Migrating from WINDOWS to MAC OS X, Is it a GOOD thing o NOT?

Eithanius
post Apr 20 2006, 05:28 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 20 2006, 04:09 PM)
i just started (well,not really) using mac as my base since september 22nd 2005

my iMac G5 is upgraded with 1 gb ram with this 17" model

i have to say,its easy to use,elegant and sexy,fast and expensive sweat.gif
which part do you find it sexy....? brows.gif
psp _BOY
post Apr 20 2006, 05:47 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 20 2006, 05:28 PM)
which part do you find it sexy....? brows.gif
the input sections brows.gif

umm,its dammmn fine brows.gif
aaronchin
post Apr 20 2006, 10:38 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 20 2006, 07:09 PM)
i just started (well,not really) using mac as my base since september 22nd 2005

my iMac G5 is upgraded with 1 gb ram with this 17" model

i have to say,its easy to use,elegant and sexy,fast and expensive sweat.gif

i suggest u go for Intel based macs for the full experience,ive been using windows for a long time,but my brother has been using mac since the first iMac came out,he's now using 1 iMac G4 17",one iMac Intel Core duo,and an Intel windows rig,my 20 yr old sister is using a 1.83GHz Macbook pro for her college work at australia,my elder sister is using a 2.16 GHz macbook Pro with microsoft word excel and etc. for her graphic works and kerja kerja file,

also if u are thinking of drawing or doing graphic designing,like my sister i suggest u get a Wacom tablet,even a graphire is enough.my whole family is using mac,we do not complain

apple,an unbelievable piece of machinery,once u go mac,u never-ever go back

terima kasih kepada sesiapa yg sedang membaca ucapan saya,assalamualaikum,salam mesra smile.gif
One quick question, does the built-in iSight on the MacBook Pro work in Windows?
Eithanius
post Apr 20 2006, 11:48 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(aaronchin @ Apr 20 2006, 10:38 PM)
One quick question, does the built-in iSight on the MacBook Pro work in Windows?
nope.... it doesn't have the windows-equivalent driver for it....
MacDaNife
post Apr 21 2006, 07:13 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 20 2006, 04:09 PM)

apple,an unbelievable piece of machinery,once u go mac,u never-ever go back

Sorry, have to disagree.

I've been using Macs from 1988. Way back when Windows was in version 1 and a GUI was a novelty. At that time, the Mac's ease-of-use was unrivalled and while expensive, the MacOS more than justified the price differential.

While I still use my mac(s) for iMovie, iPhoto and the functionality of dotMac I must admit that WindowsXP provides a computing platform that is functionally identical if not easier than on the Mac. It is also noticably faster (at least on the hardware in my sig... cool.gif ).

Bottom line: ask yourself why you want a Mac. If there is no specific software that you *need* to run on the Mac, you may be better off with a PC.
thefryingfox
post Apr 21 2006, 07:40 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

I agree with Macdanalife

I've tried the MAC os and if you minus all those fancy gui, its nothing to shout about.

Only difference is the gui and im a person who dont go for gui appereances. As long i can do the task then its a good done job. GUI is only fancy for a few months and after awhile u get sick of it

And for Windows XP being slow, the main difference between XP and Mac os is that XP has tons of drivers and compatibility drivers/scripts written for it whereby u can run almost all the Apps out there that is Windows compliant.

For Mac Os, u need to get specific applications built for the OS to handle(lets not get into boot camp..its just another emulator)..Lets not get into hardware shal we tongue.gif doh.gif

Apple atleast some part is based on *nix and we all know how stable it is. But for compatibility is concerned, it cant and will not rival Windows platform ever.

If u wana talk about technological wise, Apple is nothing compared to windows. If werent reliable, the company that im supporting would not have roughly 4xx Windows Based Servers (Win2k, Win2k3) that hosts numerous critical applications needed by end users. ( and this is from a company that is currently the No.1 in telecommunications solutions so dont come and tell me that Windows isnt reliable. Infact almost everyone uses Windows XP. Those who are not uses Linux....and some run on mac os...( and thats just a small scale)

The only reason people say windows aint reliable because they are NOOBS who dont know how to properly use an OS. They think to turn on all services, all gui options, everysingle functions on thier machine on and expect it to perform like a champion.

