RX8 Engine choices, My rx8's engine kaput...

TSbudakhops
post Apr 22 2013, 02:02 AM, updated 13y ago

1,519 posts

Hey guys...
My rx8's kaput already clocking at 110k mileage.... currently considering to change the engine.... the budget is 15k (stretchable to 20k)
already when to ah choy subang for his advice...
brand new rx8's engine is 25k...
rebuilt is around 12k..
change to halfcut engine around 15-18k...

i'm also considering to swap to piston type engine such as 1jz or sr20det.... bcoz rotaries does need more maintenance and can run only on ron97...

any suggestions n opinions are very much helpful... thanks... notworthy.gif
rogrog
post Apr 22 2013, 08:38 AM

635 posts

Rebuilt it. The rotary sound and roadtax is awesome :drools:
netmatrix
post Apr 22 2013, 09:48 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Could RX8 it fit RX7 engine? I think u really mod/ abuse the RX8 engine kaw kaw to kill it.
siksa
post Apr 22 2013, 10:39 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

20b
pedanglaut
post Apr 22 2013, 10:55 AM

for me i'll go with low mileage halfcut if u could find one..
>100k km milage car, engine not the only one that kaput, the other wear and tear part should be replaced as well if necessary..
halfcut will cover almost of that if not all..

1jz and sr20det though they are good engines, u'll find difficulties is interfacing the electrical items..

Not that i'm skeptical on quality of malaysian mechanics but i'm sure the handling balance of already best on RX-8 will affected when swapped with those much heavier engine. I think that the main advantage of rotary, minimum engine weight thus contribute to good handling car, one of Japanese cornering machine ever notworthy.gif

OC4/3
post Apr 22 2013, 11:25 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Apr 22 2013, 09:48 AM)
Could RX8 it fit RX7 engine? I think u really mod/ abuse the RX8 engine kaw kaw to kill it.
You can fit RX7 engine in but you will lose all the OE gauge cluster feature laugh.gif
I think rebuild stock engine is the best biggrin.gif
Well,rotary engine have to take care of it nicely for prolonged life span
Always never shut off car when cold(Engine will flood),check oil and top up periodically(like say once in a 2 week) and always drive sprintedly after warm up to prevent carbon build up
Take care of it and it will take care of you tongue.gif
To TS,maybe can do street port while rebuilding or something but i am not sure if Ah Choy do it
TSbudakhops
post Apr 22 2013, 12:25 PM

1,519 posts

the main things boggling my mind is the warranty,
if brand new engine only 1 week the most...

StratOS
post Apr 22 2013, 12:54 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

if got money -> brande new.. tight a bit budget recond engine (might fetch some goodies if half cut engine).. really no choice then rebuilt engine..

skyblas
post Apr 22 2013, 01:26 PM

Rebuilt the engine with solid aftermarket parts such as RE Amemiya. Will be very reliable in the long run.
yeezai
post Apr 22 2013, 02:46 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

i rather put a rb26 in it..less hassle + more power....halfcut cheap oso
TSbudakhops
post Apr 22 2013, 06:21 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Apr 22 2013, 02:46 PM)
i rather put a rb26 in it..less hassle + more power....halfcut cheap oso
thinking bout it... cheaper in the long run...
how bout JPJ/Puspakom endorsement issues...
yeezai
post Apr 22 2013, 07:25 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 22 2013, 06:21 PM)
thinking bout it... cheaper in the long run...
how bout JPJ/Puspakom endorsement issues...
runner can kautim no worries....cause if want to do it by the book your ride can only up till 1.6cc ..lol ...
idunnolol
post Apr 22 2013, 07:40 PM

1,044 posts

ar188 We need you here lol
ar188
post Apr 22 2013, 07:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Apr 22 2013, 07:40 PM)
ar188 We need you here lol
20b or 1jz..
TSbudakhops
post Apr 22 2013, 07:48 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 22 2013, 07:41 PM)
20b or 1jz..
1jz seems to be overkill... 1300 jumps to 2500...
runner fees oso will be overkill the budget.. just found out it will cost me 2-4k for the fees...
ar188
post Apr 22 2013, 07:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 22 2013, 07:48 PM)
1jz seems to be overkill... 1300 jumps to 2500...
runner fees oso will be overkill the budget.. just found out it will cost me 2-4k for the fees...
then maybe SR20?

anyway you do 110k then mati not bad liao.. last time at ah choy, i see 70-80k already engine kaput.. luckily mine 146k also no mati , fast fast sold it off.. laugh.gif
TSbudakhops
post Apr 22 2013, 08:09 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 22 2013, 07:50 PM)
then maybe SR20?

