Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 12:24 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:10 PM)
Okay..now I have a problem...it seems like dell do not provide the OS cd for the laptop...

1. So if I would want to reformat my laptop..the only way is through BIOS factory image reset?

2. So if I format my computer using lets say..win xp / win 7...meaning my ori windows 8 that came with it is lost forever?

3. As what dell chat told me..I'm not able to simply just download the same edition of windows and use the windows key that came with my original

So what options do I have...if I want a clean install...and let's say adjust my HDD partitions to my preference?
OS Media Kit - Ask (nicely), and you shall get (for free smile.gif )

2. If you really want XP (but why? biggrin.gif ), run virtual machine. Or if you can wait, wait till W8.1 come out (mid Oct13), can boot directly to desktop (bypass Modern UI), so you will not miss W7 tongue.gif

3. W8 key is in the UEFI (BIOS), not something for you to key in. iinm, currently there is no ISO download for W8 from digital river.
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 02:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Sep 25 2013, 12:58 PM)
got it. previously was confused as i couldn't differentiate between sarcasm and fact from your message haha. batt power samsung claims 8 hours. but reviews tip it at 4 - 4.5 hours. still ok lah  smile.gif
Huh? No sarcasm lah smile.gif That Book 9 look really nice and work really well on task that is not very CPU or GPU demanding.
Too bad about the battery running time if only 4 - 4.5 hours hmm.gif If Samsung fit it with a slightly (3 cell vs 2 cells) larger battery (will not increase weight by 100g), it could easily run 6 - 7 hours. Miss opportunity to really wallop the market.
Generally, I really hope brands start to roll out more < RM2k models with a 128G SSD as standard, rather than a slow 1TB 5400 rpm HDD.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 25 2013, 02:59 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 03:06 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:37 PM)
1. OS Media kit - I asked like a girl..lol..but what I get is "but now we don't provide the cd for the window or driver anymore"

2. Nah, I don't want xp. I want to try out win 8...but sometimes my butt gets itchy and I tend to do some stupid stuff. What if I just formatted and install windows 7 just for fun. Does this mean I've lost my ori windows 8 forever? Bye bye?..lol..

3. Hmmm..oh yeah...if I remember correctly, windows 8.1 can be upgraded for free ?

Anyway, I'm sooo bored with the old windows look. I would really like to try out some new things. My brain is starting to stagnate and it's starving...Haha..I'm not saying win 8 is superb..I haven't tried it yet...so I can't comment..and btw, I'm saying the above just because so happen I'm getting a new laptop..otherwise I won't bother..lol
1. Ada lah smile.gif

2. The W8 key is stored in the UEFI. Even if you totally reformat the HDD, it's still there in the UEFI. So if you get the W8 OS Media Kit from Dell, you could re-install W8 anytime (after you wipe it out from HDD).

3. Yes, W8.1 is free upgrade from W8.
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 04:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2010 @ Sep 25 2013, 03:25 PM)
Dell 14r 4200u giving free win 8 media but not for vostro series..... Cannot figure out the logic behind this.
That's something about the "customisation" page that I never figure out. Even for the same models, for some spec, in the customisation page, has "OS Media Kit" option, but not for other spec laugh.gif

Anyway, for corporate account, every single laptop come with OS media kit in the box tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 05:21 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 04:54 PM)
one thing i miss, the product feature in vostro 5470 mention:

"Boot up quickly with a fast solid-state drive (SSD) and get long battery life with the optional Ultrabook™, inspired by Intel."

but i dont see any option for upgrading to SSD  rclxub.gif

another thing is,
does it really come with fingerprint reader?  unsure.gif

"Essential security

Prevent unauthorized access to your laptop and sensitive data with a built-in fingerprint reader.

Protect against malware and cyber threats with preloaded security software.

Safeguard your data and applications with Dell Backup and Recovery, offering simple and reliable protection from data loss."
As mentioned in earlier post, in certain market (eg. China), 5470 has certain spec that come with 8GB RAM + 128GB SSD. Unfortunately, not in Malaysia tongue.gif

Yes, there is fingerprint reader in 5470. Below the arrow keys. (Lots of people don't like fingerprint reader though laugh.gif )
nexus2238
post Sep 26 2013, 12:06 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Sep 25 2013, 09:27 PM)
. guess ill just wait around for more options. the hp envy spectre has a 128gb ssd...
yes, if you could wait, definitely wait a bit longer, at least till Nov, should see more Haswell spec ultrabook roll out with W8.1.
nexus2238
post Sep 26 2013, 04:41 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(helo @ Sep 26 2013, 01:50 PM)
is touch features important since windows 8.1 coming? the i5 version doesn't have touch screen..... =(
with W8.1, it become easier to ignore touch tongue.gif (can boot direct to desktop, ... )
Btw, unless the laptop is a hybrid, poke poke on screen is testing the durability of the hinges biggrin.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:32 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:01 AM)
how come 5460 performance cannot beat macbook air?
mac is running on i5 (Intel HD5000) vs 5460 is running on i5 (Nvidia630M)

