Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

raeimad
post Aug 8 2014, 07:17 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 8 2014, 11:17 AM)
what is darker sound? i don't know sound got colour  biggrin.gif
Less treble/highs. Tends to have more bass/lows. Tends to be called "dark". Where else if the sound is more towards the highs with less bass, it's called "bright". smile.gif

QUOTE(mothangel @ Aug 8 2014, 06:55 PM)
getting ATH-M50X any comments or problem occured from existing users that i need to take care of ?

like durability wise or etc
The revised line up for Audio Technica monitoring headphones was released this year. So I don't think there should be any reviews about durability of M50X, but it seems solid enough to last a long time thumbup.gif
raeimad
post Aug 9 2014, 09:40 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Mussolini @ Aug 9 2014, 08:46 PM)
Hi audiophiles sifus, need your recommendations:

Rigs: Nexus 5, occationally laptop.
Usage: listening to songs inside LRT, watching movie on laptop
File format: mp3
Genre of music: Pop, jazz
Earphones: IEM
Other requirements: adequate sound isolation as i use it in the LRT often, preferably with built in mic and audio controls compatible with android.
Budget: below RM150

I'm not a serious audiophile, so my requirement also not very high. Currently looking at Xiaomi Piston or Apple earpods, are they good? And are there any better choices out there? Thank you
You can check out SoundMAGIC E10 thumbup.gif
Although I've not listened to the Xiaomi Pistons (on my to buy list though) I'd go for it rather than Apple earpods.
Earpods are not sound isolating at all. (Doesn't fit my ear well either, falls off easily but might differ from person to person sweat.gif )
raeimad
post Aug 13 2014, 05:46 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(chocosnowshake @ Aug 13 2014, 04:10 PM)
My current Hippo VB is getting show some issues on muted sound of right ear. Might need to get a new one soon. Have any recommendation of IEM which performance likely Hippo VB?

Main use : laptop / samsung galaxy S3/ ipad
Usage: music
Format: mp3, wma
Genre : instrumental like Kenny G, Kitaro; High bass like disco song or trance
Earphone : IEM only
Budget: RM300 below
Can try AudioTechnica ATH-IM50 smile.gif
raeimad
post Aug 15 2014, 11:52 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(zhuoyang @ Aug 13 2014, 10:10 PM)
Your rig: Computer (on board sound card)
What type of usage: Music and gaming
File format used in your source: mostly lossless
Headphone/ earphone type: prefer full sized headphone
Other requirements: Microphone preferred
Budget: RM300 and below.

Currently aiming for ATH-M20/30X and Razer kraken (pro).
Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
For a bassy headphone under 300, for music I would prefer ATH Pro5Mk2. But if it is more for gaming, I'd go for the kraken pro since it has a mic and the sound fits better for gaming, but quite bad for music. Not the worst though.
raeimad
post Aug 15 2014, 05:22 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 15 2014, 05:02 PM)
Have you try some Sennheiser? HD4XX is in this price range I think.

But if you like m50, m40 wont sound too far different since they are same series, but AT not my cup of tea.
M40X sound really different from M50X
Less bass and much more flat sound. Both have their pros and cons, there are times when M40X sounds better for certain music, or parts of a song.

QUOTE(hamdanchiuyanyehh @ Aug 15 2014, 02:30 PM)
Hi, I wan to buy a 1st new headphone, can you suggest me?

- Budget : RM300-500 : low but good quality smile.gif
- Your rig (Pc : UD100DAC, Iphone 4s)
- What type of usage (music)
- File format used in your source (flac and mp3)
- Genre of music you listen to (rock, jazz, classical, acoustic, pop)
- Headphone type (closed - over the ear)

Thank you
fischer audio fa-004 (if i'm not mistaken about the model) sounds quite good, and comes with replacable pads. But if you didn't like Shure SRH 440, this might sound too bright for you as well. And there is very little bass as well.