anyway you do 110k then mati not bad liao.. last time at ah choy, i see 70-80k already engine kaput.. luckily mine 146k also no mati , fast fast sold it off.. laugh.gif
haha... the car adi 7month not in running condition, only hav the budget...

now got 2 workshop that r shortlisted...
if i wanna go with rotary must go to ah choy since he is the best...
if change to piston, a very well known rotary workshop that can do such wiring needed..
TSbudakhops
post Apr 22 2013, 08:15 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:25 AM)
You can fit RX7 engine in but you will lose all the OE gauge cluster feature laugh.gif
I think rebuild stock engine is the best biggrin.gif
Well,rotary engine have to take care of it nicely for prolonged life span
Always never shut off car when cold(Engine will flood),check oil and top up periodically(like say once in a 2 week) and always drive sprintedly after warm up to prevent carbon build up
Take care of it and it will take care of you tongue.gif
To TS,maybe can do street port while rebuilding or something but i am not sure if Ah Choy do it
haha... if go for rotary will go for RX8's engine...
it is very troublesome engine to take care...
the fact of it use RON97 is a bit disturbing...
farique
post Apr 23 2013, 07:26 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

rebuilt.
TSbudakhops
post Apr 23 2013, 07:37 PM

1,519 posts

1JZ in a RX8....
Credit to LSF Autowork....

Yong_5290
post Apr 23 2013, 07:42 PM

152 posts

sell it off ....nothing can be done , mazda without rotary are just like pondan
cheap rebuild then let it go . cover up plate so no 1 know . or let used car trade in. change engine then engine need endorse , mostly ppl see will stray away
bo093
post Apr 23 2013, 08:15 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Apr 23 2013, 07:42 PM)
cheap rebuild then let it go . cover up plate so no 1 know . or let used car trade in. change engine then engine need endorse , mostly ppl see will stray away
So true. tongue.gif

Ever consider doing those reliability rebuild? Using exotic materials. brows.gif
Read up on those build that mainly want more reliability. sweat.gif

Alan
post Apr 23 2013, 08:20 PM

413 posts

Err... suggesting to change car as TS fell troublesome to take care of rotary engine...
TSbudakhops
post Apr 23 2013, 08:32 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Apr 23 2013, 07:42 PM)
QUOTE(bo093 @ Apr 23 2013, 08:15 PM)
So true.  tongue.gif

Ever consider doing those reliability rebuild? Using exotic materials.  brows.gif 
Read up on those build that mainly want more reliability.  sweat.gif
QUOTE(Alan @ Apr 23 2013, 08:20 PM)
Err... suggesting to change car as TS fell troublesome to take care of rotary engine...
i bought this car cheap already using student AP in 2010...
it is free from any encumbrances, only need this car to send my little sister to school n basic driving (point A to B)... no racing involve..
therefore im really keen to rebuilt/replace/switch the engine... no monthly installment is GOOOOOOOOODDDDD!!!!
bought new car need to wait next year la, whether PR o BN wins, car will be cheaper.. haha tongue.gif

Yong_5290
post Apr 23 2013, 08:37 PM

152 posts

This is the main problem. Rotary not for u to go point A-B . U have to occasionally rev up the engine to like 5k rpm to prevent carbon built up. At current ron97 price , it would be wiser to fuel up full tank ron 95 and add fuel booster

if really just wanna get from point a-b then put in rb20 lol. cheapest . ca18 also can.....lol
pg84
post Apr 23 2013, 09:05 PM

289 posts

depends on the failure. U might want to know wat parts kaput first.
-rotation gear?
-seal?

cos rotary are not like piston where u have many linkage parts.Rotary are mechanically simple.maybe go for a second opinion .who knows it may just need some repair only.
SUSInF.anime
post Apr 23 2013, 09:31 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 22 2013, 07:41 PM)
20b or 1jz..
B20b hybrid? This engine let you down to just a matter of time.
saw too many B20b are having problem of breaking blocks, valve, or crank. Finally the owners fed up with rebuilding it and sold off their rides.

Be my guest if you wanna try lol laugh.gif

SUSInF.anime
post Apr 23 2013, 09:33 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Apr 23 2013, 08:37 PM)
This is the main problem. Rotary not for u to go point A-B . U have to occasionally rev up the engine to like 5k rpm to prevent carbon built up. At current ron97 price , it would be wiser to fuel up full tank ron 95 and add fuel booster

if really just wanna get from point a-b then put in rb20 lol. cheapest . ca18 also can.....lol
I tot SR20 is better than RB20...
ar188
post Apr 23 2013, 09:33 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Apr 23 2013, 09:31 PM)
B20b hybrid? This engine  let you down to just a matter of time.
saw too many B20b are having problem of breaking blocks, valve, or crank. Finally the owners fed up with rebuilding it and sold off their rides.

