Travel Bali, Everything on Bali!

jojo_g2
post Apr 2 2009, 09:14 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(seanlel @ Apr 1 2009, 10:57 PM)
Those pictures (FOOD) look so special to me! But is it easy to find these food in Bali, or need any guidance?
depends on what u wanna eat... some are famous and are only available on one place. others can be seen everywhere around bali. but generally, if you check or read through the food joint recommended by people here in this thread, you cant be wrong.
Here's a site which the author regularly recommends great and cheap food around kuta area..

Bali blog.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 2 2009, 09:15 AM
jojo_g2
post Apr 6 2009, 09:38 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(seanlel @ Apr 5 2009, 10:19 PM)
I think the exchange rate is Rp 1 million = RM313... I will be staying at Bali for three nights... I think Rp 3 million are enough for 2 pax right? It is only for transportation and food...

Any advise?
actually.. i think besides food and transportation, there is actually lots of things to buy there.. handicraft especially is cheap and plenty abound. Which would make you think of buying everything for everyone.
jojo_g2
post Apr 6 2009, 10:28 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Apr 6 2009, 10:15 AM)
Some threat said there are road block of police and ask for $.  sad.gif
Safe to drive by ourself? we hv GPS so i don't think will loss there.

Thanks for the hotel part, i also almost  pensan rclxub.gif while doing the hotel searching.

Added on April 6, 2009, 10:21 am

Langkawi t-shirt quality not as good as the one bought from Phuket. Now at least hv some idea how much the price range and i will go and hunt for it.  biggrin.gif
wood carving is nice but not my cupa tea, tx tongue.gif shirt, beers, souvenirs.... a spare bag might needed.  sweat.gif
Tshirts are definitely cheap there. One thing you have to know though is what kind of tshirt you're looking for. And best thing is, they'll always stick thier calculators for you to say how much you want for those tee's.

About the wood carving things, yes, as bro stimix said it, lots of people actually go there and buy everything, ship them back here and sell them at a healthy profit. (I regretted not doing that on some of the items I saw which a lot of my friends actually wanted, I could've make a fortune! laugh.gif )

Hotels?, same as bro stimix said, whole lot of hotels out there in Bali. My advice is, pick one, not too expensive.. and make your own decision over there.. IF you have the time. As there is really some fantastic looking hotels, villa's over there which is affordable.

Added on April 6, 2009, 10:30 am
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 6 2009, 10:23 AM)
Oh..GPS kaki...Likedat, not a problem, Get a rented car at the last far right hand side stall outside the departure hall (I try to get the car rental company later..can't remember oledi)....Eh...I have been stopped 2-3 times by police there..not a problem..They even drove me to the location while I got lost! The worst stop was a Gilamanuk port where upon exiting the port area, they questioned me where I got the car, have to show them my M'sian pasport/license & also the car rental receipt & insurance detail. Nevertheless, they din ask me for anything especially you can speak to them in Bahasa Indon & they get so curious & starting to chat a lot!!  thumbup.gif Well that's my experience, I dunno others....

It's not the police but numerous illegal toll collectors surrounding Bali especially u entering their Kampungs! They even have the receipts of the kampung name for entering their area  mad.gif ...Well if u hire a driver, the driver too need to pay!...The most expensive one will be entering Kintamani...I think ~20K rupiah?..Avg illegal toll is around 5000-10,000 rupiah
true, I got stopped and have to pay a certain amount of RP to get to ubud's Alam Indah. Cuz, you really have to pass through that area to get to the place.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 6 2009, 10:30 AM
jojo_g2
post Apr 6 2009, 11:25 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Apr 6 2009, 10:57 AM)
wah! Bro, u are really good. If here i think kopi money is needed.  mad.gif
So when you see the kampung road block, just pay as what requested that all. no kacau?

