18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V56, The White Paladins' Territory!

mingyuyu
post Oct 13 2013, 11:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

silverfire
the same girl with different outfit, one of my quick snapshot since a lot of people were taking her pictures.

IMG_0528 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Oct 14 2013, 06:58 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 14 2013, 01:49 PM)
Nice timing and nice smile biggrin.gif Do you sharpen your photos a lot? Are you using the 70-200 with or without IS?

By the way, I have some questions about Canon raw when edited with Adobe. Regardless of Picture Style used, Auto Lighting Optimiser, the photos are always in Standard with 3,0,0,0 with no Lighting Optimising right? So the only thing that really affects the raw is White Balance setting?
I am using the humble Tamron 70-200 non VC smile.gif

the setting for sharpening i used is the default in LR, then if any further sharpening is needed i only sharpen it in PS. Flickr over sharpen most of my portraits sweat.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 14 2013, 08:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 14 2013, 07:34 PM)
Nice Taiwan collection over there. Felt like I missed so much when I was off travelling laugh.gif
Its a great lens, I had it for almost a year before I sold it biggrin.gif

Taken with the same lens only D7000:

Tested the Sigma 35 1.4 Art today, looks good!
Loved the butterfly shot, purely edited with LR?

The lens is really superb in value, good sharpness with f2.8 in a light package. AF isn't that bad actually, tested it out at KLPF actually, performed a lot better than my expectation, most shots are tack sharp.

A few shots taken with the lens today
IMG_0588 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_0594 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_0592 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Oct 14 2013, 08:33 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Oct 14 2013, 08:22 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Unsure
Budget: Less than RM2.5k but as low as possible
Preferable brand : Unsure
Type of photography u want to do : New to photography
Any specific features u want? : No idea at all but got attracted by the lightweight Canon 100D

I am new to photography and have been using the simply point and shoot camera for quite sometime. But that camera is an old model and i realize that recently a lot of brands have come out with "compact" cameras that have DLSR quality such as the sony E-mount series. I'm unsure of what does those camera has to offer as compared with DLSR. So i have a few questions:

1. Why choose DLSR over those like Sony E-mount series?

2. What are the differences across brand like Canon/Nikon/Sony?

3. What are the entry models for newbies?

Thanks =)

Sorry for the re-post here as no one seems to reply in the recommendation and nikon thread. Please help sifus =)
1. It's hard to answer a question like that actually, different people have different preferences. For example myself, I didn't get those NEX at last even though I really liked it when I first saw it. This was because I knew I am going to be quite serious about photography and the NEX system simply isn't mature yet, lacks a lot of good lenses and also accessories. But for some people, they want convenience and light weight, so they bought the NEX. This doesn't mean the NEX is bad, but both DSLR and mirrorless have their pros and cons, it just depends on what the buyer needs.

2. Again, each brand has it's lineup of lenses and bodies. Any brand nowadays can makes good cameras, just that the marketing and fame of the brand are different. There are really many brands out there which are worth to consider. Actually you don't need to read tons of reviews to know which brand is better/worse, just go to any camera shop and try it out, if you really like the camera then go home and do some quick google search for further details before making the purchase.

3. If you are talking about DSLR, Canon has 100D, 1100D, 700D; Nikon has D3200, D5200; Sony has A37, A58(but it's DSLT, so not exactly a DSLR since it works in a different way compared to a real DSLR).

My quick advice is, knowing lesser is better when you first stepping into photography world. If you read too much about gears and settings, you will be really confused at the end even before you get your camera. People oftenly think too much about cameras. Simply get a camera you like first then learn step by step, practicing would help a lot compared to plain reading.

mingyuyu
post Oct 14 2013, 09:26 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:17 PM)
Thanks for the advice! I'm actually hoping for something that is not too large in size thats why i'm attracted to the canon 100d. But yet some are saying that EOS M is actually about the same as 100d which makes me confused about DSLR and Mirrorless.
the EOS M is a lot smaller than the 100D, it's around the size if your smartphone if i am not wrong.

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 14 2013, 09:21 PM)
Photoshop, I don't use LR unless batch edit photos biggrin.gif

And the lens has the best reproduction rate amongst all the 70-200 right? Pretty good too when you wanna get close up. I sold it to fund my D600 whistling.gif
Adobe Camera RAW?

I can't really tell if it's the best, but I am really satisfied with it. Yeap, that was one of the reason I choose it over the Canon 70-200 F4 (even it's 1 stop slower, but better build quality and autofocus system), I really need it since my main photography field is macro.
mingyuyu
post Oct 14 2013, 09:37 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 14 2013, 09:28 PM)
U really try so many lens haha , I wish I could try 70200 1 day too
By the way, another taiwan shoot

Taipei by ChongKiat, on Flickr
Actually you will just feel really fun and syok when you try a lens that you dreamed for a long time and the effect lasts for a short period only after finding out that it is under your expectation tongue.gif

The vignetting on the photo looks abit too much? hmm.gif The girl looks like she can glows by herself now
mingyuyu
post Oct 15 2013, 09:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

It's been a long time since I use my 50mm for macro.