Be my guest if you wanna try lol laugh.gif
sorry no pistons here.
Yong_5290
post Apr 23 2013, 09:50 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Apr 23 2013, 09:33 PM)
I tot SR20 is better than RB20...
coz its only a to b purpose . so suggest ts the cheapest heheheh
TSbudakhops
post Apr 23 2013, 10:08 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Apr 23 2013, 09:50 PM)
coz its only a to b purpose . so suggest ts the cheapest heheheh
i looking for the best solution,the cheapest one may not be the bestest solution...
need all the sifu's input to help me to make the best decision... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
sonic_cd
post Apr 23 2013, 11:12 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 22 2013, 02:02 AM)
Hey guys...
My rx8's kaput already clocking at 110k mileage.... currently considering to change the engine.... the budget is 15k (stretchable to 20k)
rebuilt is around 12k..

i'm also considering to swap to piston type engine such as 1jz or sr20det.... bcoz rotaries does need more maintenance and can run only on ron97...

25k ? but mine i also change at ah choy place there about 15k...

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 22 2013, 07:50 PM)
then maybe SR20?

mine only 62k+ then kong . lol ...though i may have found out why the engine kong ... tongue.gif

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 23 2013, 10:08 PM)
i looking for the best solution,the cheapest one may not be the bestest solution...
need all the sifu's input to help me to  make the best decision...  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
just get a new engine , cause you would not know the halfcut condition
ar188
post Apr 23 2013, 11:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Apr 23 2013, 11:12 PM)

mine only 62k+ then kong . lol ...though i may have found out why the engine kong ... tongue.gif
why? share abit? biggrin.gif
Hackezkk
post Apr 24 2013, 12:11 AM

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~
1,959 posts

brapa ko angkat mazda ni? ap adik ko blaja kt jepun ke
sonic_cd
post Apr 24 2013, 01:04 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 23 2013, 11:15 PM)
why? share abit? biggrin.gif
back when first got the car , noticed that the engine temp would rise during traffic jams .s. had read that engine would tend to heat up in traffic conditions or hard driving so left it ..then after cny last year , driving to KL from PG , just before ipoh , there`s a section of the higway which goes up slope before the tunnel ... got caught in a massive jam , the engine temp had risen to maximum ( i know my mistake , should have pulled over and let it cooled down ) , reached the tunnel evrything cleared up and went back to normal ... reach KL already , suddenly the car stalled, but after a while it started back up , the quickly drove back home ...few days later noticed the temp still rising ...so masuk workshop (st wangan ) dianosed driver side cooling fan motor kong ... but i think by then the engine was damaged bdly ... lol sweat.gif
ar188
post Apr 24 2013, 01:05 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Apr 24 2013, 01:04 AM)
back when first got the car , noticed that the engine temp would rise during traffic jams .s.  had read that engine would tend to heat up in traffic conditions or hard driving so left it ..then after cny last year , driving to KL from PG , just before ipoh , there`s a section of the higway which goes up slope before the tunnel ... got caught in a massive jam , the engine temp had risen to maximum ( i know my mistake , should have pulled over and let it cooled down ) , reached the tunnel evrything cleared up and went back to normal ...  reach KL already , suddenly the car stalled, but after a while it started back up , the quickly drove back home ...few days later noticed the temp still rising ...so masuk workshop (st wangan ) dianosed driver side cooling fan motor kong ... but i think by then the engine was damaged bdly ... lol  sweat.gif
wah means fan indirectly injured the renesis then..15k fly away,.. laugh.gif steering rack got change ar?
sonic_cd
post Apr 24 2013, 01:08 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 24 2013, 01:05 AM)
wah means fan indirectly injured the renesis then..15k fly away,.. laugh.gif  steering rack got change ar?
nope, still the same ,though i suspect thats the next item to go , haha ..damn mazda and the electric sterring . ;;;lol
ar188
post Apr 24 2013, 01:09 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Apr 24 2013, 01:08 AM)
nope, still the same ,though i suspect thats the next item to go , haha ..damn mazda and the electric sterring . ;;;lol
so engine working but you changed it anyway.. sweat.gif orang kaya is orang kaya..
sonic_cd
post Apr 24 2013, 01:20 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 24 2013, 01:09 AM)
so engine working but you changed it  anyway.. sweat.gif  orang kaya is orang kaya..
i only changed after the ah choy took apart the engine and showed me the parts which were err...serisouly needed replacement ... worse part was the e-shaft bearing ... worn down till you can see the copper/brass color, the rotor housing got deep scratches,oil leak (which you know is disaster) .. and the car had problems starting ... i think due to the overheating incident . lol
TSbudakhops
post Apr 24 2013, 06:40 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Apr 23 2013, 11:12 PM)
25k ? but mine i also change at ah choy place there about 15k...
just get a new engine , cause you would not know the halfcut condition
25k is brand new zero milage engine, if change to recond engine it would be around 15k~ depend on replaced parts.. (quoted by ah choy last week)