wood crave can make so much money ar... hmm.gif  laugh.gif
dude, 100% can make if you know how to nego well and how to move items back here.. thumbup.gif
some of the items in geneva handicraft.. which i found deserted when I was there in feb and not really very cheap, but cheap for sure if you compare prices over here in lkawi.
jojo_g2
post Apr 7 2009, 10:20 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(seanlel @ Apr 6 2009, 11:31 PM)
I am not really into those handicraft because hardly to bring it back right? When I think of the heavy lugage, it will stop me from buying it. But, I didn't know the T-shirt in Bali is that cheap. How about the design of the T-Shirt, competitive with those selling at Bangkok?
might be better if you know where to get it in bali.
jojo_g2
post Apr 8 2009, 10:16 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(gidlcin @ Apr 8 2009, 02:15 AM)
going bali in 2 weeks time!! cant wait!
have fun.. envy you guys going.. drool.gif

things to do.. over there is endless and yet it will still feels relaxing.

Added on April 8, 2009, 10:17 am
QUOTE(joesilva @ Apr 7 2009, 11:48 AM)
Anyone going to Bali end of this month??
I never been there before, dont know what to see n what to do
Any ideas to share?
10q
so sooo many things to do and see... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 8 2009, 10:17 AM
jojo_g2
post Apr 8 2009, 12:28 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(kyoushi @ Apr 8 2009, 11:37 AM)
I make a phone call to hibiscus hotel for room reservation, the person said it was confirm. He said will reply me a email but still not yet received until now.
I still not comfortable cuz no any reference number or email for confirmation.  rclxub.gif
How you all book the room if the hotel is not published on internet for online booking?
Need your advice, thanks a lot!

Bisma Street, 80571 Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Phone: 0361 - 970475
HP: 081 338 108 616
Email: hibiscuscottages@hotmail.com
usually their reservation is good. When they say you're booked, you're booked. but i guess if your're not comfortable with such arrangement, then I guess you could always keep on chasing after them about the booking..
jojo_g2
post Apr 10 2009, 09:58 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(kaizen18 @ Apr 10 2009, 06:48 AM)
i will be going to bali on 21-29 april.. end of this month.. yippey.. can't wait.. thinking abt it everyday until i can't concentrate on my work.. hahaha
i've been reading this thread for the past 5 months & i've planned all my  itinerary based on the info i got here... i must say this thread is really.. really good.. thanks to u guys whos been putting all the info in here... don't stop contributing ya!

i'll be going with my friend (just 2 of us) on budget/backpacking holiday. so basically we're trying to get everything as cheap as we can.. heheh... will be staying in ubud for 4 nights & then spend the rest of our holiday in kuta... we also will be renting a car & drive it ourself... got a gps (garmin xt) already... thanks to stimix for gps & self drive info.. very good advice...

i have 1 question... i already got the indonesia & bali map.. but where can i find accurate & latest bali map (eg. like the one produce by rotweiler)?
if you are in Kuta, my suggestion is to ditch the car.. as traffic is really realllyyy bad there. Rent a moped(scooter) instead.. dirt cheap perday rate and i dont know if you will believe it or not, rm 2 -3 and the bike's tank will be full.
jojo_g2
post Apr 11 2009, 11:42 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Apr 11 2009, 03:16 AM)
Finally, i have read every single pages  icon_rolleyes.gif

Because is our first trip, we decide to hire driver than drive ourself 
We will be going nx week, need some advice on below 2 full days itinary:

*Staying at Kuta*
1) Tegalalang > Kintamani + Lunch @ Grand Puncak Sari > Bedugul > Sukawati (Shopping time  icon_idea.gif ) > Kuta +Dinner @ Made Warung

2) Taman Ayun > Tanah Lot + Lunch? > Nusa Dua > ?? > Uluwatu [SunSet] > Jimbaran + Dinner @ Lia Cafe
-->Thinking to start with Ubud before Taman Ayun, okay ar?
-->Any suggestion where to have lunch at Tanah Lot?
-->Any others places that can kill some time before Sunset @ Uluwatu?