IMG_0666 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_0659 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Oct 15 2013, 11:16 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Oct 15 2013, 10:48 PM)
Calm before the storm by eijoux, on Flickr

felt like i overdid this. does the HDR look fake? blush.gif
The saturation of orange seems a bit over, try reducing it would get you better result imo. Also the vignetting looks a bit too "hard" to me, always scared to touch vignetting since sometimes it looks really weird and fake.
mingyuyu
post Oct 16 2013, 05:22 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 16 2013, 12:44 AM)
mingyuyu

apparently the way 70D's AF in video didn't work like I thought.

Initially when I tried it was purely AFing on faces and such.

Then after going through some settings - I fall in love with the AF. The AF in video can be such in such a way that it doesn't track. What I really love is that I can tap any where on the screen and it just focuses to it!

The focusing with the 18-135 STM lens was decently fast but not too fast like USM focusing. It's not slow and in my experience, rarely hunts.

So convenient now, no need to MF to the area then oops OOF a bit then go backwards. biggrin.gif
That's because it was set to Face Detection that time right?

Yep yep, just like those m4/3 cameras, really easy to use.

It was really frustrating when you keep doing minor adjustments to get the perfect focus during recording, that's why I was wondering if the 70D was really that perfect, seems like it was really good after hearing what you said.

So conclusion is it works really well once you master it and set the right control?
mingyuyu
post Oct 16 2013, 07:19 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 16 2013, 07:04 PM)
nah, you don't even have to master it.

it's really easy to use.

there are only 3 options for video AF anyway.
hmm... ok, still didn't use the camera before, but I was really amazed by what canon did this time, finally something that's revolutionary.
mingyuyu
post Oct 17 2013, 02:23 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LaxxerS @ Oct 16 2013, 10:59 PM)

Nice  rclxms.gif
Sometimes I wonder, where did you find so many insects for your macro shot? lol  rclxm9.gif

I personally like the saturated orange/yellow sunset shot. Nice sets you have in your flickr!  thumbup.gif
Haha because i live in a corner lot house, so there's quite a big area of compound to plant a lot of trees and plants. There's always some insects/bugs flying around, just that you need some time to look for them as they are still really tiny in size.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 17 2013, 01:07 AM)
you saw my fashion shoot photos?

I love the burst mode increase on the 70D, plus I was using the outer AF point to focus as well, on my EF 50mm f1.4 USM!
Yeap I saw that, they look good biggrin.gif the 70D has the same focus system as the 7D right? Just that it can focus in video as well.
mingyuyu
post Oct 17 2013, 07:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Oct 17 2013, 04:01 PM)
Hi all, just jumped in to photography last year after my brother gave me his 500D. Got hooked up. so I decided to upgrade it to 600D. So far I'm pretty happy with it and its articulated LCD. biggrin.gif

So yeah, just want to say hi first before I start jumping in the conversations here. nod.gif
welcome welcome rclxms.gif

mind to share any pics you taken with the camera? smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 17 2013, 07:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Oct 17 2013, 04:01 PM)
Hi all, just jumped in to photography last year after my brother gave me his 500D. Got hooked up. so I decided to upgrade it to 600D. So far I'm pretty happy with it and its articulated LCD. biggrin.gif

So yeah, just want to say hi first before I start jumping in the conversations here. nod.gif
welcome welcome rclxms.gif

mind to share any pics you taken with the camera? smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 17 2013, 10:59 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(FeiZai_5155 @ Oct 17 2013, 07:36 PM)
Can i ask that anyone can get efs 18-135mm at RM350 for second hand unit?? i just meet a lowballer "iaknesnah" offering me this price for my lens and he telling me 18-55mm can get at RM150 ......
just ignore those guys, if they say can get at that price, just reply them "why don't you buy from other people?"

those people are just trying their luck to cheat unexperienced people.
mingyuyu
post Oct 18 2013, 06:06 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Since it rained quite heavily just now, I decided to go out and try to get some water droplet shots. Turned out I get this picture just right before it started to rain again.

IMG_0758 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Oct 18 2013, 06:39 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(FeiZai_5155 @ Oct 18 2013, 06:36 PM)
[/spoiler]

Bro, mind to pm me your fb? wanna see more your works  brows.gif
I can pm, but most of my works are on Flickr, don't really take facebook seriously since it degrades the IQ too much and I just wanna share my images with my close friends. smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 20 2013, 03:07 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Oct 20 2013, 01:49 PM)
How to transfer photo to hardisk using wifi features on 6D ? Any sifu here tried before ???

I manages to copy the photso into my mobile phone but I worried about the quality..
i dont think you can transfer it into your computer, when you transfer it into your phone you need the apps right? quality should be the same as normal transfer using card reader or such, just that imagess will be smaller in size
mingyuyu
post Oct 20 2013, 11:31 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Oct 20 2013, 11:21 PM)
try use long shutter method, the result will be awesome  biggrin.gif
Long shutter should result you a photo that looks really lack of contrast due to the steam that looks unclear? hmm.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 21 2013, 06:16 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Oct 21 2013, 11:21 AM)
it looked quite good to me biggrin.gif

Love how you processed the colors, the sky now looks a little greenish compared to ordinary deep blue which really stands out imo.
mingyuyu
post Oct 21 2013, 06:17 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Always wanted to take shots of beautiful ladybirds, finally bumped into one that had really striking red color on its body.

IMG_0900 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_0908 by tuna97, on Flickr

18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 >Top

0.0468sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:50 AM