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ Apr 24 2013, 12:11 AM)
brapa ko angkat mazda ni? ap adik ko blaja kt jepun ke
haah, adik blaja jepon... kerete sahaja RM18k~ xmasuk tax n lain2...

back when first got the car , noticed that the engine temp would rise during traffic jams .s.  had read that engine would tend to heat up in traffic conditions or hard driving so left it ..then after cny last year , driving to KL from PG , just before ipoh , there`s a section of the higway which goes up slope before the tunnel ... got caught in a massive jam , the engine temp had risen to maximum ( i know my mistake , should have pulled over and let it cooled down ) , reached the tunnel evrything cleared up and went back to normal ...   reach KL already , suddenly the car stalled, but after a while it started back up , the quickly drove back home ...few days later noticed the temp still rising ...so masuk workshop (st wangan ) dianosed driver side cooling fan motor kong ... but i think by then the engine was damaged bdly ... lol  sweat.gif
mine it got stalled at traffic light in a hot sunny day somewhere in rawang, temp to the max, water tank suddenly burst, and that the story..

This post has been edited by budakhops: Apr 24 2013, 06:42 AM
TSbudakhops
post Apr 24 2013, 08:45 AM

1,519 posts

anyone knew fuel consumption for SR20 & 1JZ per liter??

btw this is SR20 in a RX8...
credit to Vadim@SR20.com

This post has been edited by budakhops: Apr 24 2013, 08:58 AM
OC4/3
post Apr 24 2013, 05:23 PM

4,746 posts

back when first got the car , noticed that the engine temp would rise during traffic jams .s.  had read that engine would tend to heat up in traffic conditions or hard driving so left it ..then after cny last year , driving to KL from PG , just before ipoh , there`s a section of the higway which goes up slope before the tunnel ... got caught in a massive jam , the engine temp had risen to maximum ( i know my mistake , should have pulled over and let it cooled down ) , reached the tunnel evrything cleared up and went back to normal ...  reach KL already , suddenly the car stalled, but after a while it started back up , the quickly drove back home ...few days later noticed the temp still rising ...so masuk workshop (st wangan ) dianosed driver side cooling fan motor kong ... but i think by then the engine was damaged bdly ... lol  sweat.gif
Time to install dual oil cooler like OE Mazdaspeed
Mazdaspeed one so sweet,even got duct that bolt up to Mazdaspeed bumper brows.gif
@TS,going from point A to point B is why your engine kong
Need to rev the heck out of rotary to ensure reliability after the engine warm up of course
Another trick can use is pour some 2 stroke oil into fuel tank when filling petrol;Will help your engine reliability,especially rotary and make it perform better while at it too
Norsaiful Zaidi
post Apr 25 2013, 08:56 AM

15 posts

I found a shop in Klang call Naga Motorsport already start install SR20 into RX8

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.4...88552926&type=3
bo093
post Apr 25 2013, 01:05 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Norsaiful Zaidi @ Apr 25 2013, 08:56 AM)
I found a shop in Klang call Naga Motorsport already start install SR20 into RX8

I heard some bad stories with Naga... sweat.gif
TSbudakhops
post Apr 25 2013, 02:28 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(Norsaiful Zaidi @ Apr 25 2013, 08:56 AM)

there is no update on the progress....

QUOTE(bo093 @ Apr 25 2013, 01:05 PM)
I heard some bad stories with Naga...  sweat.gif
what kind of bad stories bro??

yesterday adi go to LSF, i have to wait into the waiting list, earliest on JULY...
only LSF can make the speedometer work properly, other workshop dont have the expertise to do such..

is it worth it to wait?
bo093
post Apr 25 2013, 07:08 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 25 2013, 02:28 PM)
I wish I can find the story. But is in facebook. doh.gif

stormlcc
post Apr 26 2013, 12:48 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 25 2013, 02:28 PM)
there is no update on the progress....
yesterday adi go to LSF, i have to wait into the waiting list, earliest on JULY...
only LSF can make the speedometer work properly, other workshop dont have the expertise to do such..

is it worth it to wait?
y the heck do u wanna bother with using back the rx8 speedo? if u want to convert to SR or JZ engine, just use back the meter from the halfcut (if it can fit into the dash. i think S14 & S15 meter can fit). personally i won't be bothered with the wiring compatibility, if the meter can't fit into it, then use Apexi RSM and a fuel gauge to look at the fuel level. if u convert to other brand engine, must use back that halfcut's wiring, don't lek lek go and do hybrid wiring because that'll be idiotic, and it'll make your head bald.

personally, i'll go for the SR20det and make it around 280whp for street use. the Renesis engine is just too darn underpowered / under torque for everyday use, and too darn thirsty. not to mention the maintenance of the thing. and using SR won't hurt the balance of the car too badly. it's a lot more heavier than the rotary but at least u don't have to worry too much every day about maintenance, fuel and what road to rev the car to the max just to clear that carbon build up in the rotary.

