QUOTE(Astroboy22 @ Sep 1 2013, 04:45 PM)
You're most welcome, t0n3 and Edwardleong...
And that you so much for the review. Really Appreciate it as i don't really have the time to do any at the moment. Cheersssss guys!
Sharing is caring mah Perfumes for Guys v3
Sep 1 2013, 05:19 PM
1,163 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Sep 2 2013, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(t0n3 @ Sep 2 2013, 05:21 PM) tat is why i got Pure Malt Right now i just aiming on 2 bottles either Jubilation XXV tester or Aventus tester.. i will not deviate from this path |
Sep 2 2013, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 2 2013, 09:53 PM) I thought you're still a fragaholic? Hahah Haha.. Envy your experience there went to sg last week and managed to smel the legendary spirituese double vanille by Guerlain (yes, tangs there has tom ford and guerlain exclusives) and IT IS MINDBLOWING!! (That is, if you are a huge vanilla fan). Jean Paul Guerlain created this scent based on what he smelled in a sundry store in madagascar during one of his visits to Guerlain's vanilla farms. The scent starts off with natural vanilla...so it is quite soft and toned down. However, a few hours later, its true colors emerge and a strong mixture of booze, spice and incense boosts the vanilla without distorting it too much. And it stays that way for the rest of the day. if you think eau duelle is a good vanilla scent, this one makes eau duelle smells like bodyshop's vanilla. but then with the USD250 price tag... Vanilla Absolument is a good alternative and cost half of SDV i dont really like vanilla as the main protagonist in my perfume, rather prefer them to act as supporting role, blend all notes together, sweet n smooth... |
Sep 2 2013, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 2 2013, 10:00 PM) Basenotes selling pure malt..basically they say its overrated and the fad has ended lol. i got mine from strawberry... well what kind of coffee u would like to smell? roasted beans? caramel coffee? cappuccino?i'm looking for a coffee scent just for fun. Either Dior Exclusif's vetiver or yohji Polo double black - Iced mango coffee Michael Jordan Legend - New harleem Rochas man - Cappuccino Amen - Caramel Machiato Givenchy Play intense - Roasted coffee beans |
Sep 2 2013, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(t0n3 @ Sep 2 2013, 11:26 PM) Interesting. I've sniffed Madagascar vanilla pods before and it does remind me of the vanilla from Chanel AHEB but I just can't take Le Male. Vanilla in Vanille & Narcisse by L`Occitane is quite nice too although it's a different vanilla scent I get. Depend on what kind of vanilla u like... For me I like eau de baux masculine vanilla the mostAre you into single note scents too? Currently I'm digging amber, frankincense and myrrh. |
Sep 9 2013, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(kaster89 @ Sep 6 2013, 01:52 PM) dear lyn member and perfume lovers.. does anyone know whr to buy a*men pure malt or pure havane others cheaper than SN or others site.. i feel regrets trying out dis perfume bcos now it makes me wanna buy ... Thierry Mugler Website.. too bad they dont ship to malaysia lol... Currently stick to SN |
Sep 12 2013, 11:15 PM
SOTD - Serge Lutens Chergui
Yes! ladies and gentlemen, finally gotten my hands on Chergui. Just received the parcel from DHL yesterday after my accidental purchase from FragX on last Tuesday. This is the second time FragX uses DHL to mail out my purchases. I think there is a certain minimum amount threshold for DHL delivery. Very satisfied with the purchase. Today is my first wearing of Chergui. The bottle is a screw cap and comes together with a very nice sprayer top. did 3 shots, 1 on each neck and 1 on chest below adam apple... This is one of the blind buys that i immediately fell in love with after i press the sprayer for the first time (the another one is Black Orchid). According to Fragrantica, the notes for Chergui are: tobacco leaf, honey, iris, sandalwood, amber, musk, incense, rose and hay. And for those Fume hEads who read online reviews, they will know Chergui is the mostly talked about and hyped from the house of Serge Lutens. And at this very moment, i'm holding the simplicity elegant glass bottle and admiring how Christopher Sheldrake manage to craft such masterpiece... YEs!! it does live up to the INTERNET HYPE!!!!! Ok what do i get from Chergui... i got SHHIT (sweet honey hay incense tobacco) right of the very first shot... this 4 notes blend so smooth n well balanced, each one compliment another one... The honey is sweet but then it is supported by the dry tobacco leaves n hay. It projects well for the first 2-3 hrs (5-6inch), slowly fade into skin scent, however u still occasionally get wharf of chergui even though skin scent. Longevity, die on me after 9hrs. It is suitable for office, why? this frag loves heat, after in the air con room till lunchtime where it starts to turn into skin scent, stand under the sun will make it projects again What makes me love Chergui? It is the best tobacco frag i ever smell, i owned ck one shock, bogart ph... those are sweet cherry pipe tobacco, quite synthetic sweet. I was debating between Chergui or Pure Havane before i did the purchase... i even ask a few sifus here for their opinions. Thank god i was hesitate to buy PH due to some of the online reviewers mention about the Dr Pepper cherry opening... And i would want to thank bro Tone for letting me know FragX restocked their Chergui at a very nice discount. Back to the question, the tobacco in chergui is piles dried tobacco leaves in the warehouse before being rolled into cigars. then the overall vibe i got is that someone is burning these dried tobacco leaves with hay and some incense, slowly drizzles honey on to in to put out the fire.. then the smoke that comes after the burning is what i get from chergui... another reason is it is LINEAR, meaning i can smell such wonderful opening from the start to it dies off... if u know me, i loves my frag to be linear as much as possible, wont not like to spend 2hrs to wait the frag to move into mid or base notes. Chergui has instantly jump to be my signature daily scent my rating - Perfect 10... sit along with my black orchid. For those who are looking for tobacco scent? look no further.. CHERGUI it is!!! no doubt it is just available in 50ml edp but you just need 2-3 sprays per application which will last for around 7mths if u use it daily and i have set aside limited 5ml decants sprays (only 5 decants as i love this scent very much) of Chergui, for those that are interested just pm me for the price. Cheers Attached image(s) |