If an apple machine can do atleast half of what a windows machine can do, i would switch to it..but sadly..it would never be that good in terms of total functionality

This post has been edited by thefryingfox: Apr 21 2006, 07:41 AM
aaronchin
post Apr 21 2006, 08:49 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Apr 21 2006, 10:40 AM)
If u wana talk about technological wise, Apple is nothing compared to windows.
Tell me about it my friend. smile.gif

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Apr 21 2006, 10:40 AM)
The only reason people say windows aint reliable because they are NOOBS who dont know how to properly use an OS. They think to turn on all services, all gui options, everysingle functions on thier machine on and expect it to perform like a champion.
If an apple machine can do atleast half of what a windows machine can do, i would switch to it..but sadly..it would never be that good in terms of total functionality
Unfortunately most people ain't as tech-savvy as you and they have better things to do than to spend hours tweaking Windows XP to make it run properly. Most people only use their computers for internet/music/movies/photos/IM/emails and stuff like that, and there are a lot of apps on the Mac that do that sort of stuff just as good, if not better than, Windows. And you gotta understand that having tons of softwares on Windows doesn't mean they're quality softwares, unless of course you have a lot of time to try out different apps to find one that suits you best. Mac on the other hand saves you time and provides you with an array of quality multimedia softwares right out of the box. That's what I love about OSX and its iApps.

Having said that, I still wouldn't give up Windows for Mac, simply because Windows is a lot more snappier and its interface is just more business-esque to me. I find myself a lot more productive working under a Windows environment (that is, after spending some time to tweak the darn thing).

So yeah, Windows for business, Mac for pleasure. smile.gif
wei
post Apr 21 2006, 02:31 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I tot an OS are suppose to help us to operate the hardwares? I dont understand why i have to take up a special training/ course just to learn HOW TO USE the OS. It suppose to be as user-friendly as an uncle also know how to use it. Get it?

We shouldn't blindly accept whatever that they've made it and accept it as a "standard"
This is my opinion being a PC user for 10years & Mac user for 6years.

This post has been edited by wei: Apr 21 2006, 02:31 PM
thefryingfox
post Apr 21 2006, 07:10 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Well an uncle wouldnt know what is IIS or event log

these services when on eats up resources and slows down stuff...like system restore, fancy gui effects, dynamic/basic disk and such

they just press button, come to desktop and do thier stuff. if corrupted, bring to shop and reinstall.

these are normal users...those who dont have any clue what background task ar...they just use it for the sake of making thier life simple.

Windows XP at default, is not as snappy once u've optimized it. normal user dont see that. they just think that the computer is busy processing something or some big files are getting transfered.....

If a computer does not respond for me for 10-12 sec, i would investigate whats the problem, kill it..restore session back and resume my work(hopefully watever task im doing gets saved)

Mac OS as a whole is a great GUI OS...it definites how GUI should look like, but as for its function...it seriously lack of alot of things a power user would definitely want
wei
post Apr 21 2006, 07:25 PM

6,496 posts

mind to specify what "power feature" u looking at??
TSmattchin
post Apr 22 2006, 02:36 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

after reading the opinions... seems 2 b that it's positive feedbacks..

but guys... the sensitive question about "pirated software".. ahem.... ??? how arhh??

soli larhh... student here sad.gif
wei
post Apr 22 2006, 09:16 AM

6,496 posts

I see no problem me and my fren finding our way.
SEP910
post Apr 22 2006, 01:19 PM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Apr 21 2006, 07:40 AM)
I agree with Macdanalife

I've tried the MAC os and if you minus all those fancy gui, its nothing to shout about.

Only difference is the gui and im a person who dont go for gui appereances. As long i can do the task then its a good done job. GUI is only fancy for a few months and after awhile u get sick of it

And for Windows XP being slow, the main difference between XP and Mac os is that XP has tons of drivers and compatibility drivers/scripts written for it whereby u can run almost all the Apps out there that is Windows compliant.

For Mac Os, u need to get specific applications built for the OS to handle(lets not get into boot camp..its just another emulator)..Lets not get into hardware shal we tongue.gif  doh.gif

Apple atleast some part is based on *nix and we all know how stable it is. But for compatibility is concerned, it cant and will not rival Windows platform ever.
If u wana talk about technological wise, Apple is nothing compared to windows. If werent reliable, the company that im supporting would not have roughly 4xx Windows Based Servers (Win2k, Win2k3) that hosts numerous critical applications needed by end users. ( and this is from a company that is currently the No.1 in telecommunications solutions so dont come and tell me that Windows isnt reliable. Infact almost everyone uses Windows XP. Those who are not uses Linux....and some run on mac os...( and thats just a small scale)

hei guy, why not use both. I use window at office and mac at home. so I can fullfill
both side of the wall. got it. if u dont like mac, thats your choice.

0.0197sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:53 PM