1jz is just too heavy for that car, the balance of the entire car will be severly ruined, and every time u step on the gas a little bit, your tail will slide. i know, because i'm driving an E30 with 1jz vvti, and i don't have LSD, if have LSD like the RX8 u will be praying for survival every time it rains. and u have to use auto GB because the rear diff of your RX is not going to last even 1 week with a manual 1jz. use 1JZ only if u plan to drift the car.

if for weekend use of course use back rotary.

there are a few sports cars that are worth to buy starting this year, 1 is the fairlady 350z (which can easily be converted to RB26dett) and the other is the RX8 (which can plonk in the SR20det). both are very cheap to buy, both have big disadvantages using their original engines but will be awesome if u do an engine conversion.

the fairlady is it's stupidly high road tax but very low hp per CC. change to RB26dett although is a very expensive process, but every year u don't need to pay 4k for road tax, only pay 1k plus for 2.6. and u get tonnes of hp and tonnes of g-forces to play with. or u can just be a cheapo and convert to a 1jz vvti and save at least 5k on the conversion.

the RX is it's troublesome maintenance as an every day car. change to SR has a lot of benefits and only 2 downsides. it's easy to maintain, easy to feed, easy to drive every day. downsides are only u don't have the pure bred rotary goodness and that revving sound, and the balance of the car is kinda ruined (which i don't really care since drifting is more fun than pin-point precision driving)
munky
post Apr 26 2013, 10:35 AM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 26 2013, 12:48 AM)
if the meter can't fit into it, then use Apexi RSM and a fuel gauge to look at the fuel level.
Bro, u know a place that can mod external fuel gauge? my fuel gauge kong, and a few workshop doesnt know how to repair or cannot find whats wrong :facepalm:

bmw workshop says the wiring has been modified, so he scared want to do it. Another workshop says he cannot find whats wrong. Recommend me to strip the car and redo the wiring altogether (since my car wiring very shakehead.gif )

using 1jz in e36
stormlcc
post Apr 26 2013, 04:30 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Apr 26 2013, 10:35 AM)
Bro, u know a place that can mod external fuel gauge? my fuel gauge kong, and a few workshop doesnt know how to repair or cannot find whats wrong :facepalm:

bmw workshop says the wiring has been modified, so he scared want to do it. Another workshop says he cannot find whats wrong. Recommend me to strip the car and redo the wiring altogether (since my car wiring very  shakehead.gif )

using 1jz in e36
sorry, can't help u with that
TSbudakhops
post Apr 26 2013, 05:58 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 26 2013, 12:48 AM)
y the heck do u wanna bother with using back the rx8 speedo?  if u want to convert to SR or JZ engine, just use back the meter from the halfcut (if it can fit into the dash.  i think S14 & S15 meter can fit).  personally i won't be bothered with the wiring compatibility, if the meter can't fit into it, then use Apexi RSM and a fuel gauge to look at the fuel level.  if u convert to other brand engine, must use back that halfcut's wiring, don't lek lek go and do hybrid wiring because that'll be idiotic, and it'll make your head bald.

personally, i'll go for the SR20det and make it around 280whp for street use.  the Renesis engine is just too darn underpowered / under torque for everyday use, and too darn thirsty.  not to mention the maintenance of the thing.  and using SR won't hurt the balance of the car too badly.  it's a lot more heavier than the rotary but at least u don't have to worry too much every day about maintenance, fuel and what road to rev the car to the max just to clear that carbon build up in the rotary.