Should the 5460 better performance compared to macbook air?
Performance in what?
CPU is about on par.
GPU, 5460 / 5470 better.
responsiveness - MBA 2013 with that Samsung proprietary (similar to m.2 but not m.2) SSD win hands down vs HDD in 5460/5470. To rectify this, get a SATA SSD and swap with the HDD.
Screen - both TN, both MBA (in my opinion) is better.
nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:36 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:40 AM)
Does anyone changed their 5460/5470 ram from 4GB to 8GB?
How much does it cost? Lowyat Plaza?
I'm worry on the warranty coz the bottom panel need to be removed for upgrade.
Quite a few owners posted they have increase RAM to 8GB.
As mentioned, there is only 1 RAM slot. So you need to buy 8GB stick and replace the 4GB stick.
5470, better stay with DDR3L (~ RM250).
5460, some owners said could use DDR3 (~ RM200).

Quite easy to remove the bottom panel (access to almost all components). Good idea to learn so that you could remove dust from fan / heat sink yourself in the future.
nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:29 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 10 2013, 12:32 PM)
what is the different between DDR3 vs DDR3L?
i saw some specs like 1.35v & 1.5v

how to differentiate? Im worry i bought the wrong item

CRUCIAL DDR3L 1600 8G soDIMM 1.35V (NOTEBOOK)
Spec: DDR3 1600MHz/ 8GB piece Sodimm 204pin
LOCAL LIFETIME WARRANTY. RM220
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...518147&hl=ddr3l
DDR3L is 1.35v
nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 03:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Oct 11 2013, 02:38 PM)
If we buy 5470 free DOS, later can get driver for windows xp?
5470 don't have FreeDOS spec.
And for any new laptop models that come FreeDOS, don't pitch your hope on drivers for WinXP, count your lucky star if brands released drivers for W7 (if at all) smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 03:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 11 2013, 10:51 AM)
Hey guys, to those that swears by Dell, this is my first time ordering from dell online and it is a huge dissapointment with the efficiency. Delivery date starts with the word "estimated" and the paragraph that follows contains too many "if"..when you talk to the customer service, you'll get the usual "there's nothing we can do"...

Laptop is delayed 4 days now...and reason given was because the backpack that comes with it has not arrived due to some inefficient supplier and the entire package has to be delivered together. In order to get it separated, it takes 3 levels of approval from so called " higher management " .....so what happened to customer service?
read the terms and conditions before you buy smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 06:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 11 2013, 04:29 PM)
TechHypermart is offering free dos version

http://www.techhypermart.com/dell-vostro-5...p-notebook.html
http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/my/en/...uct/vostro-5470
only has drivers for W7 and W8.

And that one seems to be SG unit hmm.gif (look at the code Dell Vostro 5470-0145SG-DOS Laptop)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 11 2013, 06:41 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 12:25 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(denn0c0il @ Oct 12 2013, 10:59 AM)
Who is forumer here selling this dell vostro 5460 with 32gb msata?
Go to garage sale threads to look for re-sellers smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 15 2013, 07:32 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 14 2013, 10:18 AM)
bros, i've been using the 5470 for a few hours now. I really hate the touchpad i would say...but the multitouch gestures do come in handy.

However, i have been looking at my Performance Monitor and I notice that Disk Writes is at 100% many of the times while my CPU hardly reaches 90% and at normal usage i am using 70% of my RAM.

I do feel some lag somehow, I wonder it's windows 8 or its due to the 100% Disk writes.

and wow...i can tell you that the battery rocks...it doesn't seem to end
how is the wireless connection range on your 5470? (that is the Achilles heel of 5460 hmm.gif )

Yup, HDD is the bottleneck (for any laptop), that's why it will be good to swap in a SDD smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 16 2013, 04:02 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 15 2013, 11:18 PM)
Dell repairman told me Vostro is the model to go for if you are very mobile. Inspirons are what he said "fragile".
I'll say Vostro 5460 / 5470 are quite "fragile" as well tongue.gif (i.e. the body / shell twist as much as the normal Inspiron tongue.gif. In fact, I'll say the new Inspiron 7000 series is slightly more "solid" than this Vostro hmm.gif ). The repairman may be referring to the older Vostro 3460.

