14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Official Lumia 520 Discussion Thread!, Low-End phone!

fridel
post May 15 2013, 12:12 AM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ May 14 2013, 01:21 PM)
Bought this phone last week,

Pros - so far the best RM500+ range phones, OS is smooth, gps is good and camera is best at this price range believe.

Cons - battery used up quite fast, the auto brightness seem abit too dim. The camera button is hard to press.
and being new to these lumia windows experience, i can safely say that access to software is kind troublesome, especially wifi and stuff where you have to go in settings to set whereas a android is one swipe away from it.

overall the phone is one of the best low end phone out there provided that the user utilize the gps and camera which is their strength in lumia phone!
But mine still can last a day wor hmm.gif n yes im always
Connected to wifi
lck
post May 15 2013, 08:39 AM

~^happy^~
591 posts

I'm getting my lumia 520 yellow color tomorrow!!
joining lumia family!!

This post has been edited by lck: May 15 2013, 08:41 AM
TSjustaregularjoe
post May 15 2013, 11:53 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ May 14 2013, 03:59 PM)
Me an ex-Lumia 800 user. I noticed WP never really done a good implementation with the brightness sensor. Can you try to disable the auto brightness and switch to medium? See if you get improved battery life.
medium is fine but for battery life it is hard to tell cuz medium is almost same as auto.

QUOTE(fridel @ May 15 2013, 12:12 AM)
But mine still can last a day wor hmm.gif n yes im always
Connected to wifi
yeah but funny thing is first 50% drain fast for my lumia 520

forgot to mention another con is that the back of the cover gets dirty really fast. maybe it is a lumia thing and not just 520

This post has been edited by justaregularjoe: May 15 2013, 11:54 AM
JonSpark
post May 16 2013, 10:59 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ May 15 2013, 11:53 AM)
medium is fine but for battery life it is hard to tell cuz medium is almost same as auto.
yeah but funny thing is first 50% drain fast for my lumia 520

forgot to mention another con is that the back of the cover gets dirty really fast. maybe it is a lumia thing and not just 520
the matte back shell gets dirty easily, i suggest you use anti-rust spray like WD40 or alcohol to clean it.
ariefamron
post May 16 2013, 11:18 PM

I bought the Lumia 520 for my son. Here's my view and it is not meant to influence anyone.

For the price, I would say the phone is excellent. Just nice for an entry level phone and for secondary schoolies like my son.

The feel is there, the touch screen is receptive and behaves as expected.

The Achilles heel lies in its wifi capability. It can connect to the router but the phone cannot open any internet addresses. I realised first when I noticed that my son's prepaid credit depleted. So, I connected to the wifi router but I am still not able to open any web page.

I rang the Nokia shop in 1 Utama and the sales guy kept telling that the wifi router is the culprit and that I am to get te Unifi guys to come and sort it out for me. I then called in the unifi contractor and he tested other devices I had including this notebook I'm using, galaxy note and one ipad. All were able to connect to the wifi spot and access the internet.

So I rang again the Nokia shop in 1 Utama and they told me to go to the Nokia service centre to sort it out. I was really pissed off coz since I bought the phone on 11 May 2013, I'm still not able to use the wifi connection.

Now, I regret for not buying a Samsung for my son. Seriously.
NO-Nokia for me and the rest of my family...forever!
xSean
post May 17 2013, 05:04 AM

2,766 posts

QUOTE(ariefamron @ May 16 2013, 11:18 PM)
I bought the Lumia 520 for my son. Here's my view and it is not meant to influence anyone.

For the price, I would say the phone is excellent. Just nice for an entry level phone and for secondary schoolies like my son.

The Achilles heel lies in its wifi capability. It can connect to the router but the phone cannot open any internet addresses. I realised first when I noticed that my son's prepaid credit depleted. So, I connected to the wifi router but I am still not able to open any web page.

I rang the Nokia shop in 1 Utama and the sales guy kept telling that the wifi router is the culprit and that I am to get te Unifi guys to come and sort it out for me. I then called in the unifi contractor and he tested other devices I had including this notebook I'm using, galaxy note and one ipad. All were able to connect to the wifi spot and access the internet.

