better solution will come out.
smile.gif I've moved on to something else until WP catches up

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:30 PM