For mobile workforce on a tight budget, if you are into Dell, may want to have a look at Latitude 14 3000 (Latitude 3440) as well. Weight 2.0kg (about the same as Inspiron 14 7000), but solid enough (not as solid as the Latitude 6430 that I'm using in office, but still good), and can opt for 65Whr battery tongue.gif Price is also quite competitive for proper business class laptop (< RM3k). No docking port though (need to use USB docking). (in fact, I have the sneaky feeling that Dell has "move" the old Vostro line into Latitude 3000 series (since we don't see any Haswell refresh for Vostro 3360 / 3460 / 3560), and let Vostro brand run with 5470 type of models hmm.gif )
nexus2238
post Oct 16 2013, 05:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 15 2013, 02:39 PM)
WIFI

I am not a hardcore in testing the wifi, but as a normal user, I have my Unifi DIR-615 router downstairs and my laptop upstairs on the second floor on battery with Dell's out-of-the-box battery power settings. I do not seem to have a wifi connection problem except for constantly disconnecting due to the stupid DIR-615 router which happens to all my other devices.

I have also used the laptop outside where, I  easily get wifi signals where my iPad 4 cant even detect. I don't know if that is considered okay but I odnt find it a problem.

WIN 8

I have more problem with inconsistent Windows 8 platform between the metro and desktop interface and some occasional program crash, otherwise window 8 is okay as well.

BATTERY LIFE

I could easily get 4 to 5 hours of battery life with me playing around with the laptop these 2 days installing stuff and trying out programs in and out. The battery charges pretty fast too when plugged in. At least the battery can easily last longer than my damn HTC phone with the same amount of usage.

PERFORMANCE

I notice that whenever I feel lag, it will be accustomed with the blinking of the HDD and with the response I got, I now believe it is the bottleneck of the laptop. I am hesitating to change to SSD as I feel that the thing is still relatively new and it's relatively expensive which I feel the prices are going to drop pretty fast. Right now I would mind changing the RAM to 8Gb anyway...Will I see any difference? As I notice it's pretty odd with the way Win 8 uses the RAM. One half is "used", a minute amount as "modified", and the rest of it as "standby"...where very rarely, once in a blue moon you'll get to see about 400Mb as "free".

FINGER PRINT READER

This thing is pretty cool, I use it to log in to windows. Only downside to it is, I have to stick to Windows Explorer as it doesn't work with chrome.

SCREEN

Well, I always tried to avoid glossy screens, but this screen on this piece doesn't really pose a problem to my astig
Well, That's all I can think of for now. If there's anything else you guys would want to know, I'll try to respond.

p/s : this laptop is a fingerprint magnet
Thanks for feedback rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
So, as expected, the Haswell spec 5470 address the battery runtime shortcoming of 5460.
Good to hear that the wireless connection in your 5470 is working fine.

On the RAM increase, you will notice slight improvement if you are into heavy multi-tasking.
The pattern of behaviour you see on RAM is normal, lots of prefetch / superfetch / swapping going around tongue.gif Btw, even if you increase RAM to 8G, you may still see the same pattern laugh.gif (yet another benefit of going SSD: you can turn off prefetch / superfetch to free up RAM usage, and swap file (if you leave it on) access faster on SSD).

Understand your concern on SSD cost, it is dropping fast year by year. But SSD is not new tech anymore lah smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 16 2013, 05:59 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 16 2013, 01:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 16 2013, 10:29 AM)
Actually can we run on both HDD & SSD on 5460/5470?
I saw on Dell website that it comes with SSD as optional but didnt find the option to add the SSD.
Do you mean having a SATA HDD and a mSATA SSD?
For 5460, 1 of the spec allow buyer to do that. Apparently, for those spec that come without the factory mSATA SSD, the mSATA port somehow is disabled (according to 1 of the forumer) hmm.gif

For 5470, I saw the mSATA port right beside the WLAN card, but did not try putting in mSATA SSD to test if the port work tongue.gif

Have to ask owner or some re-seller sifus to test it out notworthy.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 21 2013, 06:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 20 2013, 08:44 AM)
Everything else runs fast...boot, processing etc...i notice it only lags during HDD read/write

Is it normal? could it be the partition?

Hmmm...i checked...and i just noticed, even when i'm doing nothing, i have these rubbish running in the background..Do you have it too?

Most of the time, it's the "System" thingy that occasionally having 99% usage of the disk.
right click on the Process that have lots of disc activities. Select Properties. or File Location. Then you should be able to identify what is actually running.
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 09:26 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 12:43 AM)
So far how is the vostro 5470? Is it a solid unit or a very flimsy till you feel like can bend or break the unit?
it depends on your size laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm not a very careful person with my gadget, and I find 5460 / 5470 is a bit fragile for myself tongue.gif If you twist it (base side to side, display side to side .. ), it will bend hmm.gif
But it is actually quite on par with normal consumer line laptop around RM2k range in term of build quality.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0489sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:32 PM