If you did like M50X for the bass, you might dislike M40X, but overall M40X is amazing for the price smile.gif

raeimad
post Aug 15 2014, 06:21 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 15 2014, 05:25 PM)
is it? sorry for the wrong info, not a fan of AT hehehe
no worries. different people got different tastes nod.gif
raeimad
post Aug 15 2014, 07:52 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Aug 15 2014, 06:49 PM)
Is kraken usb 7.1 good enough?
Depends. For gaming, yes - good for the price. biggrin.gif
For music, no - headphones half the price would sound better tongue.gif
raeimad
post Aug 16 2014, 05:31 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Aug 16 2014, 04:33 PM)
thx for the info
i need headphone for gaming purpose atm so i think it is a good choice
Do note that since it's USB you can't use it with smartphones etc.

If I were to get a gaming headphone for that price range I would got for the Tiamat 2.2. This is my own opinion though.
Much more comfortable compared to any Kraken biggrin.gif
I would recommend Tiamat 7.1 but it's double the price... sad.gif
raeimad
post Aug 18 2014, 03:12 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 18 2014, 01:01 PM)
Jaben @ Subang or E1 Audio @ Sungei Wang.

For your iem selection, may I know what is your music preference?  smile.gif  smile.gif
Jaben @ NU Sentral as well~
Edit: Opps, already mentioned. Hahah

QUOTE(lexusss @ Aug 18 2014, 11:29 AM)
Hi guys, sorry for not going through the thread. personally i am a bit picky, so i would like to test out the sound to see if i like it before i buy an earphone. is there any place that allow testing before purchase in KL?

my budget is RM150 ~ 250. would like to buy in-ear earphone for running/normal time.
p/s: i am not "Technical" music listener. so i dont know wat impedance or sensitivity. i only know i like it or not when i listen biggrin.gif
+1 for ATH-IM50. With the over ear design, you can make it tight around your ear when you go running. A bit annoying to get used to though.
Also when watching anime, what you mostly hear are the dialog, people talking. And IM50 is really good with the vocals/mids. biggrin.gif
Not that bad for OSTs either thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by raeimad: Aug 18 2014, 03:22 PM
raeimad
post Aug 18 2014, 03:33 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(lexusss @ Aug 18 2014, 03:27 PM)
hey thx for the tips for NU sentral biggrin.gif i didnt see the post that mentioned NU Sentral as well!
Audio Technica really so reputable? I tried my sis one, SGD80 come with mic, the sound isnt very impressive. I honestly dont think it worth that price. But will check it out since many ppl recommending it biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
Different people have different tastes, so there's a chance you might not like most IEMs from Audio Technica. Hahah tongue.gif
Btw, Jaben do not carry Audio Technica IEMs, I tried out IM50 and IM70 from E1 Personal Audio @ Sungai Wang, smile.gif
raeimad
post Aug 19 2014, 06:47 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(lexusss @ Aug 19 2014, 04:07 PM)
dear all sifus! i just came back from jaben. unfortunately i was very unprepared.. quite a few modals for in-ear, further limit down by sport type, and filtering brand that i have never heard of, i only have very few choice. eventually tested only one from sennheiser.

i am returning with clearer idea of what i want:

- Budget: RM150 ~ RM250 (below 150 is acceptable too if it is highly recommended and has good sound quality)
- Your rig iphone 5 only
- What type of usage jogging, office, walking on the road
- File format used in your source mp3, or youtube video -> mp3
- Genre of music you listen to focus on japanese anime ost. i have requirement for good bass (but must not have enhanced bass)
- Headphone/ earphone type plug-in (got gel that type), designed for spot, so it wont keep falling when i am sweaty.
- Other requirements no

example of songs i need the earphone to perform well:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=shOd8UcXSC0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YirTJImBTr8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kh3SOeBK6kY

i was thinking to have an earphone perfect on high mid low and all sort of music. but looking at my budget i understand it is not possible lol.
my priority goes to good bass (again, original bass, not enhanced) because bass give more motivation when running tongue.gif

meanwhile, i will seriously look into VSonic VSD3S, VSonic VSD1S, Audio Technica ATH-IM50, Audio Technica ATH-IM70. biggrin.gif
do you guys think these 4 will be good to do what i want?