Sep 14 2013, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 13 2013, 05:48 PM) Not to say that Chergui is not a good scent, it is nice and the intro scent to the serge lutens line, but as a Buddhist, this is what Chergui reminds me of: my gf stays away from me when i try kiehls musk edi... ah Khan.. sry![]() however, when it comes to the most intriguing scent, this one's still the winner: ![]() |
Sep 14 2013, 11:06 PM
Sep 16 2013, 09:04 AM
Sep 17 2013, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(kelthuzad @ Sep 16 2013, 11:39 PM) [attachmentid=3632670] nice review bro Amouage Memoir Man bought this last 2 weeks ago,managed to give this 2 full wearings so far.this is quite versatile,but i would prefer to wear this in evening and night time.very green opening,i like it,the absinth and the mint,very cooling,in fact i have some cooling feeling on the back of my hand where i sprayed this on.the mint stays till the mid,and it reminds me a bit of cartier roadster.this is a very unique scent,and very nice..initially i like the opening but now i dig the drydown more.the balmy,woody and the slight hint of vanilla and tobacco is really nice,a very warm and smooth drydown.the signature frankincense can be detected after 1 hours of wearing and its there till the end,the whole combination is lovely. only drawback is that it get to really close skin scent after 5 hours,but the close skin scent is what made me so addicted to smell my wrist the whole night.i dont think a lot of people will say amouage frags are sexy,but i think memoir man is the sexiest among all.i still dont understand the most hyped jubi xxv,its so sickening sweet and the drydown is boring,memoir man does it for me.but if u have the chance go try opus 3,its much sweeter than jubi xxv and thicker,crazy sweet |
Sep 20 2013, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(m.dandollah @ Sep 20 2013, 06:13 PM) On the opposite, i like Silk Mood by MFK better. But then, the price is quite scratch. Am gonna try some more Armani/Prive, Tom Ford Private Collection, Nasomatto, Serge Lutens later. Wah u all so high end level edi into niche... me just gotten into affordable niche such as Chergui and PenhaligonP/s: SOTD - Tom Ford Noir de Noir oh both pure malt and pure havane have been taken down from Strawberry d This post has been edited by edwardleong: Sep 20 2013, 09:33 PM |
Sep 20 2013, 09:32 PM
Sep 21 2013, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(m.dandollah @ Sep 21 2013, 05:52 AM) good for you. neroli portofino is surely a very good perfume for hot and humid weather. not for autumn and winter though. am gonna save up meself to buy a huge bottle (250ml) Cafe Rose. The scent is purely heaven!! well my finance minister do not dig tobacco vanille but she love neroli portofino... as for frapin, she say do u wanna bathe in cognac before u head to office? |
Sep 21 2013, 09:43 AM
Sep 22 2013, 05:50 PM
Dear all sifus,
while i was decanting my amouage epic, i spilled some on my table, the scent filling my room is so amazing 1. YSL M7 Oud Absolu 2. Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa Oud Eau de Cologne Concentree 3. Creed Royal Oud 4. Dior Fahrenheit Absolute 5. Tom Ford Oud Wood 6. Dior Leather Oud |
Sep 22 2013, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(kaster89 @ Sep 22 2013, 06:02 PM) a suggestion fromĀ newbies .... thanks my friend... u certainly no newbies... im still new here too....Well yea FA is more wallet friendly compare to Royal Oud.IMHO i think no 4... hehe bcos in the list u made i have just smell 2 of it which is fahrenheit and royal oud..for me fahrenheit is the winner leather oud.. Wats ur opinion on royal oud then This post has been edited by edwardleong: Sep 22 2013, 10:05 PM |
Sep 22 2013, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(t0n3 @ Sep 22 2013, 07:04 PM) I've only tried 1 & 4, I'd say 4. 1 is a nice sweet scent but I detected no oud and it's so weak not worth a fb. thanks bro... im not really keen on those oud being dominant.. stealing all the show in a frag... more prefer it to sync in well, shake hands with other nice notes, 1 fragrance lol...like epic, the oud is there but so do the incense and etc... |
Sep 22 2013, 11:03 PM
Sep 23 2013, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 22 2013, 11:14 PM) Chanel has a strict no sample policy. probably would happen in the US or europe but not in malaysia. mainly thanks to our culture... Back in Jul where I got my PMC, the sa gave me sycomore and eau de cologne samples but i am guessing that if i got a les exclusif, they would probably give me some. 400+ for the 75ml "travel" size. My faves: bel respiro, bois de illes and coromandel. lol its not opoponax, its actually oakmoss and vanilla that dominates the base. which is similar to CPM (which I have and treasure but is very light) but not exactly the same. The sandalwood vibe is still there but not listed as the official note, but the oakmoss sure is strong. Which i love!!! Well on my skin PMC is linear, d sandalwood and oakmoss are sitting on the back quietly... PMC is the back bone of allure homme edition blanche |
| Change to: | 0.0592sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:01 PM |