And at night @ Kuta, shops usually open till what time? want to do some shopping see anything to buy. hehe....
I would say that kuta shops, actually close quite standard time. 10pm or so. but for the night life like disco and bars.. that would not be close till early morning.. hehe laugh.gif

oh, and i dont think you have to worry about killing time in uluwatu.. its actually very very huge, from one end to the other end.
jojo_g2
post Apr 11 2009, 11:48 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(kaizen18 @ Apr 10 2009, 08:27 PM)
yeap.. i read abt kuta traffic somewhere oso.. can get really "macet" & no point of driving car.. but from kuta we plan to go to geneva handicraft at kerobokan, tanah lot, nusa dua area, uluwatu & jimbara coz its nearer to kuta than ubud.. is it safe to use scooter to go that far?
1 more thing.. i only have car driving license.. not bike license.. can i still rent & drive scooter without bike license? if i stop by police there can they recognize my license is only for car?.. hehe   brows.gif
well.. I agree too that, the cops wont know the difference between our license and thiers.. just drive carefully and smart. Got to keep your eyes on the road and for cops too. But in case you ever got caught, the fine can be settled on the spot for about 20k RP. Thats what all the bike rental guys told us.
Biking to jimbaran & geneva should be fine as theyre both quite near. Tanah lot and uluwatu is doable, but you've just said that you dont have license for bikes.. which might make it a bit too far for you guys. As for nusa dua, yes can do, but there was a huge security check when entering the area.. so, I don't know if you can go in with your scooters and without license.

Added on April 11, 2009, 11:53 am
QUOTE(SamSoon @ Apr 11 2009, 11:42 AM)
One more question, anyone has bad experience on your luggage when back from Bali?
My bag was broken when back from Phuket, i wonder how about Bali? Safe? After all my shopping goods missing  cry.gif

Added on April 11, 2009, 11:45 am

Going soon. i think i am too excited. So many things pop up in my mind.   tongue.gif 
TQ. TQ.
been there twice, once with MAS and once with AA. no such problems. the last trip I made, bought too many things and had to buy a cheapo HUGE bag(40k) which actually look very weak.. but it lasted and made it safe back home here in MY without any problems. * one tip, get a cheapo lock or a cable tie for the zippers for your bag. It's not 100% secure but it works.

just take your time to enjoy the main attractions there.
tanah lot, uluwatu & ulu danu.
you'll probably make trips back there again in the future, it IS that good... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 11 2009, 12:57 PM
jojo_g2
post Apr 13 2009, 10:47 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Apr 13 2009, 09:47 AM)
haha... stimix also advice me to drive but my partner said 1st time, we buy the driver and guide service 1st wor. We have book Wayan, hope his service standard maintain. Will share my experience and update when i am back.

Bali, i am coming .... wuahaha....  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
I guess first time will always be by hiring drivers. But like bro stimix said, if you ever gonna be there for the 2nd time, driving or riding bike's is much more preferable especially in sight of how cheap the rental of bikes and car is.
And by driving or riding bikes over there, I think that you'll be taking in more of the "real" bali. Getting to see places and things you don't normally see by hiring a driver, stopping and eating whenever you feel like it instead of drivers taking you to predetermined restaurent which you might not like... etc etc..

jojo_g2
post Apr 13 2009, 12:30 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(april @ Apr 13 2009, 10:59 AM)
can i get a sim pack at ubud or airport?how much credit do i need for 5 days trip?
BTW, where can i keep the money? is it save to keep in the hotel?
XL was the simpack brand we bought.. got it from a normal phone shop somewhere in kuta... A MUST HAVE item if you need to call back home to report all the time.
How much you need? depends, if im not wrong, 30k for the simpack and free 5k talk time for you. the weird thing over there is, if you buy a 10k talk time, you have to pay 12k. Oh, and the 5k talk time lasted more than 5 minutes. Do ask them about the rate though.. as I think talking at night is cheaper, or was it the other way around... hmm.gif

As for your $$, the first time I was there, the hotel has an in room safety box, the second time I was there, we put some in the reception's personal safety box(they have those personal safety box in the reception area which looks like a personal box with a key for you and another for them to keep) and some we took out and yes, we always have our passport with us.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 13 2009, 12:33 PM
jojo_g2
post Apr 13 2009, 05:47 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(april @ Apr 13 2009, 01:53 PM)
then how we topup? is it like msia, buy the topup card?