Thanks all sifus~
Audio Technica ATH-IM50 thumbup.gif
You try it out at E1 Personal Audio @ Sungai Wang smile.gif

This post has been edited by raeimad: Aug 19 2014, 06:47 PM
raeimad
post Aug 20 2014, 02:33 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 20 2014, 10:18 AM)
add-on:
or try at other's environment see the noise isolation is good or not haha

since the he mentioned use for jogging/ walking at outside XD
It has good isolation smile.gif
Can barely hear traffic noise on buses and train noise, been using for a few months now~
Depends on volume and which tips you're using though. The comply tips wasn't the best to use while running/traveling. The stock silicon tips are good though

This post has been edited by raeimad: Aug 20 2014, 02:38 PM
raeimad
post Aug 23 2014, 11:22 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Aug 21 2014, 04:25 PM)
Any review or opinion on Bose QC15 vs AKG K550?

Need a more comfy over head. The AKG k451 I'm using now doesn't exactly gimme the comfort.
Quite..... Different two headphones you're listing there hmm.gif
Tell us more about what you need, then we can help you out.
Refer to the first post~ smile.gif

QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 6 2013, 06:23 PM)
Other info such as the following will also be helpful to get faster and more accurate responses:
- Your rig (mp3 players, amps, sound card etc)
- What type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc)
- File format used in your source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc)
- Genre of music you listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc)
- Headphone/ earphone type (closed, open, circumaural, IEM etc)
- Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, 5.1ch, 7.1ch etc)
QUOTE(xxxJinGxxx @ Aug 22 2014, 02:17 PM)
looking for recommendations..

- Your rig : iPod Nano
- What type of usage : music
- File format used in your source : mp3 mostly
- Genre of music you listen to: rock (alternative, metal)
- Headphone/ earphone type: in-ear earphone
- Other requirements
+ budget max sgd200.

i was on yamaha EPH 100 till one side went silent..
hunting for a replacement now..
If you want something that has similar sound signature to EPH 100, you could try ATH IM50 and IM70.
Of you could try ATH IM01 - single BA driver smile.gif
raeimad
post Aug 23 2014, 11:59 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(rexksviilow @ Aug 23 2014, 07:50 PM)
Hello, i want to buy a in ear headphone.

budget: around RM100
purpose: daily normal use.
music genre:All type of music

(No need heavy bass)

as far as i know, there are not very good in ear headphone around RM100, but i dun need very good one. The sound quality not bad then is ok for me. The previous one i use is an Edifier H285. Sound not bad, built quality also good, the problem is the wire itself.

Any recommendation around this price?
If you can top up a little bit you can go for SoundMAGIC E10 smile.gif

QUOTE(Desmune97 @ Aug 23 2014, 09:35 PM)
Can recommend any Bluetooth earphones under the budget of 300 for LG G3?? Or should I just wait for the official launch of infinim music....

Only listen to English  R&B n anime songs
File type FLAC... Sometimes mp3 if flac is not found
need it for answering phones n listen to music...
Have Mic n volume adjust buttons
Long lasting battery life if possible
Don't want one ear only... I want for both ears de...
Don't really know anything to recommend but using FLAC with bluetooth doesn't do any good. The data will be compressed before the headphone/blluetooth set will receive it. sweat.gif Just letting you know though. smile.gif

QUOTE(ronron @ Aug 23 2014, 10:58 PM)
hi all master, need suggesstion.

budget: best if below RM100, max RM200
purpose : more Gaming, less music
for: desktop
need: volume control

with/without mic is ok.

wireless would be best.

