4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v3, y510p, where are you?

SUSErgoProxi
post Oct 7 2013, 05:05 AM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

QUOTE(Tarasque @ Oct 5 2013, 01:23 PM)
hi. anyone managed to install ssd on y400? need an it guy to assist here
I did but clean format.
p/s: ain't I.T-man~

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Oct 7 2013, 05:06 AM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 11 2013, 04:20 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(gozila84 @ Nov 11 2013, 04:02 PM)
y510p no provide mSata slot?
nope.
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 11 2013, 08:06 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(gozila84 @ Nov 11 2013, 04:54 PM)
even in y410p also have no provide msata slot too? hmm.gif
AFAIK, y410p & y510p got different size of msata than old ones.
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 11 2013, 08:07 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(gozila84 @ Nov 11 2013, 04:54 PM)
even in y410p also have no provide msata slot too? hmm.gif
double post.

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Nov 11 2013, 08:07 PM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 16 2013, 05:55 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Nov 16 2013, 02:38 AM)
Haha cannot la, I'm quite busy already  tongue.gif

Yeah, every time I feel like that whenever need to repair new model of laptop for the first time. After that, I didn't scared anymore. No more worries when another laptop (that I've opened before) arrive.

You just need to break that 'barrier' first.  flex.gif

For this Y480, I'm using Hardware Maintenance Manual for primary guide, and another from this link.

The place that I'm a bit afraid when opening this laptop were keyboard, touchpad / main switch connector, keyboard bezel and motherboard. Other than that, no worries.
mind sharin' wut brand of thermal grease did y use?
SUSErgoProxi
post Dec 1 2013, 04:24 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 30 2013, 05:56 PM)
is it hard to upgrade Single GPU  to SLI...

i heard is need to change the power supply as well... flex.gif
yes.
SUSErgoProxi
post Dec 17 2013, 10:42 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(jamallj @ Dec 17 2013, 09:51 AM)
so theres no gn35 with nvidia gt750 for y410p?.. so lame.. made a mistakeĀ  buying the 14 inchers one..
just mod y510p's. google the "how to"
inb4,
I have done HDD caddy mod.(from generic to y400)

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Dec 17 2013, 10:44 AM
SUSErgoProxi
post Feb 19 2014, 08:03 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(SubRoutine @ Feb 17 2014, 03:07 AM)
Im gonna pick up a Y410P (the GT 755M version) in a few hours. Most probably at Lowyat.

Anything i should look out for? Warranty information, serial numbers etc
just make sure it's malaysian set.

SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 2 2014, 02:51 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Nov 2 2014, 01:44 PM)
You have to go online and check your warranty status, yes on this point. Have you installed all your model's Lenovo drivers? If yes, then go read what I posted earlier about Geforce drivers. Might help solve your issue. If all else fail then sent for warranty la.
sifu.
do ya know the max temps before the gt750m ddr5 starts to throttle down?
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 5 2014, 05:11 PM

2,702 posts

have some done any mod on the cooling system of lenovo y series? icon_question.gif
the temps are shakehead.gif doh.gif sweat.gif when running COD: Advance Warfare.
as high as 104'C CPU & 98'C GPU w/o cooling pad & A.C room. vmad.gif mad.gif

my is y400(gt 750m). blush.gif
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 6 2014, 11:16 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Nov 6 2014, 09:20 AM)
If you've never apply new thermal paste, you probably want to do it... Last time I disassembled my Y580, the thermal paste is the worst kind I've even seen. At that time, any games I played will cause the temp to go as high as 100'C for CPU and GPU.

After re-pasting with Arctic Cooling MX-4, max temp is hovering around 80'C. Though idling doesn't change much.

