127 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V10, AW 14,17 & 18 released!

TSraymondtong94
post May 12 2013, 01:00 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

guys, sifu is in a dilemma between M17x and Y500 now. rclxub.gif

i planned to get M17x cuz it has larger screen and i like to play games and watch animes/movies in that way. but after some comparison, i figured out that i could save the RM2000 budget on a Y500, which the performance may outperform a HD9970M (GT850M SLI). to simplify my problem, i write the pros and cons of my thoughts to prevent myself writing an essay. laugh.gif

M17x Pros
-Very large full HD screen
-Graphics switching technology
-Scissor switch keyboards for excellent typing feel
-Customizable backlit keyboard and laptop lightings
-Cool chassis design
-Dual HDD bay
-Massive 9 cell battery
-A multimedia laptop + gaming laptop (PS3/Xbox360 can be plugged in to the HDMI input port)
-Good speakers
-Excellent warranty service (of course, after bought by dell)
-Personalized owner name plate
-Dedicated multimedia keys
-Rubber feeling on the palm rest area for comfort

M17x Cons
-Glossy screen (not a problem for me as im an indoor user)
-Heavy/Not really portable
-Very Expensive, even upgrades may cost around RM2000
-Warranty service only has premium options available
-Rubber palm rest can leave scratch marks

Y500 Pros
-Large full HD screen
-Ultrabay switching
-Lighter
-Cool red backlit keyboard
-AccuType chiclet style keyboard
-Brushed metal feeling
-Above average speakers
-2 years international warranty as standard configuration
-Full size keyboard
-Cheaper

Y500 Cons
-Glossy screen is ok but panel is fingerprint magnet, difficult to wipe off if there is no moisture
-Red only backlit keyboard
-Full size keyboard isolation could be better
-Not upgradeable
-No dedicated multimedia keys (means integrated on keyboard multimedia keys)
-Fingerprints and smudges can stick on the glossy brushed metal palm rest area
-Warm palm rest (not comfortable for long term gaming)
-No graphics switching technology
-Small backspace key (which used quite the most)

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: May 12 2013, 03:44 PM
duabijitelur
post May 12 2013, 04:11 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 12 2013, 01:00 PM)

i planned to get M17x cuz it has larger screen and i like to play games and watch animes/movies in that way. but after some comparison, i figured out that i could save the RM2000 budget on a Y500, which the performance may outperform a HD9970M (GT850M SLI). to simplify my problem, i write the pros and cons of my thoughts to prevent myself writing an essay. laugh.gif
Y500 gpu can beat m17x meh
which gpu y500 using now ? the new variant? gtx 7xx?
TSraymondtong94
post May 12 2013, 04:24 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ May 12 2013, 04:11 PM)
Y500 gpu can beat m17x meh
which gpu y500 using now ? the new variant? gtx 7xx?
not planning to get a very high end graphics card, as im more on watching animes and movies than gaming. Y500 is using GT750M now but im waiting for next year, the GT850M SLI. biggrin.gif

have a strong dilemma in between these 2 laptops.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: May 12 2013, 04:26 PM
duabijitelur
post May 12 2013, 04:31 PM

1,951 posts

then if not heavy gaming then can lenovo ba, my friend got that not long ago, quite reliable i can say
not that heavy and cheaper compare to m17x
mansooriqbal
post May 12 2013, 04:35 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 12 2013, 04:24 PM)
not planning to get a very high end graphics card, as im more on watching animes and movies than gaming. Y500 is using GT750M now but im waiting for next year, the GT850M SLI. biggrin.gif

have a strong dilemma in between these 2 laptops.
bro u cant judge now as by 850M u gotta see how tht card n AMDs card performs on new haswell. If you're planning to buy within a month or 2 then you can get better answers with facts. Rightnow ppl will just post thr opinion, although i wud go for alienware, simply coz it never gives me anyy problem.. if it does warranty is soo good i get tht specific part replaced with a new one... if the part cant repair, they will replace ur laptop. I am sure lenovo wont do tht. Secondly alienware has better resale value.. why? coz of the brand name n better physical quality than other laptops around... + the dell warranty. You go see 2 to 3 years alienware, people are still selling for 3 to 4k depending on condition.