1jz is just too heavy for that car, the balance of the entire car will be severly ruined, and every time u step on the gas a little bit, your tail will slide.  i know, because i'm driving an E30 with 1jz vvti, and i don't have LSD, if have LSD like the RX8 u will be praying for survival every time it rains.  and u have to use auto GB because the rear diff of your RX is not going to last even 1 week with a manual 1jz.  use 1JZ only if u plan to drift the car.

if for weekend use of course use back rotary.

there are a few sports cars that are worth to buy starting this year, 1 is the fairlady 350z (which can easily be converted to RB26dett) and the other is the RX8 (which can plonk in the SR20det).  both are very cheap to buy, both have big disadvantages using their original engines but will be awesome if u do an engine conversion.

the fairlady is it's stupidly high road tax but very low hp per CC.  change to RB26dett although is a very expensive process, but every year u don't need to pay 4k for road tax, only pay 1k plus for 2.6.  and u get tonnes of hp and tonnes of g-forces to play with.  or u can just be a cheapo and convert to a 1jz vvti and save at least 5k on the conversion.

the RX is it's troublesome maintenance as an every day car. change to SR has a lot of benefits and only 2 downsides.  it's easy to maintain, easy to feed, easy to drive every day.  downsides are only u don't have the pure bred rotary goodness and that revving sound, and the balance of the car is kinda ruined (which i don't really care since drifting is more fun than pin-point precision driving)
its nothing wrong if i can used the ori speedo gauge...
since it is around the same price with other workshop that cant do it...
LSF can do some wiring modd to make it functional... but need to wait.. sad.gif sad.gif

agreed with u bro... i may go for SR20 turbo... 1JZ seems to be very heavy...
stormlcc
post Apr 26 2013, 07:58 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 26 2013, 05:58 PM)
LSF can do some wiring modd to make it functional... but need to wait..  sad.gif  sad.gif

the point of not using the ori speedo is to simplify the wiring system with the new engine. using back the meter from the halfcut is a plug and play process, no need to mod this mod that, and it makes future maintenance a whole lot easier.
SUSkimsim
post Apr 27 2013, 01:52 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Seem like the world worst trust engine.

Where got faulty issue on more or less clocks at 100k Kms mileage only..

Lol.
kirakun
post Apr 27 2013, 11:18 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Apr 27 2013, 01:52 AM)
Seem like the world worst trust engine.

Where got faulty issue on more or less clocks at 100k Kms mileage only..

Lol.
I agree but to disagree at some points. A brand new engine of any type can be damned too easily if the driver doesn't give a heck in caring nor servicing it. U don't need 100k of mileage to trash a brand new engine, just by 'violent driving' coupled with disregard servicing and the rising of engine temperature can kill a brand new engine in no time, needless to mention a fragile engine such as a rotary lol.
jayraptor
post May 1 2013, 06:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 26 2013, 05:58 PM)
LSF can do some wiring modd to make it functional... but need to wait..  sad.gif  sad.gif

I suggest you overhaul the rotary engine at SC, safer and less likely you'll get conned. Rotary engine lifespan is 7 years, at least guaranteed could serve you well for another 7 years. If you sent to outside workshop, they'll charge you highly markup cut throat price for the parts and you don't know whether they really buy the parts or just re-fit the old part back to con you.

Price of overhauling Japanese engine at SC for totally blown engine:
- Inline4 engine around RM4k+ and never close to RM5k
- V6 engine range from RM5k-6k

Conman Ah Beng workshop could charge you RM6k for inline4 and RM8k-10k for V6. Also, many Ah Chong Ah Beng workshop are run by unqualified self claim foreman that don't even know what is Automotive Engineering course. Not even the minimum MLVK no CNG certificate with on job training.

Recond engine is nothing more than dead engine that they just fix to level where it can move but will give you headache shortly. Those old engines could be taken from cars that got total loss in Japan and given to you. Also, they don't even know how to calculate pressure, the air intake and exhaust manifold to muffler are nothing more than just sendiri tarik style that end up choking your engine. Either not enough pressure into engine or too much pressure into engine but exhaust pressure too low to pump out the exhaust causing carbon buildup and engine suffocate to die early.

Mind you, carmakers don't make straight air intake and exhaust with reason, curvy bengkang-bengkok tubes are there to generate enough pressure before pumping into engine and also creating pressure for exhaust gas to be pumped out of engine out through muffler pipe.

Don't pandai2 go change engine. That old SR20 engine or RB20 is too heavy for your RX8, you might understeer easily. Also fuel guzzling like mad. If you wanted to change engine, better you buy brand new Altis dual VVTi 1.8L or Korean Nu 1.8L or Theta 2.0L engine that save FC yet lightweight around 120kg or less.

Exhaust too, don't bother to change, more likely to cause pressure loss and the car can't digest exhaust properly.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: May 1 2013, 06:24 PM
OC4/3
post May 2 2013, 08:34 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ May 1 2013, 06:21 PM)
I suggest you overhaul the rotary engine at SC, safer and less likely you'll get conned. Rotary engine lifespan is 7 years, at least guaranteed could serve you well for another 7 years. If you sent to outside workshop, they'll charge you highly markup cut throat price for the parts and you don't know whether they really buy the parts or just re-fit the old part back to con you.

