RX8 Engine choices, My rx8's engine kaput...

jayraptor
post May 1 2013, 06:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 26 2013, 05:58 PM)
its nothing wrong if i can used the ori speedo gauge...
since it is around the same price with other workshop that cant do it...
LSF can do some wiring modd to make it functional... but need to wait..  sad.gif  sad.gif

agreed with u bro... i may go for SR20 turbo... 1JZ seems to be very heavy...
I suggest you overhaul the rotary engine at SC, safer and less likely you'll get conned. Rotary engine lifespan is 7 years, at least guaranteed could serve you well for another 7 years. If you sent to outside workshop, they'll charge you highly markup cut throat price for the parts and you don't know whether they really buy the parts or just re-fit the old part back to con you.

Price of overhauling Japanese engine at SC for totally blown engine:
- Inline4 engine around RM4k+ and never close to RM5k
- V6 engine range from RM5k-6k

Conman Ah Beng workshop could charge you RM6k for inline4 and RM8k-10k for V6. Also, many Ah Chong Ah Beng workshop are run by unqualified self claim foreman that don't even know what is Automotive Engineering course. Not even the minimum MLVK no CNG certificate with on job training.

Recond engine is nothing more than dead engine that they just fix to level where it can move but will give you headache shortly. Those old engines could be taken from cars that got total loss in Japan and given to you. Also, they don't even know how to calculate pressure, the air intake and exhaust manifold to muffler are nothing more than just sendiri tarik style that end up choking your engine. Either not enough pressure into engine or too much pressure into engine but exhaust pressure too low to pump out the exhaust causing carbon buildup and engine suffocate to die early.

Mind you, carmakers don't make straight air intake and exhaust with reason, curvy bengkang-bengkok tubes are there to generate enough pressure before pumping into engine and also creating pressure for exhaust gas to be pumped out of engine out through muffler pipe.

Don't pandai2 go change engine. That old SR20 engine or RB20 is too heavy for your RX8, you might understeer easily. Also fuel guzzling like mad. If you wanted to change engine, better you buy brand new Altis dual VVTi 1.8L or Korean Nu 1.8L or Theta 2.0L engine that save FC yet lightweight around 120kg or less.

Exhaust too, don't bother to change, more likely to cause pressure loss and the car can't digest exhaust properly.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: May 1 2013, 06:24 PM
jayraptor
post May 4 2013, 08:01 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 2 2013, 08:34 PM)
Errr
FYI,Ah Choy is one of the best rotary specialist around i suppose
Most of malaysia rotary is maintained at there one
If Ah CHoy workshops is run by qualified engineers, that is fine.

Ah Beng workshop I'm referring are those with Kopi O' or Teh Tarik Lesen operators with trial & error education.

Conclusion is, send to workshops where qualified engineers with tech know how is ok. If not sure which workshop has qualified engineers, best to send to SC.

Recond the ori rotary engine is better than getting 2nd hand dying engines taken from wrecked cars.

0.0406sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:14 AM