with alienware u can upgrade GPU n CPU tht means after 3 to 4 years instead of selling ur laptop, u can enjoy the same alienware awesomeness n just get CPU n GPU upgrade. True it will cost some money but then hey ur almost getting a new laptop and latest laptop experience smile.gif

MY vote for now without proper facts for new GPU n haswell is for AW.

when haswell and new series of GPU are out n common n people have thr review on various forums then I can provide u with better explanations with facts.

cheers.
duabijitelur
post May 12 2013, 04:42 PM

1,951 posts

yeah agree with that cos ah alienware is better in those stuff [upgradable and performance] but also more expensive but if money is not problem then go for m17x and beware its damn heavy XD
SUSphantom_zero
post May 12 2013, 05:03 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ May 12 2013, 04:42 PM)
yeah agree with that cos ah alienware is better in those stuff [upgradable and performance] but also more expensive but if money is not problem then go for m17x and beware its damn heavy XD
i think better u try illegear or sager laptop, i owned a sager but sell it and buy my m14xr2, my sager 15.6" doesnt feel hot at palm area even play intense game compare to my m14x now, its quite hot i would say, sager laptop also more user friendly, easy to clean, upgrade and cheaper than alienware, in terms of warranty i definitely say dell is the best. if i want to buy new laptop in the future, i will go for sager smile.gif

This post has been edited by phantom_zero: May 12 2013, 05:03 PM
SUSMrUbikeledek
post May 13 2013, 10:48 AM

580 posts

I want to develop some sort of evaporative cooling for my M14X. The air will pass over a wet towel to precool the air before it enter the fan. The problem is, the air will contain water vapor. will it damage the laptop? from my examination of the system, the fan seems isolated from the other part of the laptop.
mansooriqbal
post May 13 2013, 12:24 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ May 13 2013, 10:48 AM)
I want to develop some sort of evaporative cooling for my M14X. The air will pass over a wet towel to precool the air before it enter the fan. The problem is, the air will contain water vapor. will it damage the laptop? from my examination of the system, the fan seems isolated from the other part of the laptop.
Not a good idea. smile.gif And yes it will eventually spoil ur laptop.
whack !
post May 17 2013, 04:33 PM

267 posts

hi guys,
first time posting here.
one good thing about Dell is the warranty. My M14x R1 has claimed about 5 times warranty, for HDD failure and also motherboard replacement.

Dell has agreed to replace it with M14x R2 so an owner reporting in

Great thread!
Jabberwocky
post May 17 2013, 05:02 PM

122 posts

$$$ wise the advantages that M17x provide over Lenovo Y500 is not worth the 2,000 budget.

Go for Y500, I can practically play everygame in High/Ultra settings with good FPS.
mansooriqbal
post May 17 2013, 05:17 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ May 17 2013, 05:02 PM)
$$$ wise the advantages that M17x provide over Lenovo Y500 is not worth the 2,000 budget.

Go for Y500, I can practically play everygame in High/Ultra settings with good FPS.
ur wrong. It IS worth it... first of all the warranty guy comes to ur house.. secondly u complain n they replace parts with new parts no questions asked.. third if cannot fix they give u a new laptop within one week. PLUS it's alienware! u cant compare with lenovo. The build quality/look/feel. Ur argument is plain wrong:)
i'd recommend everyone to go get alienware eyes closed but if ur tight on budget... get cheaper gaming laptop but then ur warranty wont be good and the laptop wont feel like an expensive laptop etc. So it all depends. U don't only compare prices with wht graphics the laptop has to offer. lol.
mansooriqbal
post May 17 2013, 05:24 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(whack ! @ May 17 2013, 04:33 PM)
hi guys,
first time posting here.
one good thing about Dell is the warranty. My M14x R1 has claimed about 5 times warranty, for HDD failure and also motherboard replacement.