Price of overhauling Japanese engine at SC for totally blown engine:
- Inline4 engine around RM4k+ and never close to RM5k
- V6 engine range from RM5k-6k

Conman Ah Beng workshop could charge you RM6k for inline4 and RM8k-10k for V6. Also, many Ah Chong Ah Beng workshop are run by unqualified self claim foreman that don't even know what is Automotive Engineering course. Not even the minimum MLVK no CNG certificate with on job training.

Recond engine is nothing more than dead engine that they just fix to level where it can move but will give you headache shortly. Those old engines could be taken from cars that got total loss in Japan and given to you. Also, they don't even know how to calculate pressure, the air intake and exhaust manifold to muffler are nothing more than just sendiri tarik style that end up choking your engine. Either not enough pressure into engine or too much pressure into engine but exhaust pressure too low to pump out the exhaust causing carbon buildup and engine suffocate to die early.

Mind you, carmakers don't make straight air intake and exhaust with reason, curvy bengkang-bengkok tubes are there to generate enough pressure before pumping into engine and also creating pressure for exhaust gas to be pumped out of engine out through muffler pipe.

Don't pandai2 go change engine. That old SR20 engine or RB20 is too heavy for your RX8, you might understeer easily. Also fuel guzzling like mad. If you wanted to change engine, better you buy brand new Altis dual VVTi 1.8L or Korean Nu 1.8L or Theta 2.0L engine that save FC yet lightweight around 120kg or less.

Exhaust too, don't bother to change, more likely to cause pressure loss and the car can't digest exhaust properly.
Errr
FYI,Ah Choy is one of the best rotary specialist around i suppose
Most of malaysia rotary is maintained at there one

TSbudakhops
post May 2 2013, 10:44 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 2 2013, 08:34 PM)
Errr
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
OC4/3
post May 3 2013, 12:31 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ May 2 2013, 10:44 PM)
nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif 
Frankly,i would be more worried if i drive RX8 and send it to service center sweat.gif
Ah Choy also got goodies up for sales one tongue.gif
R3 Recaro interior,19" wheel etc drool.gif
Cyprid Dark ii
post May 3 2013, 05:10 AM

640 posts

Been into the same situation,too...(Massive CNY Traffic Jam when going to Kedah in early 2012)

No such problem happened....So that was my luck,also. tongue.gif

But to add one more thing,carbonized rotary are not good.So whenever I got a chance I would rev tha b1tch hard enough especially when I was driving more than 1 hour without any redlining...I would find my way to doing it.Luckily it also handle better in corner than my fat Z33 so it kinda easy to push the engine while having a road-worthy fun with that. laugh.gif

So far no problem with my RX8 but mine was revised & facelifted version so you can expect that Mazda has made some revision on the engine,ECU & such other than just a look.(first gen ECU reportedly had a problem especially on the AT version where the engine management system didnt pumped enough engine oil during high-speed engine operation but it happened on several chassis no. if my mind served me right...In US the problem has been led for some class action suit & Mazda does make sure all the infected' model no. are getting free software update...)

Changing engine is good for reliability & power but not sure how it would effect the chassis rigidty & handling.So far I love RX8 because of the handling,& sharp steering respond.Been into track for quite a time with my Z33 & Nissan sportscar always felt heavy & less steering feedback.

I can say the RX8 had the same steering feel & handling behaviour as the NSX....Only a lil' bit sharper',probably that just me,but smoothness of wankel engine(where the polar of momentum are not up & down,but rather spinning directly on one linear direction) are making me just a bit more confident on driving it to the edge rather than both NSX & Z33.(Which I also happened to own,as well)

Ah choy is a good wankel mechanic,go for him.Best rotard guy ever !

Regarding the RX8,I admit I was love the facelifted model in Nemesis Blue & R3 package...Look dammmn good! thumbup.gif
sonic_cd
post May 3 2013, 10:54 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ May 3 2013, 05:10 AM)
Been into the same situation,too...(Massive CNY Traffic Jam when going to Kedah in early 2012)

But to add one more thing,carbonized rotary are not good.So whenever I got a chance I would rev tha b1tch hard enough especially when I was driving more than 1 hour without any redlining...I would find my way to doing it.Luckily it also handle better in corner than my fat Z33 so it kinda easy to push the engine while having a road-worthy fun with that. laugh.gif

So far no problem with my RX8 but mine was revised & facelifted version so you can expect that Mazda has made some revision on the engine,ECU & such other than just a look.(first gen ECU reportedly had a problem especially on the AT version where the engine management system didnt pumped enough engine oil during high-speed engine operation but it happened on several chassis no. if my mind served me right...In US the problem has been led for some class action suit & Mazda does make sure all the infected' model no. are getting free software update...)

