Fresh Graduate Salary.., Dicuss&Share
Apr 25 2006, 12:29 PM
11,151 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: russia with cash |
Maybe he's about 50++ now? Coz as my parents told me,last time when they're young they earned few hundreds also..hahah
Apr 25 2006, 12:39 PM
4,051 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 槟城 |
QUOTE(goliath @ Apr 21 2006, 08:40 AM) imo, one's salary is based on these few points; Hi there, I want to ask how much do I worth with these 2 certs:1) what diploma/degree you are holding 2) where you graduated from 3) how good your grades are however, i am not suprised that some get paid RM1000 even they have experience. i am not sure why is it this low though. 1. Degree in Information Systems Engineering (Campbell University) with CGPA 3.3 2. Advanced Diploma in Information Systems Engineering (TAR College), CGPA 3.4 Currently I'm applying for a position as a programmer in a company and they offer me RM1500, is this offer ok? Cause I heard from my friend that normally a fresh graduate should get the pay around RM1.8k. And now I got friends that already started working has the salary starting from RM1.8k. Thanks |
Apr 25 2006, 02:20 PM
132 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 25 2006, 12:39 PM) Hi there, I want to ask how much do I worth with these 2 certs: 1,500? Take the job. Since you're just fresh, don't choose. 1,500 is a good deal for a fresh and 1,800 is a better deal but hard to come by. I personally think that the industry should pay Degree holders higher. Now, 1,500 is common but it's best if they increase it to 1,800. The living cost had gone up and salary of 1,500 hardly enough if you're getting a car and study loan to settle... Study for Degree is not cheap and I think Degree holders now are underpaid. 1. Degree in Information Systems Engineering (Campbell University) with CGPA 3.3 2. Advanced Diploma in Information Systems Engineering (TAR College), CGPA 3.4 Currently I'm applying for a position as a programmer in a company and they offer me RM1500, is this offer ok? Cause I heard from my friend that normally a fresh graduate should get the pay around RM1.8k. And now I got friends that already started working has the salary starting from RM1.8k. Thanks In an employers eyes, I think that they feel that Degree holders are everywhere now days and if you reject 1,500 that they offer to you, they can find other that will accept. Face it, Degree holders are common now. |
Apr 25 2006, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(carefree @ Apr 25 2006, 02:20 PM) 1,500? Take the job. Since you're just fresh, don't choose. 1,500 is a good deal for a fresh and 1,800 is a better deal but hard to come by. I personally think that the industry should pay Degree holders higher. Now, 1,500 is common but it's best if they increase it to 1,800. The living cost had gone up and salary of 1,500 hardly enough if you're getting a car and study loan to settle... Study for Degree is not cheap and I think Degree holders now are underpaid. Hi, thanks for your reply. Then if i take it and after work for a few months and they still not increase the salary, and I also found companies that offer higher salary, should I job hop?In an employers eyes, I think that they feel that Degree holders are everywhere now days and if you reject 1,500 that they offer to you, they can find other that will accept. Face it, Degree holders are common now. Thanks. |
Apr 25 2006, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 25 2006, 03:03 PM) Hi, thanks for your reply. Then if i take it and after work for a few months and they still not increase the salary, and I also found companies that offer higher salary, should I job hop? And did you get any offer from the companies that offer higher salary? Of course a better pay is best. I've seen a Degree in Civil getting 2k fresh grad. Beware though... if you job hop too often, eg. 3 - 6months once, that won't look good in your Resume. Thanks. What's your company probation period? Some companies give increament based on preformance so I've seen people increase salary one year after joining. And only rm100. If this is you first job and you get a better offer from other company, go ahead and make the jump. I myself have jumped twice in a year coz of better offer... |
Apr 25 2006, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(carefree @ Apr 25 2006, 03:11 PM) And did you get any offer from the companies that offer higher salary? Of course a better pay is best. I've seen a Degree in Civil getting 2k fresh grad. Beware though... if you job hop too often, eg. 3 - 6months once, that won't look good in your Resume. Hi, so far I didnt get any offer from other companies yet. Oh I see. I've asked about their probation period and they only told me that it is based on my own performance and also the company's growth income.What's your company probation period? Some companies give increament based on preformance so I've seen people increase salary one year after joining. And only rm100. If this is you first job and you get a better offer from other company, go ahead and make the jump. I myself have jumped twice in a year coz of better offer... |
Apr 25 2006, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 25 2006, 03:18 PM) Hi, so far I didnt get any offer from other companies yet. Oh I see. I've asked about their probation period and they only told me that it is based on my own performance and also the company's growth income. ?? "company's growth income"?? They should have a probation period and should confirm you once the probation period ends and review your salary. Did they state any probation period in your offer letter or have you asked them before you accept the job? |
Apr 25 2006, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(carefree @ Apr 25 2006, 03:20 PM) ?? "company's growth income"?? They should have a probation period and should confirm you once the probation period ends and review your salary. Did they state any probation period in your offer letter or have you asked them before you accept the job? Hi, the company I went for interview is a new company and they just told me if the company earns more and my performance is good then I will get higher salary. Thats what they told me. And they didn't mention any probation period. And so far they haven't give me any form of formal offer letter. They just told me about this when I asked them during the interview. And I still need to attend for a 3rd interview 1+ week later. |
Apr 26 2006, 12:37 AM
734 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
What i understand is your Degree will help employee to get thier first job..