Great thread!
go to know tht. I got my m 17x replaced too( only one led issue which cudnt be fixed) with a new unit and they gave me better processor and gpu+3d. Plus new warranty and new alienware bag as well. It's funny how people come here and argue asus,lenovo and MSI is better. Gives me a good laugh.
TongCN
post May 17 2013, 06:12 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,643 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ May 17 2013, 05:24 PM)
go to know tht. I got my m 17x replaced too( only one led issue which cudnt be fixed) with a new unit and they gave me better processor and gpu+3d. Plus new warranty and new alienware bag as well. It's funny how people come here and argue asus,lenovo and MSI is better. Gives me a good laugh.
How you claim to replace that time?

Barely touch my M11X R2 since X51 got here, lol. ..
mansooriqbal
post May 17 2013, 06:17 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ May 17 2013, 06:12 PM)
How you claim to replace that time?

Barely touch my M11X R2 since X51 got here, lol. ..
they come try to fix my laptop 6 times. On the 7th I said them enough ady I wud prefer replacement. And then they replaced n gave me new one in a week. For 2 weeks I had 2 M17x LOL then they took the old one back.
TSraymondtong94
post May 18 2013, 12:14 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(whack ! @ May 17 2013, 04:33 PM)
hi guys,
first time posting here.

Great thread!
use the PM if you are reporting in. smile.gif
i am barely able to visit mobile computing section as im getting busy like sifu nexus and TJ do.

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ May 17 2013, 06:17 PM)
they come try to fix my laptop 6 times. On the 7th I said them enough ady I wud prefer replacement. And then they replaced n gave me new one in a week. For 2 weeks I had 2 M17x LOL then they took the old one back.
the warranty service already made part of an expensive option for the laptop.
if they cant provide top notch service to you, then what do you pay for? a lazy worker to visit your home and do nothing with your laptop? icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
mansooriqbal
post May 18 2013, 12:49 AM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 18 2013, 12:14 AM)
use the PM if you are reporting in. smile.gif
i am barely able to visit mobile computing section as im getting busy like sifu nexus and TJ do.
the warranty service already made part of an expensive option for the laptop.
if they cant provide top notch service to you, then what do you pay for? a lazy worker to visit your home and do nothing with your laptop? icon_rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif
exactly you pay for wht u get.. but still u get more than wht u pay and im very sure a lot of people will agree with that wink.gif
Jayi
post May 18 2013, 01:46 AM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 12 2013, 01:00 PM)

for me its quite easy to choose between y500 with m17x because they both are not so competitive.
If you compare y500 with m14x, it probably still stand a chance.
tis is because one is 17.3" while another is 15.6"
for sure bigger screen are better for movies and definitely gaming as well.
m17x is heavy and expensive but very powerful gpu which mean for real hardcore mobility gaming.
y500 is more towards budget gaming and overall daily computing and multimedia.

TSraymondtong94
post May 18 2013, 02:11 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ May 18 2013, 01:46 AM)
for me its quite easy to choose between y500 with m17x because they both are not so competitive.
If you compare y500 with m14x, it probably still stand a chance.
tis is because one is 17.3" while another is 15.6"
for sure bigger screen are better for movies and definitely gaming as well.
m17x is heavy and expensive but very powerful gpu which mean for real hardcore mobility gaming.
y500 is more towards budget gaming and overall daily computing and multimedia.
like that i will go for illegear. biggrin.gif

it seems the new illegear lineups have a new refreshed look.
Jayi
post May 18 2013, 02:22 AM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 18 2013, 02:11 AM)
like that i will go for illegear. biggrin.gif

it seems the new illegear lineups have a new refreshed look.
The RS15 ? thumbup.gif

127 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:11 PM