Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 11:52 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:42 AM)
I'm thinking of vostro or that new Inspiron 11 3000 but I have not heard much feedback from that unit.

To me, battery life is king, as I travel a lot.
The Inspiron 11 3000 has longer battery run time, with Haswell Celeron + 50 WHr battery.
But Vostro 5470 with Haswell i3 ULT + 40+ ( hmm.gif ) WHr battery is still pretty good.

Purely personal opinion: since the 11 is smaller in dimension, when I tried to bend it, I felt it flex a bit less compared to 5460/5470. 1 thing, I find the arrow key in Inspiron 11 is a bit small hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 11:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 25 2013, 11:04 AM)
4. McAffee is driving me crazy..slowing everything down by half.
I generally find Window Defender good enough for W8 smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:05 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:50 AM)
How large is the adapter for the 5470? I really like the size of the adapter of the Asus zenbooks due to its smaller size. pics would be nice.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1j7gEiSnUs
can look at this video on 5460. Should be same adapter.
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:58 AM)
How you manage to get your hands with Inspiron 11 3000. From the youtube videos I've seen, the 11 looks 'solid' although its really is made out of plastic to look like aluminium.

What bothers me a bit about the 11 is the celeron processor. Kind of worried about the performance when it comes to booting from a cold start, browsing web and play facebook level games.

Although..touch screen is nice, but I wonder if it brings any benefit when using Win 8.1.

Very hard to find shop around Miri that carries dell laptops.
Because my office colleagues (who were on netbook) are already using it laugh.gif (so I molested a bit). Some of them (who do lots of field trip) decided to grab this instead of waiting for Venue Pro 11 (our current IT procurement for workstation is all Dell, other still hold out for Venue Pro 11). Their slight beef is it come with 2GB RAM standard, so they just slap a 8GB DDR3L (unfortunately only 1 RAM slot, like Vostro 5460/5470).

That Celeron should handle web browsing and FB games well.

Another thing: if you compare them side by side, Inspiron 11 is very slightly thicker than Vostro 5460/5470.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 25 2013, 12:25 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:51 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 12:28 PM)
I've been looking for netbook level laptop unfortunately Dell as well as other manufacturer simply stop producing it as they deemed netbook a dead category.

Inspiron 11 3000 would very much fit my needs, unfortunately the price comes so close to more powerful vostro.

Venue Pro 11? How many USB ports (not including mini) does it have? I require at the very least, 2 full size USB ports.
Venue Pro 11 is a tablet though (but battery detachable), with detachable keyboard (with another battery). Not available yet. Only 1 USB port, iinm.

If you need something solid, why don't you consider Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E135? I think you could get it at ~ RM1100 now (since E145 is coming out soon).
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:53 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 12:29 PM)
But lighter, right? Same adapter size as well? Do you feel the Inspiron 11 touch screen is 'worth' it?
Yes, Inspiron 11 is very slightly lighter (since it is smaller as well, I felt more portable (if you know what I meant tongue.gif )
Yup, same adapter size.

I am not a touch screen person on traditional form factor, so may be not the best person to ask laugh.gif

nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 03:13 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 01:08 PM)
I checked the unit, although I would prefer to get the latest one (E145) but the unit runs on AMD processor.  sweat.gif

Still prefer dell due to its excellent on site service.
Since you mentioned your usage for this laptop is probably web surfing and FB gaming, that AMD APU should be fine smile.gif
You can upgrade the warranty on Thinkpad Edge to on site service (but I'm not familiar with standard of service by Lenovo on site support at Miri or East Malaysia, sorry tongue.gif )
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 04:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 25 2013, 03:33 PM)
just call them & they'll come to your doorstep?
or need to send to their service center?
if you get the on site warranty, then on site lah smile.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hjXNJVYO-Y

notice where they were smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 25 2013, 04:38 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 26 2013, 07:21 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 25 2013, 11:15 PM)
Wanted to ask sifu here, why the RJ45 port in 5470 so small? Will it fit the normal cable or need to remove the cover?
because that's one of the way to fit in the RJ45 into a slim form factor smile.gif
Yes, normal LAN cable can fit in, don't worry. You need need to flip the "small plastic (it is there to protect the port)" on the port downward to make the port back to normal size.
That "small plastic" is kind of fragile, be gentle smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 29 2013, 05:51 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dexxtrous @ Oct 29 2013, 04:21 PM)
Its 8 beeps exactly. Does that mean its an LCD failure? Seriously? On a brand new laptop just opened about half an hour ago?
Just call Dell support already smile.gif Either they will send a technician to fix it for your, or if it's bad get replacement unit or refund.
Just insufficient data for anyone to diagnose / guess what went wrong.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 29 2013, 05:52 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 29 2013, 08:53 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dexxtrous @ Oct 29 2013, 08:03 PM)
Yeah they offered me a refund, unit replacement or lcd replacement. I had no other option than the lcd replacement since I will be out of Malaysia after three weeks and unit replacement would take 20days++.

This is really frustrating. The whole new laptop feeling has been ruined. Probably got a really bad unit. sad.gif
if it is just LCD issue, the replacement will be a piece of cake smile.gif Technician will get it done in < 30 mins.
nexus2238
post Oct 30 2013, 05:47 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ Oct 29 2013, 09:26 PM)
anyone who has bought the 5470, is it a touchscreen?do they have ones without touchscreen and with windows 7 instead of 8?
on Dell website, only spec with W8.
but through retail re-sellers, there is a model spec with i5, no-touch screen, FreeDOS (mean you have to get and install W7 yourself). You can check with re-sellers on LYN garage sales section. Re-sellers can still help to extend warranty upon purchase. There are W7 drivers for 5470 on Dell website.
nexus2238
post Oct 30 2013, 05:58 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 29 2013, 11:12 PM)
Piece of cake but honestly it would still sucks because your brand new laptop had to straight away get repair, and the technician gets to take its 'virginity' before the actual owner.