After that, most of them look at your performance and experience over qualification... As in my prograss of looking for the first job... i also rejected quite a number of job as i think the salary is low... Don't try to look at the salary as your priority... focus more on the prospect and opportunity the company may provide.... |
Apr 26 2006, 12:43 AM
1,532 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
talking about why comapny want ur spm cert..i was speaking to a former higher management person from ibm,he said the reason why there are too many umeployed graduates with qualificatin.years ago,only few ppl ot degree nowadays baling batu sure kena someone got cert....and the quality the uni and coll produce nowadays are bad.they just want students to pass so can get $ . spm cannot really cheat.and if spm bad u can expect latest qualification results almost the same....
Apr 26 2006, 12:43 AM
526 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Being a fresh grad, choose a company that develops the skills and strength. Is okay to be choosy at the beginning, target and you will join the best company.
What are the unique business value in the organisations. |
Apr 26 2006, 12:51 AM
my 1st job i got 1800...but it was bad experince as i was after $.the culture of the company didnt really click....as most r chinese grads working away from their home and really have so much time in their hands...they stay back go karoka...then i move on to multinational company with supposinly great prospect...pay was 1600 and i work weekeends and sometimes odd hours...after almost a year i got the most improved staff award.....i felt really empty inside...my social life down and getting to another position is hard.u have to compete with over 2000ppl...so i moved on to education traning company.now earning 2k after almost 2 years of working
Apr 26 2006, 01:12 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ronaldoo @ Apr 26 2006, 12:43 AM) Being a fresh grad, choose a company that develops the skills and strength. Is okay to be choosy at the beginning, target and you will join the best company. I'm agreed with you. It's better you learn some useful skills during your early path of your career.What are the unique business value in the organisations. |
Apr 26 2006, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(cody99 @ Apr 26 2006, 12:37 AM) What i understand is your Degree will help employee to get thier first job.. Oh I see. Thanks for your advice. But what I worry is that the lower salary might make me job hop after a while working in that company and that might not look good in my resume.After that, most of them look at your performance and experience over qualification... As in my prograss of looking for the first job... i also rejected quite a number of job as i think the salary is low... Don't try to look at the salary as your priority... focus more on the prospect and opportunity the company may provide.... |
Apr 26 2006, 09:32 AM
shinichi usually multinational company is great place to grow as they give training and places to go....but u need to do something extra to stand out among thousands of staff....and if u plan to do so..ask ppl who perviously working there.what they like n dont like about the company before u consider..
Apr 26 2006, 10:14 AM
724 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(leinnz @ Apr 21 2006, 09:57 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I aggree with u. ur edu qualification doesn't necessarily lands you a higher pay (except Intel which only hires first class students). Wat most companys wants is ur knowedge and ur contributions to the company. A degree will only secure u a job regardless of the pay. This is just my view and experience on lookng for a job Regarding the main query on how much a fresh grad will be paid, I believe it should be in the region of RM1500-RM2000, depending on what deg you are holding and what org you are joining...however, I won't make my starting salary the main point in joining an organisation, but more towards the status of the org(how will it grow?where will the org be in 10 yrs time?will it provide me sufficient training to improve myself?etc)and to find out if I will be happy working in that line...i believe if you join a strong organisation, your starting salary will be quite good as well as a bright future |
Apr 26 2006, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(kimmie @ Apr 26 2006, 09:32 AM) shinichi usually multinational company is great place to grow as they give training and places to go....but u need to do something extra to stand out among thousands of staff....and if u plan to do so..ask ppl who perviously working there.what they like n dont like about the company before u consider.. Hi, but the company which I went for interview is a newly establish company and their IT department will only start their operation in mid of may. Thats why my interview is taking so long. And because its a new company, I don't know how the future will be if I'm with the company. |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
5 queries
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:17 AM |