Changing engine is good for reliability & power but not sure how it would effect the chassis rigidty & handling.So far I love RX8 because of the handling,& sharp steering respond.Been into track for quite a time with my Z33 & Nissan sportscar always felt heavy & less steering feedback.

I can say the RX8 had the same steering feel & handling behaviour as the NSX....Only a lil' bit sharper',probably that just me,but smoothness of wankel engine(where the polar of momentum are not up & down,but rather spinning directly on one linear direction) are making me just a bit more confident on driving it to the edge rather than both NSX & Z33.(Which I also happened to own,as well)

Regarding the RX8,I admit I was love the facelifted model in Nemesis Blue & R3 package...Look dammmn good! thumbup.gif
the older also had issues with the stock battery and the starter ... for the pree 2005 batches if i remember .
kelirulol
post May 3 2013, 02:58 PM

17 posts

1jz would probably be awesome...
but not sure if that massive 6 pot engine would affect the handling of the car....
hmmm
OC4/3
post May 4 2013, 04:00 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ May 3 2013, 05:10 AM)

Guess generally RX8 as a driver's car that is practical for man in his late 20's ~ 40's is correct
Not so boy ricer image as EVO/STI and you get RWD fun(50/50 weight distribution,FR,LSD) in an attractive package
Also rotary sound is damn loud when decat tongue.gif
Overall it's an attractive ownership proposition for someone who know what they are getting into(Check oil level,top up oil accordingly,no cool shutdown,rev the heck out of it)
Also common issue like coolant reservoir,reinforced clutch pedal,steering rack,coil pack must be taken care of
Your RX8 is AT or MT??
For me,i would take a Mazdaspeed kitted one with R3 rim,interior
jayraptor
post May 4 2013, 08:01 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 2 2013, 08:34 PM)
Errr
If Ah CHoy workshops is run by qualified engineers, that is fine.

Ah Beng workshop I'm referring are those with Kopi O' or Teh Tarik Lesen operators with trial & error education.

Conclusion is, send to workshops where qualified engineers with tech know how is ok. If not sure which workshop has qualified engineers, best to send to SC.

Recond the ori rotary engine is better than getting 2nd hand dying engines taken from wrecked cars.

bo093
post May 5 2013, 09:42 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 4 2013, 04:00 AM)
Also rotary sound is damn loud when decat tongue.gif
If got PP, even more awesome. brows.gif

QUOTE(jayraptor @ May 4 2013, 08:01 AM)
If Ah CHoy workshops is run by qualified engineers, that is fine.

Ah Beng workshop I'm referring are those with Kopi O' or Teh Tarik Lesen operators with trial & error education.

Conclusion is, send to workshops where qualified engineers with tech know how is ok. If not sure which workshop has qualified engineers, best to send to SC.

Recond the ori rotary engine is better than getting 2nd hand dying engines taken from wrecked cars.
Not just qualified engineers. Best if those engineers got rotary background.
Sadly, my university is not teaching rotary. sad.gif

shean
post May 5 2013, 11:50 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Apr 26 2013, 10:35 AM)

bmw workshop says the wiring has been modified, so he scared want to do it. Another workshop says he cannot find whats wrong. Recommend me to strip the car and redo the wiring altogether (since my car wiring very  shakehead.gif )

using 1jz in e36
U may try this workshop from Seremban, Ah Loong if im not mistaken. He's very well verse with 1jz + BMW

PM me if u need his contact
OC4/3
post May 5 2013, 12:21 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ May 5 2013, 09:42 AM)
If got PP, even more awesome.  brows.gif
PP not really streetable lah laugh.gif
Wonder why no one does PP Renesis + ITB + Dog Box rev to over 12k rpm tongue.gif
But frankly if intend to go to that extend i rather do 3 Rotor NA like Panspeed's one
Again kind of lari theme with fun street car
The whole point of RX8 is you need to learn how to drive properly to be fast utilizing the limited power you have at hand

munky
post May 9 2013, 09:27 AM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(shean @ May 5 2013, 11:50 AM)
U may try this workshop from Seremban, Ah Loong if im not mistaken. He's very well verse with 1jz + BMW

PM me if u need his contact
aiyo too far la bro heheh

MrMao
post May 9 2013, 11:14 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 22 2013, 02:02 AM)
Hey guys...
rebuilt is around 12k..

go LSF for rx7 engin
i bought a half cut from ah choy around 13k ..compression rate around 7.9 7.8
SuperVelocity
post May 10 2013, 05:16 PM

332 posts

try Mazda 3 MPS engine?

0.0706sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:29 PM