I hope my Dell won't be DOA.  sweat.gif
fingers cross rclxms.gif
btw, so conservative one, not easy to find those with "virginity" intact brows.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif (just kidding, just kidding)

QUOTE(dexxtrous @ Oct 30 2013, 12:06 AM)
I'm not having a pleasant feeling about this.. Should I get a refund? What do you guys suggest?
The technician should be with you today or tomorrow?
Let the technician fix it, you observe (and know your laptop inside out tongue.gif ) and ask questions.
If after this fix more problems occur within few days (keep in mind the RMA period), then quickly call again, this time ask for refund / replacement (unit is unfortunately but probably a lemon sweat.gif fingers cross )
nexus2238
post Oct 31 2013, 09:40 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 30 2013, 11:12 PM)
My order suddenly went 2 days earlier.
not sudden lah. Initial estimate by Dell is always with margin for error. So when parts available earlier, payment processed faster, courier service scheduled earlier, we get to receive "earlier". There are times the whole universe seems to go against us, and end up shipment is delayed laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Nov 2 2013, 07:43 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 31 2013, 10:44 AM)
After tested my Vostro 5470 for almost a week, I can conclude that the wifi is sucks.

I had my iPhone, iPad & another Lenovo laptop together next with the vostro 5470, all device was connected to my wifi where the Vostro unable to detect the wifi. The distance between my Unifi router & all the devices is less than 10m (distance by a wall).

I don't think is the router problem because all other devices was connected except my 5470.

Might need to call Dell & get them to resolve this issue for me...
are you running it at 2.4GHz band or 5GHz band?
Try 5GHz band and see if it help.
nexus2238
post Nov 6 2013, 12:18 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(danielx90 @ Nov 6 2013, 12:01 AM)
1 Year Limited Hardware warranty       : MYR 425.00
2 Year Limited Hardware warranty       : MYR 656.00
3 Year Limited Hardware warranty       : MYR 742.50

-        Cover on natural Hardware failure
-      Engineer onsite service on Next Business Day (provided if parts are available in local warehouse)
-        Exclude battery, wear & tear and cosmetic issue

Price Validity: until 12th November 2013

Please take note on below:

Warranty extension covers:
-next business day onsite response after remote diagnosis (hardware issues)
-parts only warranty ( motherboard, ram, graphic card, dvd rom, palmrest, hard drive )
-hardware and software phone support

Warranty extension does not cover
-battery (came with 1 year warranty only)
-accidental damage
- wear and tear issue
-cosmetic damage
- damage caused by natural disaster
- Data backup
- Engineer onsite for software issues.
- LCD crack no covered
·    Battery only can be change at the 1st year of purchase date

I message Dell Facebook, and they direct me to the another Dell personnel request quotation from her manager...because Dell Online dont have option to purchase warranty extension for vostro.
?
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
+rm159 for 2 years warranty
+rm249 for 3 years warranty

if you buy the laptop with standard 1 year warranty, then later want to extend warranty, obviously it is going to be a lot more expensive.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 6 2013, 12:20 AM
nexus2238
post Nov 9 2013, 10:43 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Nov 9 2013, 10:17 AM)
Huh..my Dell unit arrived earlier than expected.
Looking forward to your review on the Inspiron 11 3000 rclxms.gif (maybe open another thread tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 9 2013, 10:43 AM
nexus2238
post Nov 9 2013, 03:05 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 9 2013, 01:20 PM)
Nice, I'm now more incline towards dell inspiron 14 7000 series.
Yeah and will cost a lot more but look sturdy.
Inspiron 7000 series not only look sturdy, it is sturdy. I can't bend the base trying to twist it (only manage to get my hand on the 15 7000), no bending on the palm rest area, and even the screen area only budge a little when I twist it thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 9 2013, 03:06 PM
nexus2238
post Nov 15 2013, 04:04 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ Nov 14 2013, 03:36 PM)
Any of you guys mate a 5470 with ssd yet?

i bought 5470 (rm2149) laptop.. then bought myself Crucial m500 ssd, but the ssd wont work. I called up dell, they say 5470 got 2 kind.. 1 is 5470 notebook, and 1 is 5470 ultrabook.. somehow the rm2149 is notebook, thus does not support SSD. its kinda stupid excuse, but heck. anyone manage to get it anything work?

or should i just get mSata?
QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ Nov 15 2013, 02:20 PM)
'dell' technician said, the one in ultrabook series. probably gonna have stickers..
IMO, dell is just giving lame excuse.. my 7 years old pc can use SSD with no problem lol, why newer dell cant support. At first, they even try to convince me how SSD port is different than sata. lol
does not make sense.
You mean a full SATA Crucial M500 SSD? And you swap out the HDD with the SSD?
Should work without any problem.
btw, did you clone the HDD content over? Is the UEFI set to ACHI?

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 15 2013, 04:06 PM
nexus2238
post Nov 15 2013, 09:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ Nov 15 2013, 07:30 PM)
The bios will hang, thus no further testing.
Bios simply wont get past through if m500 SSD is plugged in.
what do you mean BIOS won't pass through? There is no such thing hmm.gif BIOS is in ROM, not affected by any hardware change.
when you press the power up button, quickly press F2 or F8 or F12, it will lead you straight into UEFI (BIOS).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 15 2013, 09:51 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0381sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:21 AM