Do you need to pay for the personal safety box?
yeah you buy the top up from the shops, just ask em.. and they will help you. there is a small stall/shop in matahari mall, just right in front of the grocery paying counter that sells em.

both times I was there, the box services are free, one was in the room itself, which has an electronic 6 digit number which you can key in.

Added on April 13, 2009, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(kyoushi @ Apr 13 2009, 01:45 PM)
Hi All,

Finally i finished read all posts until here. This thread is really help me a lot. Thanks to everyone!  notworthy.gif

I going to Bali on this coming July. Below is my itinerary:

1st Day
- art center
- lunch (sate lilit - Coco Bistro in Nusa Dua)
- Nusa Dua beach
- Uluwatu
- Spa (SPA @ Verona SPA)
- dinner at Jimbaran bay (Lia Cafe)
- back to hotel and check-in (Hibiscus cottage in Ubud)
2nd Day
- Kintamani (mount batur and lake)
- lunch (kintamani)
- Coffee plantation
- Goa Gajah
- Tegallalang (rice terrace)
- dinner (Bebek Bengil – Dirty Duck Restaurant)
- back to hotel (free time) or any recommend?
3rd Day
- Bedugul (Lake Beratan)
- Candi kuning market (fruit)
- Botanical garden
- lunch (any recommend?)
- Tanah Lot
- dinner (Warong Made)
- back to hotel (free time) or any recommend?
4th Day
- Sukawati
- Ubud market and geneva
- lunch - babi guling at @ Bu Oka stall
- check-out and back to kuta
- Tohpati (batik)
- Celuk village (silver)
- Mas village (wood carving)
- Gunung Kawi temple
- Lunch
- Kuta shopping & Geneva Handicraft
- To the airport

Anything i need to include or exclude? Please advice, thanks!!!  notworthy.gif
1st day, spa in verona?? down to jimbaran seafood then.. back to ubud?? that's like rushing it.. and I don't think the driver you hire would want to make such a trip

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 13 2009, 05:56 PM
jojo_g2
post Apr 14 2009, 09:52 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Apr 13 2009, 09:20 PM)
So angry, booked Wayan, famous Wayan here, he said charge per day is IDR300k, and i propose my itinery he said okay also and i am happily preparing my depart to Bali tomorrow BUT just got message from him, he re-propose new itinery (with cutting down places has been agree) and increase price also.  mad.gif  mad.gif

Urgent advice needed, below is what he propose:
1)Kintamani > Uluwatu > Jimbaran = IDR400K
2)Sukawati > Bedugul > Tanah Lot = IDR350k
Someone pls help, advice should i close eye and paid him and take this offer or i should looking for others driver?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
well, I was with jhony on my second trip.. for 2 days, he's got more than one van. You could try him. If you don't mind his.. slightly, not so "pandai" young guide who keeps on talking to his girlfriend on the phone and his not so cold air conditioned van. laugh.gif

But seriously, the young chap who drive us around was kinda cool, although he's always on the phone with his numerous girlfriends on our way to destinations, at least he's a talkative guy, and he's okay with going to place's on your list IF its, on the way and in the time frame.... and truthfully, itineraries are almost always not gonna work, if you're going with GF or spouse, the moment they step on to those shopping destinations like ubud market, sukawati.. you'll be stuck there for hours, and your destinations will fall off the list.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Apr 14 2009, 10:54 AM
jojo_g2
post Apr 14 2009, 01:49 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Apr 14 2009, 01:22 PM)
mm r u sure got the same & correct 'Wayan'? At times, they will sub to other ppl if they can'tmake it or booked. if i'm not mistaken, WAYAN is a common term, meaning second or youngest sibling, something like tat

the WAYAN that i had , was very friendly, willing to bring u anywhere.
yea.. there's 4 names involved in a family, Wayan, Made, Nyoman and Ketut.. so, all of em actually have the same name.
jojo_g2
post Apr 15 2009, 10:54 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(astronotus_1 @ Apr 14 2009, 09:33 PM)
Hi Sam,

When I got there, he contracted out the job to another driver.  This driver had no clue about location of places and was very reckless in driving (almost got involved in accident 2 times).

he drove us around the balinese villages and even brought us to a temple havin some celebration with cock fighting and warung serving babi guling.  This sight, I guarantee u will not see on your regular travel itinery.  We had a time of our life.  I'd highly recommed this guy. 