thanks.
For gaming.... Under 200 I don't think you can get any decent headphone, specially a wireless headphone sweat.gif
But you can get the the Razer Electra. It has a mic but I'm not sure if it has volume control. Good thing is, since it has a replaceable cable, you can get a 3rd party compatible cable with volume control.
raeimad
post Aug 24 2014, 12:06 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Aug 24 2014, 12:03 AM)
oh ok. sorry I am new in headphone. always use those rm20 cheaplak punya headphone. blush.gif
btw I just bought the Edifier Hi-fi H850.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hmmm... More suited for music compared to gaming though.
Enjoy your headphone either way! biggrin.gif
raeimad
post Aug 24 2014, 09:59 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Aug 24 2014, 12:13 AM)
thanks bro. notworthy.gif

the  Razer Electra looks great. but if compare to the logitech G230, which 1 you take?
Never got to try Logitech G230 but most probably mic would be better.
Me? I would go for razer because it has more portability, isolation and also detachable mic.

But I would never go for a gaming headset, for gaming it doesn't make a difference for me.
I'd just go for a good headphone for music rclxms.gif

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Aug 24 2014, 05:01 PM)
so hows the audiophile community these days???

what the best headphone for allaround music and medium gaming under 200 ringgit??
and my hd668b cable just failed today. have to use the short cable.

any ideas on where to buy a new one?
What I realized is in gaming headphones, they usually just have too much bass.
Maybe you could go for Audio Techinca ATH M20x?
Never tried them but read good reviews about it.
raeimad
post Aug 25 2014, 02:40 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Aug 24 2014, 10:09 PM)
for FUARKS SAKEE
i was never talking about gaming headsets..
im out, bye  mega_shok.gif
I just said noted that gaming headphones normally have a ton more bass to it cause you wanted something for a bit gaming and music.
Normally the bass over powers everything else and it doesn't sound good with most genre of music.
What makes them good for gaming sometimes might be the big bass feel you get with the explosions.
Hence, I recommended the M20x cause it's more emphasized on the lows and bass compared to M30x or even M40x (from this series).
I haven't really tried out many headphones under 200 but I'm not the only person recommending right? hahah

raeimad
post Aug 25 2014, 08:53 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Aug 25 2014, 10:41 AM)
I see. My local shop doesn't have any demo gaming headset for me to test. Mostly only refer to reviews and recommendations in lowyat forum here.
I am wondering what is the different between normal stereo headset like Edifier K820 (RM69) vs CM Storm Ceres 300 Gaming Headset (RM89)? hmm.gif  besides the gaming headset looks more attractive, detachable mic.  cool.gif
I've only seen gaming headphones for demo at the 4th floor of lowyat. But only brands like Razer and Steelseires too.
I'm not really sure about the difference between the two headphones you mentioned but the sound would obviously be quite different.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 25 2014, 11:21 AM)
not sure, but what i hear from my friend he said gaming headset sounds more FLAT than normal headphone due to gaming headset designed more on "distace" "direction" sounds for game.... so yea... i m not sure.
i use normal speaker only for game haha, even for dota2 there is no need direction for that.
maybe this is wrong info because i never own that and test that for compare music and game experience.
Flat would actually mean that the the neither lows, mids or the highs over power each other. And the sound is quite neutral.
Mostly just the studio monitoring headphones have flat response.
raeimad
post Sep 3 2014, 03:44 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Sep 3 2014, 02:18 PM)
Try to avoid JBL Headphones.
And yes, the MDR-1R has pretty good SQ.  smile.gif
+1 for MDR-1R(BTMK2)
raeimad
post Sep 6 2014, 11:09 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(haha0803 @ Sep 4 2014, 02:26 AM)
Does anyone try Grado iGi before? Do it somehow "resemble" Alessandro MS1 in the way it sounds?
Never tried it but based on reviews, I don't think it has the exact sound of MS1 cry.gif
But it would be really epic to have an IEM that has the exact/similar sound as the MS1 hmm.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0293sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:19 AM