So I rang again the Nokia shop in 1 Utama and they told me to go to the Nokia service centre to sort it out. I was really pissed off coz since I bought  the phone on 11 May 2013, I'm still not able to use the wifi connection.

this is not big problem..u should google first. Change your router channel to 11.
console
post May 17 2013, 08:26 PM

123 posts

Yes..change wifi channel to 11...higher than that my ps3 and xperia phone cannot connect to the wifi...
ahnien
post May 19 2013, 12:41 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ May 14 2013, 12:21 PM)
Bought this phone last week,

Pros - so far the best RM500+ range phones, OS is smooth, gps is good and camera is best at this price range believe.

Cons - battery used up quite fast, the auto brightness seem abit too dim. The camera button is hard to press.
and being new to these lumia windows experience, i can safely say that access to software is kind troublesome, especially wifi and stuff where you have to go in settings to set whereas a android is one swipe away from it.

overall the phone is one of the best low end phone out there provided that the user utilize the gps and camera which is their strength in lumia phone!
for wifi, data connection, airplane mode etc..

download "connectivityshortcut" its an app
kopitiamtard
post May 19 2013, 11:29 PM

207 posts

any screen protector for this phone yet?
noorimanyosh
post May 20 2013, 01:12 AM

saoirse ronan :3
2,148 posts

QUOTE(ariefamron @ May 16 2013, 10:18 PM)

So I rang again the Nokia shop in 1 Utama and they told me to go to the Nokia service centre to sort it out. I was really pissed off coz since I bought  the phone on 11 May 2013, I'm still not able to use the wifi connection.

please stop bashing nokia ..any forumer here can share if your 520 got same problem with this guy??

IN B4 not all nokia product are defective as yours, and not all samsung product as perfect as yours

This post has been edited by noorimanyosh: May 20 2013, 01:12 AM
kimuxaki
post May 20 2013, 08:12 AM

313 posts

me using lumia 520 for a 3 weeks now. no problem except where to find casing or screen protector? at lelong.com.my only sell it -,-
ahnien
post May 20 2013, 09:00 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(ariefamron @ May 16 2013, 11:18 PM)

its a branding stereotype.
you said samsung because its prolly the obvious choice in terms of popularity.
but you havent even survey about the problems tat samsung user is experiencing
fridel
post May 21 2013, 02:18 AM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

QUOTE(kimuxaki @ May 20 2013, 09:12 AM)
me using lumia 520 for a 3 weeks now. no problem except where to find casing or screen protector? at lelong.com.my only sell it -,-
i also having same problem sweat.gif
fridel
post May 21 2013, 03:23 AM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

btw i like the super sensitive touch screen on lumia phone actually.u can scroll up n down without touching the screen laugh.gif
TSjustaregularjoe
post May 21 2013, 02:04 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(fridel @ May 21 2013, 03:23 AM)
btw i like the super sensitive touch screen on lumia phone actually.u can scroll up n down without touching the screen laugh.gif
but pressing it with my left thumb seem abit little less responsive..
ahnien
post May 23 2013, 10:04 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

one thing about 520.. is

the cover quality is really really lacking till the point it affects the buttons on the side.
so far this the most common problem i get back from my buyers.

if can fork out a bit of extra money, i reckon my buyers to go for 620. since should be noticing a minor price drop on 620 in the market.
arthur_91
post May 24 2013, 01:05 AM

38 posts

Hey folks, bought a lumia 520 for my dad and this is my/his experience about it.

Good:
1. Great build quailty.
2. Windows Phone 8 is a notable improvement over Windows Phone 7.8
- apps now open much faster
- better internet explorer experience ( pages now load faster; and disqus comments loading quicker)
3. Battery life is moderate; with his feature phone style usage lasting him 2 days.

Bad:
1. Due to the design of the phone, the unlock button, volume buttons might be hard to press. The shrap corners of the phone partially masks the button, and people with big hands wont be able to press it easily. (e.g my dad)
2. Gets hot very easily. (sweaty palms are not fun.)
3. App related, but whatsapp notification are often delayed, sometimes by 15 minutes or more.