His number is +6281338927502.  You can tell him Eric from malaysia recommended you. Have a great time there!
yea.. the first time I was there... my driver was a guy name bagus.. and he took us to a typical balinese house where the mother was cooking in the courtyard... and see those.. cock fighting thing.. and some ritual. really authentic thumbup.gif which actually made the whole experience more rich and "authenthic" made me fall in love with bali in the first place.

the second time I was there, the changing of driver happened to me too.. and the driving is needless to say "scary" but then again, I guess with the traffic there in bali.. I guess its normal for them. I don't really mind it much.
jojo_g2
post Apr 28 2009, 11:50 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(tuanrudi @ Apr 25 2009, 07:11 PM)
hi bro/sis,

how good wina holiday villa kuta bali? anybody stay here before ?
if you are into halal food then, its ok. But if you're not, stay away at all cost. mad.gif

tapwater is extremely salty.
bed will break down
mosquito in rooms
when it rains, and you are on the ground floor, the room will flood.

Thoose reasons good enough for you to stay away?
jojo_g2
post May 5 2009, 12:37 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(tuanrudi @ May 5 2009, 05:03 AM)
demm ... why it so worse ... r u stay there before ?
yea, I stayed there in feb 2009 and its valentine. They gave me and my friends 2 rooms which has the same problems. we stayed for 5 nights and I got changed rooms twice, my friends room was flooded so, he got the presidential suite. But, guess what, the presidential suite is partly under renovation. I don't understand why they couldn't just gave us one of the regular rooms. Like I said, stay away, for these reasons :

Mosquitoes in the room
Tap water is EXTREMELY salty

and trust me, I've stayed in far more worst place before, even those small little motels in langkawi would be more better, I mean sure, in langkawi, they might not give you satellite TV and this and that, but at least they provided you with working hot showers, working toilets, fresh clean tap water, rooms and beds that actually works, Wina is just really bad. Everything just doesn't work for me there. One way of saying it would be that, THAT HOTEL is the main reason I hated my 2nd trip to Bali. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: May 5 2009, 12:43 PM
jojo_g2
post May 5 2009, 05:50 PM

244 posts

wonder why there is soo much hoo haa... about the lia cafe/jimbaran seafood thing? ask anyone here who went before and they'll probably tell you they wont go to jimbaran again anymore if they ever go back to bali again.. seafood there is stupendously plain. The only thing worth is just the view and the setting and that is IF it doesnt rain.

just my 2 sen. tongue.gif

IMHO, there are other far more delicious good food around bali to go for instead of the seafood in jimbaran.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: May 5 2009, 05:52 PM
jojo_g2
post May 20 2009, 05:13 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ May 20 2009, 11:56 AM)
If u looking forward to dolphin trip, then better go to the one in the north as the chances of seeing loads of dolphins is higher there. But the downside is u gotta wake up somewhere ard 2-3am & the journey is very long. somehow, it'll be all exciting when seeing those dolphins up close but really, there's nothing else to do there. Up to personal preference whether the long journey is worth it though.
sorry for being rude but, hotels in kuta have national geographic channel, watch dolphins there and then take your sweet time to do something else.. biggrin.gif

on a serious note, you have to be in lovina a day earlier to actually go out to sea before sunrise to see the dolphins THAT is IF the boat you are on are lucky enough to actually spot a group of them. So, you actually have to spend 2 days for one dolphin watching activity. If it was up to me, I'd take the 2 days to get myself to the gili islands. Just my 2 cents. icon_rolleyes.gif

here's some info on the gili's and the schedule/prices

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: May 20 2009, 05:24 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0238sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:29 AM