Oh, and if you want to do it make sure you have thermal pads as well... The one applied is crazily low quality... Mine doesn't even touched the chips they're supposed to cool... Lenovo really cut corners there...
still in warranty.
but I did some simple mod on the cooling system.
the temps is lower now.
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 6 2014, 11:34 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Nov 6 2014, 11:30 AM)
maybe you can ask them to do it for you? even if you have to use their own paste is ok... their paste is good enough when it's new but the paste dry up pretty fast so after a while it's not effective anymore.
I asked lenovo[dealer, maybe?] in komtar mall, they said RM60 charged will be applied.

edit.
the manager said they don't do thermal paste replacement. Just dust cleaning - RM60.

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Nov 7 2014, 11:18 PM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 6 2014, 02:33 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Nov 6 2014, 11:30 AM)
maybe you can ask them to do it for you? even if you have to use their own paste is ok... their paste is good enough when it's new but the paste dry up pretty fast so after a while it's not effective anymore.
my mod to reduce temps
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 8 2014, 12:06 AM

2,702 posts

mind helping me decide?

Since I managed to mod the cooling system and run COD: Advanced Warfare @ acceptable performance and temperature on y400, I decided to upgrade the storage instead.

should I go for 120GB SSD or 1Tb 5400rpm as secondary storage for y400?
primary usage is gaming and storage for video.
keep in mind that I hate long loading time.

yes, I did secondary storage drive mod on y400 before but that HDD died awhile ago.
yes, OS already on a SSD primary drive.

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Nov 8 2014, 03:34 AM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 8 2014, 11:25 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Nov 8 2014, 10:13 AM)
HDD, if you've already got a main SSD Drive
but nowadays games requires lots of hardisk space... my current SDD is almost full after install COD....

I'd prefer gaming on SSD....

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Nov 8 2014, 10:45 PM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 8 2014, 01:56 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Nov 8 2014, 01:27 PM)
replace your ODD with caddy + 1TB HDD...
I'd prefer gaming on SSD....

could I "raid 0" y400 ?
just curious.

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Nov 8 2014, 02:04 PM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 8 2014, 03:17 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Nov 8 2014, 03:02 PM)
NO.

that is why I have to use the express cache software on my y500
hmm.gif should I get SSD or HDD for gaming + video storage usage. I really hate slow recovery from frame rate dips.
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 8 2014, 10:42 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Nov 8 2014, 08:58 PM)
If you have been following this thread, you will find that it has already been mention that the type of HDD that you use will help in boot times and loading of games. Frame rate and game play actually is more of your vram (video ram) and ram (computer memory).

So what type of HDD you should get actually depends on which is more important, load times or amount of storage.

My y500 when not SLI or SLI (not sure about your computer), what make a real difference (frame rate) is if its on the mains or battery. Seems there is some type of throttling on the firmware level on this.
yeah I know. biggrin.gif
Just saying out loud that "I really hate slow recovery from frame rate dips." tongue.gif

SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 10 2014, 05:06 AM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Nov 8 2014, 08:58 PM)
If you have been following this thread, you will find that it has already been mention that the type of HDD that you use will help in boot times and loading of games. Frame rate and game play actually is more of your vram (video ram) and ram (computer memory).

So what type of HDD you should get actually depends on which is more important, load times or amount of storage.

My y500 when not SLI or SLI (not sure about your computer), what make a real difference (frame rate) is if its on the mains or battery. Seems there is some type of throttling on the firmware level on this.
btw, ya forgot 2 more factors in choosing Hard Disk; Survivability and Longevity.
SSD [SATA SSD, not mSATA or M2 SATA] have higher survive possibility from a drop[trust me] and last a lot longer than normal HDD.

tongue.gif biggrin.gif smile.gif

p/s: I decided to go for 1T HDD as got lots of space[& graphic] demanding games coming out. Just hope I won't be in any automobile accident. again. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Nov 10 2014, 05:10 AM
SUSErgoProxi
post Nov 26 2014, 04:37 PM

2,702 posts

need help here.

could someone gimme the files for flashing modded bios of y400[gt750m] ?

PM me.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0384sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:11 PM