I gotten it at RM 599 PLUS RM200 charge, BECAUSE the lady at One Utama Nokia Shop used my dad's NON EXISTANT data plan (READ: RM0.10/10kb) to create a new microsoft account AND download whatsapp . The manager incharge at that store was NOT friendly. He insinuated my parents were lying, that maxis does not charge data at such an expensive rate (look at the link provided) and when I demanded compensation, only returned RM50 for the whatsapp installation, AND asked his staff to delete whatsapp after that. Pretty pathetic manager and experience. Oh, and the lady there also said the lumia 620 had super sensitive touch screen (it does not). So yeah, she is a lying asswad too.

All this happened in a span of 30 minutes. And thank goodness maxis kept sending smses informing of the amount of data used. If not, i would have walked away none the wiser.

TLDR; Dont buy anything from One Utama Nokia.
ahnien
post May 24 2013, 03:04 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(arthur_91 @ May 24 2013, 01:05 AM)
Hey folks, bought a lumia 520 for my dad and this is my/his experience about it.

Good:
1. Great build quailty.
2. Windows Phone 8 is a notable improvement over Windows Phone 7.8
    - apps now open much faster
    - better internet explorer experience ( pages now load faster; and disqus comments loading quicker)
3. Battery life is moderate; with his feature phone style usage lasting him 2 days.

Bad:
1. Due to the design of the phone, the unlock button, volume buttons might be hard to press. The shrap corners of the phone partially masks the button, and people with big hands wont be able to press it easily. (e.g my dad)
2. Gets hot very easily. (sweaty palms are not fun.)
3. App related, but whatsapp notification are often delayed, sometimes by 15 minutes or more.

I gotten it at RM 599 PLUS RM200 charge, BECAUSE the lady at One Utama Nokia Shop used my dad's NON EXISTANT data plan (READ: RM0.10/10kb) to create a new microsoft account AND download whatsapp . The manager incharge at that store was NOT friendly. He insinuated my parents were lying, that maxis does not charge data at such an expensive rate (look at the link provided) and when I demanded compensation, only returned RM50 for the whatsapp installation, AND asked his staff to delete whatsapp after that. Pretty pathetic manager and experience. Oh, and the lady there also said the lumia 620 had super sensitive touch screen (it does not). So yeah, she is a lying asswad too.

All this happened in a span of 30 minutes.  And thank goodness maxis kept sending smses informing of the amount of data used. If not, i would have walked away none the wiser.

TLDR; Dont buy anything from One Utama Nokia.
why charge rm50 for whatsapp???

its free wut shocking.gif
red streak
post May 24 2013, 03:38 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ May 24 2013, 03:04 AM)
why charge rm50 for whatsapp???

its free wut  shocking.gif
Wrong way lah bro. The store gave him back RM50 but he still lost RM150 of credit cuz of those dumbasses.

You should go to the consumer tribunal or something man, RM200 is nothing to sneeze and these people clearly tried to con you out of your money. Even if it was unintentional at first, they clearly ramped it up to avoid paying compensation. Don't let them get away with it.
shaqmunak
post May 24 2013, 05:34 AM

287 posts

ive been using lumia 520 for a month i think maybe almost...first problem i encounter is the physical camera button is not working, but i already found out how to overcome the problem,just need to allign the button from the phone with the physical button on the case..now mine is working perfect(altho kinda hard to use it). Not a heavy user just light browsing and gaming,battery life is mediocre..but got 1 time the phone get warm(almost hot) even tho there no app running at he back. The OS is smooth and screen is good. Im working at construction site and always had my phone with me.Surprisingly there is not single scratch on the screen right now. The speaker sound is kinda thin but still loud at some point. The nokia map and nokia Drive here is a good sofware. The Qualcomm snapdragon S4 chip is really good..even tho running at 1ghz still can beat my samsung galaxy s2 on locating my location.its fast and almost 98% accurate..really helps me when i need to meet clients. I prefer this nokia over my S2 because it feels "stronger" and rarely hang. No compass but still i think this is the best bang for buck phone ( erm maybe lumia 620 better) because the difference in price is like rm 40 only. Im happy using it.

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:33 AM